Twins, Triplets and Multiples Mothers and Fathers CLub

clcyeo

Anyone who are parents of twins, triplets or multiples? Will like to form one.
I stay in the North and I have GBG set of triplets

Hi hi...
Can I join here? Looking high and low for a thread like this and almost wtd to start one.

I'm expecting triplets too. Edd supp Feb 2013, but may due in this yr late Dec.
I'm cmg to my wk14 soon.
I dunno the genders yet.

How big are yr triplets now?

Hi Yumyum,
I like tau huay lah... It's yummy! Heehee..
28months oredi! Triplets too?
How did u mge to cope? From the beginning until now?
Can share with me?
Did u do any Oscar or NT scan last time? My DH n I decided to skip.
Thinking of looking for maid now. My family n fren say that I need 2! Really?
Sorry for blasting so many qn.. 1st timer..

Hi dhm, did the scan as instructed by my gynae at kkh. Not the Oscar at Camden though. There are so many terms for the scans at diff clinics.
I am still having 2 maids. For those that I know have 1 only had strong and youthful family support. The first yr is quite a learning curve for young parents with no bb experience.
Yes, I think you shd look for maid now cos it takes awhile to select the right person.
For ur confinement, u can either seek relative support or agent. Do note that peak period got to pay extra too. Good to reserve first if u want to look for agent. U can pm me toO

Yumyum,
U started yr pregnancy visits at KKH?
Right now I'm seeing pte. But my dr did mentioned if they r gg to b born prematurely, I will be trf to KKH for delivery as the ICU fees r cheaper. At which weeks were yr babies borned?

Yes, I think i shd b looking for maids soon.
The 2 maids u had r from same country? So 1 look aft bb, the other housework?
My mum will be helping me for confinement. Now I'm looking for maid agency. Totally no experience in this area.
Any idea where I can find a good agency? I'm hving phobia hving one, not to mention 2! All the horrifying stories I heard... Oh my...

I have twins 32 months and a 9 month old. At first I thought I will not be able to cope with all the stress and all. But, so far so good. My twins are in childcare and my third is taken care of by my maid. The chaos only happens at night when everyone is home. I've learnt to cope with it and also to have LOTs of patience.

Hi! Thanks for starting this thread. Hehehe, was also looking for a support group for multiples.

I'm expecting twins and edd is 19th Feb, although we might expect them to come out earlier.

Just wish to check with some mummies here, during your pregnancies with multiples, did you guys experience any heavy bleeding in first trimester? If yes, what did you do to support the pregnancy? Thanks for sharing.

*hi dhm! waves*

dhm, start the prep work and not worry too much. maids are helpers, not to replace you. we are still the mothers of our children. i had my triplets at 33 weeks and 6 days.
my first 2 maids are from myanmar. but they left shortly cos the load was just too heavy then. i have no parental support.
hi sophia!
hi miracle! miracle, if there are spotting, not to mention bleeding, go to gyane immediately for support. I had many hormonal jabs to sustain my pregnancy. bed rest and dun walk too much.

Miracle,
*wave* back!!!
U r here too!
I juz got here few days ago... Looking for help, heehee...
Think almost all here r oredi mummies, so we can learn from them.

Yumyum,
I heard maids rejecting to work in a multiple birth home too. Not only we choose them, they choose too, ha!
I juz hope that the ones that I'm gg to hv (If), will not give me more headache than help.
Actually I was thinking of taking care the babies n the house by myself n my mum's help. I dun like 'strangers' to lie their hands on my babies.
On the other hand, I dun think I can 'work' like a superwoman.
V mao tun....

Hi yumyum, I just got discharged yesterday and before going home was given another shot of the progesterone. Now still having some slight spotting, but am wondering if I could do anything else besides bed rest to better support the preg.Thanks for sharing too!

DHM, yup, I am glad there are mummies here who will be able to share their experiences and we can learn from them.

Hi miracle, eat, relax and sleep.
heard that some had lotus root boiled with glutinous rice as porridge. Think happy tots and talk to ur bbs.
Dhm, got to get more help than less. Then can take turns n rest. Mum can guide, younger folks can do. My hubby learn how to go market. My folks are all above 60 sO can't tahan too many nights.
I had 1 maid and 2 confinement for the first 2 mths. Then 1 confinement and 2 maids. then 2 maids. Gave us time to sleep and adjust. My scenario was no parental support type though .
Sophia. Can I add u in fb?

Yumyum, sure, I'll be glad to have u in Facebook.
The initial months with the twins were tough. Being a first time mom n had no help except for maid, I had no choice but to put them in infant care. Pors n cons but had to deal with it. As they grow older, much easier.

Miracle,
Has ur spotting stop?
Think bed rest n no exertion is the best remedy.
Hv u tried cordyceps? Heard it can stabilize womb n bb. But bb will grow big as well.
I felt some 'rumbling' feeling there, like v gentle paper crushing feeling. Wondering is it baby movement?

Yumyum,
Probably will start looking for one soon but DH taking his own sweet time leh. Now I'm sourcing for hand down items n see what I lack off...
Thinking of getting things prep b4 Oct come.
Is bed rest the only method to keep baby growing inside?
Read that most mummies of multiples start bed rest when in their 7th month onwards..

hi...can i join...i am 17 wks now with twins.. edd in jan but i think most likely in dec...

actually now i start to feel fast heartbeats and breathlessness at time..is it common?

DHM, yup.. bleeding stopped. Now no more spotting. Now already taking the cordyceps with black chicken soup. Mum's friend said she also bled and was asked to take that to "bu". I was also reading about how early you can start feeling your baby. I think for multiples can feel very early. What you described could be baby movements! Imagine you have 3 in there, they must be having a rave party!

Hi mc, welcome!! I also have heart palpitations even when lying down and simple things like climbing stairs also leaves me breathless. But I read about it and it's apparently due to the progesterone which causes these. It should get better until our babies get bigger, then we will start feeling breathless again. Heheh.. Hang in there!

Hi mummies, think happy thoughts
rest more and eat. I remember my mum cook me alot of stuff. I forgot what she cooked though.

By the way yum yum, do you have a list of items to prepare for your babies' arrival? If yes, care to share? I don't really know what to buy or what to prepare. Heheh..

Hi Miracle, for the checklist, thomson medical has one and mothercare has one too.
It is for you to access what is necessary. some people pantang so they buy later.

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/parentcraft_centre.htmhttp://www.newbabylist.com/newbornchecklist/

For the things to bring when you are to deliver, you can check out/ google for 'things to bring for delivery'

maternity/nursing bras- breast Pads
nipple creams in case will sore
- disposable panties or daily wear panties (of larger size or maternity one)
disaposable is better, change and throw,
- open button dressing gown (easier for breastfeeding)
encouraged, the open button best is full buttons or at least half the clothe is button, not those 2-4 buttons one. . .
- going home clothes
- sweater/long bottoms
- sock
- sanitary pads
- comfortable shoes
- comb,hairband
- nursing Pillow (if you have, otherwise use hospital pillows will do)
- towel (if you want to wipe your body)
- powder

Others:
- camera/video cam
- Charger for HP and camera
- documents to claim for Medisave
best is all receipts to be kept in a clear folder. Your dear husband can just pass the whole file to the officer who will do the necessary.
- cord blood kit (if you sign up for that)

Notes:
1) Remember to ask your mum/inlaw to prepare the red dates tea for you.
Cos once delivery, try not to drink too much plain water.
best is not to drink any plain water, ask for milo if no one boil red dates tea.

2) Some of the website will suggest toiletries- but no point for us cos we cannot bath mah.
bring toothbrush/toothpaste/face towel and facial foam

3) Some hospital will provide baby clothes and blanket, so do check with the nurse 1st.
1 set of clothes for baby to wear home, 1 pair of mittens and booties, 1 pc of swaddle (I brought that even thought Thomson Medical Center provided, but I wanted my son to wear home the first piece of clothe bot by his parents.

Yumyum,
Thks for sharing the list...
May I chk with u whether d u get any insurance when u were pregnant?
Am thinking of getting one but the market is v limited when it comes to multiple....

Miracle,
Glad to hear that...
That day I went to chk the price for cordyceps.. Oh my, its $540 for 1 liang. How much did u get yours? Want to chk with my gynae this coming monday whether can I hv it. If he say can't, really waste of $$$.

DHM, just checked out of kkh again last night due to bleeding. Doc found a polyp (whatever that is) and said it might be the cause of the bleeding. Gotta see what my gynae say tmr liao.

Anyway, i'm thinking of seeing tcm to buy an tai med and to ask her for the right things to bu for now. Although 2nd trimester liao, i think the an tai is still necessary? Dunno la, see what the sinseh says. Heheh.

Hope u ladies enjoy ur national day break!

Miracle,
Oh dear... Now then i saw yr message.
Wats polyps? Sthg like pimple?
Now wat happ? So wat d yr gynae said? Think by now yr bleeding shd stop right?
Think right now wat TCM can do is help to bu. So wat they recommend?

Recently abt the quadruplets news... Any idea why she chose to go Gleneagles to deliver? Isn't KKH has the 'best' facilities for prematures? N can opt for subsidized rate?
Any mummies here oso delivered in pte hospitals? N babies hv to stayed in NICU? Wats the amt u hv to fork out?

Hihi..i'm seeing a gynae at KKH but can't seem to feel the dedicated attention fm her...maybe coz I'm used to the close monitoring from pte docs..thinking of trying out another doc at RH who is able to deliver at SGH...u went to him for a second opinion after my detailed scan and found him quite nice and detailed in his explanation..

Maybe the quadruplets' parents can afford and dun mind spending the $$ bah..

U can check out the average bills here...
http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/HospitalBillSize/delivery_caesareansectionwithseverecomplications.html

Hi dhm! I had a consultation with a prof today. He specialises in high risk preg. He showed me that the polyp could potentially cause the heavy bleeding coz each time he swipes it with the gauze, it gets soaked in fresh blood. Also coz the polyp is kinda linked to the blood vessels. So thank god the bleeding dun come from babies. I feel very safe with this doc so will stay on with him. Was hospitalised last week again, n i wished the doc at kkh did sometging abt the polyp. They kept saying it's threatened miscarriage, when if, they removed the polyp, i may not have anymore bleeding. So i felt it was money wasted. But ok la, now all is fine.

I saw the news abt the quads. 100,000$ plus in med bills coz her babies have to stay in icu right? Haiz, i guess, the parents probabky didn't expect they would hv to spend so much.

Hi Hi, mine is twins gers nw coming 13 months old. Super busy n tiring but happy to see them growing up bigger n healthy Cos mine is pre mature born at 34weeks at kk hospital.

Wanted to see private doctor but will advise cost for birth will be more exp on twins or more. Facilities Yes kk will be the best.

I read some mummy they give birth at private hospital but their babies are transfer to kk as the cost will be a bomb in private hospital.

Multiples always cost more. I have a set of twins, delivered naturally without epidural at week 30. I was supposed to be at Mt A but my pte gynae advised me to go to KKH due to the high cost involved and good neonatal care at KKH. I listened and it was good advice. I stayed at C class but twins received A class service at C class rates. My 2 boys was in NICu for almost 35 and 39 days, each cost about 35k. But covered under medisave. My costs was less than 2k, i stayed only 1 night. Noisy but bearable.

hi ladies, are you mummies eating enough? you can check out this book from the library "When you are expecting twins, triplets and quads."

I prefer kkh because of neonatal facilities too. I picked B1 class and hubby cannot stay there with me. He gets to sleep and I get some company when I express milk at night. My next bed neighbour was like a fountain then. I had my kids at 33 weeks 6 days but it was me who wanted to take them out.

miracle happens...jus read this thread..glad that everything is fine now for u...how many wks are u now and under which dr?

i agreed that for multiples better to stick to kk, not only cost as a factor but they hv all the eqp and ppl to support in case of any unforseen situation..

ladies..can i check if most of u in kk took Class A or Class B1 ward?

hi mc_007, you can request to visit the A class ward to decide if you like to stay there. Just ask the nurse next time.

Hi hi...

Anyone bought insurance when u were preggy with multiples?
Thinking of getting one but dunno which one to choose...
Right now, think Aviva n prudential r the only 2 which provide for triplets n more....

Any comments?

Thks!

Hi All! i am relatively new to this forum and really glad to see a support group for mutiple births!

I am expecting my twin boys in the first week of Jan but from what i gathered most twins will pop around 36 weeks!

Oh DHM, i got the my insurance from Prudential because my agent is with that company and wasnt hardworking enough to do any comparison with other insurers :p i think its better to get insurance to obtain a peace of mind

dhm, what type of insurance are you referring to?

hi sam, welcome! i am mother of 2 girls and 1 boy 2yr 5 mths. you are amazing! How did you do that?

Hi all, I'm expecting twins in Nov. Am now almost 33 weeks. Is any of you intending to get day time nanny instead of maid?

Was thinking if getting the insurance for both mum n babies from AXA. But it's investment link n am not keen.

I know hving triplets hv a higher risk of early delivery n babies may need NICU n that's when the insurance will come in use.

Any mummies here with multiples hv babies that req NICU care n had bought insurance to cover some of the high cost?
How long was the babies stay in NICU? Beside staying in subsidized ward, did the insurance really help a lot to lighten the hefty bill?

Hi all, would like to check if anyone have bought their twin strollers? Do not intend to spend more than 450 for the strollers as we have been spending so much on the twins clothes, maternity wear and all other misc stuff!

Beenies, initially I was intending to get 2 single strollers that can be attached using a connector after babies are born. But now I don't need to buy any as someone is passing me down a twin stroller.

dhm
i have a friend who bled 4 pints of blood during her emergency c-sect and thank God the insurance covered it.
i bought the insurance and it covered 1 day stay of my kid. for your consideration

Hi all, first timer here and glad to see this support group n apologize for my not perfect English.
I have my twins delivered in August at week 35+ n one of them had to stay in NICU for a week plus due to low birth weight. Recall back that period each time I saw her cant help but keep crying cause she was so small n blaming myself why din I eat more n more during my pregnancy..but both of them are fine now n gaining weight monthly. They are still smaller compare with the same month babies,but as long as they are healthy I am happy, size doesn't matter. Lately looking to install cctv before go back to work, but how I wish I can just stay hm n take care of them myself...however, haiz..
To all parents of multiplets: 加油,加油!

Hi coco, the elder one was 2.11 kgs n the younger one was 1.78kgs at birth, but I think they both over 4 kgs now, will find out this weekend. They can't have the BCG shot at birth cause too light, have to wait till full month.

I see... one of my twins is smaller than the other. We are monitoring their weights every week now. Hope they both are big enough when they pop out. Am 33 weeks + now and already feeling some on and off cramps ... just praying that I can keep them inside for a while longer.

They were one week earlier than the c-section schedule, my gynea gave me some pills intended to keep them few more days inside, but they still can't wait that time..n I didn't even get my bag fully packed n nothing prepared just have the c-section that day as I thought I just went to check for babies' heartbeat when I spotted some discharge that morning. I was told by my gynea, as long as they both hit 2 kgs will be fine..don't worry, I heard some twins pregnancy can even last till week 38, you might be one of them.. Keep it up.

I had the steroid jab to mature babies' lungs last week. Did you feel some cramps and that was why your gynae gave you the pills to keep them inside?

How is it now with the twins? Do you have a helper or nanny to help?

hi coco, talk to your babies to share the nutrients out. it worked for a lot of mothers and also tell them to absorb the food you are eating and not stay in you for a longer period. they can hear you now.

for the steriod jab, even right before the emergency c-sect, they will still give another booster. oestrogen is to prevent further cramping be relaxing the uterus.
for my case, the babies were all cramped for space and even when my bladder is full, the reader indicated that I am in labour. After i release the pee, it goes back to normal again. So long you have not dilated, contraction is normal from time to time.

if anyone is looking to buy stroller connectors, i have one for sale at $20. Got it at $33 from Robinsons. Good as new.

by the way, am a mother of twins too!

Have a elder boy 4.5yo, followed by twins boys 2.5yo. Battlefield at home everyday!