Support Group - Special Needs Children

lexnchris

Thought of looking to see if there are any mummies out there who has the same situation. My 3 yo daughter is diagnosed by doc with slight ASD and it's pretty tiring at my age of 37 to look after her alone as we can't afford a maid. Anyone wants to share like situations in public when it's embarrassing to bring your child out??? Feeling very alone in this boat...

Any stay home mummies stay in Hougang/Buangkok want to come to my house and let our children interact? I've got guinea pigs, hamsters and lots of toys for play..

what's GDD teenie? how often does he needs to go down? how old is he and is he attending nursery? pls do share more teenie..

thanks for sharing teenie, i agree with the annoying stares from people especially on mrts and food court. Otherwise why are Singaporeans called "kay poh"? What to do? Unless our husband is capable to migrate us over to other countries where it's stressful and family time is placed more importantly and academic standards. Many aunties are ignorant of our childrens' condition and just feel children are irritating and spoilt and we get those judgmental stares for nothing. They think they know better how to discipline children. But the worst thing is to take it out on our child when we get all these stares and pressures. Please mummies, don't do that. It's very very unfair to the child.

GDD means global developmental delay.
My gal has motor dyspraxia which means motor co-ordination n planning deficits. This means she has difficulties in her learning such as writing, visual perception, etc. Otherwise, we are blessed that she is a cheerful gal with good verbal language.
I understand how difficult it is esp when it is time to go pre school. It is really very difficult n most people do not empathised with my gal's condition. She used to be teased by her friends n she was isolated socially because of her motor skills deficit. This resulted in many emotional n social problems.Child care teachers also complain non stop abt her n even tell me to send her to special schools. So I ended with a specialist diploma in teaching n supporting children with special needs cos I want to be able to help my gal.
It is not going to be easy but at least, I am able to explain to people around me on my gal's condition.

It is tough to be parents of normal kids already. In Singapore, it is a nightmare to be parents of special needs kids cos we are really on our own be it financially or emotionally. Most asians are not as educated on special needs children as our western counterparts.

So we have to be strong willed cos our child needs us.
Feel free to email me cos most willing to share info/intervention etc.

Hi may i know wat r the sign of Asd? my Gp suspect my girl has Asd but my husband refuse to send her for assessment she is 3 yrs plus this yr.Sign ............

Dear zen77

Is your child talking or communicating with you? Other then just her needs? From what I know, children with ASD (depending on mild or severe) usually have difficulty in communication with others, unable to relate to others or seems 'self centred'. You may google on the internet for the classic signs.
An assessment will be good as it can ease your mind if the result comes back negative, if not, at least you know for sure what is happening so that you can take the necessary actions to help her
Hope that helps a little...

some symptoms are: they don't point to things they want, they don't bring things that interests them to show you, they like to spin or look at things that spin. Some autistic kids can talk have no problem in speech.

Hi Megmon

My girl age 6 also diagnose wif Dsypraxia and had problem in sch.
Where u rec therapy?

care to share and pm me

Our 7yo child was recently diagnosed with ADHD in January by a psychiatrist at the Child Guidance Clinic, HPB Bldg. She then ordered an IQ Test that was done early this month and next week, the boy will be going for an Academic Test for ADHD to assess his learning disability.
We will also be getting the results of the IQ Test that day.
Our child has since been on Ritalin, a drug that helps one focus better.

My origincal cause for concerned stemmed from our child showing lots of difficulties with reading, writing and spelling. Each day a struggle for me to get him to do his homework. Not being attentive enough, not able to take instruction nor copy down information etc from whiteboard. The list goes on..

It can be a very complicated story, but for now I would just say that I approached Polyclinic for a referral to the Child Guidance Clinic (CGC) that is managed by IMH for this purpose - Dyslexia.
We got a rather "unfriendly with no compassion" psychiatrist who ruled out Dyslexia.
Sad to say, she (psychiatrist) is not listening to patient ie the child but thru' us, his parents

I have been searching up n down this forum for a support group for all types of special need cases and finally, I am ready to share altho' I have doubts and fears as to who I can and cannot trust.

I understand how you feel lextine. I once had to pin my then 2yo son down onto the floor, becos he was behaving so badly, after he snatched an ice-cream cone off my hands. I recalled well that there were many eyes looking down at us. My hb was helpless standing just beside me, but I guessed that was cos he would have never thought of doing that. Shocked, maybe?

I didn't know then that that could have been a sign of manifestation of a problem. At that age, our kids are still very young, still learning, still developing etc.

I recently told my son that I fear taking him out..his behaviour of impulsiveness sometimes scare me. The hyperactivity is still manageable.
I do this alone everyday 24/7.

Question..
Are your husbands 101% supportive or are you all alone?

Do any of you whose kids may be school-going age (like Wendypooh maybe?) join the school's PSG - parent support group?

How supportive in Special Needs care is the school or childcare centre where your child attends?

I shall stop here..will share more again soon

Whatever the Disability, Never Give Up!
Never put your child down in words or actions, But Constantly Praise and Encourage!
Our kids are All Specially Made
They All have Special Gifts
They All have Special Strengths
They Bring Us Joy Despite the Difficulties...

If you have friends or know someone whose child is ADHD, do let them know that SPARK (Society For the Promotion of ADHD Research and Knowledge) will be holding their next workshop/meeting on the 2nd April with talk from a specialist from MOE

http://www.spark.org.sg/sparkevents.html
SPARK Parents' Group Meeting: on 2 April 2011

Time: 9:00 am – 12:30 pm
Agenda: Evidence-based Approach in Supporting Students with ADHD in Schools
Choi Pui Meng, Senior Specialist, Ministry of Education

This meeting is actually for members only, but you are welcome to listen without signing up to be member.

I decided to sign up membership 1 year $25 for the whole family.

thanks miracle_bebe for your sharing and info. As for the first question, unfortunately my husband is another "3 yr old" as he never grew up in his own home, i.e. have parents who are control freaks. If you have a husband like mine, DO PLEASE CONTRIBUTE YOUR FRUSTRATIONS HERE!! LOL.. not that this is a complaints dept for wives talking behind their husband's bad, but it is a form of release so as we won't take it out on them when they come home, actually trying to please but end up making us vent it out and hit on them instead (if any of you know what i mean). So yeah, despite I started this thread, response is still pretty slow to what I think because we mommies who have special child are stressed up almost every day almost every hour being cooped up at home too embarrassed to bring out our children esp on mrts and buses when they get so noisy when u tell them to sit down. Plus I don't have supportive parents to take over them for me, how to go for parents support group? Hence the thread searching for mummies for invites to my house or swimming outings (if there any Hougang mummies?).

I am awaiting for AWWA school to interview her and am told by CEL that we are in good hands because all the therapists are available there. PCF do not accept special childs and we cannot afford private schools. I almost freaked out when I saw the kids there, but CEL assured me that despite of their conditions, some are actually very intelligent. So don't go by the looks.

I am a christian so the only support and trust i would say is in God alone, miracle_bebe. As for what kind of mummy you are looking for to trust and confide in, this thread is for you and all those out there who feels the same way as we do. I do not like comparison hence I don't really like Singapore I would say, because everyone is comparing standards. Sadly we live in a society that is all kaypoh and not minding their own f-ing business, so treat them transparent. Don't deprive yourself and your kid to go out. It's too crazy to stay at home everyday. YOU MUST GO OUT AND GET FRESH AIR. I wanted to shun and hide cuz i was so pissed with stares, but my friend told me they wouldn't understand, so to hell with them, like i said, don't take it out on your child because of ppl starring and shaking heads at you. Looking forward for more chats... pls do not hesitate to join in mummies..

I'm not active in this forum cos the threads r so hard to read.

PCF does accept children with special needs. Pls read here for more info.
http://www.mummysg.com/forums/f97/fyi-pcf-special-edn-needs-team-38025/

I am a therapist. I have many students who are enrolled in PCF kindergartens. Some are high-functioning while some are not. Enrolment depends on the centre principal (ie if she is supportive). They can put in a request to the HQ SEN for short-term support. However, most centres do not do so. Just keep trying but be upfront abt your child's condition.

I usu advise parents w ASD children of moderate severity to go for AAS/AAC or Rainbow Centre. I haven't seen fantastic outcomes from Metta and AWWA (pls note I have abt 5 students from the two centres).

Hi Ping, emailed you wrt what CEL advised. Do you still advise to go for AAS/AAC even when they have a longer waiting period?

Well, I have a friend with ASD kid too. Heard that she sends her kid to a gymnastic school in Jurong and she mentioned that her kid is currently in Special needs class. She sees improvement in her child and some of the "senior" students in the special needs class has "promoted" to indept class. Originally the special needs students attend the class with a parent, then slowly once they r able to listen to instruction, they can advanced to indept class. Tot that it's good to share with the mummies here.

I also do suspect that my son is either Hyperactive or ADD, we are still having assessment with the doctor, is a pretty long process before they give us the diagnose.
Its really doubtful too if the doctor say he is fine.
Sigh, i m also very worry for him.

Hi lexnchris
I didn't disappear from here but meant to write n share more,
These days it's jus all about my son.. Each time I receive an email notification from smh on this thread, each time I remem that I must come here soon. So I will..during a wee hour when I am relaxed and have a clear mind to respond (if need be) to your post

Smallonion
I do not know much about ADD or ADHD and am in the process of learning, reading and sourcing to the HOPE of finding an alternative treatment/prevention that is affordable w/in our means w or w/o govt help, for the benefit of our children so they could be drug-free esp from side-effects n live normal lives.

May I ask how old is your son and with whom - hospital, clinic private or govt is he being followed-up by?
What sort of assessment is your child supposed to have, or have already completed?
You mentioned long process. Do you mind sharing why? What did the psychiatrist/psychologist tell you? How long has this been?
I do agree it is doubtful if the doctor say he is fine and your gut-feeling thinks otherwise.

It is even worst when the psychiatrist listens to you and not perform any diagnosis on your child, or even take into consideration your observed experience and worries
, yet diagnose him (my chd in this case)n rule out everything else..

Not all treatments, therapies, medication or school will work for all kids. BUT Take Heart, U Are Definitely Not Alone! We are in this with you

By the way, our son is attending P2 at Zhangde pri Sch.

hi miracle

My son is 6 this yr, and is under KKH assessments now.
Firstly he go to first appt (Jan 11) with the doctor (Indian Lady- forget her name) in KKH. Then from there she gives us a list of things need to do before seeing her again.
He needs to go through test like speech for 2 times and parent need to attend one. (Will be attending it this month)
Then to get teacher to fill up MCQ like form.
After that need to go for a one to one with a person, not sure is it psychologist (cannot remember who he need to meet - appt is schedule next mth) as so many appt i need to remember.
All the appt is so far apart as it usually difficult to book.
After all the above, then she will see us for the 2nd time (Schedule next mth), hope after all these, she can give me a answer.

So far, how is your son doing in School and last year.

miraclebebe your son in P2 normal school not bad already what, at least dun need to send to special school spend so much on school fees..

smallonion, funny why our process is different. My doc from KKH didn't send her for speech test nor do we had to attend one. But your second appt is faster mine's in Nov! But is seeing the psychiatrist lah. Your doc is he or she a professor?

pauline, your friend stay in Jurong which special school her kid is attending can ask for me or not huh? I actually wish to move there but CEL ppl say if it's not our say to choose the school, so dunno whether should i withdraw from my HDB BTO application sigh. Any mummies can advise?

lexnchris, maybe ours slight diff is urs is ASD and mine is still assesment period and more to ADD/ ADHD or hyperactive. I also not sure is she a professor (Mary Dianel). Maybe she is not, so don hv to need so long for the appt.

HI all Mummies,
i have a 4.5 YO son and a 2.5 YO daughter. I am a working mum and my son is the one with ASD, currently in AWWA. His Hyper and stuffs are under control ONLY if you are there to control him once he "start". My gal is normal, therefore is kinda more cleaver than my boy, and thus my in-laws are all bias, they will give in to my daughter all the time even when she do something wrong but will scold my son whenever even the slightest thing happen.They don't understand his problem, only think that it's my fault that teach my son this way or i make my son so naughty. I believe my son is improving but due to this kinda in-laws, i doubt he would become more rebellious. By fact he is having stress as what i can see coz i understand him & he is most comfortable with me but regret that i am having shift work so i cant spend much time with him.
My hub, haiz... no need to say is typical bo chap guy. I have no other helpers to take care of my son, at least with balanced treatment, now the trouble is, my FIL refuse to take him to a so call near by PCF. (that we search high & low to accept my son) due to his old age, and we cant afford maid, very headache, how???

@lextine777 (lexnchris): I stay in Punggol, maybe sometime we can meet up with our kids together. (Although i am not a Stay at home mum)

Hi lexnchris,

My friend is staying in Jurong. BUT the school is not for study. It's just a school that teaches gymnastic. From what I know, she brings her child there once a week, think cost ard $350 per term, should be 3 mths bah. She mentioned that the coach will teaches her child some basic command such as walk from one place to another in specific route/pattern. Although it's simple but what's important is to catch the child's attention. After the child can follow instruction, then the coach will teach more advance stage. From initial parent's accompany course, then ultimately now her child can attend class on his own without my friend's accompany. That's y she's quite happy with the progress. If u wan to know more, I can ask her for contact. Then u can call up the school to know more.

Smallonion,

As I understand, a child below 7 will be referred to KKH Child & Development Clinic.

When you had your suspicion your child could be Hyperactive or ADD, did the Indian lady doctor at KKH think the same, or did she suspect ASD?
Is Dr Mary Daniel this same Indian doctor you are referring to?
I am just wondering becos you asked about ASD.

Possible Dr Daniel is a psychiatrist whom the patient usually sees before going for all the assessments/tests ordered by the psychiatrist, but attended to by the psychologist.

Btw, are you over at HPB Bldg for these KKH visits or at the hospital?

May I also ask if your suspicion led you to seek the school's assistance, or did you go to polyclinic personally for a referral?

Pardon me for saying... I think it is important and necessary to know what these assessments/tests are for esp the necessity, ie for what purpose of indication do they think such n such will help diagnose or confirm diagnosis.

So I am to understand that your child has not been diagnosed yet, until further tests/assessments have been carried out?

Meanwhile, what adv or suggestion has the Dr given to help make this time more comfortable for both your child and you?

As I know it, depending on the severity of the condition or disorder as it is known, different doctors will order for different assessments to be carried out.

lexnchris,

hope you do not mind I ask same question, due to curiosity.. Did you also get referral from polyclinic and is your doctor (psychiatrist ?) attached to the KKH at HPB Bldg or the hospital?

Fyi, over at Child Guidance Clinic (CGC) @ HPB Bldg, they specialise in http://www.imh.com.sg/patients_visitors/copes.html

hi miracle

Yes, he was refer to KKH Child & Development Clinic. i went to poly for referral.
Sorry for the confuse, i suspect ADD/ADHD or hyperactive, ASD was asked cos i am not sure what is it as some mummies are mentioning.

Yes, Doctor Daniel Mary was the indian doctor which i mentioned. She say to test speech and also his reading before they could diagnose.

Right, he has not be diagnosed, is still going thru test and assesments.

May you advise how is your son going on with his school work since Pri One.

yeah miraclebebe, mine's KKH psychiatrist referred from polyclinic. According to CGC like you said children below 7 yrs old are referred to KKH.

So means miraclebebe & smallonion your kids were actually able to go to normal PCF nursery sit through lessons?

Hello smallonion and lexnchris

smallonion,
I was too curious so did a search and found that A/P Lourdes Mary Daniel is a Snr Consultant at the KKH Child & Dev Clinic. In this team of specialists, there are no Registrars.

I feel you are pretty blessed to have such a senior following up on your son thru' subsidy basis.
I also feel that the tests/assessments should be arranged n done with b4 diagnosis.

How does a medical professional diagnose a condition or even a terminal illness by just speaking to the patient and thru' observation?

May I ask what were your complaints and observation that led you to think your child is "different".

Pardon me if this word "different" is in inverted commas. No intent to think your child or our children to be different but special infact

How is my son doing in school?

Well hope I'm not so lor-sor, cos I would hv to go back couple of years..

It was in nursery/kindy at a normal PCF that our son had the best times of his life. He enjoyed going to school and he could get along w all the kids, even those who are not his classmates. In a public scenario, he could fit in anywhere, no problem making friends w kids whom he knew he would just see for that moment.

School was easy. Very little homework, basically learn n play. Every Friday when I brought him home from school, the 1st thing he would wanna do was complete his homework and then take lunch. He insisted.

Sorry! Got to stop here, am interrupted by matters that require my immediate attention. If i delete this, i may forget my thought all over again.

So like arnold schwzenegger (spelling?) says, "I'll be back!"

Gd morning! Hope your days have been better

In K1 i noticed our son to be quite hyper. We asked our Gp for his thoughts/adv and he said our boy is ok, mild hyper and nothing to be concerned with.
I did ask his teachers who didn't think anything, yet advd I should send the boy for assessment if I were worried.

In early K2, I noticed a decline in his interest for English Spelling.. He would somehow find a way and means not to learn spelling eventho' there were just 5 words and they looked so simple.

That year was the start of our boy showing signs of disinterest in reading, spelling and writing. He also voiced not wanted to attend primary school. I thought if I psycho him, he might just change his mind, but....

Then came the start of 2010 when our boy started primary 1. I said I would give him 2weeks b4 I find out how things are. People said he would get adjusted into the system and I thought he did, yet it was obvious he wasn't at all interested in school,l except for Arts and PE lessons.

In March of 2010, I had approached his form teacher who advd me to speak with the counsellor.
I voiced my concerns to the counsellor that our boy seemed to be dyslexic and she said she will look into it, but that I would have to wait, becos "there are other more urgent cases to attend to". She emphasized that this is on a 1st come 1st served basis..in other words, I had to Q my turn

It took 2mths b4 I saw the cousellor again and only then she told me she found nothing wrong with our son.. I then asked why he behaves as if he has so much difficulty in the language whereas back in school he seems fine?

Counsellor then referred me to the Special Needs Co-ordinator in school who also took about 2months b4 they assessed our child. All this time, his form teacher kept emphasizing the need to read more books, so he could write better.

By time our son was referred to the Learning Support teacher, 6 months had already gone n this teacher had this to say, "I wished M had come in earlier". Her 1st thought was the boy being dyslexic but after having worked with our boy for 2 weeks, she concluded that it could just be an issue of not having strong foundation in phonics.

I mmust thank the Learning Support teacher for her greatest effort and help to teach our child to read and as a result, he is able to write and spell better.

While all this was going on, I had already made an appointment with the CGc for our child in January of 2011 and that was to find out if our child had dyslexia problems.

On the day of visit, our child was rather much hyper and impulsive. As i was talking to the psychiatrist, our boy constantly pushed a drawed paper to my face calling out, "mummy!, mummy mummy".

I do supposed it is obviously a bad sign of ADHD, but could the psychiatrist be wrong? That's a huge questionmark?

Anyway, the boy has started in Ritalin, a drug to help one to focus and concentrate. There are some good days and some very bad days, even with using this drug. But different kids react differently to the drug.

Next week, we shall have the results of our child's academic assessment which can also pick up indications of dyslexia if any.

Our boy has improved alot in his reading, writing and spelling and at least this time round, there are some improvements in his studies.

Wow, this has been a very long sharing. I do hope I did not bore you to sleep

hi miracle

Thanks for sharing with us, may i know your child improve is it cos he was on the medi and could concentrate and attention span was better and help of the learning support?

Is learning support from School?

Hi smallonion

Hope I wasn't too long-winded..if it had been my hb, he would have fallen asleep the moment he read the 1st line lol:p

The learning support is from the school's learning support teacher. My son is in her reading programme becos of my original concern and ie my son could not read. Yes, she has been teaching him since and he has improved alot

She is one person standing alone, no assistants but she pulls in the better students from the student care centre ie located w/in the school grounds, as and when she is tied up.

As for the medication, it was after this next round of prescription since the 9th March, that I did see improvement in his studies and getting better marks for daily work eg Eng spelling, tingxie or even a classroom test where the kids are permitted to complete at home, but the results and improvements are not consistent all the time. I've not been given the chance to try anything else for stretch of weeks, so given the time and choice especially, I would not depend on medication.

Just to be clear, the medication is only taken when the child has to sit down in class or at home to complete his school or home-work, concentrate and focus during the lessons.

hi miracle,

Thanks, oh now then i know the medi is only meant for when he need to be in school or to do homework.

i am waiting for assessment for his speech and when is finally my turn the person in charge was on hospitalisation leave and option given was to push back the doctor appointment to another 2 months which was quite frustrating.

Am still waiting for their reply to see if they have a better option.

Hi, do take time to read more about using music therapy to help children with learning difficulties.
http://www.integratedlistening.com
There's a lot of sharing on children with autism and you can also sign up for the newsletters to inform you on the lastest case studies. Do email me if you need more help.

smallonion, does your son likes to look at things which spin or likes to spin himself? ASD kids finds comfort in looking at things that spin. Has KKH send you for PECS and OT and ST yet?

Akiko, so who looks after your kids now? Your FIL? I also dun have anyone to look after so have to stop work. PM me ok if have days off we can meet
My girl doesn't have anyone to make friends

Hi lexnchris,
what is PECS? I supposed OT stands for Occupational Therapy and ST stands for Speech Therapy?

I just wanna clarify that both ASD/Austism and ADHD/ADD are not the same so the assessments/tests ordered by the psychiatrist/psychologist may not necessary be the same.

You are right about the spinning. My nephew (only son of hb's eldest bro) is diagnosed ASD and when the family 1st found him spinning a little thread from his diaper into a small ball, the poor boy was just a toddler, sitting in his playpen. His granny was his caregiver then and they thought nothing of it, until they realised this was a daily pattern of the child, and of course the parents also found out then only that their son sits in his playpen all day

When we met him at our niece's 21 yo bday party, that was what the child was just doing.... spinning around non stop calling out my son's name.

His father went up to his son to calm him down, the boy would stop for awhile and then start again, and still calling my son's name. So the party went on w/o interruption. The boy was in his own world yet my son (not diagnosed nor shown any signs of symptoms) just played with his cousin happily

PECS - Picture Exchnage Communication System. They show you what they want using picture cards. KKH gave us classes on it and I am doing a pack of my own (also posted in sgmummy that I'm offering to do for others). My girl spins once in a while but not more than 3 times a day and not more than 10 spins. As a christian, I have decided to pronounce her normal and "getting better" as my fellow brother in Christ adviced.

It's quite embarrassing in food court especially when she kicks and cry when there's no seat as she doesn't know how to wait. Most of them don't like to and are very impatient. So when the cleaner look at her purposely take her own sweet time to clean the table while being a kaypoh, looked at me and up one hand motioning "what's up with her" I told her off and said not your business and "de jui ni ah". It felt soooooooo damn SHIOK for the first time telling off these typical aunties!!!!

Any of you mummies wanna get together? Though we may not get to chat too much with our kids needing our attention every second but at least my girl gets opportunity to make friends... I can tell she's wanting to make friends and feeling a bit lonely..

Anyone can help? I think my boy may be dyslexic. He'll be going to P1 next year. I heard that assessment at CDC is long queue, and people not very friendly. Anywhere else I can go for assessment?

Hello Lay Tin

My son is diagnosed ADHD and on the 27th April, we got the Academic Assessment Report from the psychologist at CGC, who confirmed that the Assessment showed indications of Dyslexia. He is 7 and in P2.

I really do not know if the information is accurate, but the 1st psychiatrist who attended to my son on our 1st visit, informed me that CGC do not see Dyslexia cases. I was referred to CGC by Polyclinic and the psychiatrist told me that Polyclinic refers everybody to them, eventho cases not related to CGC.

Looking back, I cannot help but wonder if the psychiatrist Dr Chai was merely tryin to push "blame" to Polyclinic so she could "wash her hands off responsibility", incase it turned out that the child is infact Dyslexia (my main concerns), yet the psychiatrist strongly ruled it out

Anyway, I found a much nicer friendlier and understanding psychiatrist after I requested not to see Dr Chai on our 2nd visit. Unfortunately, Dr Liew was just an MO who has since returned to HQ at IMH, Buangkok.

With that, i shall have to say that the psychiatrists at CGC are not that "unfriendly" unless I was very unlucky. The customer service staff at the counterdd are pretty nice esp the lady sitting on your far left.

Dyslexia Assoc of Singapore (http://www.das.org.sg/) can do the assessment for your child. Pls do call them to gather more info and procedure.

If you do not have financial constraints, you may wanna go private..

Hi Lay Tin

I pick-up our son from school everyday and I noticed posted on the PSG support grp's noticeboard, an event talk which may interest you.
Here is the link
http://www.eventbrite.com/event/1671973919/efblike

Dyslexia Raise Awareness Week
28May - 03 June 2011

Check out their Expo on the 28May
DAS is offering Computerised Dyslexia Screening Tests and the like.

The above website lists all the details and info. You can also view same in the News & Media page of DAS - http://www.das.org.sg/news-and-media

Hi miracle bebe,
I happen to chance upon this thread and hope the author won't mind that I would like to seek your advice on the Academic assessment that you have done.

Was it the Conner's test (if I remembered correctly) that has a set of questions for parent and teacher?

Then followed by academic tests on kid.

So the result conclude ADHD and mild dyslexia?

I read that your kid is under medication; was this as a result of the assessment? Does KKH recommend any therapy or did you check for alternatives?

lextine,
Were you the mummy who sold me the Isomil in Hougang? Have you tried to change your kid's diet? Have you heard about GFCF diet? You can google more...

Hi Momresource
Apologies to have kept you waiting. As usual, I have had very bad days these weeks...

In respond to your post, I shall answer them accdgly..

Was it the Conner's test (if I remembered correctly) that has a set of questions for parent and teacher?
<font color="0000ff">No, the Academic Assessment was not the Conners Test which was a long and tedious 10pg for completion by parent and teacher</font>

Then followed by academic tests on kid.
<font color="0000ff">To be precised, NO the Academic Assessment was not offered to us until the next visit and even with that supposedly settled, there were issues as to what the Aca Assessment was all about, eg what are the findings for? I felt the psychiatrist did not wanna say much, maybe she thought she could keep mum
n then have clinic say that it is clinic's policy blah blah..</font> <font color="0000ff">Anyway this psychiatrist ordered an IQ (Cognitive Assessxment)Test</font>.

So the result conclude ADHD and mild dyslexia?
<font color="0000ff">Well in the Aca Assessment, it was found that our son's Reading Comprehension was Low Average and he had no phonological awareness difficulties</font>

<font color="0000ff">As for the conclusion, the psychiatrist who attended to us in the 1st place had ruled out Dyslexia and</font> strongly felt <font color="0000ff">the diagnosis is ADHD</font>.
<font color="0000ff">She told us that the Aca Assessment is to check for adhd learning disabilities. She said nothing about Dyslexia, yet when I told her that we came to CGC for pupose to confirm if the boy is Dyslexic, she insisted that</font> CGC do not attend to Dyslexia cases at all. The test they do here is partial and if found to have indications, the boy still must do full assessment at DAS.
<font color="0000ff">Without ordering any tests or assessments, she gave clinical diagnosis just by asking us a whole lot of questions</font>
<font color="0000ff"> Yes, eventually with the Aca Assessment, our boy was found to be ADHD and mild dyslexic</font>.

I read that your kid is under medication; was this as a result of the assessment?
<font color="0000ff">No, it was not. Pls find my very long reasons above in one of the postings</font>. Sorry!

Does KKH recommend any therapy or did you check for alternatives?
<font color="0000ff">our boy is already 7 and attending P2. I could not get help from school so had to take it upon self to seek help with Child Guidance Clinic (CGC) at HPB Bldg 3rd flr. As I said earlier, ppl told us to go there. Also, if child is below 7, chd will be referred to KKH</font>. Otherwise, mums like smallonion and lexnchris will be directed to CGC next year onwards when their chd turns 7.

<font color="0000ff">I cannot speak for KKH, but depending on the condition or rather severity of one's condition, the pychiatrist will order tests/assessments accdgly. CGC provides therapy through COPES - a new service</font>.
We are trying to help manage our child's anger.

Monresource, do you have a spcl needs child?

As always, I have more to say. But I am taking a break here..

Momesource, pardon me if I sound mad.. I am but rest assured it is not you that I am mad with, but feel somehow the system failed!

lexnchris
I realised you had asked me some questions that I had not answered or have mis-understood.
I will do that asa I have time or have the energy to speak.

Mums of ADHD kids
Pls do not get mad with your sons and dotters. They have no control over their brains esp at such a young age. Do not punish them ie literally take out the cane to beat them, things will infact will get worst. I've found and am learning to discipline our son in anotherr way.
Unfortunately, my hb thinks such changes cannot take place instantly like maggie mee.
But you need to change and adapt now!

And again I shall repeat because I really think this is extremely important!
Do your husbands give 100% emotional/mental support and share with you these burdens?
He should.....

Apologies I talk so much but I speak from my heart

Btw, how come there is no1 else updating or sharing here?
Surely there are more than a handful of mums with special needs kids. I think the disabled ones should be included also.

I would like to hear how one can apply for financial assistance in the higher incum group.
Have you all not heard that the Govt is pumping in and increasing the budget for such cases in early intervention?

To have early intervention, is to have the $ and cts, otherwise how? This is long-term condition....

always heard news that govt is doing something for special needs children, but end up just "noise" &amp; no action
The queue for EIP is so long &amp; therapies are so xpensive &amp; some special kids cannot get insured as well right?

miracle_bebe,

Yes, my kid is special needs child or else I won't be posting here keke... However, this child is brought up and treated normal, be it in school or at home. When kid was younger, was treated specially or preferred by teachers but we felt it was bad outcome... very negative impact on him to have high expectation... a little contradicting here but high ability also can be a problem.

ADHD??? We suspect but possibly mild but not waiting and see thus we just got tests done, both IQ and academic although not recommended at his age. Very restless at times and very challenging to get menial work done; however, no issues with some subjects that bore me to death type! Thus, became friends of science ctr and made volunteers there explained rather than me cracking my head... rather being blasted with facts, I just have to nod my head... hubby is the patient type, can sit with kid to write one word and listen to his ten sentences, whereas I already blow my top... so I never can be full time mum.

Medical appt system here? I had my fair share... one hand cited early intervention yet the appt. waiting time is too long... like kid in KKH Child development can't be treated in KKH dept. All these are rules set by people so high up that all they are showing is figures and dollars.

Subsidy? unless household is less than $3000, but per head is $500 mean testing or else, can forget it! I kena before... go thru' polyclinic is already subsidised liao...

Anyway, where do you stay? In Toa Payoh there is this CareCorner centre. Keep it just in case you need any extra help in tuition; they provide for ADHD kids as well.

Thanks for sharing and btw, what is ACA assessment?

Thanks miracle bebe for the info. I am still undecided, whether to go CGC. Private quite expensive. A fren told me to wait till my boy go P1, then ask for assessment.
As for DAS, I heard they only do OG method. I am not very convinced of this method, and I want to explore others.
Any other mummies with dyslexic kids here? Can you share some of your strategies?

Many thanks to all.