Tubal Ligation

junniezz

appreciate mummy undergone abv can shall more info? eg. r there any side effects to look out? will mensus b heavier & longer than b4? thks.

Hi junnie, there are no side effects. As for menses i'm not sure cos i haven't get it yet. I am fully BF my baby that's y.

hi vivienne..thks. oic, so u TBF, tat's y no mensus yet, me not BF, TFM, still hving mensus after almost 7wks, pending for papsmear, (1st mth was v heavy, gradually subside, now come bk again, jus wonder izzit normal or bcos of ligation?)

hi celia..thks... so tat means we'll hv heavy menses fm now on
actually i v blur, i didnt ask any side effects or not & opted for ligation straight after delivery!!i heard my relative saying abt causing ectopic pregnancy??? now then wanna find out more like v stupid, so hope to hear more info fm mummies who knw abt it.

junnie - dun say stupid, u jus wants to know more like me. Abt menses, i'm not able to give u any inform . Sorry.
If i'm not wrong abt ectopic pregnancy, it's only if u undo the sugery then there's a risk.
Dun think too much everything will be alright!

morning vivienne... huh, u mean can remove meh? my gynae told me is permanent leh tat's y keep ensuring tat i hv really 'make up my mind' b4 the surgery.....mine is 'clipped', yours too? or 'cut' away the tube? i'm reluctant to chk w my gynae cos not sure when going bk to see her again & they dun 'entertain' queries via phone, anyone can help chk w your gynae & advice?

Good morning junnie, I dunno 'cos when i go 4 my last chk up, my gynae ask if i want another baby so i said how to already cut? She said she can undo 4 me if i want, so i guess mine is clipped.

just did it last month, my gynae told me can reverse but very high cost. My menses came last week and it's really heavy compare to last time....before tt it only last 3 days but now for 1 week and so much.

I had tubal ligation last year. Yes I did have heavier menses, but it is still OK lah. One gynae told me to take painkillers like the pink color Panadol for menses pill which can help to lighten the menses. It works for me. Now more than 1 year later, my menses started to get lighter even without taking pain killers.

hi, thks vivienne, jas & tamarind for sharing.

so now i knw ligation will cause heavy flow than b4, at least get some info here. dun tink will reverse lah, if nt, wont ligate in the 1st place!! i did mine right after delivery cos still hv epidural on, if nt, gynae said will hv to wait 6wks later then can ligate via 'key-hole' - got to pain 2x, must well get it done & pain 1x, hehe ;)

hello gals.

I'm having my second kid, my first kid's only 10 months old now. plan to ligate after the second one pops.

may i know how much is the procedure? what is the diff betwn 'clipping' and 'cutting away the tube'?

rubber_ducky,
I went to SGH to for the surgery. Costs about $600. Cutting away is permanent, clipping may be reversible.

hi rubber_ducky, mine done straight after giving birth @ME two mths ago, cos gynae only practice there, v X, almost 1K+ for ligation alone. i jus went for chk-up last week & gynae said nowsaday only clipped no cut away, to reverse v X & no side effect to ligate. i told her i got heavy mensus aftertat & she said ligate got nothing to do with hormone. if dun ligate after birth, will hv to wait at least 6wks & do key-hole day surgery for ligation & my gynae only do ligtation for patient abv 35 onwards.

thanks tamarind and junnie for the info :)

i'm not yet 35, but i really want to be ligated. My gynae's from TMc, i shall ask her for more advice..thx

I also intended to go for ligation in this coming June..
After ligation , the menses really will be heavier huh? i now experiencing bad cramp n heavy flow during menses after i gave birth to my boy in Sept 07..
My gynae told me this process is irreversible. although is clipped..

I just visited KKH on Tue,
the MO told me they will only do clipping at KKH,
& I have to consider it as non-reversal...
Also they will do it on 2nd day after we give birth,
thru a little "U" cut below our belly button,
anyone done it at KKH?

I'm currently due to deliver no.3 soon and am considering tubal ligation. However, I'm afraid there will be side effects cos from internet got such thing as Post Tubal Ligation Syndrome.

Can refer to the website below for details.
http://www.tubal.org/VGHPTS.htm

I checked with my gynae and she said from her years of experience... most patients dun experience much side effects. Dunno how true leh. I really dun want to be preggie with no.4 liaoz. 3 kids is more then enough for me.

Any ladies who can share their post tubal ligation experience? Appreciate all feedback. Many many thks.

<font color="ff0066"> Leng Leng</font>
<font face="comic sans ms"> Oh really yah... thats not good leh. I'm also afraid that my breastmilk SS will decrease or will get heavy menses. Haiz.. really dilemma whether to go for ligation or not.</font>

<font color="ff0066"> maybemummy</font>,
<font face="comic sans ms"> I tink one of the main criteria is that you must be above 35-yrs. Other then that, the gynae will also want to make sure that you will not want to have anymore BB's cos this procedure is irreversible. Maybe you'll also wanna discuss this wz your hub before coming to a decision.</font>

<font color="ff0066"> Leng Leng</font>
<font face="tahoma"> I'm already 35-yrs liaoz. I've tried all sorts of contrceptives... but majority dun work for me leh.

The Pill --> not suitable cos I'm those tat can never remember to take pills. Also I really hate popping medicine into my mouth unless totally and really boh pianz.
I dun even take multi-vitamins lor.

Injection --> Continuous bleeding for almost 5-mths. Cos I have Thalassemia, this caused me to become severly anaemic.

Patch --> Extreme hormonal mood swings. It got so bad... almost slipped into depression.

IUD --> not yet try. Thinking of this as alternative.</font>

Dymples,
I'm also thinking of IUD,
but polyclinic &amp; KKH can't do it till my menses comes.

My mom says after ligation,
her virginal is dryer &amp; she doesn't enjoy intercourse as much as before.
She specifically told me &amp; my MIL NOT TO ligate...

Another method...
Ask hubby to ligate... hehehe...

My hubby rather take chance to have #4 BB than go for ligation...hahaha...

<font color="ff0066"> Leng Leng</font>,
hahahah... that's a good idea. Get DH to ligate instead. Yah lor... why must we women bear the rbunt of everything hor.
Pregnancy hormones, pain of child birth, then now ligation. *hmmp*

Aiyoh... but my hub definately won't want lor. He also rather have no.4 then go ligate. *faintz*

Since the guys don't mind having #4, then why are you ligating?

I think it's better not to ligate so early esp if u dunno if u might wanna give birth again. There's been cases of parents giving birth again to save their sibling who has some illness. If u cut it off, there's no turning back.

I'm 26 with 3 kids ages 5,3,1. I have been haveing a hard time with doctors not willing to give me a tubal ligation because of my age. last monday I have found a doctor willing and i have a appoment feb 20th and i have ppl telling me that i will lose weight after and im hopeing thats not right. im already under weight and have been trying to gain 30lbs my goul is to be 120lbs.. Have you lost or gained after your tubal ligation?

I read from KKH that there is another type of permanent contraceptive called "Coil insert" which no need for day surgery coz no cut is required. Side-effect is not as much as clip/cut ligation. But the cost will be more expensive.

Anybody done this method before ? Can share ?

Hello Moms,

Need ur advice please.

I am considering a reverse tubal ligation, my OBGYNE has given her OK...my uterus is very fine, there should be no problem to conceive again.

My concern is, I need to know where particularly in Singapore and how much? My OBGYNE is currently out of the country right now and any info from you would be highly appreciated.

i am thinking of ligation....but which is commonly been practised now - cut tubes or tie tubes?

my gynae said tie has the same effect as cut...isit true? tie doesnt give me a peace of mind at all since i really dun want anymore kids...

this thread is quiet.

any advise esp if you have done ligation before? juz thinking which is better also-tie or cut?

I just had a ligation after my third child is born. N now I just discovered I have thyorid.
Anyone has the same situtation as me..
I regretted not looking up online to know that actually there is a lot of side effects from ligation which our gynae did not tell us.

Not so sure but I saw in e web that by doing ligation there is some hormonal Changes in our body. N I got e thyroid now after birth of my third child 4 days later. So I suspect that maybe e cause. Also causes me finically tight as we did it cos we thot it cheaper than doing other type of contraceptive measures. Paid add $1.5k for e ligation n now discovered thyroid have to see specialist n dunno if have to undergo other med n surgery dunno how much it will cost. Been depress over it n crying cos it's non-reversal n I was so afraid that I have those side effects

Hi fatmamalove,
Sorry to hear of the thyroid. I wish you speedy recovery.

Dear mummies here,
I do not have any medical knowledge on ligation. So, I would not say it has side effect or not. I just want to share my experience with you here. I did the ligation 2 and a half year ago.

As for me, I did the ligation straight after give birth to my 4th one coz I don't want anymore children. In fact I should have done it after my 3rd labour but I was hesitated because I had natural birth and didn't feel good to hv my tummy cut an inch the day after. Well, this was the most regret thing I have ever decided. If I was more firm at that time, then I wouldn't have my 4th one. The unplanned pregnancy and child has ruin most of my plan esp the financial and the maid arrangement. Sigh......

As for the type of ligation, cut or tie, I didn't check it with my gynea. Anything will do as long as it is permanant contraceptive method. As I have decided to ligate, I will not think of the reversal anyway.

So far, I do not experience any side effect. My period still come monthly , the flow is normal. Sex drive still the same ... etc.

When I made the decision of ligation, I also did some research over the internet. It is the safest method to prevent pregnancy. As far as I know, from my grandma generation to my mum, aunties, mum's friends, all did the ligation did not complaint anything wrong with it ... so I trust it too.

Hope my sharing brings some light here.

Hi Jkids,
I didn't ask my gynea.
I heard both methods are equally effective. And both method has a slim chance of reversal with high cost.

chris"
thanks again. i can truly understand abt the financial contraint, but i salute u for keeping your bb despite the obstacle u will face. we are blessed wif kids.

fatmamalove:
hope things will be better for u and not as bad as u think. every problem comes with a solution. be brave for your kids.

anyone had natural delivery but did ligation right after the delivery?

is it true that while gynae does the ligation, we will have to be put to sleep? i am surprised coz i thought its juz a small surgery, y put me to sleep? anyone can share pls...