Where is my happily ever after?

tiredsally

I don’t know if I’m valued at all.

Last year, he forgotten my birthday coz it was two days after we shifted to the new house. He said next year he will compensate to me.

This year, he treated his parents to $200+ dinner a few days before my birthday and then later on when I asked him where is my birthday present or ‘celebration’ he said he didn’t have the budget to give me anything but promise he will ‘compensate’ me in future.

It is like no one in the world care if I existed to want to be bothered about celebrating my birthday. Even if it is 3 pieces of ferro rocher chocolate and I will also be happy with it. But there was nothing.

Till date, I have $50000 bank debts because I used these money to lend it to him to pay off his losses in casino gambling and stocks and shares. He himself has $150000 bank debts.

Everytime he borrows, he promised to return very soon. Usually borrow 5k return 2k, then 3k takes forever… so overtime it snowballed to 50k over the past few years.

I have been wanting to break up, but he said he won’t return my money if I did. So I stayed on. We enjoy going out, dining, movies, traveling, etc.

But every week, we will have something to quarrel. Something small, and insignificant, but we will end up shouting, and him cursing me, cursing my health, cursing I will never find a good man and end up with a terrible man, cursing my family health, threatening not to return my money…

But after a few hours, we will become normal again. We talk and promise each other it will not happen again. He will tell me how much he loves me and how he will be nice to me if I can stop being so bad-tempered. He wants to be nice to me, but I will have to do it first.

And when he is happy, he is nice and listens to me and do things my way.

But when he is not happy about me after we quarrel, all sorts of nasty comments come out of his mouth and he will do things deliberately to irritate me, upset me, he will turn all the ‘secrets’ and bottom of my heart feelings I’ve told him and make sarcastic remarks and make fun of me, and he will say things like why my family turns out to be like this and has misfortunes is because of my bad karma… he can even say nasty things about my nephew and niece and siblings and curse them even though they have done nothing to offend him

But in ordered to ‘recover’ my money, I stayed in the relationship. We applied for a flat and got it. I really like the house but wanted to back out because I know I will have to get married in order to get the house. We quarreled over this many times and he said he will curse me and my family and create trouble for my family if I back out from the house.

So we got the house and got married… for one year now.

We had an argument and stop talking for a few days now.

I’m thinking of divorce. But there will be financial losses on the house so he won’t agree and I don’t want to have further financial losses as well. I’m hoping that even if he don’t return my 50k, I still can get it back from the proceeds of the house. Which means I will have to live like this for the next four years, being a ‘room mate’ on the same bed, hopefully I can recover the money, sell the house and earn some money and move on.

Some of the stupid things we quarrel:

1) I didn’t want to ride the rollercoaster with him and told him many times, which he thought I was joking, and when he realized I was serious, he made a big fuss out of it because he didn’t want to be seen as alone in the queue, so we quarreled. He shouted at me in the theme park, use ‘ah beng’ kind of attitude and gesture to lecture me

2) while doing laundry, one of his sock dropped behind the washing machine, so when he was folding his clothes, he realized that and came to me angrily why I didn’t do a good job and why I was so careless and insisted that I should stop my own laundry and dig the load to see if his sock was there…

3) cooked him dinner but didn’t cover the dishes up and left them on the table, so when he came back and saw the dishes, he scolded me and made a big fuss

4) usually I’m the one mopping and vacuuming the floor, and every day he will pick his nose and flick the dirt onto the ground without thinking, constant picking of nose while watching tv and he feels that is ok, but when he sees that after a few days of not vacuuming the floor, my hair are all over the floor, he will be angry at me for not doing my part

And many times during our traveling, we will end up quarrelling and go our separate ways, then after a while he realizes he didn’t want to be alone and will find him and tell me to listen to him or he will make my life super miserable and create trouble for me and my family if I didn’t go his way… so he will tell me that now that he has cooled down and talked to me first, I should not bear grudges, and he will tell me that I’m the one not putting in efforts to make things way and I’m the one making trouble for him

Furthermore, we only had sex three times in the past one year. Before marriage, it was also just a few times a year because I don’t really like the idea of premarital sex. I didn’t know this will become a permanent thing. He said he wanted to have kids with me in future but I don’t see it possible. It may or may not be a good thing to have so little sex, at least for now, I don’t have to be forced to do one more thing that I don’t enjoy because I don’t feel love by him at all. But I do want to feel love and appreciated and have a normal relationship and sex life like other couples. He always tell me that there are couples who are worse than us whereby the husband won’t listen to the wife at all, won’t do nice things at all, etc and that at least he does it some times, and when we travel to enjoy the luxury things we really have lived it all, etc

I’m thinking of keeping low for the next 4 years and then sell the house, split the money, divorce him…

I know it is so stupid not to move on, and I have already wasted my all my 20s on a lousy relationship and now I'm waiting until mid 30s before I can finally be free...

But what will I become when I'm finally free? Will I be able to find a good man and get married and stay happily ever after?

i need some advice and opinions...

what are the things that ladies look for in their men, relationship and marriage?

i don't know if i'm asking too much...

there are good times and happy things that he does for me
1) he cooks and cuts fruits, brings me drinks whenever i request
2) he puts the laundry into the washing machine sometimes by himself and whenever i ask him to
3) he irons his own clothes
4) he folds his own clothes, but very seldom he folds my clothes and often placed them in the wrong stack
5) he takes me out every weekend, and on weekday nights whenever we feel like it
6) we hold hands and can chat happily whenever we go out
7) he drives me to visit doctor even in the middle of the night
8) when he does mop the floor, he does it very thoroughly and polishing it
9) every few weeks he automatically wash the toilet
10) he will drive me to places I want to go and places I want to eat
11) although he gambles and plays stocks and shares, he works hard to earn money and pay all the household bills on time, it’s just that earn a lot but also spend a lot kind of lifestyle

Are these good characteristics?

Are these enough and should I just ignore that his temper in bad and will say nasty things whenever we quarrel? Because when we don’t, he tells me nice things and do nice things

Just that he is not romantic nor into intimacy with me

I’m wondering if I get a romantic and more sexual guy, will it be a trade off on all those basic nice characteristics? And how long will things last for romance and sex?

Is there really a good package man out there who will like me and reciprocate my feelings back?

What if I end up with a nicer guy in the beginning and it only last a short while? What will happen to when I’m old and feeble and the guy I’m stuck with has no sense of responsibility at all…

Should I just give and take in this relationship? Be nice to him so that he will be nice to me and forget about everything that happened in the past… start afresh?

Life itself is like a McDonalds Meal. In it you get a burger, a coke, and a fries. Many a times we may not like fries, but eat it just cos it is included.

There is no perfection in this world. When you see other people having a "perfect" husband, tell yourself, there are somethings that wife is not telling you. Even if she does, she won't tell you all.

It really depends on what you want out of life and marriage, there is NO both sides to it.

I do not know what happened to you guys in the past. So you have to decide is he worth you staying on. If the thing that hurt you happened again, what you would feel or do? Or can you live with it?

Everyone says bad things when we quarrel, it takes a lot of effort and self control to hold back our hurtful words. Some of us even have the tendency to use the most hurtful words possible. Ask yourself, if you had also subconsiously do it to him? When I was much younger, I would "keep an eye for an eye" and try my best to use the most hurtful words... but understandly, my partner also use the same trick. End up both parties get angry and hurt over those hurtful words but not the key issue which started the quarrel in the first place.

Personally I really do believe in "taking a step back will bring forth better views". Now that I am older and temper is better, I just zip my mouth when I am mad.

BTW, i traded a "boring but typically nice guy" for a "super duper romantic till your knees drop guy" before.... Sure, I was thrilled, but for a very short time and it ended just nothing but a cheap thrill lor. ahaha. Maybe I suey never get a romantic but good man, but it seemed this only happen in movies.

In marriage, committment, responsibilities are what counts....

hi linda, thanks for your reply and opinions.

i know most 'loving' or so called 'great' couples also have their not so good and glamourous side of the relationships, i guess right now i can only stay envy of them... i may never find out if i'm not in this kind of relationship, so end up everyday i'm questioning myself the whys and what ifs...

i know those wives also might be doing more for the relationships or doing things in a different way than i am... maybe i've not put in my whole heart and that's why always end up quareling...

quareling just drains the nice parts of the relationship until there's nothing left now... very sad...

right now, i'm feeling like he is not worth it to stay on, but i dun want to give up now. it just hurts when things go bad

i also traded a boring n nice guy for this fun loving husband... everything is fine until i pick things about him and he gets angry that i'm too demanding and he starts feelings that he is not respected and i don't follow his instructions...

MCP? Ego issues? Should i just keep my mouth shut to avoid quarels and then everything will be normal?

How is your relationship now?

I wonder what it takes to have that nice, stable, loving relationship...

Hi Tired Sally

It is hard to maintain a good marriage life.

Guess it is good to sit down and talk to him. Or your family members can advise you better?

If you need someone to speak to, you can PM me directly.

Take care and have a nice day.

Hi. Tired Sally

Maybe you can choose whether you want to stick with him or have a divorce.

Tell yourself whether what is the worth staying with him? Having argument everyday?

Hi Sally

I understand. So why do you still hanging on to this marriage since you are unhappy? Divorce may not be a bad choice.

Do you like to set your profile setting so you are able to receive private message from the forum members?

Actually, I didnt see your first post. A man who gambles is dangerous... no matter how much he loves you, or treats you, as long as he gambles excessively, I think it will be disaster in the long run.

At different stages of our lives, we require different characteristics from our man. Now that we are married and have kids, stability is what counts to me. Stable income, stable job etc.

Sometimes, it is the change of "requirements" that causes drifts in marriages. He might think "you werent like this demanding when we were dating". We women go "you werent so irresponsible when we were dating".

No one is wrong, for values changes over time, and if both couple cannot come to a common understanding then it is diff for the marriage to work.

No one can teach you what to do. Just ask yourself, what do you foresee 5 years down the road with this man? If you leave him now, what would you be 5 years down the road.

Do you have kids?

he has plans to get the financial in order, probably need a year... our lifestyle has been earn a lot and spend even more in the last few years...

so far... expenses are like these...

house reno & furnishings - about 50%
wedding - about 50%
utilities, cable tv, property tax, car installment,petrol, carpark, dining out, movies - 100% he pays
groceries - i shop i pay, usually 80% of the time i shop...
travel - he suggested he pay, i suggested i pay

he quit 10 years of smoking for me...

but he will never quit gambling... the past few years he has tried to limit the frequency to casino but never will quit...

we don't have kids, he has no intention of having one in the next 3 years at least i guess

his plan is to pay off both our debts, save some money, move to a better house in about 4 years time... somehow, i'm seeing and hoping the bright and happy future will come... maybe we won't quarel if money disagreements are solved... but i don't know if our personality will still be so stubborn and short-tempered or not

if i leave, i will have to start everything all over again... work, house, money, relationship... it is hard to leave because now i have all these except it is all broken and need lots of fixing... if i leave, i will have to rebuild everything...

Hi Sally

Maybe you can try this helpline 1800-6-668-668 to help on his gambling problems. The website is www.ncpg.org.sg.

Gambling is the main reason for most family downfall. If he can quit his gambling problems, then give him one more chance.

Nobody can advise you much. You and your husband need to attend marriage counselling course. I agree with Linda, what will you be 5 years down the road.

take care, sally. very sad to read of ur predicament. maybe u should take devils1975's advice to call the helpline to see if there's a way out of this. stay strong meanwhile.

came across this thread.

tired sally, so are you stil with your husband now?

im facing similar problems as u now. my husband has mounting debts... im thinking is it worthwhile to stay on together... or should i juz cut my losses...

tired sally

sometimes quarrel is also a form of communication, but whenever there a quarrel, there will nvr be any good words coming out from the mouth... my hubby use to gamble a lot ... but doesn't mean that all gamblers dun change.

being together is to share all the good and bads together, if only remember all the bad that he did, u will nvr get a happy marriage life...

i also in the past alwis quarrel with my hubby, but after thinking of it later on, sometimes i feel like just becos mayb either one of our mood was just not gd for the day, watever things he did, i will find it irritating and jus want to vent my temper and ended up he is my target... and sometime vice versa...