Teacher Mummies/Mummies-to-Be 2011

ent29

The last thread for teacher mummies was for the 2009 mummies. Just thought I'd set up one here in case anyone was interested. I figure if you're a teacher and a first-time mum like me, you'd want to discuss maternity leave and holidays and pay and possible no-pay leave and all! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So well just setting this thread up...

Yes, I m a teacher, first time mummy too.

My Edd, is 26 aug n I need to take all 4 mths at one go.

Yourself?

Hi Slapurface and Su_yana!

Su_yana, good for you that it's in August! So taking 4 months at a go is just about right? You taking the leave before the EDD? For me, EDD is 7 Nov! So was thinking of taking prior to birth and then break a little during some of Dec...

And August! Wowee, that is close! Must be excited!! Are you expecting a girl or a boy?

Slapurface: How about yourself?

My edd in sep , taking 1 mth plus in advance . Will start in early aug [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ent29,

i'm expecting a girl. How abt you?

I'm taking earlier most prob starting from 2nd week of aug.

I will only be back for dec meeting.

Su_yana: Me too!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So have you been going crazy shopping for gals' clothes??

Slapurface: Sounds like your management not as strict? Can take so long in advance of EDD? That's good...Then you taking no-pay leave after that? Anyone doing that?

Mines a boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my mgt is very strict n is not easy to take any kind of leave one . But I gt medical letter so it was still possible.

Ahh, congrats...

I just found out fr management that first 56 days is compulsory, then can break up 28, 28...But guess I'll take 56 and break for Dec and then take the next 56 at one go...

hihi!

Glad that this new thread is available! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm expecting my 2nd bb and edd in late dec.

dear ent29,

U lucky gal! ur school allows u to split your leave? i heard from p that MOE doesnt allow... but not sure how true cos no black and white circular...

Hey yea my p also say must take 56 days . If not then take 3+1 mth. Some ppl take 2+2 ... but no matter wat it is jus dependent on ur p . I ur p likes u, he can allow u to take 1 mth then go dec hol then take ur 3 mth. If he is not nice he can ask u take during sch holidays. Everything is upon ther approval

My sch does not allow the leave to be split up. So it's going to be 56 + 56. so in order not to waste my dec hol I had decided to take pre maternity leave.

I agree it's up to sch to allow u to split or not. For my sch, it's not possible but seems my friend's sch allow her to do such thing. Anyway, I'm fine with this arrangement. As my Edd is in aug, if I were to break it up, I still have to come back in term 4. Not so keen on that.

Any mummies here intent to take no pay or convert to part time after delivery?

I'm intentlding to do part time but not sure if it's worth it. I mean in terms of work load, will it still be similar? Will I be short changed??

Yay! Glad we having more and more pple on this forum. Hehe. Welcome, Wormybaby!

Wormybaby: Good that your baby is due late Dec! Won't have to eat up so much of your maternity leave! That's what I heard, no black and white so far, but no use for me also, to split up that 28 days... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Su_Yana: I also will be taking pre-maternity leave so as not to waste my Dec hols!! Hehe!! But sadly, still won't have that many months at home...Sigh.

Any of you contemplating no-pay leave??

i may take 1 yr unpaid.. not very sure yet... must we return pass all this if we take unpaid??

suyana.. I think part time not worth it... my colleagues say that if you do part time u take half pay go less days but they expect u to do same amount of work... so that means u have a lot of "home work" :D

But also heard from another fren that if u do part time in an entirely different school u can negotiate with the school, to your terms.. Eg. u dunwan upper sec or wat...

hihi!

Think i can share my 3 cents worth on part time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now on half load part time. The deal i got is fair i think. Not good, but not too bad i guess... ya, everything is decided by p. my p quite pro family so very understanding to meet my needs.

but now i got another problem... as my part time contract ends in dec 2011, i am now wondering if my maternity pay in jan to mar will be full or half... any of u can advise? tried asking my admin but as usual... say must call hq...

slapurface: 1 year no-pay is pretty long and wondering if my expenses can tahan. I take 3 months already my hubby is doubtful (he also teacher)...And my pay is not worth to do part time at the moment!! :p

wormybaby: I have zero idea man. For half-load you are still considered fully employed and have full benefits (e.g. dental, LDS, etc.?) cos I suppose maternity pay will follow that? Or it will probably just be the normal amount you are getting I guess? Sigh, HQ takes a long time to get back on such issues right?

hi ent29,

haha! my problem stil stuck with AM, waiting for him to email to HR... already 2 weeks and he still say...ok...ok... i know...will do... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

u have already applied for no pay leave? so early? i thought u can do it during your maternity leave...

/green{wormybaby: Nahh, haven't applied...Just thinking of whether or not to apply. But yah, as in I expressed the want to take 3 months then hubby alr very scared lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]}

Nice to have this thread going...I'm also a teacher and is giving birth to my second baby soon.

Just to inform you guys that taking no-pay leave is not as simple as that. They will pro-rate your school holidays as well, according to the number of months you go on no-pay leave. Also, not to mention, your bonus and all will be drastically affected.

I did take about 1 month for my first child.

Also, i'm put on two weeks MC for now because I'm diagnosed with High Blood Pressure which isn't too desirable in my last trimester. Guess what? We're only entitled to 14 days of medical leave. Sigh. Others have 30 days of paid medical leave at least, in civil service.

Hi Christina! Welcome! This thread is still very small... :p

Anyway, yeah. I realised that taking no-pay is very complex, and EVERYTHING else will be pro-rated. So yeah, rather reluctant.

I was under the impression that if you wanna take one month no-pay, might as well take more. Heh. Can't remember the logic.

Anyway, do take care and rest well okay...High blood is common when sch kids make your blood boil!!!!

hi christina,

guess u have to utilise other types of leave... maybe hospitalisation leave?

i also exhausted my mc already, very bad MS for 1st trims... so if now sick have to take no pay... so sad...

take care! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi christina... we are given 14 days mc, but I heard that internally they wont deduct ur pay until u exceed 30 days... mm.. not sure..

Anyone intending to keep their placenta to e made into pills after delivery? I thinking of doing it , but I dunno what's the real advantages and I dunno where n how to get it done...

I see my colleague paying so much to buy goats placenta pills for his asthmatic son.. I thought might as well make using my own... N I also heard that our skin will become radiant n nice after eating placenta pills...

Anyone can share or provide contacts?

Hi so glad to have found this thread.

I am delivering my 2nd baby girl in early Nov. Will prob start mat leave from 1 Nov. My sch does not encourage breaking the leave so it will have to be 56+56 for me. I gave birth in mid May 2009, also had to give up my Jun hol [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I will be taking 1-yr NPL thereafter...just needed a break from all that never-ending school work and commit some time to my family which I have neglected for the longest time. Not sure how the leave will affect my other benefits but enough is enough, I am juz going ahead with enjoying bonding time with my kids, my parents who have been taking so good care of my first one and my hubby who is always so understanding towards my work.

May even consider going half-load after NPL which is happening to many of my colleagues these 2 years and for 2 of my close NIE friends. The 1-year break will be a good time to reflect and decide on what I want [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

slapurface: Errr I don't think so leh. Heh. I also heard about it, but don't think I will... :p

raingrass: Ahh, so this is your second! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm expecting my first and she's due early Nov too! But since I can break up my leave, will probably take from early-mid October. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But in terms of finances, sadly unable to take NPL. Good that you can, and can look after your 2 little ones! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So your first is a boy or girl?

My first is a girl too so she will get a companion to play with and I can save lots on clothes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am staying with my parents and rented out my own place so still have some money to tahan for a year. Hubby will have to work harder too lor, no choice :p

A new teacher thread! Great! My management changed it's stand abt the splitting of leave just when it's my turn. Lost the end year hol. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] can't do anything abt it. Diff place diff policy just upset that they changed it just when it's my turn. Grrrr...

My EDD is early Sept. Most schools do not allow split of ML now. So I didn't check with my school. Will start my ML in mid Aug as mine is c-sect so will deliver the baby earlier than EDD.

Just want to check, is it the moe's policy not to allow maternity leave to be split during the holidays or does it depend on the P?

Anyone has applied for maternity leave already? Can share how you plan for the leave?

My EDD is 12 Nov, so I think I really will lose my holidays.

Planning to take no pay leave after ML...

It's dependent on ur p ... Maybe u can take from 18 oct - 18 nov then take 3 months from Jan 2012 then start childcare leave from 1 April?

i tried to ask for 2 months, starting from mid oct to about mid dec, then 3rd mth starting from jan 2012..but was rejected. P said that I can't split the ML this way - the remaining dec holidays must be covered by ML as well... So confused. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I believe the first 56 days must be taken together according to guidelines.

My first P was a nice fatherly man. He had allowed many of my colleagues to split their leave like 2 mths before Jun hols and then 2 mths after. Now my current P does not encourage coz she felt the students are impt and it will be disruptive to teaching thus all my colleagues who went on Mat leave since she came had to take theirs continuously followed by NPL if they want to extend.

I intend to start my leave on 1 Nov (EDD is 10 Nov). NPL starting Mar 2012.

Elyn: it's not true... According to the form that I filled , it states application for first 56 days , then another page states application for extension... So those who take 4 mth in a row they must fill both pages...

So I believe your p may have misunderstood ?. Should be able to split 2,2 unless rules changed?

U check with ur am . I suggest u take 56 days from 30 sep, then 56 days from Jan 2012, followed by ur unpaid leave??

HR on line has something about the spitting of the ML is subject to the approval of the P. There is no detail guidelines though.

I plan to take prenatal a week before my c-sec. But now I'm hospitalised two weeks earlier.Only met the untrained who is taking over me for a day. Didn't even do a proper handover. How to handhold her as what I promise my P? Worried... People around me told me bb more important. Yes I know but just can't help worrying cause my class not easy to handle.

Hai... totally understand.. its really stressful to be a teacher .. especially in Singapore... Gvt can promote birth and encourage ppl to give birth but I feel that even schools and MOE is not making it any easier for us...

We cant take any leave... just admit to fate... but have to take maternity leave during sch holidays is as good as lesser maternity leave for teachers.. worst still if affect PB then it feels like a punishment for being pregnant..

When ppl say teaching is non-rewarding... I had only understood half of it, when I am pregnant and I do not get support or understanding from sch or P ... I totally understood the whole NON-REWARDING part...

MOE guidelines is not clear and it puts us at stake... everything up to P, yet every P got their own system.. No one takes care of our welfare...

The $10 medical claim is a joke. the 50% dental claim up to $70 a year makes us a laughing stock.. I am embarrassed to share it with my friends in other lines...

As tchr it is in us to always put our students and work first even if we tell ourself we should try to achieve work-life balance... But now I am pregnant I still feel guilty to go on leave, and tried my best to arrange everything and teach everything and handover nicely to minimise disruption..u want to be selfish but it is so hard.. this job makes u feel guilty even when u just wana take ur rights..

yet, now when i am on early maternity leave (got an mc to start leave before edd), all I get is calls from school telling me to report to work cos of some system admin problem etc... I am very affected and seriously feel like quitting

my EDD is 22 Oct...(first child) Initially, i wanted to start maternity leave on 3 Oct. but i'm always feeling so tired and heavy... so now, I'm considering starting maternity leave on 26 Sep. still in two minds about it...any advice??

was told that can't split leave so there goes dec hols. =(

Glad to have found this thread!!

Does anyone know what is the maximum period we can take No Pay Leave (Childcare) for before we will be posted out to another school at random? 6 months or 1 year?

I plan to take NPL after my maternity leave...

Hi I think is 1 year ?? Cos I jus gave birth and I also applied npl , my admin told me if I apply 1 yr most prob I won't go back same sch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all, for those in doubts about ur leave matters, I suggest emailing the moe hr to check. The moe site states 14 days of ordinary sick leave but there's more to it which is not stated depending on whether u belong to the old or new scheme. We still have special sick leave and hospitalization leave (home or warded). Keep all the email records as evident and u can fully utilise the leaves we are entitled. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@karen: my Eddie is 3rd dec and I'm so nervous waiting to deliver only. >.<

@j: it's one year after which u will b posted out unless ur sch request for u to stay.

Hey teacher mummies, did anyone of you go on hospitalization leave after your maternity? My ML ends in late November and right after protected time in Dec, i wish to take HL instead of NPL, anyone of you did this?