Recommendation for Stretch Mark Cream

Hi cloudtree, I got it from Guardian Pharmacy. It cost abt $40+ a tube. Very ex? I myself not sure if it's effective or not but so far no stretchmarks (touch wood). Recommended by a friend who didn't get any stretchmarks at all during her pregnancy.

now on promotion.. 2 tubes at 46.90..
just bought!!..

i am currently using mustela creme....... dun know is it good....everyday keep checking my tummy...... but i tik i am too early to see if there stretchmark, i am 5 and half month.... ;p

<font color="aa00aa">serene,</font>
i bought mustela too.. but find it a bit "sticky" after applying.. even next morning oso got a bit of sticky feel..

went to get Elancyl from Guardian last wkend, tried the sample on hand, it doesn't feel sticky after applying..

angelia

yah, i also find tat its abit sticky and i actually dun like the smell too but bo bian, got to endure..... i also tried 1 which also can buy in pharmacy, its brand is VICHY and i got it in suntec pharmacy, its good and not so sticky but quite pricey lo...... and i use up very fast......hee........

i am now using avocado as a mask for my tummy....ha!!!!!! hope that it can do some good too!!!!!

Hey guys, I actually got from NTUC, (cannot remember name) but it cost only $18! It was good, but bcos I used it too late, I already had some stretch marks. But I find it impossible to blive ppl nevr have stretch marks.

Hey Giggler, was your friends tummy small? Was she like a small frame size? She must be some lucky gal huh.

I tot Mustela was good bcos of the cocoa butter. I have read that it really helps and very good. Never tried it though.

I used to be promotor of Elancyl... heard from many customer tt its useful. Everytime promotion, they will buy a lot!

Maya2715,

u can try, its not too bad, but i am a person tat dun like to use cream or lotion on my body as i will feel tat theres something covering me.....but again, no choice..... ;p and i got a fren who recently jus gave birth and with NO STRETCH MARK!!!!!!!! so envy.............

angelia (angph38) ,

i agreed, and tats wat everyone says....... my mum got them....so...... pray hard hard lo....ha!!!!!!! but theres certain lucky one, the whole family female got it but jus one of then manage to escape...... hope we will be lucky....... i tik as long as i do my part by massaging the cream in everyday, and if still got them, at least i know i am doing my best liao.........

rabbitwsk01 (rabbitwsk01) ,

some of my frens are using tat too....again, some lucky not to hav stretch mark but most of them too.......so got to depends on luck liao.....

YuRu,

i bought my in takashimaya baby products level. it cost me S$49.90. in apex pharmacy i seen them but its more expensive, but not much, maybe afew cents more. or maybe ur gynea has it.........

Hi all, currently I am using the Clarins oil. Cant remember wats the actual name. Heard alot of good comment abt it. The smell of the oil is very nice and not too oily... Its use every morn on damp skin and preferably goes wif a shower after applying on. So far I am in my 3rd tri (have been using it since my 3rd mth preg), *Touch wood* so far so good.. but ofcos it's still too early to tell. :p

newbies,

CONGRAT!!!!!! tat u dun have "TAT" :p

one of my fren using tat too, i almos bought it the other time but end up not buying as the sales person like not so helpfull....... and i am always very difficult to overcome the greasy feeling, tats y it stop me from buying. my fren was lucky, she serve by a frenly lady tat willing to give her sample to try.......

i read from magazine tat stretch mark will start from ard 27 weeks.......... i am in my 22 weeks..... everyday morning and nite keep looking all over my body....ha!!!!!!! so worry.......... my sil develop them in the 7th month....i really hope i can escape from it.........

some pp say if drink enough water, it will prevent it too........ wat about u?? maybe its wat u eat tat make u so lucky?? ;p so now how many weeks u r into??? and how much weight u put on.......... i am very confuse as my gynea dun weigh me, only once during my 20 weeks for detailed scan.

Hi, I'm using Mothercare stretchmark cream. It's cheap &amp; gd, $10. I'm now 30wks &amp; still have not seen 'them'. *touchwood* I started applying when I was 9 wks, twice a day.

Hi serene, hahah dun congrat me so fast.... btw I got all my supplies from the changi airport duty free. Mayb u are still interested can ask ur frens who's going o/sea to get for u from the duty free shop. It's ard $10 cheaper than outside. I am at my 36th wks nw.crossing my fingers! Weight... sob sob... i had gain abt 18Kg so far.. But had expected that. :p which doc are u seeing? For me kkh measure my weight for every visit. U having a gal or boi?

u r welcome YuRu.

sometimes i wonder, i tik which brand of creme dun really matter, even if its a not so well known one as it depends on luck...... i tik there are pp who dun use anything at all also eacape from "TAT"!!!!!! but i dun want to take the risk!!!!ha!!!!ha!!!!!!

sue, so u are another lucky mummy!!!!!!!!!!!! sometimes when i saw some red streaks, i almost flip!!!!! then realized that its actually the press mark of my clothes on my skin!!!! my hubby alway look at me and laugh!!!!!

newbies, tats not fast wo.... u are already in ur 36 weeks and i tik they will not "visit" u liao....ha!!!!!!! but is it true tat some pp says it can appear after bb born too????? wah, S$10 cheaper??? tats quite alot!!!!!! but i dun tik got pp go oversea and such, so bo bian, got to pay full price liao..... yah, my dr dun take my weight. i am with dr henry cheng in bishan, but hes really good, very funny dr, always looking forward to see him......... so u gain 18kg, its ok lah.... as long as bb is growing well can liao..... as pp tell me if bb is heavier at birth, easier to take care. n u c, u can slim down after delivery, but stretch mark will not go away one wo..... and u are consider lucky liao........ i now in my 22 weeks, and gain about 4.5 kg. so i tik when pp say if u gain more weight, u will get stretch mark is not really true....... me having a boy boy, u??

hi serene, ya lor.. heard dat happen to one of the mother in tis forum. :-( **double cross finger** Haha.. ya most of the weight is gain during my trip to aust. cos every meal pasta and pizza..haha... my gynae got a shock when he saw my weight increase so fast dat mth. After dat, I gradually cut down... if not nw even heavier. Mayb ur gynae sees ur size okie, dats y he not so concern abt it. Me having a boi boi too... heee... hope to have a gal gal the next round.

newbies,
ha!!!!! yah, i tik if only we can be REALLY careful with wat we eat *DIFFICULT* ha!!!!!!!

dun know leh, he jus dun bother to weigh me i tik, but i did tat myself when i am at home. my first trimester weight gain is little, like about 0.68 kg, and the rest 3.82 kg is wat i gain from week 15 till now i tik which is like 0.48 per week......... i tik its the second trimester then started to VOOM!!!!!!!! cant really imaging the total amount i am going to put on in total!!!!!!! and i am so worry that am i putting on too much or wat as everytime i look at my tummy and see a difference in size..... ha!!!!!!! but actually if most of the weight goes to tummy and not other place, it will be soooo.... wonderful.....ha!!!!!!! if only we can chose!!!!!

so did u take any supplement other than those usual folic acid, iron pills and multi-vit??? and when is ur EDD??

in the beginning, my hubby and i hope for a gal..... very cute mah....but its ok lah, now think of it, as long as bb is healthy, i am contented liao.......

so during ur second trimester till now, wats ur eating habit like?? example like how often u eat, and wat sort of food u eat........ i am so worry tat i am actually not in the rite track u know................. everynite i will keep asking myself wat did i eat for tat day....mentally stress ah!!!ha!!!!!!!!!!

hi serene, hee... i agreed. Esp when preg, suddenly have alot of craving for food, esp during the nite!

Hahaha... dun worry lah.. ur weight gain quite steady.. u so lucky. not like me suddenly shoot up. After give birth, breast feeding will help us to slim down oso.

I din take any supplement. Even those multi-vit dat the doc prescribe I sometimes forget to take oso. :p jus eat healthy will do ba... Me another 5 more wks to due date!!... so excited now.

for me hor, actually eating habit nt much chg. jus dat last time i always very 'hardworking' go gym and jogging. nw preg, hubby dun even let me go for walk alone. so mayb dats explain for my weight gain... **excuse... hahaha**

aiyo u dun worry so much.. enjoy ur pregnancy. :)

i have just given birth 4 mths ago.As i dont intend to have any more kids after giving birth to 3 boys i decided to take the contraceptive injection. Has anyone taken it before, pls share your experiences?

newbies,

yah, i dun really specially crave for certain food, i jus find tat now i am not so picky about wat i eat which i use to. and i also dun know is the amt of food i ate is too much or too little....but dun care lah, ha!!!!!!!!!! i try to eat healthy too, but i still do eat junks lo.....like fast food and ice cream..... ;( no choice lah.............

yah, will enjoy it and happy for u tat u are about to hold ur bb in ur arms soon........ we shall keep in touch. if after some time, i dun c u replying, i know wat happen liao...ha!!!!!!

im 7mths going to 8mths in my pregnancy period.
i don have any morning sickness in the 1st 3 mths, but recently i feel very sick, alwaz feel like vomitting, is this normal?
or isit i ate toooo much?

btw, the stretch mark cream i used was recomended by my gynae. the name is vita natal, im not sure whether its useful anot, but i still din see any improvement on my belly....

Serene, lucky u. i keep having craving for those cha kway tiao, curry, fastfood... all the fattening food... haizzz... my latest crave is Durians!!.. but dun dare to eat much... heard frm ppl eating too much durian the baby will comes out very big...

hahaa... ya.. if u dun c me replying for 2-3 days, guess dat means my baby have finally come out to greet tis world.. :p

hi going2bmummy, my 1st 3mths was okie too.. oni have the MS during my 4th mth, but after a while okie again.

newbies,

I oso heard abt the bb will be big if eating too much durian..

My MIL had terrible sore throat &amp; fever when she was about to give birth to my hubby that time,bcoz of eating too much durians..My hubby was very a huge baby..but now don't know why he is sooo skinny

So better don't eat too much durians..

gOinG2BmumySooN (hui32) ,

so u mean u already develop stretch mark? if tats so, i dun tik any cream will help as they only prevent and not 100% useful. but i know from mustela, theres 1 wat they call intensive stretch mark treatment dun know it will help..... its different from their normal stretchmark cream tat prevent, its more for treating, it comes in a glass pump bottle. maybe u can try, u can go to takashimaya baby level to get it.

newbies,

i do tik of food like cha kway tiao, curry, fastfood and all tat!!!! EXEACTLY the same as urs....but the craving is not very very strong but at times i jus hav to give in and eat them!!!!HAAA!!!!!!!!!!! bo bian. i dun tik bb size will be much affected by eating durian. as i hav a fren who ate durian thu out her pregnancy, but bb still consider small in size. but i did heard pp say tat too much durian will lead to jundice, as its too heaty!!! and my tat fren bb really got tat and i mean jundice is quite common, but my frens bb jundice stay for quite sometime b 4 it goes away. so i guess when pregnant, u can actually eat most of the thing but jus in moderate, so we will also get different source of nutrients from different food. but lately i jus went geylang with my hubby and mum to eat durian..... ;p

newbies, so u going to give birth soon?
congratz....hehe...
i dono y recently i feel like alwayz want to vomit...heart burning....very 'xin ku'

serene, before my stretch mark appeared, i already applying the cream already, juz that not so often...how? i scare after birth, my belly ugly leh...then i'll b very upset...

hi serene, haha.. i cannt risk...baby aldy 2.8Kg during my last visit to gynae.. so hubby says no durian until after bb is born. wa...ur hubby so nice still bring u to geylang eat durian.. mine.. haizz..keep tellng me to cut down on food. :p

going2bmummy, yeap.. hee.. counting down 4 wks! the heart burn feeling is part of pregnancy. It will gets better nearer to ur due date. I had dat during last mth too...

newbies,
i tik ur hubby is jus concern about u, afraid tat if bb is too large, u will have a difficult time during labour, hes being caring. but i heard my frens says tat it is good if bb is at least 3 kg, easier to look after. i las nite crave alot of tibits!!!!!!!!!! oh my god!!!!!!!!!!!! as for my hubby, i tik he knows tat i am very afraid of piling on too much and afraid tat i wont eat, tats y he will never want to comment about me....ha!!!!!!!!! so where are u staying?

yah, i know how u feel, no one will want stretch mark!!!!!!! but at times, its really not within our control, go and getb the cream and have a try. so when did ur stretchmark first appear??

Serene, hee... ya lor somemore me aldy quite big size...nw he keep asking me to go for c-section or take epidural... scare i wont be able to stand the pain. me going to give birth in kkh.

newbies,
its good to hav a hubby tat take ur feelings into consideration.....as i tik some guys out there will always tik tat giving birth is jus like laying eggs.......... so ur hubby is so caring....... ;p i tik i will opp for a natural birth and i also tik i will need epidural....ha!!!!!!! but if can do without is the best....will try........ so i will jus let natural takes its own course.......cant plan too much also......... my mum went to eat durian with her frens in serangoon and she ta bao for me and hubby.......... CANT RESIST!!!!!!!! ;p

maybe its a sacrify a woman make for having lovely child!!! ;p but i always tot tat s. mark will only appear 7 mth onwards.......maybe its up to individual. so u got the cream liao??

I strongly recommend the clarins oil (there's only one type for pregnant woman, yellow in color). I had started applying it in first trimester and now my gal is already 10.5 months and I've no stretch marks at all despite putting on 17 kg.

Hi Lenny, relief to hear that... I had been using the oil oso.. so far so good.. but is scare that the stretch mark will shows after giving birth.

Lenny,

ha!!!!! then i tik i mus use clarins liao....my mustela finishing soon and i am now in my 25 weeks......hope it still in time.............

Hi MTB
I hv bought the clarins oil last 9 and it smell nice(aroma fragrant) quite gd easily absorb to the skin n the skin wont feel v oily.Hopefully it wrk well on me throughout my whole pregnancy.

I am oreadi a mum of 2!

For my 1st pregnancy, I was kan jeong n conscious/cautious type....so to speak, particular abt stretchmark cream. Stocked up Elancyl n diligently using it till birth. My choice was made based on the fact it is not greasy n gd comment read. Ended up I still have stretchmark frm 8mth onwards. I only gained abt 10kg overall.

For my 2nd pregnancy, I couldnt really bothered 'cos busy taking care of my 1st boy. At 5mth, I just walked in pharmancy n bought Palmer's stretchmark cream, also heard tat's it gd. Hardly used (4Xs max). Put on 10kg also n tis time NO SCRETCHMARK at all!

So conclusion? i believe it is not ex products that guranteed best solution but depends on individual's skin or perhaps genes?

Some even said younger mum whose skin has more elasticity less prone to stretchmark! Not true, I am in my 30s!

My gynae even recommends applying olive oil WILL DO!

I agree wz Serene, eating durians wont yield BIG bbs. Neither will have jandiced bbs!

I ate durians for both my pregnancies n my boy was 3.29kg n girl 2.965kg. Average bbs! My girl did not have jandice.

Rest assured just eat well-balanced diet, dun need to avoid anything in particular, everything shd be fine!

I've got quite a few colleagues who never apply stretch mark cream throughout whole pregnancy.. and yet didnt have any stretch marks at all.

And i agree with Sahm that doesnt mean that the more costly or branded stretch mark creams wld provide better results.

Some creams which cld be bought from Pharmacy cld be as good as well.

hi smurfy, i am using the AVENT light moisturing oil. i personally like it very much cos of its like citrus smell and because it's not oily nor sticky...

The stretch mark cream from Mothercare is cheap &amp; good. I put on 20 kg during my pregnancy but I have no stretch mark. Not sure if it is due to the cream though. Perphaps you can try.

hi Sneaky/BabyC,
thanks for the recommendations.

For the mothercare stretchmark cream, is it oily or sticky..

Hi Smurfy

The stretchmark cream it not stickly or oily. It is justly slightly thicker than body lotion.

BabyC,

Thanks. I'll look around. My sis told me only need to apply after 3 months. My gynae said no use, don't waste money

I have a bottle of "Tonic" Body Treatment Oil for sale. Recommended for effective prevention of stretch marks during pregnancy.

Given by colleagues but I am already using another product. It was bought in the airport duty free at $57.50(retail price in downtown $70)

For more info about the product, pls see link:

http://sg.clarins.com/main.cfm?prodID=65

Self-collect at Sengkang. Interested pls sms me 93370881