SingaporeMotherhood | Family Fun

July 2018

14 Must-have Singapore Gifts to bring that #WeAreSingapore spirit Home this National Day 2018

These Singapore gifts, inspired by everything on our little red dot, are our picks for getting into the #WeAreSingapore mood this National Day 2018!

Singapore-inspired toys and products started becoming all the back when Singapore celebrated her 50th birthday. Three years down the road, and the demand for everything Little Red Dot hasn’t waned yet. In the spirit of National Day (which is just around the corner on 9 August, in case you were wondering), we’ve put together a list of 14 Singapore-inspired products which everyone in the family will love. Whoever says that Singaporeans are an uncreative bunch has clearly never heard of these items, or the designers behind them. It’s time to #supportlocal and celebrate that #WeAreSingapore spirit!

[banner][/banner]

1. SGAG KTHXBYE T-shirt

You’ll need to be a true-blue Singaporean to appreciate this. Can’t get it? It’s how we say “goodbye” in Singlish. Geddit? The whole fam can dress matchy-matchy too, as it comes in women’s, men’s, and kid’s sizes! $22 (kids), $25 (adults), at IndependentMarket

2. My First Set of Dialect Books

Why restrict your kids to being bilingual… when they could be trilingual, or more? Most parents we know are obsessed with making sure their young ones speak proper English and Mandarin, but hey, we heart our dialects too! They’re great when it comes to ordering foods, and most importantly, conversing with the pioneer generation who may not be as proficient in English. Start the children with these picture books which feature the names of everyday objects in commonly used Chinese dialects in Singapore — Hokkien, Teochew, Cantonese, Hakka, and Hainanese. Psst – we adults who are a little rusty in our use of dialect can refresh our memories too! $24.90, at SibeyNostalgic

3. One Singapore 2018 plate set

Can’t love blue enough! #goldtrim #singaporeicons #porcelain #100icons #onesg #sgicons #designedinsg #singapore #singaporedesign #japanmade #madeinjp #blue #white #supermamaporcelain #kihara

A post shared by SUPERMAMA (@supermamasg) on

These collectible porcelain plates incorporate more than 100 Singapore icons, painted in classic blue hues. Every set is accompanied by a booklet which documents the symbolism of each icon on the plate. Designed by Supermama and made in Arita, Japan, the plates are a fantastic National Day gift for parties, or souvenirs for friends from faraway lands. We’d also buy one to keep for ourselves! From $42, at Supermama

4. Meal Divination Sticks

Divination Sticks are traditionally used by Buddhists who are seeking for answers or guidance – but these ones you see here don’t tell you whether you should, say, stay in the corporate world or quit to fulfil your childhood dream of being a baker. Instead, they help you decide what to eat during mealtimes! Simply place the sticks in a holder, shake it until one stick falls out, then use that stick to determine what you’ll be consuming that day. If you’re introducing your children to the glorious world of local ‘makan’, this is a fun way to do it! $26.90, at The Outliers

5. The King of Fruits Durian Cushion

A post shared by THE FARM STORE (@thefarmstore.sg) on

We’ve seen plenty of ‘ang ku kueh’ cushions and ‘kueh tutu’ cushions making their rounds, but this is the first time we’ve spotted a durian cushion. And it’s durian season too, right? Just take our money already! $29.90, at The Farm Store

6. fifty-two playing cards

Source

Created by local social media agency Protocol, the inspiration behind this deck of playing cards is said to come from a deep, abiding love of “all things weird and wonderful about Singapore”. The cards feature illustrations of Singapore icons, including HDB flats, local dishes, ERP gantries, and our late Prime Minister Lee Kwan Yew. Don’t wait till Chinese New Year (when the gambling commences!) to whip out these cards. Go ahead and schedule a weekly or fortnightly Game Night with the family, where you sit down and play old-school card games or teach the children Solitaire (Ed: I taught my child addition this way!). $20, at Protocol

7. Teh Tabao Bag

Source

The ubiquitous coffee shop ‘ta-bao’ bag, supersized, and no more a single-use plastic as you can reuse this to carry more than just your favourite kopitiam drink. Each bag comes with changeable pink and green straps, and a straw too! Seriously irresistible! $19.90, at Shinnpark.com

8. Building My SG LEGO Set

Source

This special edition LEGO set was commissioned for SG50 and each child in a local primary school received one set, with which they can build the Cavenagh Bridge, Changi Airport, or Gardens By The Bay (one at a time). Get your own, or get extra sets so you and the children can construct all three iconic landmarks together. $29.90, at Duck Learning

9. Singapore Map

Love your country to bits? Wear your heart on your art with these Singapore maps. There’s one to suit every decor style, whether you prefer a minimalist black and white like this one from IngridsPrintables, or a dreamy watercolour one from ArtPrintsZoe, a bold graphic from iLikeMaps, or a vein-like beauty by VelvetPrintFrom $8.37, at Etsy stores

10. Singapore Bus Model Coin Bank

A post shared by Land Transport Guru (@landtransportguru) on

If you ask us, it’s never too early to teach your kids the virtue of being thrifty. Get them this hand-painted MAN A95 Model Coin Bank, and have them to deposit a percentage of their pocket money into it each week! $92, at Knackstop

11. Merlion Postcard and Cut-Out Statue

If you’ve got craftsy kids who love painting, drawing, and putting things together, then this Merlion Postcard and Cut-Out Statue will be right up their alley. While they’re fixing their postcard, sit down with them and give them an impromptu history lesson about how Singapore was founded back in 1965! $5.90, at Naiise

12. “Mickey Go Local” Bottles by Thermos®

Designed for and available only in Singapore, the Thermos® Disney “Mickey Go Local” series celebrates the 90th Anniversary of Mickey Mouse, and will be launched on National Day itself. It’s available in either straw tumbler or food jar form, and on them you’ll see Mickey surrounded by local phrases such as “Shiok” and “Chope”, and carrying local snacks such as Curry Puff, Kueh Tutu, and the Gem Biscuit. $49, at major department stores from 9 August 2018

13. Singlish Vs. English book

A post shared by the little dröm store (@thelittledromstore) on

How to speak good Singlish. All it needs is an accompanying soundtrack to ensure the right enunciation too, but I’m sure you know already lah, right? $29.90, at The Little Drom Store

14. Limited Edition Good Citizen T-Shirt

Our children have CCE or CME lessons now but back in the day, we had “Hao Gong Ming” classes. Remember them? Now everyone in the family can be a good citizen (no classes necessary hehe) with these limited edition T-shirts. $28.90 (kids), $31.90 (adults), at wheniwasfour

Header image: Greg Jeanneau on Unsplash
Feature image: Source

All content from this article, including images, cannot be reproduced without credits or written permission from SingaporeMotherhood.

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Telegram for the latest article and promotion updates.

14 Must-have Singapore Gifts to bring that #WeAreSingapore spirit Home this National Day 2018