Yu Guo Chinese Physician

Hi Joy,

Thanks! My gal show some improvement after going Yu Guo for 4-5 mths. She can sleep better at night and her appetite is slightly better.. Must be patient lor.. Now bringing her there twice a month instead of weekly..

Thks skyblue
Btw there is another thread that is discussing abt yu guo, can anyone provide me the link to it as i cant seem to find it...

hello all,

which doc is better in Yu guo, any negative comments? and anyone send their kids to Eu Ren sen TCM? I am thinking if TCM can treat my toddler's light sleep problem which is going from bad to worst!

YU GUO CHINESE PHYSICIAN ACCUPUNTURE & PHYSIOTHERAPY PTE LTD

8-B Jalan Masjid #01-04
Kingston Terrace
Singapore 418929
tel: 64474761
fax: 63453358

MRT: Kembangan EW6 (tap yr card, turn left, cross road n walk towards the canal.....then u can c the clinic....walking less than 5mins)

Huang Yi Shi working hours :

Mon & Sat : 9am - 1230nn / 2 - 5pm
Tues : 2 - 5pm
Wed : CLINIC CLOSED
Thurs & Sun : 9am - 1230nn
Fri : Huang Yi Shi REST DAY
(This is copied from Mrs Lew posting)

Just to share, I was recommended by Mrs Lew to see huang yi shi. Both ym kids and I hv beening seeing huang yi shi for abt 2 mths plus. I find she's good, I see her for my eczema. It's much better now, but sometimes it worsen cos I didn't watch my diet.
My kids also get better, but chinese medicine takes a longer time to take effect. Some mothers may not be used to her direct speaking way, just to let you all know in case you want to bring yr child to see her.
You will need to tell the counter staff that you want to see Huang Yi Shi when you are taking the queue number.

Hi all, juz wanna add on to pingping's post.

Huang Yi Shi only see kids during morning and afternoon on Mon, Tues and Sat & only morning on Sun.

Hmmm can't really advise the best time to visit. But as wat mentioned by other mummies, best is to go during wkdays. Wkends super long queue, everytime I gotta wait ard an hour before it's my turn.

Hi, my son is 3.5 yrs old and has blocked nose often in the morning (the moment he wakes up) and at night (when he sleeps). He also has dry skin around the tips of the fingers and toes. Does Huang Yi Shi treat this?

Also I am undecided to go to a TCM because my son doesn't like bitter taste. He likes to take the sweet western medicine, does anyone have the same situation as me? How did you let your child take the Chinese medicine?

Thank you very much for the advises

Hi Jo, I m not too sure whether Huang Yi Shi can treat ur son's condition. Maybe u wanna call up and check with her? But if you do go for TCM kind of treatment, it will need time to see result.

As to why I look for Huang Yi Shi, coz the first time when I visited Yu Guo, they refer me to her. So been seeing her since then, and dun really know who is Xu Yi Shi lei... Hmmm Xu Yi Shi treat children as well? And beta than Huang Yi Shi??

I was recommended by Mrs Lew in this forum to see huang yi shi. Her son saw Xu Yi shi before, and she find her not good, as she recommend patients to tuina for 3 days consecutively. She mentioned Xu's attitude is not good and not as detailed as Huang Yi shi. So far I hv seen Huang Yi shi for half a yr plus, and I find her good.

Not sure whether she converse in English but I saw Malays seeing her. You can give her a call to check.

I saw some commends about Xu Yi Shi and feels that it is very unfair. Please note that I am not related to her in any way. I am writing in because I have had very good experiences with Xu Yi Shi at Yu Guo and I want to share that with every concerned mother.

Almost 3 years ago, my daughter had flu that eventually became asthma. After 1 month of antibiotics, she was still very sick and the paediatrician said that they can't do anyhting more. Can you imagine a paediatrician telling you that?! When I sent her to Yu Guo, Xu Yi Shi told me not to panic but to have faith in them. I took her advise and 10 mins after the massage, my daughter, who was so weak that she needs to be carried into the clinic, was able to sit up and chat with the doctor. My husband, who was against me going to chinese physicians, was impressed. My daughter never had another attack since then. There was another occasion when I was overseas and my daughter had a fever of 39.5 degree C, my mother took her to Yu Guo and this was what Xu Yi Shi told her: "Don't worry, Xu Yi Shi is here and we will make her well again."

I feel that it is not fair to comment that Xu Yi Shi is not detailed and has a bad attitude. She is the owner and how can her busines survive for 30 over years if she is not detailed and bo chap. Maybe she has no time to chit chat since the queue is always so long. Maybe Huang Yi Shi has more time to chit chat and build up a better relationship with parents while she is massaging the child.

I have nothing against Huang Yi Shi because I have consulted her as well and find her quite good too. I just feel that it is not right to pass bad comments about Xu Yi Shi.

Anyway, all my friends who has been seeing Xu Yi Shi say that she is good and their children's health improved. So what more are we asking for as parents?

we only go for xu yi shi... she also treated my son's bronchitis. my son has bronchitis when he is less than 1 year old for like at least half year on western medication, he got it like alternate week cos he was in infant care. my gf recommended yu guo and we are lucky to meet xu yi shi, during our first visit, xu yi shi said my son has to go massage everyday for like 1 week plus. we trusted her and brought our son to yu guo everynight after work (we stay around around northwest). it takes time for him to recover, not immediate though.

Correct me if I am wrong, but I feel ven928 and jozl must be friends. Otherwise why both yr postings are 26 min apart and supporting Xu Yi Shi, isn't that too much of a coincidence?

jozl,
If you support Xu Yi shi, just speak up rather ask question why most pple goes to Huang Yi Shi. You hv own point of views, just say it out. It seems like you are afraid to write it out cos there are more supporters of Huang Yi shi. You need yr friend to write first before you dare to write it out. Forgive my straightforwardness, n I am not trying to pick up a fight.

Everyone has their own point of view and it's up to others to judge for themselves.

hahahaha pingping u r duo1 xin1 liao... i never say huang yi shi no good but just to share my good experience with xu yi shi.

i asked the question cos i m curious why many here go to huang yi shi instead of xu yi shi cos i tot xu yi shi is the best (already said that in my question post)

anyway i m not related to xu yi shi so whatever u all said nothing to do with me ;p

also i donno ven928 lah...

anyway since i am in yu guo thread, i just wan to share with people with migrane (can't spell) or headache. i always have headache during weekend maybe due to late night or not enough sleep and got to take panadol... so i went to shi yi shi for massage (i just went to him yesterday)... and he said my neck donno which bone dislocated so adjusted it back. really leh... after that i have no more headache! but hor.... after sometime, it will be back again... cos it is dislocated again... shi yi shi said most probably due to long hour at the computer.... so i have to go back to him like every half yearly to adjust when i start to have headache again.... but better than taking panadol lor....

Jozl,

Thanks for clarifying my doubts. I didn't say that you say huang yi shi is not good. I already said forum is a place for pple to air their views. What makes me sensitive, why it took you so long to write down yr feedback on Xu yi shi, and only until someone has written first on it.

I hv been hearing a lot of good reviews on huang yi shi, but not much on Xu Yi Shi. That's why if they are pple who are seeing her like you, could share their views on her. Everyone's experiences with the yi shi is different, some may be good or bad and it's individual. I feel it's also yuan fen. Not everyone like huang yi shi, for yr info cos some parents who were recommended to her didn't like her straightforwardness.

jozl,

Thanks for sharing. How much did you pay for yr massage? Is Shi yi shi the only one doing adult massage, at the basement is it? Does he massage tense muscles?

hi pingping

no worries... actually i hardly come to forum to chat unless i wan to sell or buy things heee...

ya... i think u r right about yuan fen... last time i went to one shop (very famous) at chinatown for massage... many said it is VERY good but after many session, my sprained ankle still cannot recovered. at the end, i went to one massage shop at redhill, then it recovered... really yuan fen....

u know there is another yi shi, not sure she is trainee cos she is also massaging for the kids...

as for shi yi shi, my first appointment was assigned to him so i just stick to him (2nd floor)... i donno any other adult massage... i think he did massage tense muscles... oh i paid $35 per session (only my neck/back).

for my headache, i have been eating panadol for many many years since i was young! until i went to shi yi shi (only about two years ago when i was waiting for my son's turn, very long queue, so i shuan piang visit chen yi shi who later assigned shi yi shi to me)... but after some time still got to go back to him

my son is having asthma, on the inhaler(beclom) orange puff and ketotifen.

can i bring him there. but i not sure whether my son will let the yi shi massage ma how?

Grace,

You can bring yr son there. Don't worry abt the tuina, a lot of kids will cry for the first time. They will get used to it. If yr son is taking chinese med, stop the western med first.

Forgot to tell you that Chinese medicine takes a long time to see effect esp if the problem has been lingering for quite sometime. You need patience for TCM as it tiao the whole body, not just the symptoms. Hope this helps. The food you give yr child also has an effect on the recovery. No cold food or drinks, and no junk food either. Give warm food and water at all times. Avoid phlegm producing food like dairy food eg.yogurt, cheese, and sugary foods too. Preferable to avoid milk but if yr child is drinking milk, try to avoid yogurt and cheese instead.

alamak...

have been giving him yogurt for some times.
cause he does not eat when he is with me at home. when he does not have his regular food, i would give him yougurt.

HI

Am wondering when you say take long time, how long is it usually? Am wondering, if the cold is due to bacterial or viral, TCM can help cure? Or is it just alleviate the symptoms while the cold takes it's course? If bacterial, need antibiotics right? Can mummies share, for children who have cold and go to yu guo, how long does it take usually to recover? My dd sometimes takes weeks.

Grace
My son has used the yao bao when he was 1 yr old. The skin will absorb the medicine, provided the yao bao is dry or else it will not work.

easy,
Recovery time depends on individual's healing ability. For normal cold, it takes abt a week for my kids. If their cold is severe, then it might take up to 2 weeks. You can give yr child sambucus for onset of cold, it helps the immune system to fight the virus. I'll use both sambucus and chinese medicine to treat my kids, esp if they hv fever and phlegm. Sambucus doesn't help much with phlegm, but it's very good for relieving fever. So give yr dd Sambucus when she has fever, it is much better than paracetamol. You can buy sambucus from vitacost spree which is much cheaper than Vitakids store. Sambucus help in viral infection. I hv read in the forum that some mummies use sambucus for HFMD, esp during the onset of HFMD, and their kids recover faster.

Pls read http://www.vitakids.biz/shop/product_view.asp?id=1446&StoreID=90947917688E4F3FA58839EEF7E6FC03&private_product=0

Cold is caused by viral infection, not bacteria. Urinary tract infection, ear infection etc. are caused by bacteria. Yes, you need antibiotics for bacterial infection, TCM won't work so well on bacterial infection. TCM will cure cold and cough. I also take chinese medicine when I hv cold. When I wrote it takes a long time to see effects, meaning for chronic conditions like asthma etc. The food you eat during recovery will affect the length of recovery time too. Hope this helps.

Thanks so much Ping Ping for your replies. Have a better understanding. Will try TCM next time when dds are sick.

Just wondering...my kid has a cough and has alot of phlem. I feel that if her phlem can be removed, she would recover faster. Is there anyway, I can help to reduce the phlem?

mamachen,

So far I only know TCM will help in removing phlegm. During recovery, yr child still need to avoid certain phlegm causing food dairy food eg.yogurt, cheese, milk and sugary foods. Fruits also best avoided during recovery cos it may produce more phlegm. Hope other mummies can help you.

PingPing, TCM means gotta see chinese doc and eat the bitter chinese medicine? Fruits are good source of vit C. If I forbid her to take how can I help to increase her immunity?

Yes, need to see sinseh and take chinese medicine. Not all chinese medicine are bitter, some are sweet. So far my kids's liquid medicine is sweet but the powder is a bit bitter, I'll mix the two together, so it still taste sweet. If they hv fever, the medicine prescribed is more bitter. Vegetables are good source of vitamin c too, not just fruits. If you want to give fruits to yr child, apple will be the best choice as it is a neutral food and is not cooling.

hi pingping

2 scenario for my son
i have tried him on the EYS bao yin dan for three days then after that cough till very serious then bring him to go see the western doctor then recover.

few weeks later, i tried him on the hou ning fen(1 day)+hou cao fen(1 day) then he again cough till i bring him see western doctor.....

any comments??

Hi Grace,

Yr son is 2 yrs old, right. Bao Yin Dan is more for babies, it doesn't work so well on older kids ( that's what I learnt from Huang Yi Shi). I buy EYS Ba Bao San (as a standby) for my kids, I give to them when there is an onset of flu, and it'll help to relieve the flu. However, if my kids didn't get better, I'll bring them to Yu Guo. They'll recover after taking prescribed medicine.

I hv never tried hou ning fen and hou cao fen, so I hv no comments on that.

My question to you are:

1) Why didn't you bring yr son to Yu Guo to get prescribed medicine, as he has asthma? Chinese medicine bought from the shelf may not suit his condition and may worsen his condition. I hv tried that before and it didn't work for my kids, in the end I hv to bring them to Yu Guo.

2) When buying chinese medicine, did you inform the sales staff that yr son has asthma? This is a very important info, as the sales staff based on what you say and will recommend you the medicine to buy.

3) For yr son's cough, is it due to flu infection?

Western medicine provide quick relief but it doesn't solve the root of the problem, meaning the same problem will recur. Why I say this, cos I hv been through all this myself, that's why I believe in TCM, except for bacterial infection then you need to take antibiotics to kill the bacteria. TCM on the other hand, treats the root of the problem but the effect is slow. Btw, which Yi Shi did yr son see in Yu Guo? I am surprised that you didn't bring yr son to Yu Guo, is it you don't hv faith in them or there are other reasons?

Grace,

For the third question, did yr son's cough developed due to the food he eat or flu infection?
You might want to keep a food diary, so that you will know what food causes a reaction.

i brought him to yu guo for continously three days....she gave him yao bao...

when i place the yao bao on his stomach, he keeps on moving. i mean he keep on wakes up but when i remove it... he is able to sleep... then i cal the yu guo up, she say put on his feet with socks...still the same...wakes up frequently....then when i remove it...he is ok....

i also not sure wat trigger his cough...but i always use my six sense or feeling that my son should stop taking the chinese medicine...

but to be honest....i am lazy bringing him every week to yu guo....cause i still have another 10 month son to take care....

hope my reply helps you to help me analyse my problem...

I understand yr difficulties. I hv 2 kids too, went every week (once a week only, not 3 consecutive days) and I feel tired too. When they recovered, I stopped going to Yu Guo. Btw, you didn't mention which yi shi your son saw. You mean the yi shi only give him yao bao and no medicine, that's strange. You mean yr son's condition didn't improve after going to Yu Guo.

From what I know, Huang yi shi only give yao bao to young babies but not for 2 yr olds. My son coming to two this yr, has been taking chinese medicine. He was prescribed yao bao when he is abt 1 yr old. I told huang yi shi that my son can take liquid medicine, and she stopped prescribing yao bao.

both the yi shi...i also don know who is who....first day i went myself then met one of them...the next day my mother went then the other one....the tui na is 'out source' to other people outside the room in white jacket...

cause i told him my son don like to eat chinese medicine....then give yao bao...then my feelings at there is that like they don listen and don give me very good feedback....