Twins due in 2008?

bb2609 - haha i know of all these pantang stuff. come from christian family so not so bad. if afraid just stay away lor.

m more concern if things fall on me in midst of installation since still in first trimester.

for CL sigh! m still thinking. with twins maybe need one to teach maid what to cook?

Purebliss - hang in there, i know the feeling. seems so far away. was at the other thread and read that at 9Wks, can see bb hands and legs stretching and dancing. m so looking forward. hope all's well.

happy weekend ladies.

Purebliss
yep.. my legs are like "pig legs" now..
and my gynea stress say rest will reduce it..

yesterday went for my gynea visit..
he still stress on rest.. and say now is whole day on bed rest liao.. if not if my amniotic fluid keep on decreasing.. I have to go for c section 2 weeks later..

bb2609
yep.. my MIL even worst..
everything also cannot..
but I hack care her..
cos she is not here to "see" what I m doing..
those reasonable ones I will listen..
but those not.. dun care her..

Lynn,
I need the CL to teach my maid how to take care of bbs..

Hello ladies
Wow, this is a fast moving thread now! Am in MAlaysia visting in laws so not loggin in as much these few days.

Hi Lynn, welcome!

Purebliss
My gynae Paul TSeng at TMC is not a "specialist" for twins, I don't think, but he is one of the recommended gynaes by moms of twins on the twinplussing website...a local site for twins/multiples moms. He's v populr with moms who want natural childbirth/doulas/etc amnd v popular with expats too...

confinement
I didn['t do a proper confinement for my first child and felt quite weak/tired after....I also didn't have parents/MIL/maid help..so was extra tiring. I guess if you have help, maybe not so crucial. This time, even tho we have a maid, am getting a CL, not just for babies but more for me...best if not only opp to reset my body for optimum health!!!

Hi Ava & Jaslyn,

Thx. CL will certainly help...esp m first time mother. would be good for CL to coach maid to take care of baby and me. can't afford to fall sick always since twins.

Read about Dr Paul Tseng too. seems popular amongst the expats.

anyway, happy weekend ladies. i pray that all our babies are growing strong and healthy.

Hello Ladies,

Yesterday I went back to see my gynae because my left leg is in great pain. The gynae did a complete check for me and wanted me to attend physiotheraphy sessions. The uterus is pressing against my hip nerves. Babies are fine... but i think my hubby's chanting work. Initial, my gynae scan both should be princess but yesterday one of the twins, had something appearing in between the legs. My gynae says a possibility that this can be a boy... Told hubby about it and he was elated and says his chanting " ball drops" work. Hiaz... Gynae says she will confirm again this saturday if the baby is cooperative and open his legs wide.

bb2609, still in pain. Physiotheraphy damn ex... $100 per session. Hubby ask me give him $50 per time and he massage for me.
Now only 16 weeks... dunno how to survive for another 5 more mths.

Purebliss:
I also had cramps at night, especially if i lie on my back for a longer period of time with legs straight. Once I bend my leg => cramp up! But nothing happens when i sleep sideways..maybe you can try sleeping sideways?

Mrs H and bb2609, my pain starts from the pubic bone area all the way to my ankle... Nothing much can be done except to pray hard that my girl will shift a little bit... so she will not be sitting on my nerves..

Now and then hard to sleep because of this pain... been putting plaster on my inner calves to ease the pain.

Hard for me to sleep sideway, sleep this side, think the other twin protest, sleep the other, the other protest... only can sleep face up.

Purebliss
hope u r ok..
must rest more k..
dun worry..
I also tahan until now going to 33 weeks liao..
JIA YOU!!

Vine..
me going to 33 weeks..
last week gynea told me in 2 weeks time will be at 34 weeks..
hope can tahan longer..
mon went to TMC for scan..
better abit and my gers r not in danger..
today going for scan in NUH..
kepping my fingers crossed..

Purebliss:
Heard that sleep face up will lessen circulation to the lower part of the body... did u try using a bolster to support the tummy while trying to sleep sideways? i also felt the growing tummy 'falling' uncomfortably onto the mattress when sleeping sideways, but felt better when using a bolster to support
just my 2cts. hope u feel better and get some sleep anyways

Jaslyn:
Are you on bedrest already? is it really very heavy to even go downstairs and walk? otherwise is it very boring to coop up at home all the time?

I'm like in my 19 weeks and already feel a bit heavier and don't want to go far liao... can't imagine when i have to do bedrest 24/7 at home >_<

bb2609
yep.. I m on bedrest liao..
ya.. cant even climb the stairs.. will be panting..
go out buy bb stuffs cant walk more than 2 hrs..
so hor u better buy bb stuffs early..
very boring at home but becos of them no choice..
live on tv and internet..

my scan at NUH shows that my gers r not in any danger.. so gynea say see him in 1 wk time..
hope can tahan longer..

hi ladies, BTW anybody got 'pregnancy rashes'? I'm starting to develop very tiny itchy 'goosebumps' on my feet and toes and have been applying tiger balm. i'm scared they'll spread or something...

no rashes for me...

ladies, have you gals bought breast feeding pumps? Which type are you going with? Any brand? Please advise...

bb2609
No rashes either...better ask your doc?

Vine
I got my Medela PIS already. good if you're going back to work, apparently.

bb2609
nope.. my gers not kicking all the time..
sometimes I dun feel anything..

Vine
I also bought a Medela Pump already..

how much is the medela pumps? is it electronic or manual kind?

will let my mum take care, employ a maid to help her do hsework...

Vine
I saw something over the weekend which had twins, trips and quads being born...maybe that was the second part?

hi Ava: Me same as vinegal, getting a maid cos MIL is coming over to slog (ooops) I mean stay, and mum coming over for 2 weeks also... initially wanted a CL but too expensive...

are you all really gonna breastfeed? I have no confidence at all to produce so much milk, so i'm banging more on formula... cos heard all the horror stories (difficult to latch on, nipple biting etc) and can't imagine myself sitting there all day pumping and storing like a cow....I think i'll only give myself 1 week (the 1st week)....-_-;;

bb2609
The first week you'll have v little milk, as milk only comes in between days 3-5. If you are not planning to breastfeed at all, you should just ask for the meds to dry up breastmilk so u dont get engorgement. Otherwise, if u wanna try bf, you need to try it for at least 3 weeks to establish a good supply.

if your mum is helping you to take care of twins, how much will you pay your mum? Not sure what is a good gauge...

I have not bought anything! no milk bottles, no baby cot, no pram, no clothes, no pumps, nothing! Haha. any advice on what I shd buy first? The important ones?

Vine
Here is a list from another thread: where (now) is stated, it basically means before birth.

*Sleep
Cot (now)
Mattress (now)
Waterproof Mattress Protector (now)
Pillow (later)
Bolster (later)
Bedsheet Set (2) (now)
Playpen (now, can be used in place of cot for few mths if it has basinette)
Baby Monitor (now, esp if ur place is big)
Bean pillow (cooling) (now, optional)
Waterproof sheet (now)
Blanket (now)
Cot Mobile (optional)

*Change (now)
Diapers
Diaper Liners
Diaper Covers
Wipes
Changing Mat
Rash Cream
Cotton Balls/Cotton wool/pads
Bowl

*Bath
Bathtub (now)
Towels (Bath)
Towels (Face)
Toothbrush (later)
Baby Lotion
Comb/ Brush
Anti-slip/Bath Support
Cotton balls
Cotton buds

*Feed
High chair (later, much later)
Food warmer (now)
Bottles (some now, some later)
Breast Pump (now if bfing)
Bowls (5-6months)
Spoons (later 5-6months)
Tongs (now for steriliser)
Bibs (later)
Milk powder (just before birth)
Teats (s, m, l) - avent has variable flow teats
Brush for cleaning bottles (now)
Nipple cream (now)
Nursing bras (some now, some later)
Nursing pads (now)
Nursing Tops (1-2 now if bfing, more later)
Breastmilk storage (now)
Sterilizer (now)
Nursing Pillow (optional)
Detergent for cleaning bottles (now)

*Travel
Pram (can wait)
Car seat (now)
Carry sling (can wait)
Diaper Bag (now/can wait)

*Others (now)
Pajamas
Day clothings
Mittens
Bootees
Small towels/ handkerchiefs)
Receiving blankets
Caps
Clothes detergent
Clothes softener
Nail clipper
Nose pump
Baby tweezer
Yuyee or ru(2) yi(4) oil, gripe water
Bouncer (LATER)
Clothes rack
Cot organizer
Waterproof Mattress Protector

start shopping ladies!!!!!! LOL! I havent bought all my stuff yet either...need to do it this month. think next month cannot walk around much already.

WOW that's a VERY useful list...i no need to come up with my own liao! ^_^ thanks lots!

Question: do we start BATHING the bb in the bathtub when they are newborn? will they catch cold? my hubby say only wipe the body can liao wahahaha....*pengz

Vinegal: since CL charges $2500 for 28 days, maybe i'll pay my mum $1500 for 2+ weeks...

Ava: since 1st week very little milk flow, so start with formula? or just keep expressing until regular milk flow? if they hungry but i not enuf HOW??

BTW ladies who are BFing: are u gonna feed (on demand) 1 breast/side/baby/feed and interchange? or just keep to a 2-hour expressing schedule and freeze in the fridge, and warm up when whichever baby's hungry?

I had an Avent manual breast pump but hubby wanted to invest in a better pump. Maybe Avent Duo? Dunno yet... a lot of things in my mind now.

Hi Ava, I will be hiring a maid to help me to take care of the twins and my #1... Hubby says no point letting them go to nanny or infant care since the cost quite high. Meanwhile, I will be SAHM.
Thanks for the comprehensive list! Very useful.

Hi Vine, can i check with u if they will be repeating the show? I miss it... hiaz.

Ladies, is your breast leaking colostrum alerady? Mine is starting to leak a bit.
Gynae says never mind.

bb2609, must keep pumping as high demand gives you a high supply! That was what I did withmy girl till I managed to fully breastfeed her till she was one.

my first week also milkflow was very little. only colustrum, in fact. but my gynae told me not to worry as you might think the baby is not getting enough but actualy he/she is!

Purebliss
so fast leak liao ah?
mine until now nothing leh..
today 33 wks liao..

I will hiring a maid and a CL..
need the CL to bu my body and help to teach my maid..
cos my mum dun know how to cook and I dun want my MIL to come and disturb me..
later got post natal depression ah..

bb2609
First few weeks you can wipe. you can also do one bath a day or eevry two days using bathtub...make sure not in windy area lah and that your towel/clean clothes are all ready for change after the bath.

for bf'ing suggest you borrow books on bfing to read up more about it...you need to latch and express from the start even before u feel the milk come in. if babies are of normal weight etc, you dont need to add formula or even water. giving forumla is the surest way to ensure your breasts dont have enough...cos the demand wont be there.

thanks all for your advice on BFing and baby bathing ~ I think real advice from mummies are much valuable to me than reading books *serious*... really boosted my BF confidence a bit more
Will ask the lecturer during my antenatal classes ba...

Anybody planning to use diaper cloth for the twins? or using ALL pampers? or mixture?

bb2609
I will be using a mixture..
use diaper cloths during the day and pampers at nite..
cos its ex to use pampers the whole day...

ladies: buying breast pumps is a trial&amp;error thing right? i'm prolly gonna buy the highly recommended Medela brand, but donno if i'll be comfortable with it after investing in a few hundred $$ :p anybody regret 1st purchase and buy 2nd pump?

any 1st time mums here try pumping BEFORE giving birth (like practise a bit)? will colostrum be pumped out if I try the pump say 1 week before giving birth? (heehee i kiasu type)

BB2609, you mentioned that your fren paid paid a bit more so that her hubby n daughter could stay overnight? how much, do you noe? and did she give birth to twins?

and does anyone noe how much is the twins package for both c-sect and vaginal birth at KKH and TMC?
i ve yet to find out but keen to noe.

Mrs H
according to the twins package list I took from TMC for 1 bedded:
C-section - GA is $2895
C section - Epi is $2795
bb is $388 each
Vaginal birth - $1750
Vaginal birth with Epi is $1980
bb is $338 each..

Mrs H: nope I donno how much additional she paid, but she only deliver 1 baby..i think they paid a bit more for a small portable bed or something like dat... why not call TMC to enquire
I wish KK got such service heehee but my hubby say he want to go back and rest *sigh*

anybody feed breastmilk and supplement with formula milk? I'm wondering will the baby have a preference, say after he drink BM, then when we give formula at nite (to make him sleep longer) and he rejects it? can your baby tell the difference?