Subsidy Patient @ KKH

Sabrina,
Omera shd be 5mth this mth right....hmm..tx only get to sit on walker at 7th mth only.

hmm...Aafreen born on 10/4 meh? tot she is a march bb?

ai-yo....yr hubby can't resist to eat the cake is it??

where's naddy huh??

hie ladies...

Gosh.. its been like donkey years since i log on to this thread.. just to summarise abt my life.. hell yeah its hectic.. but today i just officially tender my resignation... my boss return back my tender last week.. gave me an offer.. but i cant accept it.. so i guess.. a mth from now.. im gonna be FREE!!!!!

hell yeah it feels good! gonna spend sum tym wif my kiddos.. been neglecting dem eversince my i work.. it got worse when im feeling stress.. i coudlnt slp.. my head hurts all d time.. gosh!!

getting late now.. so now.. im counting down on d days when i'll be a temp SAHM again... ;p

hello babe!! Welcome back!!~

I feel happy for you that u have decided what's best for you and your family. hahaha! now that you are not so 'stressed up', hope we can catch up on each other.

sigh! sumtyms i really feel tired.. esp for the past 1 mth..

both my kids were down with stubborn high fever..

den i had my surgery..

my gpa just passed away last week..

and i just took leave again for my post surgery check up..

can u guys imagine how many days of leave i took within a mth? and 2 make thinsg worse i have alrwady tendered my resignation.. talk abt lasting impressions.. sigh...

total i took abt 10 days of leave... wonder if my boss is angry with me.. leaveing already but giving so many problems.. sigh.. its not like i wanted things 2 turn out this way...

Hi Watie,
u must take care of yr health loh. sorrie to hear abt yr gpa.

err..leaving the co shd have leave to clear right?? why not take medical leave instead??

hie mommas..

just sharing wif ya all this very cool ABC song.. very good for toddlers.. my son picked it up in no time.. as a parent, i feel dat this is d most effective ABC song ive ever listened to and viewed..

enjoy..

http://youtube.com/watch?v=PrWJ-rC4YQc

eventho its a little corny.. but hey it helps!

sabrina & afcai....

thnks...

Afcai,
i dun hav annual leave wif d company.. after 1 work for a year den got..

Sabrina,
its just a minor surgery to remove this growth i have on my thigh.. been bugging me since i wear jeans most of d times.. i also tried to remove d lump under my armpit.. but d darn doc keep squeezing it saying he cant detect any lump leh.. sigh.. i noe der's sumtin!

Hi Watie,
actually, acc to MOM rule, when one work at least 3 mth then they will sure have leave. ai-yo, yr co why didn't give u leave...didn't follow MOM rule??

hmm lump, is it neck node cos lymah also found under armpit mah. so how are u, ok still pain pain?

the ABC song wuite interesting loh. will let tx see when she come bck over weekend.

well afcai,

every company has it set of rules and regulations... :) the lump under my armpit is d lymph node?? is dat d correct spelling? d doctor just excused it as an excess of breast tissues.. hmm..

for my kids, i just let dem watch youtube.. like nursery rhymes and documentary for kids.. i guess... saves me alot of money.. :)

HI Watie
Hope you are feeling better now. Hmm... maybe you want to get a 2nd opinion regarding the 'lump' under your armpit? But most prob is either your lymph node or like what the doctor says, excess breast tissues. But what Afcai say is true leh, after you are a confirmed staff, you shld have some leave but pro-rated lah. So if in your co, supposed to get annual leave of 12 days in a year, after working for 8 months, min you shld have 5-8 days leh.

Sabrina,
I know what you meant. My PILs didnt even wait for me to cut Isaac's birthday cake that time.. sigh... sometimes they can be quite insensitive leh. I agree with you that now that Isaac is nearing 2 years old, I'm having such mixed feelings. On one hand, I'm so glad to see him responding more but yet... my baby is growing up so fast!!

Afcai,
I took Isaac to see this PD at KK Private Children Clinic. I like her so that's why I have brought Isaac to her for all his jabs lah. She's no nonsense type but yet willing to share more info with you lah. hehehe... Somemore, the appt time is quite fast one. Dun really need to wait too long. How's bb TX? Any plans for no 2? hehehe... we are the only 2 with only one kid in this thread now. :p

hie BS_S,
thnks. im getting along fine.. actually, i feel abit sad dat i have 2 leave d company.. coz i like d rush when im doing my work... but hey life have 2 go on.. 2nd opinion? maybe not now lor.. in future i guess.. no money liao.. haha.. i tink i have worked for d company abt 10 mths now.. well, on d brighter side, i do noe a no. of things abt aircon.. hehe.. eventho i slp w/o one at home.. lol.. how have u been? bz wif work?

Hi Watie
Yup, I'm bz with work and household chores lah. Cos' everyday after work, must clean up the hse a bit and play with Isaac lor. Moreover, my pc is down so night have to 'beg' my bro to let me use his laptop if I want to surf net lah. But usually, I tend to sleep v. early at night cos' Isaac needs me to accompany him and I end up falling asleep myself...hehehe.

How;s your kids? Hope they are fine. Any plans to work again in future? Maybe part-time?

Watie,
my col also have this case, he is refer to a specialist at Tan Sock Seng. the specialist also given him 2 choice either go for surgery or monitor. he said siao anyhow, remove the node (no pain nothing) what if it turned out to be nothing then later got side effect how. so he chose to monitor.

but is there any side effect if remove the node?? tell me more cos tx also got this problem. so how are u now??how long does the pain go away??

wow, youtube wor...some not very healthy leh. u still have not collect the nursery rhyme cd fr me leh.

ai-yo, no lah...not every co regardless got rules or not. but one can 'sue'(via reported to mom) them for 'eaten' yr leave loh. cos it is stated in the law, as long as one work 3mth, one will entitle leave.

BS_S,
wow, private children clinic, ex wor....of cos, cannot be nonsense type right....bec so ex. how much is the consultant fee per visit??

true, I very pissed off with what my mum had said abt if I plan for no 2. she told me to wait for tx to be 4yr old then plan. I dunno if she is gg to look after my no 2 if I have in future. so I think i will be planning for 2009 no 2 loh. I dun wan no 1 and no 2 to have such a big gap (like my sis 10 yr apart, like a alien).

what's abt u?

hmm..is it, what's abt naddy?? so long she never been here leh..dunno she has no 2 liao or not.

Just want to hear any advice from you if u were my situation, what would u do?

Y'day, we took tx to PD at kidlink to check her lymah node. the PD checked all the lymah nodes (neck,armpit and groin area) tx's body. PD mentioned that the lymah node on tx's right side is very tiny (so dun worry) but it is 'unique' that tx's left side have double lymah node- meaning that on her usual 1cm node, there is
another very small size node beside it. for tx 's case, he say to monitor for another 3 mth to see if the size increse or not (size matter but not if lymah node can be felt or not....it is the size....only but for tx case, the lymah is rather small only 1cm) and also asked us if she encountered with any ppl in the hse for chronic illness (coughing) or any pet. we told him there isn't except during cny, she did encounter with my sil's chihuahua only but that is she already has lymah node (can felt type) during her 9 or 10mth time.

PD also said that some children lymah node is like that, it can be a lifetime case and there is no life threatening case. he gave 2 suggestion whether we wanted her to go for blood test and chest xray or just remove the lymah node for study. but afterall, he adviced was to monitor for another 3 mth as tx's case is not that serious cos her node is small. even the blood test and chest xray were not 100% accurate in the testing. of cos, by taking out the node is to see if the node if beige or not. this case it is much accurate. we did ask the side effect for the removal of the node. the doc said no life threatening and also removing one node no different cos our body got tones of lymah node.

for me, of cos, we dun agree to remove the node fr the neck. my col also have this case, he is refer to a specialist at Tan Sock Seng. the specialist also given him 2 choice either go for surgery or monitor. he said siao anyhow, remove the node (no pain nothing) what if it turned out to be nothing then later got side effect how. so he chose to monitor.

just recalled the comment made by polyclinic doc (2 different doc) and KKH A& E doc.

KKH A & E doc - on 30/3, we took tx to KKH A&E (as suggested by my mum cos she Lao Sai and no appetite. tx has recovered fr fever and vomiting for 3 days then) and 'shun bian' ask the doc abt the lymah node issue. KKH doc mentioned that all children has lymah nodes, it will go away and come again when there is infection and vice versa. so he told us not to worry for tx's case as her node is only 1cm. size is matter unless it is 2cm.

as for polyclinic doc (see doc on 17/3), they mentioned it is 1.5cm for tx's lymah node. she was given 5 days of antibiotic(yellow liquid). then the next doc review (see doc on 27/3) again, she was extended to another 5 days with double dose (2 x2.5ml thrice a day). in total, tx only completed the 9 days out of 10 days course of antibiotic bec on the 10th, she vomitted, lao sai, fever and a bit runny nose (few days ago already runny nose but was on runny nose medicine liao). so she stopped taking the anitiobiotic on the last day of the course. doc said, if the antibiotic work, then it will work on the first dose. so the doc just told
us to focus esp on her fever first etc instead of the node. node now will be not accurate as tx was sick then. so she will be given another doc review again on 25/4 (think won't be gg to polyclinic as we had brought tx to PD y'day). another doc said, if antibiotic did not have any effect then tx will go for blood test or refer to specialist.

Hubby comment: dun even want to take tx to PD and say her node seems to be smaller.

Mum 's comment: just leave it lah, when tx grew up, node will go off.

col comment (last time): get a 2nd advice fr PD since polyclinic doc and KKH doc do seem to do anything. so will ask her for advice again since we have brought tx to PD liao.

so what would u do if u were I?

hai...long sigh...

Hi Afcai
I think the rates are quite ok lah. I dun really know how much she charges cos' it's usually consultation + jabs lor. so far I like her so that's why I decided to just stick with her for all his jabs.

As for your lymph nodes, I dun really know how to advise you. If I were you, most prob I'll bring TX to another PD for a 2nd opinion. If he/she gives the same opinion as the 1st one that to monitor, then I suggest you monitor lah. Dun make TX go through surgery when she's so young lah. Generally, I feel that the feedback that you've gotten frm all your docs is that to wait and see lor. So it's really up to yourself to decide ya?

Hope things turn out ok

I had quite a week. Both Aafreen and Omera down with flu. Omera had it really bad. She couldn't feed or sleep properly. And she kept vomitting. Almost had to be admitted to hospital. Glad that both are getting better now. But i'm spent out.... only had 3-4 hours of sleep each day....

afcai, that's why i couldn't collect the blank cards the other day. Sorry didn't tell you earlier.... things seemed hectic for me the past few days. I don't think i can collect... i will pass.

HI BS_S,
yup, guess will need to monitor loh. my col told me the surgery only just a cut. then doc will just paste the plaster over. the wound will heal few days later. of cos, I won't let her go for the surgery unless last resort. she looked so fine and happy.

sabrina,
oic. how 's both of yr princess?? think now is flue period wor...tx also kana last mth mah....

afcai,

up till now, both my gals still have coughs on and off... what to do.. inherited from the father. Father and daughters have sensitive respiratory system.

sianz! coz price of many baby items increase....

Sabrina,
mostly bb immune system is weak so take care and dun bring them to crowded places etc.....last week, I intended to bring tx for swimming (have not gone swimming b4) but luckily a mummy told me that better not cos there is still HFMD gg on.

weather are extremely warm nowsday. try to let them eat more fruit, veg and water loh.

Hi cuclainne,
so NICE......to hear fr u.....u MIA for long time. u must be very busy right with yr 2 princess. how are yr princess? heard that the child ccare ctr at KKH is closed sometimes ago, are u affected by that?

yup, yup.....nice to meet up again.

ya la, i couldn't send them to the child care but thankfully they weren't at the centre much during the HFMD scare cos my in-laws were here so the kids stayed at home. then when it was time for them to go back to the centre (before my ML ended), the teachers advised not to send them cos they've not been exposed to other kids so i didn't send them in .. after my ML ended, they stayed with my mom for about 2 weeks and only started school this mon. today during spot check, they found a tiny red spot on elin's wrist but they can't be sure if it's HFMD because it's only one dot, she doesn't have it anywhere else, doesn't have a temp and appetite is as per normal. now i'm at work but i cannot help thinking if it really is .. but she is not in contact with other kids (except in the centre) and sofi doesn't have it .. i don't know if it's the heat that's making her go all red lor .. aiyah ...

wah .. my colleague helped me to ask her doctor and he said that it doesn't sound like HFMD to him cos the red spots (actually if you look at pictures, they seem to be almost whitish) should be on the palms, not wrists and she doesn't have any in her mouth which is most certainly the most confirming symptom of them all .. phew! now i can go back to work with ease .. i don't want to be the mommy that started it all back again leh!!

Cuclainne,
true, a tiny spot cannot be sure if it's HFMD cos my sil's bb also have a tiny spot on her hand. so sil went to doc and the doc advise her to monitor.maybe that dot is the heat rash leh....but do monitor.

u sending both of yr princess to the ccc at yr workplace there?? oic...infant care ctr must be so dear right...

Wishing all the mummies a HAPPY MOTHER DAY tml in advance!! haa...requested tx(tml she is 17mth liao) for a hug as a mother day gift... but hor she dun want to kiss me or other adult. only prefer to kiss her teddy bear or barney only. haa I told my col that and she told me gd what...yr gar knew the hygenic not to anyhow kiss ppls. haa..sound quite true...

hello mummies!!

Wishing everyone here a great Mother's Day!

afcai, tx so cute, only want to kiss her toys! hehe!!

cuclainne, great to hear from you again. Saw you at kkh last monday. Wanted to say hi, but you were with a colleague and walking fast!! I couldn't catch up with you lah.. coz had with me, my 2 'permanent handbags'(aafreen and omera)... heheh! Was at kkh to take omera home. She was hospitalised for a couple of days due to bronchitis. Close call you had there with hfmd... it's scary to hear the number of hfmd cases.

How are you coping with the 2 lil girls?? I'm not coping well
.. Stressed!

afcai: yes both girls are now in the cc at my workplace but sofi has graduated to the toddler class wef last monday so she only managed to spend a few days in infantcare with her sister.

today the red spot is no more there .. so i think it's just a heat rash.

wah .. tx is very clever leh .. have you started potty training her yet? we've been trying with sofi, when she has her showers. at first she cried when we intro potty to her but after a while, before she takes a shower, she will sit on the potty but never pee or do business. but last week (only once), she did something that surprise me and the husband - after shower, she walked over to the potty, sat down and actually pee leh .. so happy that she's growing up .. hahahah .. now that she's gone to the toddler class, the teacher mentioned that she's cutting down milk intake (once a day now), no more pacifiers and teddy bear, and plan to potty train her once she's more settled in ..

sabrina: sorry that i didn't see you .. ya lah, was a bit flustered because that was the day the centre re-opened and i had both kids with me plus they're not allowing parents to come into the centre now so it's been quite frustrating .. plus that day, the aircon was not working in the hospital so me and my colleague were trying to find a cool spot .. hahahah .. how is omera doing now? alamak .. why didn't you sms me? i could have come and seen her .. i'm feeling a bit stressed out too but what to do - just have to deal. now elias cannot pick us up after work as often anymore cos his team leader already passed a remark yesterday .. so now i have to think of a way of bringing two kids, a double stroller and bags home in the evening .. take the train, peak hour .. take the taxi, sofi won't sit still .. sigh ..

cuclainne,

If you have a 'foolproof' method to bring 2 kids around using alone, using public transport, PLEEEEEASE share with me! Almost every weekend, I will feel stressed out coz I do have to bring the 2 kids to and fro sembawang alone. YES!! taxi ride alone with the 2 kids is a nightmare coz BOTH aafreen and omera can't sit still! Aaaarrgh!

Which brand of double stroller are you using? Is it convenient to move around? Right now, if i do go out with both kids, aafreen in stroller, omera in carrier.

Envy you that sofi doesn't need her pacifier anymore and has started to potty train.

I think our 2 kids are ok,
no matter how naughty, they're still managerable.

Hubby's not in Singapore for a week,
so far, they are "so good" lor...

sabrina,
u so cute, reading yr post make me laugh....u describe yr princess as 'handbag'. wow, u alone taking both of yr gar out huh? ai-yo....bronchitis...remember that Aafreen also has it during her infant time hor....

yup,I can't imagine myself alone to bring 2 kids in future (if I have no 2). 2.5more week, hubby will be gg oversea business trip for 2 weeks +. ai-yo, I got to bring tx hm alone after work on fri loh....got to pack myself in the bus wor...can't imagine...

think now, got to enjoy myself and bond with tx first before I commit to have no 2 next yr.....

cuclainne
oic. ai-yo, mentioning abt potty training, on sat morning when she woke up or before she has shower, I will take her to the potty or the toilet seat attach to the toilet bowl, she will scream and also kept on wanting to get up. as she is at my mum 's hse most of the time, my mum told me not time yet....

u mean ccc also train the toddler potty?? wow, sofi such a gd gar wor....but once milk intake only..so little....did she eat a lot of solid food?? tx still has 4 milk intake (180ml (for first feed only),150ml (ard 8am), 120ml (lunch) & 150ml (b4 bedtimeat 8pm++). she drank more milk at my mum 's hse than my hse.

when u send sofi to ccc es b4 u leave the plc, what reaction do sofi has?

hmm..sofi dun wan to hug her teddy bear huh...do she suck finger when she slp?? wow....sofi mature wor.... tx really very addicted to her finger (b4 slp she must flag her handi and then suck her finger), can suck till 'chu chu' sound. try to take away her handi and then she toss and toss like taking drug like that....and finally toss till slp. so dun think this method of removing her handi work cos it will be bck to square one again when she is bck at my mum'plc.

wow, take taxi if daily ex wor....what's abt sling yr no2 and then let sofi walk....is NE line as crowded as west line?? I knew west line MRT really pack like sardine. luckily, I dun need to take public tpt, got co bus.

see the latest u/d at TX website

Leng Leng
nice to meet u here again. wow...u gd/guai wor....so yr no 3 will b due next mth loh....will u still be able to get to see yr no 1 and no 2 while u are in the confinement.

when i told my mom about sofi potty-training, she like your mother, also said that it's not time yet - pity sofi because still young and have to do this already .. hmm ..

yah, they do but i suppose it depends on the ccc too .. she takes milk in the morning before we leave (180mls), one time milk feed in school (150mls) and one more feed at night (150mls/180mls with cereal). sometimes if she's too tired, she won't ask for this night feed. on weekends, we are trying to train her to drink packaged milk (marigold) - she loves the chocolate and strawberry-flavoured ones. she gets two meals and a snack in school - for the meals, if she is still hungry, they will give more servings .. she usually eats two bowls during lunch - greedy girl - but she enjoys her snacks more. when she comes home, she must have rice to eat for dinner otherwise she will be very cranky. how about tx - is she eating more solids? are you still bf?

yesterday when i fetch her from school, she ran to her shoe cabinet (each kid have their own 'holes') and take her shoe. i mean, really just take one shoe, run back to centre, sat on the floor and put it on, go back to the 'hole', take the other shoe, run back again and put the other on. hahahah .. cannot take both shoes at once, i suppose ..
the shoes were those simple strap-ons but still i was impressed .. according to the teacher, she even tried to take off her own clothes during shower time - succeed to get it above her head but cannot figure out how to take her hands out, no problems with pants. aiyoh .. she's only been to toddler class for 3 days and she's grown-up so fast!!!! elias thinks it's fantastic that the ccc stepped in and helped us when we don't have time to teach her these but i feel sad because i feel like she's growing up too soon!!!

sofi used to be ok but lately because of the HFMD and the step-up precautions, we can only bring her to the front door and say our goodbyes .. she will cry but only for a while. once we go off, she'll be ok because she is kept occupied. maybe it's also because she's in a different class, with different teachers and classmates so she's still adjusting to the change - now also she's having difficulties sleeping through the night, i think she might be suffering from anxiety from this change.

she cannot suck pacifier or hug teddy in school anymore but the minute she knows it's time to go home, she'll ask the teacher for bear-bear and mei-mei (her nick for pacifier) .. i blame my mom for teaching her to associate the word mei-mei to pacifier, now when i tell her to pronounce the proper malay word for it - she refuses! argh - cannot reverse the effect liao. anyways, she needs the bear-bear and pacifier to sleep at night .. it's her 'drug'. hahaha .. elin is different, she doesn't really need her pacifier .. she can fall asleep and stay that way without waking up looking for the pacifier .. phew! but ah, she likes to suck on her hands too .. sometimes so loud but i always pull out her hand if i catch her doing so.

sofi cannot walk - she runs! and if i carry elin in a sling, i don't think i can keep up with her - have to use stroller. i've tried to bring her in the train before - that time i was pregnant with elin but people never give up seats and always pack like sardines so in the end, i told elias that he has to send us in the morning (a must) and pick us up too if he can. ya lor, now taxis are so ex .. aiyah!

Hi cuclainne,
wow read yr posting, Sofi grew up so far ever since she went ccc. so sofi so clever wor...can remove her clothes. tx only can remove half of her pants then stop. ai-yo, why associate word mei mei to pacifier...scratch head?? sofi knew when to ask for bear bear and mei mei wor...so smart.

haa..same same, like tx 's 'drug' is her two finger plus handkerchief, without them she will toss her and there, wine like 'drug addictor'.

hmm...but elin only 3mth + this mth is it? so still got hope to prevent her to suck her finger. as tx is at my mum'plc during weekday so my mum dun seem to care abt the sucking of finger and said eventually, she will auto quit. phew wor and hopefully that is. my col said sucking finger very hard to quit one. her dotter last time, she just appplied the nail polisher to her finger when she is 2-3 yr old and then told her it is very nice but got poisoning if she was to suck on it. then it took her dotter 2 weeks to quit the habit. it just like the 'drug addictor' wor...during that period so hard on her.

when u enrol sofi into ccc? how is her first time reaction when she just enrol into the ccc? what's abt yr no 2?? do she scare of new envirnment (like tx when she is a infant, she cry when she is in the new envirnoment, she has stranger anxiety fr 5mth onwards, now hor...OMG, tx anyone (even balangash/Indian uncle etc) also 'chat' with them in the lift and then smile so wide and say bye bye).

hmmm u at night give sofi cereal one huh? tx stopped eating cereal since she is 16mth liao. she dun seem to like it. wow...the marigold milk, is it kid type, small packets??

yup, tx is eating more solids than food. she only consume milk in take fr 400-600ml per day. she consume more milk at my mum'plc than my hse. average milk in take at my hse is only 4oz (160ml, 60ml (spoon feed her plus bread), 100-120ml, 120-150ml). in fact, she prefers eating solid than milk.

do sofi scream when she see u all makan?? tx will do even she full (feed her before we took her for our brunch).

no lah, 'graduated' fr my moo moo career sicne mid dec 07. so I bf for 1 yr 1 week wor...I wean off (took 4 mth to do that) one cos too tired and need rest (got headaches, chest tightness etc also due to work stress etc..).

hai...dunno why sporean are like that, last time, i was preggie also, in the bus, no one give up sit. one of the auntie even dash to the seat when I found a seat. now, with tx hor, when we took her home on fri night, the bus is crowded. of cos, very seldom got kind hearted ppls give up their seat. however, one of the time, I carried tx on the bus (usually, hubby carried but sometimes tx wanted me to carry), one of the young working man called me fr far and then give up his seat. but hor, an auntie asked her child to sit the empty seat. then the guy told her loudly that this seat is meant for the lady carrying the bb one. haa...think this might make that auntie pai seh man.

Tan Leng Leng,
oh...time flies very fast hor...so yr no 2 is a boy or gar?? gg to KKH for deliver?? heard that deliver sec child onward pricing is different wor.

afcai,
#1 is Girl, #2 is boy,
this coming one is boy.

Hopefully by normal birth at KKH,
but now at 34th week,
BB's head is still not down...

afcai: i think it's much more difficult to stop hand/finger sucking than pacifier .. this elin, she would suck so loudly and then when i come over, she will either pull her hand out from her mouth or she'll have this 'deer-in-the-headlight' look cos kena caught in the act already .. hahaha .. I hope she'll stop this finger-sucking soon ..

sofi is still at the same centre as before, she just graduated into another class cos she's too old for infantcare now. the centre at my workplace caters to infants, toddlers, nursery and kindergarten. my no. 2 is not crying - just like sofi when she went to infantcare in the beginning. the nannies said my no. 2 is very friendly, more friendly than sofi was .. i think because she likes to smile a lot .. hahahah .. aiyoh, my two girls ah .. with almost everyone, very friendly one .. we were in bintan over the weekend and sofi made some new friends with the staff at the resort .. hahahah .. she even asked one of the servers at the restaurant to carry her so he took her near the kitchen to show the other staff and even gave her a banana to eat. when we left, the staff said goodbye sofi .. hahahah .. so she waved bye bye and blow kisses .. even at the security guard .. this girl ah ..

but friendly as they may be, must always keep an eye on them .. elias had this habit of letting the people at the 24-hour curry place near our place carry sofi when he's placing orders. once he allowed the drinks lady to carry her while he placed the order, and then he turned around, and the two were gone! he was frantic for a while and went looking for them - turned out that she had brought sofi around the corner to the grocery store to show to the people there. i tell you, when he told me about it when he came back, i told him that he better not show his face at home if he managed to lose her .. i will not forgive him! lucky that he managed to find her that day, but what if he didn't .. aiyoh ..

i put cereal in her night feed if she hasn't had dinner or ate very little in the evening but when she sleeps at my mom's place, my mom only gives her milk feed. i used to buy the kiddie pack (small boxes) but it's more expensive than getting the normal box so that's what we buy now. Just pour into her sippy cup or water bottle when she wants to drink.

sofi will want milk in the morning when she wakes up .. then she'll come into the kitchen, open the lower cabinet where her 'things' are and take out her snack container and cup (with attached straw kind). then she'll stand in front of the fridge and say mum-mum (for food) or ayer (malay for water). whether it's water or milk or juice, she'll just say ayer so we'll have to see where she's pointing to - milk machine for FM milk or water, fridge for the other kind of milk or juice.

is tx feeding herself now? we let sofi eat by herself but must be prepared to clean the mess afterwards. she likes to eat what we have on our plate so i don't have to worry about cooking something else for her - last night she had nasi goreng .. she likes it. she also likes this century egg and chicken congee that i cook on weekends - i got the recipe from internet. sofi screams only when it takes too long for the food to be ready .. she's like her mummy, becomes cranky when very hungry .. hahahah ..

ya lor - happened to me once on a crowded train. this couple saw me so the wife told the husband to give up the seat for me. he got up and motioned to me to sit but before i could walk over, another lady just came and sit down. the guy's wife looked so digusted at the lady's act so she got up and offered her seat to me. when the lady realised that 'her' seat was meant for me, she got paiseh and got up, said sorry and refused to sit down again even though that seat is now empty.

Leng Leng: i'm sure it'll be ok .. my first girl also didn't turn head down until the very last minute ..

i think my girl only turned down when i was 37/38 weeks .. it was such an emotional rollercoaster for me then cos the doc said, her head not turned down might have to go for c-section .. so had to prepare myself mentally for it .. then a week or two later, tell me her head is down so now can try natural .. but in the end, i had to go for c-section .. nearly crying cos the proposed delivery method kept changing with every week and as a first-time mommy, it was just so scary!

Leng Leng,
oh...I hope my future no 2 (plan for next yr, hai, disappointed again cos menses came today. think also a bit hard to get preggie cos my menses gone haywire few mths ago since I stopped bf. but hor on the other hand, I say 'heng' cos I still want to enjoy my cny next yr (falls on 27/1 and 28/1- a mon and tue)) will be a prince. do yr no 1 and 2 both natural birth?? hope yr bb will engage loh. cos mine only enage during wk 36.

err...tot u experience mummy liao coming to 3 kids wor...shd be relax right...

cuclainne,
wow..elin auto know mummy will get angry when she see her sucking finger. haa so cute and act like innocent.

gd wor...unlike tx, she is a colicky (since only intro bottle during her 3.5mth) + stranger anxiety (since 5mth maybe blame me for confine at hm for 3.5mth except gg for jab) bb during her infant days. wow...u gd wor...can jio 2 of yr kids to go bintan somemore...how to cope with so many barang barang?? how abt the water there cos scared not clean water to consume? wow...sofi so over friendly to the staff at the resort wor...haaa..must cheer a lot of ppls up wor.

yup, true, better to keep an eye, cos one never know what the regular auntie/uncle who know u all might do to the kids. men huh...what to say abt them?? mummy are more cautious loh...

haa...so cute, sofi will 'order' her breakfast in the morning loh. then waiting to be serve...:p.

re: feeding. tx sometimes succeed to feed herself but sometimes not. when she can't scope up the food, she will use hand instead. we do let tx eat by herself but it will be messy then. but her hand co-ordination still not gd. haa sofi like mummy like daughter.

hmm but u still go for c-sect is it??

Mummies, need some views fr u:

1) do u get bloated tummy after meal? till now hor, I scared of wearing dress wor...i will look like 3-5 mth preggie after meal. so long already still like that....? hmm..before I preggie I also like that but not that jialat leh. same same, till now, my old pants still cannot zip up. sad sad....hai...last yr I bf for a yr, my tummy won't get bloated but now, bloated like balloon esp after meal. maybe bec of wind or fats in my tummy but not other part of my body.

2) do yr toddler prone to falling down so easily now? cos tx kept on falling down these 2 weeks. this afternoon, she fell twice at my mum'plc. first time, four legged, hit head cos she stepped her toy ball and then second time, think she accidentally stepped onto the mat and the slip and she broke fall by using her legs. so her postioning is one legs straight and the other leg folding inawards toward the wall with her body slant. she just remain motionlessly there waiting for ppls to resue her. last week, also fall down flat onto the floor on the way to my mum'plc. so her knees red red. luckily no bleed but only skin peel off. she dun look where she was gg.

3) is yr toddler milk intake sometimes low and sometimes high? cos tx milk intake can be ranging fr 420- 600ml per day.

4) Do yr toddler start to prefer more solid food than milk?

5) How to overcome a toddler fr screaming or refusing to sit on the potty? does it mean she is not time yet for potty training. my mum said it is not time yet for her.

6) Will yr toddler slp very well when air-con is on compare to fan?

7)How to overcome a toddler fr refusing to brush the teeth with soft brush? try the first toothpaste with tx today. first time,she opened her mouth big big cos she tot something to do but hor when she detected that fruit taste, she just simply refuse to open mouth and then kept pushing away. then sec time, I tried using the handkerchief with small amt of tootpaste to wipe (always use this), then she refuse to open mouth and run away. third time try, she just kept on pushing away. how huh?

thks.

Leng Leng: my first one was 3 days overdue and even after the doctor induce and water bag burst, she still don't want to come out so doctor ordered c-section lor .. he said i could wait for a few more hours but he predict that she won't be ready to come out even then so I told him to go ahead for c-section la .. cannot tahan already..

afcai: i went with my parents and siblings in tow .. hahaha .. not so bad, didn't have to bring so many things for sofi because she is on solids mostly now - just brought along a can of milk for elin. you can check in the bags so you don't carry it on the ferry yourself and then when you arrive, the resort staff will be waiting and carry your bags for you. we stayed in a villa with its own pool - it comes with a well equipped kitchen so we were able to boil water for the kids. have to keep the doors to the pool closed though because sofi kept wanting to play in the pool - she'll just jump in the water, don't care whether deep end or not so everyone will scramble to catch her as soon as she touches the water ..

yah both my girls are c-section babies ..

1. i also don't dare to wear dresses cos i look perpetually pregnant one .. don't know why more difficult to lose weight than with first one.

2. so far sofi has been quite alright but she does fall a little now and then esp. when she's sleepy - it's like she's swaying in the wind kind when she's tired. how long has tx been walking?

3. yes, i suppose the milk intake depends on how much solids your toddler has taken for the day. on most days, sofi only wants 3 milk feeds but on some days, she will ask for 6-7 feeds.

4. sofi prefers solids but she still asks for milk feeds now and then .. esp. if she sees her little sister having milk.

5. make it fun for her to sit on potty ... read to her and praise her even if she doesn't actually do anything in the potty. once we were in a dept store and she took a potty from the shelf, sat down on it and started looking at the clothes display. hahahah .. she used it as a chair.

6. sofi sleeps well with either aircon or fan on but we prefer fan because it's not so cold ..

7. elias used to clean sofi's teeth with the teeth wipes and always got bitten by her. then we bought her a kiddy toothbrush with strawberry-flavoured toothpaste .. initially she just opens her mouth and elias will brush but now we let her do it herself first, even if it is just to bite on the brush. maybe you can show tx that it's fun to brush teeth by brushing together with her?

cuclainne,
thks for the prompt reply and sharing of the views. wow, u still not slp yet??

hmm..for me, we will delay in birnging tx to the pool until the HFMD clear. tx has never gone swimming before. how's sofi reaction like when she first time touch water in the pool?

oh...c-sect bb...is yr wound still pain after u have Elin? how long does it heal? c section seems scary leh...

1) re: tummy size. oic. maybe we mummy dun exercise loh. did u engage massage lady to massage and expel wind out of the tummy? maybe I have lot of wind or accumalate dates in my tummy.

2) re: falling. tx knew how to walk since her 13mth 1 wk (17 Jan). when did sofi start her first step? hai..tx dun seem to see where she heading, anyhow bump, bang and trip over.

3) re:milk intake. oic. tx drink less when she is bck at my hse. dunno why.

5) re: potty. when she sit at the potty for first few times. did u take off her diaper?? or just let her sit there. when my mum and her alone, my mum did teach her how to go toilet (told my mum not to let her go toilet alone) when my mum do business (urine), she let her see.

6) oic. but can sofi or elin slp at any plc, just doze off without fuss? tx will fuss during infant but not she won't. she won't slp at new envirnoment (think like me) eg mil'plc even her eyes are puffy, red and also very tired. she will bear her tiredness. she only doze off when she is on the bus or on the way home. unlike my sil' 10mth old bb, so angel bb. cna slp anywhere, alone too. all my sil is to switch off the light then there goes she slp without any fuss. tx is opp, scared of dark. she wanted ppls to accompany to slp.

will both of yr gar need to pat or accompany her till she doze off?

7) re: teeth. what is teeth wipes? is there aany toothpaste in there?? haa...sofi bit her daddy wor.. hmm...the strawberry toothpaste can consume or not?? hmm..maybe, I will brush a small toothpaste for her. she did see us (even my mum) brush the teeth every morning. think she dun get used to the taste of the toothpaste. think it is medicine.