Tiong baru/telok blangah/bt merah 2006-2007 babies n mummies

mist
I agree. When in laws or parents pamper them, we the parents will suffer the most haha haha....

but I heard infant care is very very expensive even after subsidy. Its about 1000++

miorei
u working rite? Maybe in the meantime can send ur babe to weekend enrichment classes , then when older, can use schoolbus to send to and from school

Esther,
ay, if i hv #2, then i must really negotiate w my hubby liao... hahaha.... kidding.

i dun mind to be on the waiting list for Beaver loh, see how lah, not sure if changing environment is disruptive for toddlers anot.

Priscilla,
hahaha... yah loh, yesterday was another unpleasant episode when i'm discipling my boy... sigh... so sian!

I think it depends on which infant care bah..... my colleague just told me she's going to put her baby in infant care, and it's 400+ after subsidy.

Hi Ester & Mist,

Ya, I did mention before regarding Beaver CC. I had went there last October wanting to register. But was told that they had long waiting list (abt 18 kids) for N1. Unless I want to put up for next year for N2, then I will need to put $50 for deposit. So we dropped the idea, though I quite like the place and the fee is pretty affordable.

Hmm... me still hunting for a CC. Haa...

sunshine
eager beaver cc is nice ah? Then i shall go and take a look, maybe can register my 2nd son in the school, hehe.. And the place also quite convenient for me too, even nearer then the cherie hearts that my 1st son attends.

I think if i register my #2 son for eager beaver, should have a place ba. BTW, i am delivering my #2 son in march 09. Early enuf right? hehehe

mist
negotitate with hubby ? ya u should leh..
anyway we ladies have to go to such pain to give them kids hor. They wouldn't understand the pain that we go through la. Talking about this, I am keeping my fingers crossed that i can give birth to #2 naturally.
Nowadays i experience weird cramps occasionally laio. week 33 , now counting down !!

Sunshine,

oh, hv to put deposit to be on waiting list? hmmm... i see, then i see how first. I'm just worried that it's disruptive... hehehe... maybe my son like a change of environment... ;p

btw, how much is the fee huh?

Esther,
wow, u super kiasu leh, so early book for your #2!?!?!?! hahaha....

Esther,

i dun even hv a clue of what to negotiate for!!! i think for #2, i ask for confinement lady and a babysitter liao. Think i scare of going into depression if my mil is going to help me w confinement or look after the #2 liao. Better hv separate caregiver, else i will go crazy.

mist
hey a lot of mummies book place for their kids the same year the kids are born leh.. hahah... So maybe this will ensure that they will have a place .
My #1 i also have a confinement lady to help me. THis #2 dont have, cos now got maid to help. But i feel that confinement lady does nothing much , and earn good money. its abt $1800, so u convert to ringgit is double. And my confinement lady really seems like she got nothing much to do. Cos 1st mth, baby is asleep most of the times. Then she cook for me, but also just cook simple food which takes very fast.
Hmm, maybe next time when we grow old, we go and be confinement ladies la,

Hi Ester & Mist,

Compare to some other CCs we had been, I find Beaver's env is not bad.
Just that is air-conditioned.

SAF member can discount; from $800 to $650. So after all the govt subsidy, should be ard $350. This is the link http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCentPartLst.jsp?centreCd=PT7930&psCd=-%20click%20here%20-

I was told that by putting a deposit can secure you a place in next year. Will need to ask whether w/o deposit, can still put in waiting list.

Actually after all the hunting for CC, I regret not to start it earlier, cos those which better ones are snapped up very fast and I was told the q starts abt 1+ back.

I m looking for a school for my 18 months gal. any recommendation for a school near tiong bahru, outram area? i stay near outram.

happi
u can visit this website www.childcarelink.gov.sg and u can search the schools around the vicinity.

sunshine
how much is the deposit , do u know?
yes school hunting has to start early, experience tells me so. Many schools i am keen in are all full, and parents started registering from 1-2 years back

Sunshine,

thanks for the info. wow, i didn know must register so far back leh.... okay, maybe i shd go register first, then when switch to Beaver when he turns 3 yr old.

Esther,
so it's not kiasu to start early, then u better register soon too...

esther,

ya, FTWM lor and a single 1 to be too. currently sending babe to kindermusik every weekend. so far, so good. will continue. apart from tat, what else can i let my gal (14 mths or so) take part in? thanks in adv.

sunshine , mist
todaY i went eager beaver at safra to take a look, the in charge, sharon, is a nice n friendly lady.
i saw a lot of kids sleeping at the common area during lunch time, cos i think the classroom spaces are not enuf. The place also looked kind of squeezy for the kids.

mist
u keen in placing ur boy there? maybe u can arrange appointment to take a look, see whether u like the place.

miorei
thats definately not easy for u. So ur parents help u take care of ur kid when u r working?
i also went to kindermusik for their trial class to try out before, quite like the class too.
apart from this, there are other similar classes, like julia gabriels, but they are all also once a week classes. So cannot think of wat ur babe can attend right now.
maybe u can slowly source around to see which school ur babe can attend , since she is only 14 mths now, then place her in school when she reaches 24 mths. My boy also only attended school when he reached 24 mths

esther,

thks for the concern. coping well so far. :p my nanny / bb sitter takes care of her on weekdays (day time) while i take over in the evenings and weekends with help from my family esp my mum.

ya, i oso intend to send her when she hits 24 mths. now headache cos dunno where to send her too cos i stay in TB area and most schools r not tat convenient for my nanny lor. haiz.

Hi Esther,

Wow... you are fast.

I went there on a Saturday so I did not get to see the children. Ya.... it will be rather crowded if the kids sleep at the common area cos that place is not that big also. If I did not remember wrongly, it is only the younger kids will sleep in the room?

What I like abt the place is that the CC is inside Safra so is more secured that those along the road like the private houses. Also, the environment is considered one of the better one .

So did you put any deposit to secure a place? Is it $50 for the deposit?

thanks ester.

i was getting abit worried now tat it's time to register for my gal. Planning to enrol to some weekend classes 1st as i m delivering in Aug. But probably gotta register or place a deposits to secure a place now. I also headache now eh.....

any comments for cherrie hearts at harbourfront and little skool house SGH?

happi
welcome. u scout around first, then can make a better choice. Yes, its bettr that u place a deposit to secure a place now.
Heard cherie hearts at harbourfront is full air con as its inside the commencial building. The thing abt fully air con is I am worried childhood disease spread easiy lor. But of course the kids feel comfortable la, since they are in a air con environment.

sunshine
no i need not place any deposit, cos she say I am the first one to register! hahahaha... so definately got a place for me :p So If i intend to place my #2 there, he will start in jan 2011. early enuf ba???
But after consideration, i think i will not place him at eager beaver, cos its really a bit small. I still prefer the current school that my #1 is attending
Big , spacious, well ventilated, with lots of space to run around

happi
my son attending cherie hearts at SAF now. Its good for u to go around and view a few schools, then decide on one.
Cos different parents got different criteria for selecting a school, so view at least 3-4 , then u can make a better choice. And also , quickly register once u set ur mind on one. Otherwise the vacancies will be all out.

sunshine
yes, only younger kids will sleep in the rooms, older kids sleep in the common area.

HI Ester

So, how is your boy at cherie heart, safra so far? My 2 years boy is attending playgroup till end of the year now.. am looking for a CC to put him in next year when he turns 3..

YOur son in half day CC now?

kareen
from wat i observed, my boy has adapted to school already. He seems happy now from wat i see.
the teachers has also observed that he is settled in now, and quite happy there
Last time used to cry a lot when i place him there in the morning, and when i pick him up.
Now no longer. Instead he smiles at me, greets me, when i pick him up
So i am very happy for that.

yes he is now attending half day childcare. I bring him home at 12 noon, so he can take his nap at home.

Me back from long leave cuz Hubby Grand mother passed away...
Anyway, we just found out that my son had bought bed bugs back from the sch.. scary rite?? Although cannot prove it but we all are certain before my boy went to sprankletots, there is no case of bed bugs. Now after he went school, suddenly my in laws room had so many bed bugs, i was screaming while killing them... haiz..

Priscilla,
bed bugs??? how come suddenly hv bed bugs leh.... your boy is at sparkletots for quite sometime right???

I rem one mummy here recommended JHS Montessori school, would like more feedback as I intend to swop my son to another preschool

wanna get an opinion from u huh, i've been trending the frequency of my boy getting sick, on avg, he's having fever every mth leh.... do u think i shd bring him to see specialist? I worry that some parts of his organ is affected leh...... Got any specialist to recommend?

mist
a fever every month is definately quite frequent! Have u noticed is it before u enroll him in school, or after u enroll him in school that this happens?

Jovan just started his childcare(halfday)at Superland Montessori. Today is his 2nd Day. I went in with him these 2 days but on and off i left him with the class by himself. Today i went out for breakfast for 1hr and when i go back lucky he did not cry. He only ask the teacher where am i?

I hope he can manage when we are not able to go in with him anymore! Overall he quite enjoy it and will answer questions when teach asked him! His class has 11 students and 2 teachers. Mixture of indian and chinese.

I find the teachers and environment are not bad, they open the fan window and abit of aircon so overall is not stuffy!

Hope Jovan can do better when we are not around!

bless
hey long time never see u post here. thought u MIA laio. Thats good, jovan seems very independent. Many kids are ok when parents go in with them for the first 3 days, but when they realised parents are noot there for the next few days, they begin to develop seperation anxiety
Hope jovan will be ok when u are not with him!

Mist,

Will Sen had got his flu and cough since he joined the school as well... I advice you better bring him to specialist and see what happen and maybe asked him to write a letter to report about the school...
Some how i feel its the problem of the school...

Just happened to see this thread.

I am also staying in TB area. Glad to find this thread. I am a FTWM with 2 kids, Girl (Mar 06) and Boy (Dec 07). My girl is in Superland Montessori now. She has been there since Sep 08. Since then, she has been sick on and off. My boy will join in childcare probably next year.

hi joycelyn
welcome, ur boy in superland montersorri? I had initially wanted to place my 2 yr old boy there too.
Seems many are falling sick after placement into school! My boy also occasionally catches a flu n runny nose from school. I think its inevitable, just have to take extra care by beefing up their immunity

mummies, by the way, i just changed my nick, cos i noticed many esthers in this forum who are active in bulk purchases. So hope this can cut down confusion

Glad to bump into this thread!

I stayed in this area too, and am finding some good enrichment programs or weekend playgroup around this area for my 2yr old. Anyone can advise?

Esther,
actually ever since he kena febrile fits when he's 15 mths, he almost sick every mth loh...... so not exactly due to childcare...

Priscilla,
yeah, it's quite common to hv flu and cough when they go to school. Just that my boy always will hv fever, together w this flu and cough. Even when he's at home, no flu and cough, he also suddenly fever.... sigh...

Hi Ester

My girl is in Superland Montessori, my boy will only join in year 2010.

I have brought my girl to see doctor almost every month and now she was on "lung tonic" from Novartis. Cost me a bomb, each bottle S$45.

Hi Mummy,
Long time didn’t come to the thread. Was very busy with kids and work.

Has just withdraw Prisley from Learning seeds and she is currently in True Way kindergarten. First few days were a bit difficult for us as she was crying and yelling but everything is over now. She likes to go sch now a day. No more crying...
Like that sch so far. All the teachers are local and they very responsible. Only neg point is that they are having some renovation, so things are everyway and BIG mosquitoes are ard. Prisley got bitten by 3 huge mosquitoes (I think) cos the scar is scary. I feedback to the principle on that, it seems to be better now.

Anyone have feedback on the Faith kindergarten?

hi msworri,
you can try I can read which is at harbourfront...

Jocelyn,
the lung tonic is what for use wor? to clear phelgms? cuz my son always have phelgms..

Icey,
is it the church kindergarden?

mist,
haiz.. my son always cough and flu , i also so stress

to all mummies,
will u have this problem like mine: my husband realize I will always beat Will Sen even with the smallest issue.. they also notice i will beat will sen always every day from throwing his toys to keep asking for things.. I don know whether is it stress or not.. or am i a really un patient mum.. my husband hopes i can change and be more gentle to Will Sen.. He feels I am over strict on Will sen already

Jocelyn,
what lung tonic is this? i'm also interested leh... hahaha...

Priscilla,
i know and fully understand. it's the environment also, cos it airconditioned mah. and kids who r having flu and cough continue to go to school, so that's y can get infected loh. Like my hubby always say, their body will create antibodies for such virus, i just hope that is true loh.

btw, on your discipline issue, i'm not sure how often or how hard u beat will sen, but i think if we use this method too often, he will get "immune" to it somehow?? At one time, me also beat my boy when he's notti. but later realised cannot continue for a long term, so i change my style.

Jocelyn: My boy is also in Superland Montessori, just joined, today 4th day. Which class is ur girl in? My boy is in N1B and he is there dailt for half day only.

Esther: Eversince Jovan start school, he has been eating quite alot. After lunch he went home, then still can eat half bowl of rice or bread. After dinner, 2 hrs later drink milk then 1hr later still can eat big bao (only the bao skin) and 1 siew mai. Is he v stressed? =P

Priscilla: I also keep scolding my son when he is notti. I will cane him if after i count to 3 he doesnt listern.

Esther: Oh ya Jovan tis morning wait up eye close still lyng on the bed, tell me want to drink milk and want to go school again hahhaa. Then he also say Wor You Yi Ge Hao Ma Ma Hao Pa Pa in Chinese(I have a good mummy and daddy)I so happy and surprised!

In achool he did not cry today, but doesn't want to eat the breakfast there. And also he did not go pee,did not drink water. My inlaw say he come home pee alot and drink alot of water every half hr go toilet pee! Don't know why like that. I scare if continue not good fr the bladder and kidney! I going to talk to the teacher. I think the treacher scare to force him drink if not he will cry. Haiz...alot of pattern!