The best and the worst hospitals to give birth (I am foreign), no insurance

Valentina_ta

Hey, all,

I am new to Singapore. I am foreign (saying this as the cost is higher). I also do not have insurance, so we have to pay everything . I have uncomplicated pregnancy and probably vaginal delivery with epidural. But I want to be ready in case of c section.

My husband works here.

I have some questions:

1) somebody delivered at nuh recently? How much did you pay? How is nuh compared to sgh? Who are the best doctors in both places? Do they make you wait for a long time for an epidural etc?

2) somebody delivered at raffles or gleneagles? Are they much better than public hospitals ? Much more expensive ? Pls remember , I am foreign, so have to pay anyway. But I am concerned that a private sector will try to charge more.

Any recommendations for other great price/value hospitals? We live around farrer road , so the bear by hospitals would be fine .

I prefer the least invasive birth with as little people in a delivery room as possible. Ideally, one doctor only -) certainly zero students . I do not like crowds.

Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

Valentina.

Hi valentina, how long your husband been working here ? If quite long then you can use his medical cpf. Your condition same like me before. But at the end I chose c-sect because if you plan for normal at the end you have to go for c-sec then your bill will come almost double , its considered emergency c-section. I also had tight budget at that time 2 years ago. And also bit scared for normal delivery. I was delivery at parkway east hospital, total bill around $8000. I stay in 2br not vip class. Anyway, congrats for your new bundle of joy. Have a smooth delivery