Sembawang MTB or SAHM

ai ya van.....so fast u bot the sarong carrie liao? I still looking for pple to give away mine leh cos I seldom use and very kia su afraid my maid will drop my bb using it so mostly I use stroller. u gals hor let me know wat you all intend to buy see if I have can pass to you leh.
Van ah you only bot 2 bottles? or you already have some? think 2 bottles not enough leh, breastfeed, also must prepare more bottles just in case cos during confinement quite difficult to buy things leh and also sometimes hubbies hor may not know wat to buy.
o I also have some brand new pacifiers to give leh if u all wan, my 2nd son dun use he like to suckle his thumb.

Vivi c - that bus number is 962. It does pass by the Admiralty MRT before reaching Woodland bus interchange. Regarding the vaccination, may I know where do you bring your son to? Can share with us the medical bill too?

I missed the ToysRus carnival sale as it's too far from sembawang. Did anyone been to this sale?

Oh yes, Vivi C
We have not forgotten about you. We know you have to shuffle between places and work, so just drop us a note whenever you can, okie?

I was told to get my babies vaccinated at polyclinics after being discharged from TMC bcos its a lot cheaper. But there is no polyclinic in Sembawang leh. The nearest is Yishun polyclinic, is it?

O is it? I took it many times just can't remember the number. memory very bad after gave birth lah.
my elder one I brought him to polyclinic the 2nd one at the birth hospital, ie. SGH. polyclinic is just general GP and the SGH one is PD so service is different charges also of course policlinic one cheaper, general charges by GP is like $4 and PD is like $56 depending on how senior is the consultant. Actually I miss calculated, I tot to go for quality service by PD this time but forgot about the consultancy charges as I tot since the difference betw the charges for the vacinnation is about the same then go for quality stuff. so the bill each time of consultation is much more than going to policlinic. and same vacinnations are given by the nurses, not the PD lor. but one thing nurses are more more experienced than doctors.
ok vacinnations are : BCG, mostly given at hospitals this one quite cheap few tens if dollars. Hep B II, first jab I opted for it at hospitals so will already charged for 3 dosages in the hospital bill. Since I opted for Hep B II separately so I will choose 5-in-1 instead of the 6-in-1, its about $200+, this time I also chose to give my younger son the pnuemoccocal disease jab which for his age (3rd mth onwards) need 4 dosages and one dosage is $170, u can choose to give at older age like 9th mth which need 3 dosages and like my elder's age, at 2+ yrs need only 1 dosage but I kia su lor since 5-in-1 will got little or no fever and this pnuemoccocal sure will get fever, I thot to give at one go save the trouble of taking care. then after that at around 15th mth another one call the MMR, this one I forgot how much liao but should not be too ex.
The charges on the vacinnations itself are about the same in polyclinic and public hospitals since they are from the same organisation. just tat need to pay the consultation fees. but private PD for sure more expensive.

hey thanks twins_MTB. yes no polyclinic at sembawang only at Yishun and its around the Kranji mrt station, which is quite out of the way. I find it not convenient cos I brought my 2nd son there during the first couple of mths for checks cos he got jaundice and need to go there like every other day so very troublesome lor. but then again if got jaundice its better to go check at policlinics then private pd or public hospital PD save on the consultation cost, cheaper.

O I missed the ToysRus sale too. Hmm.....now not into buying toys for the boys liao cos wan to save money. usually will buy little cheap toys fm mkt like stress balls, rubber balls, little cars....think my boy like these better than those big, sopphisicated toys. : )

twins_MTB: The nearest polyclinic is at Yishun and Woodland. Here's the link: http://www.nhgp.com.sg/Default.asp?cid=15142 I am curious how much is the vaccination at polyclinic? Does anyone knows?

Vivi c: Aiyoh darling now I'm regretting buying the sarong carrier so early. I was thinking after delivery I will be on my own with the baby so better get one sarong carrier now. I do not have any other milk bottle besides the 2 that I bought. If you got anything to pass, let us know. At least I can save $$ & time kekeke....

Van, I can check out my elder son's bill of the vacinnation if u wan to know the exact figure.
For first time mums usually abit anxious in getting more things cos thinking need to use after delivery like myself when I first got pregnant and ending up not using some of the things. hmm.....I definately can give away the sarong carrier and the avent pacifiers if anyone is interested. The Avent manual breast pump I can lend if u all r interested. Rest of the things let me go back and check what else.

Hi twins_MTB, I had added my experience and some comments to your buy-list for bb stuff. Hope u dun mind. Some of my experiences to share with u all.

mime_msword.gif
Things for BB - 1
Things_for_My_New_Tenants_1-529090.doc (46.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>
mime_msword.gif
Things for BB - 2
Things_for_My_New_Tenants_2-529091.doc (46.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Wow..today the thread with so many postings..I went for facial..hiak hiak

Vivi_C, nice to see u back to the thread

Hey is your maid staying home alone with your 2 boys? or u have old folks at home to keep an eye?

Private PD charges is pretty high! My lil gal seeing PD at Gleneagles SBCC.
The pnuemoccocal jabs r expensive, we also paid around $168 and rotarvirus costs us $105 each! BB or child's vac/PD fee indeed very high..siong ah

Hi apple

Well my elder is taken care by my mum without maid then n he is still taken care by her.
The 2nd son now taken care by my mum-in-law, the maid is with her to help out then weekend everybody back to my house.
With maid around sure need old folks to be there can't leave kids with maid alone.

Yup all the charges for jabs n routine checks for bb are always high. Specialist mah sure high lor. tat's why i can't dun work. O my colleague's little boy also seeing PD at Gleneagles she also told me generally the jabs cost are higher.
Wa apple u also let ur gal have the rotarvirus jab ah, I afraid bb can't take it so only chose to let him have the pnuemoccocal jab.

For bb things, so far I have bought:
1) clothing (how many sets should I prepare? already bought about 8 sets but still feel not enough)
2) bb cot &amp; bedding sets
3) Avent electric steriliser c/w bottles, pacifier, cup, brush, wet wipes
4) towels
5) comb
6) cloth diaper, nappy liner and pant
7) mittens &amp; booties
8) changing mat
9) nail clipper
etc...

There are a lot more to buy. Twins_MTB's lists are very useful. Most of the things were bought during last month sales at Tangs, Isetan, OG. Any lobang which departmental store is having sales this month? Very stress right, although 10% to 20% discount is very little. But to us SAHM and SAHMTB is very important.

Hi Vivi C

Don't worry about asking the bb siter for me. Sun Qi Zi Rang, if really can't find then decide whether to become SAHM or not loh. I'll ask my mum to stay with me and take care of bb after I go back to work. But this is not the permanent solution. Afraid that she can't cope as she is now over 70s. See how loh...

Vivi C &amp; apple,
I'm very grateful for your help in providing the highlight of the injections. Seeing that the baby has to go through so many time hurts me somehow. Is there any standard injection that the baby has to go through? Any list to share pls?

How about other mums? Care to share about the kids' injections, things like where to have it and the bills etc etc.

vivi c - I am interested in your brand new pacifiers. Care to tell me more about it pls?

I agree as a first time mum, I tend to buy certain things at too early stage. Whenever I think that I will be alone 1 to 1 with my baby after the confinement I will freck out.

JJ,
Wow you have indeed much more ready than I am. Good job! I, too am looking out for great deals coming up as those little savings is better than nothing. $$ is hard earned process so as first time mum we will tend to use it more wisely.

Van,

Are you the one I met over at the Isetan Private Sale last week. In fact, I have been searching for you but never succeed and finally today managed to get this forum by chance. How was your shopping that day?

Hi JJ

Not to worry, I just ask her if I see her won't take me lots of effort just tat nowadays she not around.
o ya think the buy list from twins_MTB is quite comprehensive, did u buy nail clipper or scissors for nails? my experience was I cut my elder son's skin using the nail clipper dun like it as it is more difficult to use. I switched to using scissors after that.
I think clothings, 8 sets should be quite enough if u r to wash them quickly enough after changing but have to have a combination of like short sleeves, long sleeves, shorts and longer pants. As for me I prefer setting bb with routine once bb born. ie during the day will wear for him short sleeve, sometimes no shorts just with diaper. then night time for sleep will wear longer sleeve and long pants so tat bb will recognise sleeping time no more play and easier to condition to sleep thru the night. also I did the same thing over and over again to prepare bb for sleep like either will bathe him or wipe him clean and change into clean clothes b4 sleep and also feed him. this way bb will be easier to differtiate betw nights and days.

JLim,

Yes it's me! Me too, have been searching at this website for you but pardon my poor memory I actually forgot part of your nick so until today still try to find you. So sorry.

Yap I bought a couple of stuffs @ Isetan and still got a long way for completion. Btw my email is [email protected]

I really got to thank you for sharing your valuable information with me the other day. It was great and I'm sure it will definitely come into use after my delivery in coming Jan'07 hahaha....

Hi Van

o the pacifiers are Avent ones think a pair of 0-3mths and 3-6mths or something. both sets are new if u are interested can pass to u. my boy doesn't like, he will just split it out.
O dun worry, its not tat difficult taking care of bb dun keep freaking out will affect bb. impt during pregnancy u have to be in good mood if not bb will become moody and cranky later.

about the injections practically what I mention previously are all the standard jabs which you cannot missed at all. after all the injections u will rec'd a cert for tat which need to be produced when child is enrolling for education later.

vivi c - Yes I am interested in both pairs. Do reserve for me and let me know your available time so that I can collect at your place. Thank you so much for your kindness.

May I know at what age does the certification comes in? What if the child receive injection via polyclinics and PD in between, is this possible? Die there is so many things that I don't know... I wonder on the way with the baby will I left out anything that is important!

Van,

I'm not really an active participant in Dec 06 MTB but I do read a lot of the threads posted there. Mummies there share a lot of their experiences and things they intend to buy or have bought. Perhaps you may want to get into that forum to take a look.

So, how prepared are you to receive your first bb? Must be really excited. If you need any adv, do email me at [email protected] or msn : [email protected]

Hi Van, sure will keep them for u. Anyway no use for me keeping them, hee in fact u help me clear stock. I should be back home this thursday. u can PM to arrange something.

If I am not wrong at age 3 there will be another development check for my elder son at polyclinic by then they will issue the cert. but in betw if u need the cert for things can also get from them anytime. Not to worry that u may miss out anything, once u gave birth liao hospital will give u a bb birth book with all the information n records of development of ur bb n it quite organised now as long as u remember the 1st date for follow-up checks then from there they will keep give u appts to all the checks and jabs.
O if you started the package of the 5-in-1 of 6-in-1 at polyclinic they won't allow u to go else where for tat jab not even to another polyclinic so decide where u wan to go first for this jab. Best is to stick to one place dun switch in betw.

Hey mothers,

wow!! so many postings!!! Very good.Do keep me update of sales k? Looking for a playpen now.

Vivi C,

I also use scissors for my newborn. Also accidentally cut the skin while using a nail clipper.

Yup augustmum, scissors is the best. Felt so guilty cutting my son's finger then. : (

O sometimes Robinsons have quite good sales, 20% most of the time and extra 5% if using the Robinsons visa card. If got sales let u all know.
Playpen? I like the luck bb one which I am using with bassinet (sell separately) sometimes places like kids mall or kiddy palace will constantly have sales for this.

Hey MTBs, forget to tell u all, not to cut the nails of newborns during the first couple of mths. Not really sure what is the reason hee....just overheard the lady beside my bed mentioning tat time when I gave birth to my 2nd son. It was advised to her by the nurses at the hospital.

LYMing - Welcome, wat does SBWB stands for? my delivery is at TMC so what kind of feedback do you want, can you elaborate further?

vivi c - okay I will meet you Thursday then. Fyi I do not know how to use &amp; retrieve PM so how?

I really don't know which PD to choose. Come to think of it, I met Dr.Terence Tan once &amp; find him okay. His clinic is at Mt.A.

Does anyone here donate their baby's cord blood to the cord bank or store at the private organisation, care to share ideas here?

auguestmum - what kind of playpen are you looking for? For instance, colour, function, budget etc etc.....

Vivi C

The nail clipper I bought is from the brand call safety 1st and with a magnifying glass built in. Pigeon brand nail clipper is for 9mths and above. For NB, just need to file the nail will do, no need to use nail clipper.

I heard there is a sale now on bb products at Seiyu, anyone went already?

Hi Van

Just click onto my name at the left of the message then u can PM me liao.
Well I only go to PD for initial one yr of my child then rest will go to GP cos really much much cheaper. I think Mt A. is abit too out of reach leh, quite inconvenient to go and for initial stage need to go quite often so feel should choose a more convenient place.
Store at public one is FOC while private one charges very high, with one time charge and mthly charge and each retrieval or storage also need to pay.....storing the cord blood is like buying insurance, not sure will be using it or not. I feel the charges is abit on the high side which I dropped the idea storing with private tat time.

JJ

I am using the scissors from Pigeon not the nail clipper. Dun think its for 9mths onwards leh the nail clipper. I started cutting the nails of my bb when he was about 3 mths cos he now will scratch his face and touch here and there usually will end up with lots of scratches.

Hello moms and mtbs,
Wow, I missed out so many postings already... :p

Vivi_C,
Thanks for updating my new tenant and full pack list. Very informative indeed. For TMC, they have already pre-informed us they dun provide PJ or night gowns for moms, so must bring our own. And I really like your idea of setting routine for your bb, including the type of clothings for day and night. Very brilliant!

augustmum,
The other mtbs at the Oct thread talked a lot about the OG sale last week and quite a handful of them bought their play pen from there. Not sure if the sale is still on, but you may want to pop by to have a look. I bought nursing bras from there. Its the cheapest I could find so far.

Van,
With 2 babies coming and twice the cost to consider, I think I'll just opt for polyclinic services for my babies. Can forget about private PDs. Else, I'll be very, very broke and have to save on afternoon tea and shopping with you gals. Hehehe...

LYMing,
Are you referring to the Thomson Women's Clinic at level 3, Sun Plaza? I think most mtbs staying in Sembawang visits the clinic. I'm one of them too.

For NB, I'll just file the nails will do. From the baby's character, I'll see if there's a need to buy baby's nail clipper. Maybe I'll opt for scissor, depending....

I too agree, Mt.A is too far from sembawang &amp; it's neither near to any MRT station. Btw anyone knows roughly how often do we need to bring baby for injection?

twins - u didn't miss much, welcome bk! Do you have any idea how's the procedure of booking appt @ polyclinics yet. I heard you have to wait a whole day just to get it done, wonder if that is true?

LYMing - I'm one of the MTB have been visiting Lawrence @ Sun Plaza too!

JJ - I thought Seiyu sale ends 01Oct? I am too lazy to go out there, seems too far from Sembawang.

I am still thinking whether to store baby's cord blood or not hmm....

Hey twins_MTB,
No problem with the lists, hope u dun find me too kaypo : ) The routine stuff can try with ur bbs, no matter is for day and night usually things to do with them are quite standard, feeding, sleeping, bathing....also easier for them to adjust to being born into the world out of the womb. hee...I not tat brilliant lah just tat i happened to read up from some website I surf last time.
And I think its wise of u to select to go to polyclinic cheap and svc about the same the jab gotten also same so dun waste $$ to go to PD.

Van,

actually after bb discharge fm hospital, nurses will advise to bring bb to polyclinic like next day of day or two after to polyclinic to check on jaundice level. if high usually have to go there every other time. not really need appt for this just walk in and they will usually give priority for newborns no need to q in fact and waiting time usually about half hr. then 1 mth appt will be given for 1 mth jab of the Hep B II 2nd jab if 1st jab done at hospital already. then 3rd mth 1st jab for 5-in-1, 4th mth 2nd jabs, 5th mth 3rd jab, the pnuemococcal jab can be done together with the 5-in-1 jabs, think 12th mth is the last jab for Hep B II, 15th mth MMR and 18th mth last jab for 5-in-1.
Note, check for juandice level including doing blood test, polyclinic is the best place to check tis as they got lab there quite fast can get results and not tat ex. PD will be very very ex as juandice can last for weeks or mths if bb is breasfed.

Hi, I am Carol, already a mother of a gal, I am also residing in Sembawang also. Actually my gal got jaundice also when she was born, and has to stay in hospital for additional 3 days while I discharged first. She has to go for follow up as well. But not worry, normally jaundice will go away once they grow as long as it not too serious.

Hi Van, twin_MTB

yes, SBWB sembawang for short - i just wonder is the gynae good anot - i am into 2+ pg n experiencing itchess all over face, body, legs (asked my gynae at NUH anything to apply) he said to bear with it

next he said better to check with the doc who prescribed the med for me if i want to apply

so i am confused whether to stick to him or change gynae

Hi LYMing

I tot usually the gynea will check on watever medication prescribe by GP or others if u r to check with gynea, then tell u can use or not. I am puzzled why ur gynea got such response. n gynea can prescribe creams or something to apply, how can he ask u to bear with it? Wa who recommended this gynea to u? I think u should change.

Hi Vivi
yes, that is why i considering Thomson Medical (Dr Lawrence Ang isit)
my fren recommended me (said he is good maybe 10 yrs ago) *sigh*

Wow..so many postings! I gotta play catch up by reading up all the postings when my gal takes nap later on.

My input for MTB on what I'm using..
1)disposable diapers - Nepia &amp; Pampers Premium
2)bb washing detergent - Pigeon &amp; Kodomo softener
3)bb shampoo, lotion, nappy cream - Mustela
4)crib set - Aussino &amp; Babysafe
5)bb cot mattress + pillows + bolster - Babysafe latex
6)Milk bottles - Bfree
7)Pacifier - NUK
8)Breastpump - Ameda Lactaline dual pumps
9)Breastpad - Pigeon
and a lot more...

Vivi, my PD charges almost similar to most of the PD. I guess the specialist charges are +/-$20 ranging fr $40-$60 for consultation. For vaccinations most of them r around the same price.

Oh ya Van, My friend told me Dr Terence Tan charges r very high and waiting time is super LONG, can be up to 3-4hrs! I actually wanted to change to Dr Terence but due to the waiting time and hard to book appt, I still stick to my current PD eventhough quite far to travel.
And I heard Dr Terence charges $20 more for most of the vac.

LYMing

How many weeks r u pregnant liao? I think most of the MTB staying in Sembawang is Dr Lawrence Ang's patients, my ex-colleague who just gave birth also dilvered by him. So I should think he also quite experience.
My opinion is, no matter how R&amp;R the doc is or sian with the job liao at least he should give professional advice and not just tell u to bear with it. who knows how this itchiness will affect the bb? things like this better dun take for granted, dun regret later mah not treating the problem.

apple, think cheaper to do at polyclinic for follow ups on the jaundice blood test leh. and somemore for my case we did many times over a few weeks. its like doing it every other day.

Vivi, I was lucky..my bb did the blood test and she was at level 9+..so PD discharged her together with me. So we just paid for that one time blood test there lor.
I have never visit any polyclinic in Spore before..but I heard waiting time can be quite long and only GP there. So my hb definately will not bring my bb there.

apple, tat's why I said I mis calculated lor.....to bring my 2nd son to PD for jabs instead to stick to Polyclinic. cos I forgot to cost in the consultation charges. at Polyclinic no need consultation charges mah if really need its only $4. Kind of regretted leh. my elder one done at polyclinic.

O apple, my bb also discharged together with me. cos tat was only day 3 of his life and jaundice won't appear like after day 4 or something so we were adviced by the hospital to being bb to polyclinic to check on jaundice and we also noticed he was abit yellow subsequently so there after need to go every other day till his level started to drop then no need to go back.
Yup only GPs are there but after seeing PD and GP I feel not much different. I will only bring my sons to see whichever doc tat is good dun care GP or PD.
O the waiting time not long as they give priority to newborns dun even have to q for registration and doc will call bb in first.

Vivi, my PD don't charge consultation for jabs. Consultation will only be charged when visits him for fever/flu or any other reasons ler.
U mean your PD charges consultation on top of the $170 u paid for the pneumococoal jab?

Apple, yes she does cos she is the consultant at public hospital. no private clinic. think its the standard lor. tat's why now I regretted. should just stick to polyclinic.