TOA PAYOH mummies

Girls, my girl got this cough for 3days, she's active, drinking eating. But cough so much at night, it sounds like a hacking sound and very kua zhang. Shld I be concerned? I giving her amxol, the previous cough mixture I got from my pd before.

Is it getting worse? cough takes a long time to clear, even for adults. I would continue giving her the med for a couple more days and if the cough is still persistent or getting worse then see PD or doc again.

By the way, mummies, saw this called littledesigners.com, it's a home-based art class provider, charges are low (about $100 pm), class ratio quite ok too 1:6 for kids aged 4-8. I've emailed to enquire further. Any mummies interested to join?

so tired after 2 series of bronchitis!
#2 gotten it when he is 1 mth old and after he recover #1 gotten it.
both on neb and decide to buy the machine cause renting is so ex!

my son is going to YMCA at bishan in sept after a 1 mth break for him to recover.

mummies who send their child to cc, what should i prepare and normally what they bring to school daily? i should prepare milk powder for school too ?

babyrainbowz,
u may have to provide the following:
1) milk powder
2) milk bottels
3) towels
4) few sets of home clothings
5) diapers + diaper cream
6) 'rouh yi yu' ornamental oil
You should also check with the CC as well.

am back from a long, tiring but fun trip to genting & malacca. i guess my gal enjoys the most thru out this trip. during the trip every morning she wakes up the first thing she say was 'are we going out?'

ivy,
hope your gal's cough doesn't get serious. do continue to give her cough med and like wat j_foo said bring her to see doc if it doesn't get well after 1 or 2days later.

babyrainbowz,
aiyo, i can imagine how difficult it is with 2 kids being sick. are they better now? ya one period my gal was on neb almost every mth that i bought the machine instead of renting.

dor,
glad to know that your gal enjoyed her trip.

Babyrainbowz
If infantcare, then you decide really, subject to their space constraints.
But if childcare, the school should be giving you a list of basic daily items to pack in the bag.
My CC's basic list:
1) uniform (to be worn in the morning) with shoes
2) house clothes (1 set - but I usually pack 2 cos my girl is quite messy). I noticed that the CC usually has spare/old uniforms that they let the child wear if there are too many 'accidents' during the day.
3) 1 bath towel
4) 1 milk bottle (for toddlers upwards only 1 milk feed a day)
5) water bottle
6)* for days with water play (once a week), swim or wet wear.
Otherwise, to store at CC, refill on request: diapers and tin of milk.
Very simple list.

Not sure about other CCs, but rou yu and diaper cream only if necessary or requested specifically by parent when at childcare, no semi-automatic application unlike in infantcare.

Babe - dont worry too much about enrichment programmes etc etc..esp those related to book education. There are upsides and downsides. One downside being that if they learn too much too early, when they go to P1, they'll be bored and get a very bad first impression of school. However much extra someone is doing, there will always be someone who's doing even more 'extra'. Esp in Sing Sing lang

Dor
I heard there was a very bad jam going out of Singapore on Friday and Sat morning. Did you get caught? Am planning a trip to Mcca hari raya puasa weekend and looking for best timing to start trip..
Neighbour said got caught for 5 hours at the causeway... I will die of exhaustion if have to entertain my girl for so long in such a cramped space

sunny,
ya caught in the jam on the way back on Sat nite but we were lucky to have choosen a faster lane. otherwise really gotta stuck for hours. Overall we took abt 21/2hrs to reach Sin. It is advisable to use 2nd link during festive season. the route is longer but going past customs are faster.
I din manage to chk out the nyona rstn u recommended, tried calling the no. but cldnt get thru. However, we ate at nancy's kitchen which is pretty nice as well.

My brother-in-law and his family just came back from KL yesterday and he said the queue at the causeway last night was about 4 hours. So yup, be prepared esp when there's a long weekend. Either come back before or after most S'poreans flock back (ie at late evenings).

Babe, agree with Sunny, I really don't see a need to have extra classes to prepare for P1. Get a good preschool who can cover what's necessary and it should be enough. Monitor again when P1 starts, if the child really can't cope then perhaps consider starting enrichment or put in the work at home. The first half of P1 things are pretty slow moving. Things like art, music, ballet, any form of sports etc is optional. Only add these if (1) there's an interest and/or (2) you want to implant this discipline. Many think that these are "for fun", whilst to a certain extent it is for fun, at the same time there is a certain discipline that goes into it.

wow, seems like I missed a lot of interesting discussion from soup base to CC
Was on leave last week coz helper went back and I became "maria" for a few days before the new helper arrives. Well... the new helper not exactly up to the job, so we are thinking of changing.

Blk 54 having new CC? Hmm.... i assume it's those at HDB void deck? I have registered my girl to TPMC pre-nursery next year. Looking forward to her new term. Problem with kindy is that they follow MOE school holidays. Eg. today, the PG she attends also having holiday like the pri schools. My mum said time passes so slowly this morning coz she has to entertain my hyper active girl the whole morning. My girl was also restless at home. Can't imagine the 6 weeks sch hols in Nov/Dec *faint*. And that's my confinement period!!!

Sigh, re-visiting CC centre options but got to take sch bus. Anyone had their kids at my first skool at TPY central? I been to the premise last time, abit the old lor. Met my cousin who's a pre-sch teacher. She told me My first skool advocates learning thru play.

Babygenius
My gal also 2008 baby. 2 hour programe at TPMC, 9am or 1115am class. Not sure on sch bus timing.

Newmummy, Galdophin, Char
I forgot that I am pregnant sometimes. Abit bo chup with the 2nd pregnancy coz still so busy coping with No 1. I am due mid Nov. Char - congrats too!

Newmummy, hang on with the sleep routine. I hv just taken over the nightly coaxing my girl to sleep as during my one-week leave without helper and MIL, I realise my girl slept better when it's me coaxing her to sleep. Guess it's the sense of security from a mother? Haha... anyway, my standard time taken to coax to sleep is about an hour. Haha. Let's pray hard hard they will sleep on their own soon.

twotwobravo
My girl currently at Edufarm PG. The 2 teachers are nice and caring.

Gosh going back to work full time is so tiring that i am asleep by the time 9pm hits! put the boys to bed and i am sleeping already myself!

surf
look forward to it coz it the time to do all the training and bonding that #1 needs to get to know #2! also its time to reassure her that mummy is not taken away by the #2. =) helps the siblings to bond better this way.

sigh my boy have been absent from class for the past 2 weeks! bronchitis is really no fun! re dr heng.. hahah i don take all her meds...=p if i feel its not needed i tend to give some excuse to escape. =p

oh the TPMC my boy is in the 1115am class next year.

Surf,
Thanks for the info. My gal just started at Y'kidz. So far teachers seems caring and patient. But like what baby rainbowz said, maybe too much of playtime for K1 and K2 age. May have to change her to another school or childcare then.
I visiting My First School before. Environment is nice and clean after they have renovated. But I finds that it is too big a centre. During the snacks and free time, it is really so noisy with kids running here and there! The good thing is they have a private playground at tt the roof top.

Mummyof2boys
Hehe, been trying to tell my gal about her baby didi but she does not seem to understand yet. Oh, you opted for the 1115am class. If not, our children can be classmates. Re: Dr Heng, yah, she tends to give a lot of medication and presribe nebaliser. And my bill always cost $100 plus!

Babygenius
Oh, my first skool at central just renovated? Hmm.... i been there 2 years ago when I was considering the place for infantcare. Finds the place too old, not comfortable to leave an infant there. Agree on the noisy aspect, when I was there then, i see the kids running around. But I been to some big centre, also the same case lor, esp if there's many kids.

ivy... so u wer lugging the high chair hm frm where?! so heavy! hope belle's cough goes away soon soon!! my own cough also came bac a few times, still in "recovering process".

dor... glad ur ger had fun! so how did u solve the cooking prob?

sunny... apr when i went KL for long weekend, we were not particularly stuck in any jam either, cleared customs very fast cos took 2nd link. cons is cant eat in JB lor.

surf,
thanks for the reply.
will give her a try at edufarm PG in 2011

so i guess next year i will have to consider either PCF at blk 157 or TPMC for her N1.

william(22bravo)

babygenius
Y'kids follows MOE sch holidays too?

William
A few kids will be graduating and some going to CC centre come Jan 2011. So there shld be vacancies. Suggest you go down to speak with the teachers and chk out the environment as different parents hv different expectations. What I deem ok may not be ok for you.

Hey Surf,so now ur girl still need coax to zz la?standard hour 1hour?wow!tats vy long le,thk me got no patient on that lo!
Btw,this few days my boy refuse zz on his own cot,shouted and cream,cry so loud!then put him down to my bed, then he only keep quite and fall zz!then i will put him back cot once he really fall zz deeply..so tired for that!don know y he suddenly change again...so many pattern!really pary hard he can zz on his own soon!

are,
brout a small cooking pot fm ntuc but din use thru out the trip. by then reach the hotel room v tired liao...jus let her drink milk and zzz.
she din eat much during the entire trip, lucky i brout bread for her to 'tong' hee!

newmummy08,
jts, my gal now 3+yo is still sleeping in the same bed wif me. i find there's no hurry to let her sleep alone until she's ready and i also kinda like the feeling of sleeping with her whereby i can see and feel her.

newmummy08
Oh, so your boy can fall asleep himself? Then it shld be ok and not so tiring yah? Mine need to play abit with her in the cot, she will talk to me, talk to herself, play her pillow, then when she tired, she will lie down. Then expect me to massage leg *faint*. Bad habit inculcated by you-know-who (old folk). Yes, a lot of patience is needed.

are, i never lugged any high chair back leh... U sure its me? The only time i lug something back is Tissue paper from ntuc... laundry powder... no high chair leh.

Hey Dor,as since my boy vy young already zz on cot by his own,but just tat suddenly he refuse zz on his cot,but wan zz on our bed,even without we zz aside,he still ok,don know y he doesn't like his own cot liao?hmm...wonder...mayb reach certain age,bb will change pattern again??
some more wen i wake up,he not wake up yet,so i dare not just let him lie there and i go do my own stuff,coz after he awake,he will immediately walk out room without my notice,so abit dangerous le,but if he zz in his cot,then atleast when he awake,he can go anywer...hehe...
Surf,he still need coax,just tat i got not patient to coax until 1 hr!so i will tk turn with hubby..hehe..else,vy tired le!He also will play with his pillow and talking to himself,until after a while,then he will eyq big big and stare on somethg like thking somethg,after awhile then fall zz lo...still need pat pat on him la...

Surf,
Y'kidz only close for 1 week in Jun and 1 week in Dec. But still pay full month school fees for these 2 months.
So far, my gal attended PG for one week only, these 2 days kept home cos sick since last Sunday...sigh....

newmummy08,
my gal used to sleep in her own cot too until we bring her to our bed on one occassion when she was dwn wif fever. from then on she wont wanna go back to her own bed liao.
maybe your boy doesnt like the cot feeling (being confine) hence he prefers your bed. u may also teach him how to come dwn the bed safely too. meantime u cld consider getting him a bed instead, let him choose the design and tells him he'll sleep in this bed in future. do buy bedguide if it doesnt has one. be prepared he may or may not sleep in his new bed hence need a little persuasion.

Btw, awared that Y'kidz got open hse on 21 Aug le...may go tk a look...bt thk is more for PG le...anw,just called up ask,for kids 1.5mth to 3yo got those montessori class,don know good or not...is $140 per mths,4 time a mth,every sat only, 10-11am...

Thanks for the CC list!
My son is coming 3. So he drink 1 feed of milk
if he is happy..

Anyway went YMCA again to do registration but suddenly feel uncomfortable..
Sigh.. Start looking for another CC again!

Anyone have comments on babies by the park at carmichael rd?

Char,
both get better already. Just that #1 on a sensitive airway medication..
Now got to keep him home till he fully recover before bringing him to new sch..

Babyrainbow
I drove past once to chk out the place. Was considering to put my girl there. It's rather run-down but I think the curriculum is not bad. I prefer their branch at Li Hwan, the place looks newer but fee also higher due to higher rental that they hv to pay.

I fainted when they told me the sch bus for 1 way is about $100 :p

But what's wrong with YMCA?

Saw the My First Skool banner at Blk 54/55 along Lor 4 liao. I called up the branch at Blk 192 to see where my girl is now in the wait list. There were 30-40 pax waiting infront of her early this year. The staff checked and told me... ermm... still 30-40 pax in front of us!

My fren who stays in TPY also is considering to enrol her kid next Jan at Mindchamps for K1 and K2. It's half day or full day CC service. So stressful.... whether to send our kid to a branded sch or a normal one.

Surf,
is li hwan center far away?
I drove past last night n really looks run down but not sure abt the sch itself.
Why u didn't let ur girl go to this sch?

I was about to place deposit at YMCA 2 days ago and the VCR principal attended me to.
I was shocked that the vice principal looks like selling noodles auntie in the market.. She was arguing with the admin if there is a need for child photo in front of me and they are speaking broken English...
When my son was crying an refused to leave, the admin laugh at my son in front of all the kids! Which I think she should have handle kids crying much better than laughing at him and it might hurt him in someway.
And when I mention about toliet training n brushing of teeth after meal the teachers commented that he is still too young but he is 3 this year...

So I thought if looking around again..

Don't be surprise I actually paid $100 for one trip of sch bus at ykidz! 2 trips at $120 but only for 4hr session

Babyrainbow
Li Hwan centre is not exactly that far. It's near Boundary road, at those landed property area. From carmichael place, you hv to turn into the lorong chuan road where the aust sch is and then go straight down to hit boundary road. BTW, Li Hwan centre no sch bus service hor. Coz they said their kids all stay nearby, no demand.

I saw that the carmichael place is too run down, so just gave up the idea. And also, not prepared to let my girl take sch bus yet. She coming 22 months only.

Christine, does Ryan want to join Jayden in an art class at my place? It's a free trial. Subsequently 4 sessions for $85, 1.5hours each time, commitment is for 8 sessions. Any other mothers interested? Looking for a 4 yr old to join my son, max 3 kids. Also looking for someone to join my daughter, age group would be btw 6-8 yr old. Timing for the younger group will probably be afternoon around 430 on a weekday. Older group will be night or weekend.

Yes Joyce, I would love to let Ryan attend art lessons.. Please make arrangement for the trial.. Fees and timing both ok with us..

ivy... maybe i saw wrong person. hehe... :p

dor... your ger is very roti-happy hor? giv roti can liao, like me. :p

Hi jfoo,
Which presch are ur kids in? I've sent mine to ascension but realise they don't teach alot. Alot of fun and play I must stay. Coz for N2 I realised they only started no. 1-10 this term. So wonder if this is a good enough presch that I dun have to send for enrichment. Spoke to 1 or 2 mommies with kids there and they all sending to some form of academic enrichment. My son going in next yr to N1 so if this is not so good, then am looking for another to change.

jfoo u open art class?

Babe, my girl's now in Pei Chun P1, she attended Singapore Montessori Kindergarten at Upper Thomson during K1 and 2. I find that they really do give a good grounding for the kids, or at least they did a good job with my daughter. Currently my son's in YKidz. I probably will switch my son at some point, in a year's time I think to S'pore Montessori Kindergarten. Only thing that's holding me back is transport, will need to take school bus there and back. Then of course, the school follows term hol... My son's not very good at adapting to new environments so that's going to be another problem though hopefully in a year's time he'd have overcome that.

As for art class - I've always been wanting to let my kids take it up but all the ones I've searched for, timing just doesn't work out. I've just come across this lady that does home classes so I thought I'd giver her a try (before this was trying to get my friend from SOTA but again timing didn't work). Anyway, I thought if there were 2 or 3 kids in a group, it would be more interactive and interesting.

By the way, there's going to be a trial on Wed 18 Aug at 730pm. So Christine, will see you and Ryan then. Any others?

Surf,
I've visited bythepark at Carmichael.. Indeed is run down but my son seems to enjoy himself there while principal tour me ard... The teachers click with him right away n he wasn't looking for me throughout that hour!
And principal gave me a good price...
Will go n take a look next week before deciding if he should go for trial...

Jfoo,
3 yr old for art class is too young right??
My boy actually remember your boy!

The class is suppose to be for 4 yrs and above, my son's not quite 4 yet (he's 3.5) but because his sister is there the teacher said can have trial together. You want to just join in for the trial? If so we'll have 3 boys aged 3 and 4, then my daughter 7. Anyone around the 6 and 7 age range want to join my daughter? Then I can request for the teacher to run the trial separately.

RE: www.luvbabies.weebly.com

Hi all, long time no post. Good things must share. I refer to the above website recommended by are. I took the risk and transferred money first on Wed. Received the goods on Fri night. I ordered Friso 3 1.8kg which is $8 cheaper than Fairprice + the convenience of delivery. Next time I don't have to lug the heavy milk powder home anymore (I always buy a few when Fairprice got offer)

Babygenius, do you want your daughter to join with the boys? Or perhaps join my daughter? She's 7 so a difference of a year should be ok. If yes I'll get the teacher to give a trial separately from the younger boys. Let me know.

My son goes from 830-1230.

hey mummies that sending kids to ykids....is the class good?this sat will hv open hse there, will bring my boy there for the enrichment course,don know how effective it is and shall i let my boy try it....1 hour is abt $35 le!not cheap for me...hmm...any adv?

hi jfoo

im keen to let my 4 yrs old gal join the art class.
the lesson wil be held in the afternoon 4.30pm?? care to share wif me alil of the teacher's profile?

As for the trial on wkday evening, i dnt think i can make it..my elder gal needs to have her dinner n complete her homework

J foo,
What's is the timing n price for the class? Cuz if timing not right no point join for the trial too... My boy is 2.5 coming 3 in dec. Should be fine right? What kind of art class is that?

Re ykidz
Finally my boy has withdraw from there. He came back with a bite from his classmate and no one inform me till bedtime he show it to me which is red and blueblack.
Was quite upset that the teachers did not inform me cuz it was a big bite and my son will cry for sure.
The explaination the teacher give the next day after I called is she thought that classmate didn't bite even she saw some reddish mark. Or maybe it wasn't a hard one. I think she doesn't know what she is talking too.. And this happen when the teacher walk out of the class.
Since is the last day I don't bother to talk more with her anymore.
But still my son miss his sch!! Hope I can find one for him asap...

Hi all, i hv been trying to absorb what you all talking about haha, cos my girl now only at infant care.

When does a child change from infant care to childcare to preschool or Kindergarden??

What school around our areas that have all these? Maybe you all can put where your kids goes to , i type out a list on excel then i post it here. I know my first skool is one stop lah, from IFC to CC . Their CC change from 4yrs to 7yrs old, whereas mindchamps 3yrs old to 7yrs old, so dunno why the difference.

I tot of changing my girl from my first skool when she goes into child care, i feel my first skool is very packed. Not sure if its good, i never really research.