TOA PAYOH mummies

Babygenius,
didn't know masterpiece provide sch bus for half day. Will call n check out later.

Today my son went excursion with the school..
And my son came back with diaper wearing the opposite side again! Lost his newly bought waterbottle and towel! Total lost $20 and I paid $20 for the excursion on top of sch fees..
Sigh.. I wish they can be more careful..
Now my son asking for his waterbottle which just bought ydae..

BabyRainbow
Your boy went on excursion with ykidz? Is your boy wearing the diaper pants or the normal diapers? If it's the normal diapers, terrible that they can get that wrong. Goodness.

You tried calling the Sparkletots at Blk 146A? Think the last the last I called, they said they will open come Sep. Or the playgroup at HDB hub that I was telling you about. Can't recall the name.

Jialut, can't imagine what my elder will be like during my confinement in Nov to Dec. That's when the holiday break will be and there's no morning class. She will be at home also

Surf, normal diaper! Is really terrible. This clearly shows that they don't bother at all OR their teachers/helpers is inexperience.. And is NOT the first time!
Sometimes I don't know if I should laugh or cry!

Aiyo! Babyrainbow, that's bad for normal diapers. If it's pants, maybe can get it wrong coz the front and back marking may not be obvious for some brands. Nevermind. At least you hv decided to withdraw your boy. Go chk out the palygroup at HDB hub if you are keen. But it's only 2 hours.

dor
Shop N Save is open for 24 hours...
yeah, I shud go there to jalan one of these nights! hehe

gal.dolphin
TPMC is just opp the interchange, opp the Hub, and v v near to the MRT... diagonally across Blk 79...

are,
wanna ask you about the link you provided...have you ordered with them before? i'm a bit wary becos have to do fund transfer 1st.

Surf,
yes thats bad lor.. At least now I've decided to withdraw him I'm not that mad..
where is the banner?
Next year my son N2 Liao.. Wanna find a good kindy for him to stay throughout till pri sch..
Is TPY Methodist good?
Now the kindy is at the church there? Still under Reno right?
Will e going to view on monday..

re ordering milk online : my hubby dun allow me to order leh. say not reliable cos dun noe where the milk come from. the auntie from my econ downstrs give us very gd px also, same as ang mo or lower sometimes, juz slightly more ex than the online so hubby say not worth.

i got a link from the BP thread, alot of ppl buy from her and also transfer so re the tt shd be safe ba.

are,
ic ic. my hb is wary about the payment mode cos scared after awhile it may be a scam. the price of FM is slightly cheaper than wat i buy from ang moh and the price of diaper so far seems quite good. i thought it would be very convenient to order and they deliver especially after my #2 comes along. btw, do you have the link of the BP? would like to take a look. thnx

stylobb,
u mean S&S @ kallang leisure park still around and running 24hours ah...wow tat's great mann.
In fact we wanted to go there on Saturday evening to hv our dinner as well but was stuck in the jam for quite awhile due to road block. we finally gave up and adjourn to katong instead.

Babyrainbowz,
wow norm diaper still can get it wrong omg. did u feedback to the trs.? Btw, a few mummies here including myself enrol our kids @ Ascension Kindergarten (along jln toa payoh) school bus service available, u may wanna consider. http://www.ascension.org.sg/Kindergarten/

babyrainbow
Diapers - I think they are rather careless in that. Surely when putting it on, one wud realise that it's the wrong side.

TPMC - yeah, school fees are reasonable but I don't know the quality of the teachers....

are/char
I buy the Friso 4 from ang mo.

Are there mummies here registering kids for P1?

I have some nice pants to sell. They are from OshKosh and Gymboree. $10 each. BRAND NEW and genuine. Please PM me if interested. Collection at Blk 79 area is preferred, otherwise TPY MRT.

OshKosh Pink Pants:
3T (length is 46cm)
4T (length is 48cm)

4249148.jpg

Gymboree Dark Coral Pants:
2T (length is 43cm)
3T (length is 47cm)

4249149.jpg

dor
Er...sorry for not being clear, I mean the Toa Payoh outlet is open for 24 hours.. hehehe
Kallang one - is that where Filmgarde is? Stimes we go there for movies but I didn't know that is S&S..

hey Are,i thk the link u given,most of the milk are from Msia,thays y they can sell cheap...but for me Msia milk powder and SG version for me make no diff lo...

sylobb,
oic is also nice to hear tat S&S @ tpy opens 24/7. As for Kallang area its been a looooong while since i go there hence not sure about the recent happening there. if am not wrong S&S used to be @ kallang close dwn liao.

dor
Oh, the Kallang Leisure Gallery has changed a lot leh. The last we went they have skating rink, go-go bambini, Filmgarde cinema, various shops and restaurants, basement supermarket. We wud go catch a late night movie as there are lotsa parking lots. But these months, we go GV Bishan as nearer and more convenient.

are/mummies
Do you know what restaurant will be opening at the place where Banquet used to be (just next to S&S)?
There is now a Korea BBQ chix, and Killiney outlet.
I think the papers also feature the new restaurants at Orange Tee Bldg.. Lotsa to eat in TPY...hehe

stylobb,
ya, its been donkey long since i go Kallang Leisure Park liao. Great to know that there r more eateries sprouting out in tpy area. hv yet to try chk out Orange Tee, undstd fm Orangymum there's this western rstn there serves nice food.

Dor, I did feedback to the principal. But then, it happens again. Very pissed to see my son wearing his diaper the wrong way!
I tried ascension but was full till next year

any comments on YMCA bishan? Or any CCC to recommend with school bus? Decided to put my son to CCC as he keep mentioning he wants school after he comes back.
He used to attend 2 hrs then change to 4 hrs and find him happier than 2 hrs so maybe he will like CCC

Kallang Leisure Gallery - if not mistaken, weekdays free parking up to 6pm? Something like that.

Singapore Montessori Kindergarten is another good place if you want to prepare kids for primary school. They really do cover a vast amount that's taught in P1 well. School bus service available. 2 sessions - one in the early morning the other late morning, each session 3 hours (incl makan break). I will probably switch my son there at some point.

Stylobb,
My no. 1 is registering for P! this year. I am registering for Pei Chun, just 5min from my place.

j_foo,
how old is your son? It;s the one at windsor park (thomson) right?
One of my office staff placed her son at a montessori preschhol around Thomson area. Can;t remember the name. I shall go ask for feedack.

Babygenius, my son's 3 this year. Yes, SMK is at Windsor Pk Road, near Thomson Plaza. The teachers (or at least those who were there when my daughter was there from in 2008 and 2009) have years of experience and the staff turnover is almost nil. Those two years, the teachers remained unchanged.

stylobb... ask me food is correct one lah. there r 3 new restaurants @ the orange tee bldg (beside cinema bldg) - jap curry rice, western bistro & chinese rest. i ate at bistro b4, the food very nice, price is mid-range. tried desserts @ chinese rest, quite nice. menu looks like rest food but zhi char px. v keen to try.

as for the banquet, there r some reno going on, but not walk ovr there yet so dun noe wats the new place. hv not tried bbq or killiney tho.

are,
thnx for the link!

stylobb,
i also buy friso 4 form ang moh too but i was thinking that if that supplier is reliable then i'd like to order from them next time after #2 comes along whc will be so much more convenient with their delivery.

babyrainbowz,

my gal is signed up to start Nursery at Zhong Xiang Hui Guan at lor 2 next year. her cousin all study there. so far i see they okay so go there. don't know if they have school bus.

rlcl,
Zong Xiang seems not bad. I called them 3 months ago. they told me only taking N2 9meaning the year child turns 4), K1, K2 child. No school bus.

hey mummies... now that you are toking abt nursery and stuff, juz wanted to ask if you are aware that if you join RC (think for min 2 years) you can get to apply for pri 1 earlier batch? juz sharing. my RC is recruiting. :p

RC - you (or your hubby) will need to join and be a comm member then get P1 priority (phase 2A). So if you're thinking of this route, you'll need to give allowance to the "probation" period then add on the 2 yrs, like ARE mentioned. Very much like PV.

hi all, me very tired cos a busy week. My girl down with flu, cough with phlegm, fever that we got to use suppository. Then my hubby & i also sick. Apparently there is this virus going on, my niece also fever. A lot of babies in IFC also sick. My fren son also throw up for no reason though he stays at home one. So u all just be careful ya.

sigh

mine is sick too.... still coughing away with drippy nose.... have been home for the past week... sigh hope he goes back to routine well next week!

babygenius
Which phase is your son under for Pei Chun?

My boy is going to hb's old school and hb is in alumni so already registered and have recvd the letter of acceptance. Orientation will be in Nov, I think.

char
Yeah, for your case since you gotta look after the children, beta if they home deliver... I think the Friso is 50cents cheaper than ang mo....

dor
Oh, Kallang, nvm, can go and explore...hehe

Btw I have signed up for GE 10km run... gotta train more regularly.

are
We drove by several times at night, I see this Chinese signboard there (next to Mc's) but can't make out the words. I notice the Fortunate restaurant space is kinda bare, maybe they are moving there... I love the mini egg tarts from Fortunate.

The Korean bbq chix - we first tried at Orchard Cineleisure and it was nice. We tried this one at TPY and it was rather normal. They also have pasta and western food now.

Everyone is well at home except me! I just recovered from flu... haiz...

precious,
r u bk fm genting or going hee! btw both farms u mentioned, where r they located? do we need to drive out?
did u managed to get the winter clothings fm tpy for your lil ones?

stylobb,
i got the email and sms so tempeted to sign up but no time to train....and am putting on weight sigh sigh....

just to ask,i let my boy wear mamypoko whole nite long,sometime it is ok,but soemtime,abt midnite it will still leak out,so i shall change it midnite?he will wake up for milk,but the timing not fix,sometimes 1am+,sometime 3am+,so if i change during his milk time, let's say 1am+,then the diaper will become big big again early morning 7am+...sigh...
These few days coz of it,his whole body wet and the bed too!so cry and wake up!me and hubby so tired abt it!
Btw,i hv no idea how to stop him to wake up midnite for milk!it was so tired le!can be say since i delivered him till now,i nvr zz whole nite without wake up in the middle of nite!!even sometime me and hubby are routated,but also will awake by his noise!haiz...somebody help!!
He already 16mths le,don know wen he can act like big boy...

jfoo/are
I think for RC mbr - the kid falls under Phase 2B, not Phase 2A1 or 2A2...

dor
I was also hesitating but then decided to go for it!! I ran at MacRitchie for some Sats with my hb and found it rather tough leh...

newmummy
We trained our kids to sleep thru the nite when they were six mths old.. but I cannot really rmber how my hb did it... Don't think your kid is waking for milk, I think it's more like a habit for him liao....

stylobb,
u ran into the jungle track? is quite tedious especailly going up hill....last time i ran there almost out of breath hahaha! the worst happened when a big monitor lizard happens to cross the path and a few runners were stuck there for quite awhile....the feeling was quite scary. But this doesnt always happen jus so 'lucky' tat evening.

newmummy08,
change his habit of waking up at 1am by letting him sleeps late in the nite pehraps 10pm or 11pm+/-? when he kicks tat habit of waking up in the middle of the nite slowly adjust his sleeping time to earlier.

RC - falls into the same cat as PV, so in other words a guaranteed place (or at least in the past years, guaranteed). My friend wanted his girl to go MGS, so purposely rent a place within 1km. In the past years, those within 1km was guaranteed a place but guess what? This year, they need to ballot! So he's like "what now?" I told him, at least the chances are not as low as a 50-50 chance, his is 80-20 (to his advantage) but if suai-suai fall into the 20 then...haha!

Newmummy, do you give him a really big bottle of milk before sleeping? Try getting him to go to the toilet before sleeping (ie start some toilet training). For starters he won't understand and there might not be anything, but just keep pressing on and sooner or later you'll get something out. That way, you should minimise the chances of a leak.

As for waking up in the mid of night, he's probably using milk as a pacifier to get him back to sleep. Like stylobb, I started weaning the kids off milk at a very early stage, earlier than stylobb actually - at 3 months. Now I think you have to be firm, no milk means no milk. He will cry, he will scream, put on your ear plugs and pretend not to hear anything.

stylobb,
I registered my gal for Pei Chun under phase 2B. And this year, phase 2B also need balloting ...luckily I am within 1km so no need balloting. May I ask what school you registered your child in?

newmummy,
Hang in there! My gal never sleep through until almost 2 years old. At some point I knew she wasn't hungry for milk, Just wasn comfort and security to know you are around.
Try to reduce the amount of water towards end of the day. What time does he goes to bed? Perhaps tired him more in the day then can sleep better at night?
Is the size /design of the diaper right for him? Maybe need to try with other diapers.

Dor
You can take a taxi to the farm. RM40 per trip. Around 15-20mins. Are you driving?
Not easy to find winter clothings for 1yr old especially for snow.

precious,
we r driving up. Thanks for sharing i'll chk it out if we have the time coz its really a short stay. but i guess is good for C to venture out to nature as well. can tell fm your fb pix tat Sha enjoys it very much @ strawberry farm.

dor
Yes, did the jungle trail several times.. the 5km one. Not easy to run on the terrain, up and down, plus the ground was wet on several occasions. I am not able to run back and forth w/o stopping unlike running round the neighbourhood for 5km.

Tried the 7km+ once - tougher! Only good thing was we burnt a lot of calories...hehe

jfoo
Wow, 3 months old... think we started to train them cos we cannot tahan getting up every nite.. too tiring for us!! not to mention stressful!
Those days/nites are ok, twins also toilet trained for the nites when they were 3+.

Same question to you as babygenius... how do they determine for balloting...
If there are spaces left over from 2B, do they carry over these spaces to 2C?

babygenius
Curious, how do they determine the balloting for 2B, do they straightaway give to those within 1 km?
Registered him at acsj as hb was old boy/alumni...

hey... anyone interested in working PT - 2 days a week? fri is a must, and the other day can be any day of the week. simple clerical/recept work/preparing marketing materials. muz be able to use computer/internet.

Hey mummies
Am really puzzled about the whole primary school selection and registration process. My childcare currently has up to K2 so am set until then. But at what stage do I need to start registering or PVing or RCing to get a place in the primary school? Does MOE send out any notices to parents to tell us which schools we are eligible to register at based on our present address? help please. Very blur

stylobb,
According to MOE's guidelines, the no. of vacancies left from phase 1 and 2A shall be equally divided into phase 2B and 2C. In either of the phases, if the applicants are more than the vacancies, balloting will be conducted by proximity...meaning more than 2km will be the first to be balloted / rejected, then the 1-2km applicants and lastly the within 1km applicants.
Should any successful phase 2B applicant give up, it would be roll over to phase 2C.

Sunny,
Your child will enter P1 the year they turn 7yo. So parent register the kids betwwen Jul and Aug the year before.

Eg. A child born in 2006 will start P1 in 2013. Parents will register the child for P1 in 2012. If you want to become a PV, then you must complete the hours of service between Jul 2011 and Jun 2012. So in 2010, you should write to the school of choice to apply as a PV. For those very popular schools, they conduct interviews to select PVs and the min. hours of service may be higher than what MOE set -at least 40 hours.

For RC, it's 2 years of serivce but you get 5 choices of schools I think. Of course the hours you put in (quite a fair bit on weekends)

I was equally blur and never paid much attention in the past until my gals was about 4 when my fren and sis keep telling me to read and start planning.