Sembawang MTB or SAHM

Apple, I have not tried using spoon. First, gave him water using bottle, maybe he is too accustom to drink his milk using bottle so water no taste, angry and rejected. then I tried giving him using sucking cup, suck a few mouths, dun want liao and started to bite it....hmm...maybe I'll try to use spoon and see how he reacts to it.
think its ok if ur gal reject the bottle, then she can use via cup and spoon which is good, she doesn't need to kick off the habit of bottle sucking for too long.
I think it perfectly alright for kids to be sticky to the parents, as we are the closest kin to them. but maybe u should also take into consideration if u really want to send her to childcare, have to do it grdually like let her go to playgroup for couple of hours first then slowly increase the time, like half day then later full day.

Van, no problem at all to eat at sun plaza.....anyway have not been eating there often now. of course still have ur hp no. will sms u then.
Ya I try my best to be with them as far as possible within my means lor......cos also dun want them to feel mummy and daddy dun care for them and always leave them to someone else's care.

Vivi, yes my friends all advise me to send her to playgroup before putting her fulltime childcare. Actually before I delivered, I ponder between maid and infantcare ler..then I went to see infantcare. So ex yet the bb there like so pitiful.
I don't intend to keep my maid for long too. Once her 2 yrs contract ends, I'll send her home. Some friends actually told me that I can renew her for another 2 yrs if I wanna try for 2nd child after my gal turns 2..but then I rather train a new maid ah! I find that maid staying here too long they will tends to slack and do all sorts of funny things :p

Apple, I its better for her to adjust slowly as now she is with u 24hrs a day so for her to be separated from u after such a long time even for 2hrs is a big change for her. u know those little playgroup where they rented the space of the RC Zone office under the some of our void decks? they do take in kids when they are about 2yrs, some really have to wait till 3yrs then they accept the kid. these are the 2hrly kind for them to play and mix with other kids. of course for childcare they can start from 18mths but then again u have to also note to start childcare at such a young age will expose kid to more illness prematurely.
I think u did the right thing not to send ur bb to infantcare then, cos again its the health thingy when so many bbs are together in a room which is usually air-conditioned with limited air circulation, they are very prone to sickness. like my ex-colleage's gal, its like every other week she will be sick, then she have to take care of her gal, in turn she falls sick too. so now no choice have to quit the job and take care of the gal herself.

Van,

I think I have 4 NTUC points. You still want? How to pass them to you? PM you my mobile cos handling two kids, seldom log on

Van

Thanks for the sms. I will sms u tmr how to meet u (must describe ur looks to me), when I reach sun plaza. o who else to coming with us? see ya and take care.

URGENT!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have applied a filipino maid from Nation to take care of my new born bb boy. But before her arrival, I decided to quit my job, and therefore I do not need to maid anymore. As I have already paid for the agency fee and insurance for the maid ($650), I thought of transferring the maid to someone else. You only need to pay a portion of the total cost. Pls contact me ([email protected]) if you are looking for a maid.

augustmum - I had PM you regarding the bonus points. Thanks for your kindness.

vivi - besides me, apple green will be joining us.

dorayaki,
Oh I mean nursery at Level 3. Yes, I think I saw Gracia.

Van,
Huh, your MIL 1st time doing confinement and she wants to do for you ah. Frankly speaking, I rather hire a CL. Cos you can't ask your MIL to do things mah. You got to DIY yourself most of the stuff. Your MIL probably be cooking for you, bathing bb and wash clothings only. You got no time to rest cos you need to look after bb wor.
I tell you hor, my 1st CL was a shit! She was damn lazy and had the cheeks to take afternoon nap from 1 to 5pm, threw the bb to me to look after and I had to do the housework myself. She only cooked for me and looked after bb at nite. I went into post natal blues and failed bfing that time. This time, my 2nd confinement, I got 2 CLs. Both CLs are very good! I just need to sleep and eat, pump milk. You may ask why I have 2 CLs. My 1st CL got prob with her passport, so she could only do for me 3 weeks. So I got a replacement CL to come over to help me for the next 2 weeks.

dorayaki,
I have a confinement recipe for you. Very "bu" for we women in confinement. Ask your CL to cook for you. Very easy one. YOu can even cook yourself.

Pour chicken essence into chicken thighs and "tun" it till the chicken thighs become soft. You can eat this as supper then go to sleep immediately. Very good for us. If you want it to dilate a bit, you can add some water to it.

This recipe is given to me by my aunt, whose friend is a sinseh. Very yummy and won't make kitchen so oily.

Jenny,
Thanks for your recipe. I have tonnes of Essence of Chicken from relatives and friends and I dunno when I can finish them. Now I can use them to try out your recipe!
Oh ya, you must have seen Gracia at the level 3 nursery. Chloe is a sleepy head, so you probably won't noticed her. Kekeke...

Van, ViviC and greenapple,
Thanks for visiting me yesterday. Sorry I couldn't chat for long after my aunt arrived. Once I master the "art" of going out with my twins, I will visit you gals so that our kids can "get to know each other". Hee...

The thread seems quiet lately.

twins, don't mention it. Gotta thanks Van who brought me there
I'm very bad about direction towards HDB flats :p will lost if I gotta walk there myself..haha

greenapple,
Yah, so quiet lately. Maybe everyone still in holiday mood from Deepavali and Hari Raya? Heee... My CL leaving this Fri, so my "insane" life will start soon. I'm trying to learn the ropes from her and get enough rest at the same time, so may not login unless time permits.

Oh yes, I will pass my CL's contact to you if you want to consider her for confinement in future.

twins, Oh wow..handling your twins alone will be quite hectic!
Yes yes, pls PM me your CL's contact. Will consider to get her for my future confinement.

Hey twins

dun mention. its ok van and I was chatting also...
we kept ourselves occupied.
take your time to adjust to handling ur bbs alone then think about going out later. dun worry, its quite easy if u master it. practise makes perfect. plan ur schedule properly, like wat u want to do for the day then should be fine. like when the bbs are sleeping, maybe u can bathe or cook or something....just login here whenever u r free. take care.

twins - dun mention about it. It's nice to get to see the lovely princesses! It's been awhile since I last saw baby twins kekeke.... Now you are on your own, got to really adjust accordingly. Do not rush & take a step at a time. The girls need you most now!

apple - I'm very delightful to get to see your girl. How beautiful she is now kekeke! Dun mention just that I happen to live nearby thus able to find the way easily.

vivi - How's your son's vaccination? The weather over here is more or less back to normal.

Jenny - How have you been? Coping between jobs & kids aren't easy, got to take very good care of yourself!

Hey Van

Was thinking wat happened to u. didn't see u post any messages. Thanks, my son's vaccination went smoothly. Can sense that his immunity is better as the fever period is much shorter. now I can rest a while till june next yr when he is about 13 mths for the chicken pox and the pnuemoccal booster.

hi vivi - these few days my hubby is on leave hence managed to go some places to view baby's stuffs kekeke.... Glad to hear that your son is progressing smoothly on these injections.

What is pnuemoccal booster? Can anyone tell me?

Van, wow gone for shopping trip
hmmm...a lot of things to buy ya..keke

Okie the oil that I told u gals called Minyak Telon. can get from Sembawang Shopping Centre (3rd level) a corner Malay shop @ $3/bottle. very nice smell and better than ru yi you.

Hi Van

Great! hubby on leave, can go shopping and now should have quite a no. of sales. if you happen to see any Avent bottles on sale let me know. Time to change to bigger bottles for my 2nd son.
o the pnuemoccocal (not sure of the spelling) jabs are optional, its the disease now that PD keeps telling to have for kids under 5 yrs. If not gana liao will be like deaf, paralyse etc. So its this jab tat caused the fever for my son if not think the 5-in-1 jabs won't cause so much fever.
if decided to jab hor, for bb starting from the series of jabs, will start at 3rd mth and then needs 4 dosage. each dosage cost $170 for my case. if decide to jab later then need lesser dosage lor. but I more kia su la and lazy to bring him for jabs again so do all together.
like for my colleague she decided to do for her son when he is 9mths so need 2 dosage. and for my elder son's age, 2.5 yrs need only one jab.

vivi - thanks for sharing with me regarding the jabs as I am still in the "searching" mode. Right now I have not seen any fantastic sale, if I have will update over here to share with everybody.

apple - thanks for sharing your tip with us once again.

LYMing - how are you now? Didn't hear from you for awhile hmm......

Vivi, my gal took the pneumococcal jab too. So far all her jabs don't develope fever. Experience mom shared with me that 2 days before jab boil a lil chinese barley water to fed her and after jab fed another 30-40ml of barley water.
So far so good..happy to share this to all of u

Van, thanks. keep me posted.

apple, thanks. I fed him the barley water like 5 days b4 and then 2 days b4 fed him the 'pao shen' which builds up the health and not so 'xiong' after the jab. so the fever was very mild now, like 37.9 - 38.0. the first time we forgot to feed him the barley water fever was higher. now its under control. so barley water sure got use.

Twins, maybe u can do so too when ur girls due for jabs. but dun give too much barley water in case too liang. I mixed in the milk and feed him and its for a feed only lor and after the jab, couple of days after, another feed. occassionally also feed him barley water not so heaty for him as he seldom drink water only once per day.....so feed barley water like fortnightly. but u have to use those wat we cantonese called 'sheng' and 'shou' barley not too cooling for bb to drink. can get from chinese medical hall, think the yu ren sheng at sun plaza also sell.

greenapple and Vivi
Thanks for the tip on the barley drink. It'll help when I need to bring my babies for their jabs in another 2 weeks time.

Vivi, I thought pao shen is suppose to give a few days before the jab? So that the body is not so heaty. If u give barley before the pao shen means the effect contra already rite?
Err..I tried pao shen on my gal when she about to go for her 1st jab. CL told me to do so, so I follow and that very night her temp runs high! I gotta sponge her and cool her down. So thereafter,pao shen never in my "bible" for bb's jab preparation anymore.

Apple, no the pao shen is not heaty one, its suppose to bu the health back cos after jabs bb body weak mah. so I gave b4 and after lor. it is recommended by the chinese medical hall boss tat my mum frequents. my elder son also had and he never had fever at all so for my 2nd son confirmed by pd the fever caused by the pnuemococal jab lor.
then also there are lots of grades of pao shen I always bot the one tat the lady boss recommended cos all her children also drank lor its kind of tried and tested and her children dun have commone illnesses like always coughing and phlegm and they are all in secondary school liao very healthy, so I follow the formula. hee......
but maybe also different kids react different to it but so far my two boys ok to it.

hee......apple, maybe ah. cos I also blur leh dun know which grade I bot cos most of the time my mum will buy. this is the con of being too dependent on mothers.
kao_embarrassed.gif

RE: Pao Sheng.

2 factors to consider:
- the basis of the baby's health, whether he is more easily heaty or easily colder.
- preparation of the pao sheng, i.e. hours taken to prepare this. Any other things added to it? At what stages is the baby is in when fed with pao sheng?

Just my 2 cents thought!

I am looking for glass bottles to store my BM. Can anyone advise me where to find this?
Thks in advance.

hmm......nowadays I can't find those older days' glass milk bottles anymore. but hospitals use pre-packed milk in glass bottles to feed our bb at nursery, brands like Nan, S24, etc. so maybe u can ask them for it. but some mothers dun store in bottles they store in bags which will not take up too much space. like those bags from Avent? can be easily found at places like robinsons, john little, kiddy palace, kids mall etc.

Van, I just gave away 15 bottles! Arrgghhh u shd sound out earlier.

Well, I can help u to get if possible when I bring my gal for jab next month.

Vivi, glass milk bottle hor only found Pigeon brand so far..but comes with small 125ml only.

apple, is it Pigeon have it? anyway I got from hospitals and also store in bags. cos the fridge got no space....

and also no point spending on these quite waste money lah. should safe a bit. hee......

Vivi, I also got from hospital. I store quite a lot, so I gotta change fr bottle to milkbag. Otherwise my freezer is overloaded with milk in bottles :p
Playtex 80 bags cost around $13. So quite economical lar. I din go for "branded" milkbag like lasinoh or medela..so so expensive!

Hmmm nowadays seems like too quiet down here.

Does anyone heard of this "Snappi nappy fastener" before? Care to share with me..... seems like the price is on the high side, costing S$6.90 for 2 fasteners. So far I only saw it @ Kiddy Palace.

Recently I am quite interested with pacifier clip, wondering if this is useful or not....

Anyone got any idea whether CK Tangs @ Orchard do sell any baby products? Care to share with me some details pls, thanks in advance.

Regarding baby products @ Robinsons, may I know which branch got the widest varieties? Tks in advance.

twins - how have you been coping so far?

JJ - haven't hear from you for awhile, have you given birth yet?

applegreen - anymore stuffs to give away, let me know okay hehehe...

LYMing - how's your pregnancy so far?

vivi - if there's sale will upload down here.... still on the lookout....

Hi, ladies..
I am new to this thread..
A little abt mi..
Now reaches 36 weeks preganancy and still working in Hospital as a staff nurse..

hi, apple..
there is bilk purchase thread of selling Minyak Telon.
$2.30 each if hit 100 bottles,
$2.00 each if hie 200 bottles.

Izzit really good? juz read lot of good comments from the forum and I decided to tried too..

Organizer name is Sharon(Xuan28)

Welcome abroad Liu Shuhui! I'm currently pregnant too and my EDD is coming Jan'07. My gynae is Lawrence & his clinic is at Sun Plaza and my delivery will be at Thomson Medical, how about you?

Liu Shuhui, I don't buy fr BP bcoz I don't like to travel so far just to save a few cents of goods

Minyak Telon can be purchased at Sembawang Shopping Centre for $3 each.