Sembawang MTB or SAHM

Shuhui, u still around ah?? Wow wow..u shd be grounded at home at this moment lar..don't run here and there anymore!

If you gals manage to tbf your bb, then solid will be around 5mths+ same as my bb

Hi Mummies, I juz back from IMM espirt and Daiso shop..
Espirts got nices ladies wear from $9.90 onwards...

Can check in North point outlet, cos the cashier told mi only IMM & North point having this clearance sale thru out..

Cheer, Niki

Shuhui - I too went to IMM today. What time did you go? I went to find the chest drawer, finally found it at Giant. Espirit's warehouse sale = Espirit outlet, that's why there are only 2 branches at this island selling an entirely different range from the rest. Not forgetting that this outlet at IMM is only 2 months old..... I agree with apple, you should try to stay at home now since you may deliver any moment. Anything wrong do give your gynae a call....

apple - Hope that my tbf is a success.... I look forward ....

Today is an unpleasant day for me. Got numerous time of premature contraction, legs gone tired out of a sudden (strong urge to sit down) & more occurance of spinning head. I feel so bad to ask my hubby to come & fetch me from his work (East to West). Seems like I may have premature delivery.....

Van,
I there abt 3 plus.. shop in Daiso till 6 plus..
I cant really stayed him @ home leh...
Ur hypotension again.. think "u should really stayed @ home.. Dont worry, alot of preggies also have postural hypotension.. sudden change of BP when sudden standing to sitting, or sitting to standing.. Juz dont faint can liao..
If really hypotension, can take salt.. will increase bld pressure one.

Tks Shuhui, I will try to take a rest wherever possible. Yap so long I do not faint and the conditions are still within my control, that's fine. We should take good care of ourselves as we are solely responsible for our own action, isn't it.

Here's the update:

EXPO SALE
Foyer 2 level 2 - L'oreal sale
Hall 6B - Adidas sale
Hall 4B - Popular sale

Merchant Square - Estee sale (strictly invitation)

Takashimaya + luxury boutique (LV, Cartier, Bvlgari etc etc) sale (Using DBS Black Card or DBS Treasures Black Elite Card or DBS American Black card)

Metro Paragon sale strictly for female only (Just show your Metro credit card or Metro normal card to go in).

As usual, Wisma midnight show.

Van,
Wow! You're really into shopping. Can even list down the location of ongoing sales. Pei fu pei fu!!!

Shuhui and Van,
Both of you sound like your babies will pop anytime and you're still thinking of going out??? Be good and stay @ home lah! Hmmm... But then again, when I was big and heavy in the last trimester, I also couldn't help but go out to shop. Sigh... The pot calling the kettle black! Kekeke... Just one advice - when you go out, bring along disposable panties and at least 2 maternity sanitary pads. I cannot imagine what will happen if my waterbag broke while I'm outside shopping.
Arghhh...
kao_embarrassed.gif

twins - hi how's the cutie twins doing now? Tks for your concern, I didn't go out today despite so many sale events. Better be sure that I am fit to go out otherwise whilst my hubby is away from sg is going to lock me in the hse kekeke Very soon your initial hard time will be gone & it's our time praying.....

Van,
Yah, I'm getting used to the twins' routine now, so I guess I'm over the hardest period of taking care of them.

Its been raining a lot lately, so naturally family members will be more worried when you go out with your big bump. Hee... I'm sure your HB will lock you in if you continue to "misbehave". Kekeke... I remember my HB's black face when he came home and found out that I went to Causeway Point on a rainy day. It didn't helped when I explain that I went to and fro via cab. So you better be good and rest huh.

twins - hahaha thanks for your advise I will take note of it. Hmm think of some ways that nobody knows I am outside......

Just back from Robinson. They are having 20+5% discount so I just bought some baby stuffs kekeke

Hi, twin.. juz went to North point and check out their espirit outlet.. Think IMM more ladies wears..
I dont care one..Every day raining, I also go out.
I always wait till he is out of work then sneaked out..anyway, I @ home also nothing to do..Thanks for "ur advice, will follow strictly..
Like cinderella like that, must be back when he backed.

Shuhui - hehehe sound like Cinderella. Make sure you are fine and sound, don't go against the nature like what twin said. Take care.

long time no log in you all have posted so many messages already???

Twins, your girls are getting prettier as they grow......so envy, u got girl to make up.

Van and Shuhui, ah pls lah stay at home and be good. btw both not given birth yet hor? take care and rest more. next time when bb out not much time to rest liao.

O read somewhere that u all looking for some lobang for milk powder? I always order my milk powder, usually like $2-$3 cheaper if I am not wrong. but got to order in dozens and delivery is free lor. if anyone interested, let me know.

me now bz with work and the christmas party lor. actually not at my house but helping my sis in law organising so got to help her with food and games lor. dun know can tahan till late night on christmas eve or not cos now got another younger one to take care. anyway enjoy while we can.......

o as for solids, I didn't start my son till he was 6 mths. as my mum now found out not too good to start solid like cereal or porridge too early. and she said dun let bb eat fish till after one yr to prvent phlegm and coughing. for me I am not too particular not only selecting organic food, will try to let bb eat normally lor so I chose Heinze brand saw NTUC also got organic brands like Healthy times if you all interested but for me I just do like wat I did for my elder one so no special treatment.
hee.......just my opinion only.

vivi - Can you email to me this milk lobang of yours? Tks in advance. I will assess the situation, if need arises, I will definitely stay indoor especially with my spinning head.

apple - I'm very happy to bump into you last Saturday. Do you frequent to Chong Pang market? Care to email me more soupy recipes pls? Tks in advance.

Today I am good, staying at home as hubby flying off tonight. Tomorrow is freedom kekeke....

I noticed that my legs will feel numb at times, wondering why????

Van, I do weekly marketing there. Usually Sunday..keke..coz I order fish fr one of the stall. Fresh and reasonable price

What soup recipes u want?? In fact, soup is the easier thing to prepare. U can boil with spare ribs or chicken drumstick. I usually boil winter melon, old cucumber(the one u bought), lotus roots, sometimes herbal soup, many more..haha..some dunno then name :p

Vivi, pls share your FM lobang with me

I gotta start sourcing for FM..weaning off bf soon.

I started solid according to my PD's plan. I follow his advise. I only intro 2 types of fish to my gal into porridge. Threadfin and cod fish. PD said the rest of seafood will be >1YO.

apple - wow you know how to cook soupy stuff, can you email to me some secret recipes to me pls? I love soupy stuffs but as a greenhorn it's still an endless trials that I am going to get arcross. Which fish stall did you order your fish from? I normally will buy from a husband-wife stall. Sometimes I will get to see their son helping out as well.

Actually I have no idea what am I holding, just that I saw it elsewhere (in soupy version), that's why I want to try and cook for myself.

What is the hokkien name for threadfin? Is that ngoh hee? In the market we can't use English to talk to them otherwise I will end up buying nothing. So right now I am trying to brush up my hokkien.... sign never know being a mum is so multi-tasks...

Hi.. Vivi

Can also email mi regarding "Ur milk lobang?
Mi very interested, cos scared not enough to supplement BM.

Ya.. now Mi everyday grounded @ home liao cos really is getting worst.. contraction more serve.. and also experience, heart burn.. See..now 4 something liao still cannot sleep...
I think very stress out liao,

Van.. think I will be delivered soon...
Ya. Thread fin is "ngoh hee"
legs numb.. becos baby is getting bigger and it restict bld flow to the lower extremities.. Try doing those leg exercises and elevate Ur legs while "u sleep, cut down or long standing or walking... Cant WEAR TED stocking hor.. those very tight stocking for long distance airplance passaernger wear one, or stroke pt wear one cannot wear for preggie.. It supposed to help in bld circulation so that bld flow was not be stagnant but think they scared too tight, restict bld flow to baby..

Hi mummies.. got anyway, "u know when Ur cervix dilated? Got any signs and symptoms?
My contractions worst liao but waterbag still intact..I cant feel my cervix myself mah? then how I know cerix opened liao..cos recently saw in the newspaper In china, one of the women gave birth in toliet and baby survised insided the shit hole.. pple got dugged her baby out... luckly baby survised..

Van, I buy fr hb-wife stall, err..is in the middle lane. Usually I ring up the auntie a day before so she will keep de-boned cod fish and threadfin(aka ngoh hee) for me.
U can buy kampung chicken at that market too. Fresh and good. Especially during confinement. I order fr the stall facing the vege stall we bought.

I'm soupy person..so cannot survive if I dunno how to boil soup. Hmm..u need training to boil soup? I trained my maid, she can boil nice soup now ler..haha

The milk supplier I got is called Annie Goh from Goods Bargains her hp is..... will PM u all. besides milk powder, think she also supply diapers in bulk. All brands of milk powder and diapers also have lor.

Is the ngoh hee called ma you in mandarin? If so, I also only give this fish to my boy when was on solid. sometimes cod fish. then my mum will sun the ikan bilis and grind into powder form to put into the porridge when it was about ready. very rish in calcium. another fish I like to use is silver fish, fresh one chopped and minced with the head and organs (small like ikan bilis) this one also very rich in calcium and very nutritious lor. As for the ma you fish, think got different kind one, I dun how to buy in market cos usually my mum will buy she will know how to choose lor and only certain kind form dun know which country one is good and not fishy smell one.

Apple, I also interested in soups leh.....I only know how to cook the old cucumber, sweet corn, the 'ABC' soup, tried the white fungus with mushroom and chicken but not very successful (my mum in law's receipe), so you got any other receipes please let me have also hor. btw, when did you start giving ur girl egg yolk huh? i forgot when I gave my elder son liao now wan to give the younger one to prepare him for the MMR jab next year. Thanks.

Shuhui and van please take care hor.

Wow, so many interesting topics going on here! Hee...

apple,
I'm also a soup person but for me to make soup myself now, I need the recipe to be as simple as possible. Until I have more time on hand, I will "survive" on simple meals like porridge, macaroni, mee suah, etc. :p Once the babies sleep longer in the day, I will consult you on the soup recipe as well. You are the "shi fu" here. Hehehe...

Vivi,
My gals are taking Enfalac now and they consume a tin in about 6-7 days. Please share your bulk purchase contact with me. Wonder how much she charges per carton. Anyway, also good that they deliver to my place. Then my HB don't have to always carry home until his arms ache. Kekeke... I also told the ma-ma shop owner (his shop below my flat) that he should sell Enfalac. My HB will be very happy to buy from him.

Vivi, got your mail. Thanks

egg yolk, PD said when 9months can give 1/2. So I haven't intro yet..keke..
Threadfin is ngoh hee not ma you.

FYI, I don't encourage ikan bilis. My friend's DD nearly choke to dead 2 months ago.
Her mom buy ikan bilis, wash, sun, bake and grind into powder and use 1 tsp to spread over the porridge. One fine day, the gal(11months) suddenly choke, wanna vomit but can't. Whole face turn red then purple. The granny quickly rush her to Mt A and my friend also rushing over fr work. Lucky the PD was there, and they clear her throat immediately at A&E. U know the ikan bilis powder they tends to have those pricky stuff and it choke in her throat that she can't breath. My goodness!!! So after her incident, my hb refrain me fr buying ikan bilis for my gal.

twins mom, I'm not the shi fu lar..I find boiling soup is the easiest way to settle my lunch especially when my maid still new, can't cook well. And my bb still so young at that time.

Actually u can boil simple soup, add mee shua inside that will be healthy lunch for u de

Like using fish slices, some vege like spinach(can increase BM), carrot and mee shua. Soup base u can just buy 1 drumstick boil for 45min.

Apple

O really tat happened? grind into powder form also can get choked ah? then I better dun use. o from 9 mths onwards ah.......ok....think tat time for my elder boy also introduced half egg yolk for the start.
O Threadfin not ma you......then you know wat is ma you in english?

Ya twins, apple is right u can boil the soup and use it as soup base for noodles, mee hoon, or mee sua. i also do tat cos my elder son loves soup just tat I dun have so much variety of soup.

For me now taking care of 2 during weekends, I will usually cook one pot of rice, like those claypot chicken rice type, just cook the chicken after marinate and throw into rice cooker with vege like carrots and chopped onions.....easy no need to prepare so many dishes. sometimes include a pot of soup lor. or I will cut either the french bean or long bean small, stir fried with minced pork and yellow onions with some gravy and cook rice when rice cooker turn keep warm I will throw in the beans and there one pot of rice. some times I also use chicken breast meat with mixed beans lor. hee......lazy pple like me cook on pot like tat easier.

Hi Twins

I also already PM you the contact of the milk powder supplier liao. Same for Shu hui and Van.
Please check your emails.

Twins

Enfalac is selling at $29.20 each tin min order is 12 tins. Enfapro is $28.00 each tin also min order 12 tins. delivery is free for a dozen sometimes she will give a small gift as token.
Sigh......now the Enfa series milk powder is getting more ex. as they constantly change formula to increase ingredients so tat they can increase price also. my elder one is drinking the stage 3 - Enfagrow now selling at $42.20 or something at NTUC. very ex lah.
kao_angry.gif

Hello Mummies in Sembawang,

I'm also a Sembawang mummy to a notti 6mo girl. Just wondering if any of you employ part time maid. Can u reccommend?

Thanks, Vivi

Received "ur mail..

Hello mummies, Think BB going to popped out soon.. so ont be online so often.. cos now doing last minutes preparartion.. Most likely next week..
Will update "u all If I delivered.

vivi - thanks I got the email of Annie's contact. I think ma you is sesame if I'm not mistaken.

apple - The fish stall that I frequent regularly is at the 2nd stall from the left, facing the mini road. Is the lady's body size around L-XL? If so, we maybe buying from the same lady! This stall is very popular, especially with the aunties. If I don't reach there early all the fresh ones will be sold out especially ngoh hee! Occasionally this lady will hint to me that their "special catch" which is very beneficial for pregnant lady like me hehehe..

Shuhui - wow your time is coming! Sign it's me who is still counting the sheeps 1,2,3....

twins - seems like you are getting more adjustable to the princesses schedule. That's great news...

Nowadays I can feel the movement of the baby even for daytime, seems like there isn't any space left inside... There are times I don't think that the tummy belongs to me as it keeps move about.

Any idea what is the hokkien word for the following:
- carp
- snakehead
- seabream
- kurau fillet
- white pomfret

These are the fish bones that I can use for cooking with the unripe papaya to increase the BM. I wonder if we need to pre-order the fishbones from the market? Anyone got idea on this?

I'm still a greenhorn. At the fish stall all I know is how to select a fresh fish. I do not even know what is the name of it, just buy and steam it. So far there is no problem with this.

Hello to all mums in Sembawang,

Came across this thread & found many things in common with the mums here. I would also like to meet more mums in Sembawang, got more similar things to share. Some self introduction of myself:
-I am staying at Admiralty Drive Blk 467A along the river.
- I am currently a FTWM but will be resigning & be a SAHM in late Dec 06. Really looking forward to it.
- I have a son, Lucas about 23mths now (born in Dec 04). Taken care by a nanny who is just staying in the same block.
- I am been planning for the 2nd one since 6 mths ago, and I think I am 5 weeks pregnant now(did a test yesterday night). Other than my hubby, the mums here are the 1st to know. haha... so happy.
- Like some of the mums here, my gynae is Dr Lawrence Ang. He delivered my 1st baby via c-section despite having a doula during the delivery. So I will be seeing him again. Will be making appointment this Fri to confirm my pregnancy.
- I also read that some of the mums here buy organic stuff. Coincidentally, I will drop by at Nature Glory twice a mth to buy their carrots, apples for juicing and their dry stuff i.e. crackers, etc. Maybe next time can join the purchase for the home delivery.

Will be reading the past postings during the next few days to get to know the mums here better.

I read that 2 of the mums, Shuhui & Van are going to deliver soon. Congratulations & enjoy! Have a safe & smooth delivery to Shuhui. And Van, rest well, remember to prepare a few chicken essence bottles before delivery.

Hi Tetra,

I'm staying in Blk 359 so I'm opposite block!

Anyway will your nanny accept anymore babies? I need someone to look after my dd just maybe 3hours twice a week. Is your nanny good?

BTW, if any sembawang mummies know of nannies in our area, please reccommend. Super thanks!

Hi stressed,

My nanny is good with children. She has been taking care of kids from infant till they are in primary school for the last 10 years. What I like is that her family members also love children. The only thing is that she is currently taking care of 5 kids but some of them are not there throughout the whole day. Give you some info so that u can decide:
1) a 7 year old boy (will be in school half day)
2) a 4 year old girl (in playgroup for 2 hrs)
both of them are her nieces, and there is a maid to tend to them. Nanny is more like supervising.
3) my son (but will end in Dec when I become SAHM)
4) a 6 mths old boy
5) a 5 year old boy (@ childcare whole day, only fetch him back for dinner)
6) a 4mth old girl (next Jan)
Nanny's mil also help to assist in minding the children. She did mention that there is another nanny who is looking for children to look after. If you want, I can check with her.

I'm a FTWM styaing in Sembawang and would like to join you mummies in this thread.I've a 2.5yrs old gal and 2mths old son.

Do you know any shop that sell cheaper diapers?

Vivi, think ngoh hee is hokkien and ma you is cantonese. They refer to the same fish.

Hi Mummies tat just join us.....welcome......
kao_welcome.gif

Hey Mondi, I guessed so that ngoh hee.....is same as ma you in cantonese. And yes I am cantonese tat's why no so well versed in hokkien.
O the contact that I was mentioning about for milk powder, does supply diapers too. but I am not so sure how much it cost cos I dun stock up so many afraid bb outgrow. if you r interested can let me know. also think Seng Siong does sell some of the things cheaper. for me I will usually look out for offers at NTUC and just buy from there.

A warm welcome to Tetra, stressed & modi. Thank you for joining us in this thread

tetra - thanks for your concern. Wow time flies, soon you will be a baby's mummy again kekeke It's not easy to come to a decision just to quit your job, isn't it. Anyway it's for the sake of the children.....

stressed - I suppose you are FTWM since looking out for a nanny for your darling....

Shuhui - Wow you still log into the internet this morning, I thought you are going to delivery any moment soon.... Don't push yourself too hard ....

vivi - so sorry I don't know cantonese so can't help much regarding the translation.... so any plan to take leave since there are alot of events during the children holiday months?

augustmum - are you still BF your 2nd boy? I am hopping that I too can BF my boy once he's out praying.....

cclyn - hmm if I'm not mistaken your boy is going to enrol into the kindergarden since he's coming to 5yrs old?

LYMing - how's your pregnancy so far? It's been awhile since hear from you.... hmmmm

Anyone can translate the names of the fish in hokkien version from my previous post?

Hi, tetra,stressed & modi...
Welsome to our thread..

Van, I cant sleep leh.. got heart burn.. anyway, think will induced liao cos going to overdue..

Shuhui - hey we are in the same boat. I woke up around 5+am today too
Don't worry let the nature takes its course. I'm sure your boy too wants to come out any moment from now. Make sure you try to calm down so that the delivery can be more controlled.

Hi apple

Regarding your fren's bb being choked by mixing the ikan bilis powder in the porridge. Can you help me check whether tat time when she grind the ikan bilis, she didn't remove the head, and the little bones and internal organs? tat's why not able to grind into real powdery form? Thanks. I still think ikan bilis is a real good source of calcium and my elder son and my cousin's son benefited from it as they have strong bones. Thanks.

Hey Shuhui

Jia you ok and good luck, do wat you need to do and listen to gynea's advice..... dun force yourself to do wat can't be done.....take good care.

Thanks mummies for welcoming...

Hi Vivi,

Thanks. I've enquired on Annie Goh FM too and compared with NTUC pricing. I calculated that with NTUC link card of rebate around 4-6% + link points, is still cheaper to purchase at NTUC. Furthermore no need to buy half or one dozen. However, I'm still looking out for cheaper source, please keep me update if you have one.

With 2 kids now, I become more and more calculative. Realized that children stuffs are getting more and more expensive. Initially Pampers Premium changed packaging and increase price, now Enfa series also increased...Haiz

Hi mondi

actually quite true if you take in the rebates and the points, provided have NTUC card. Its the convenience for me cos of delivery. sometimes do forget to buy milk powder and diapers when they run out and me working mah go really no time to shop too much at NTUC and if really go must do chop chop. talking about tat think I must go and do up the rebates thingy for NTUC if not lugi if purchase <$25.00.
Ya true, if we use premium brands like pampers and the enfa series.......really very ex.

Vivi, I already witness how to make the ikan bilis. De-boned, no head, no internal organ at all. She even put in the oven to bake it till very dry then grind. Ok, she is not convinced by the ikan bilis prob too until the PD explained that ikan bilis the flesh itself when we baked and grind, it it dried. So when mixing into porridge, sometimes the little pricky texture will occured.
I also know it is source of calcium..but I better be safe than sorry.

Can buy fresh silver fish, put them into a cloth bag and boil the soup and use the stock for porridge lor..also rich in calcium wat!