Problems of pumping milk out.

pipii

Hi all! Do u guys encounter this situation? Ive been feeding EBM for 2 months. Sometimes(very seldom) got replaced with FM when I not able to breastfeed/give EBM. All along my supply was ok can pump up to 100ml-150ml/200ml per pump. Recently I was thinking about increasing milk supply cos my baby drinks more and heard that latching more can increase milk supply so I start to latch more than pump. However,out of sudden,the next day on I started realise that when i wanna pump, there's no milk coming out! Normally milk will spurts out but now no longer anymore! It's either no milk or it's leaking very very slow drop by drop.I thought was some blocked ducts. I tried using warm towel compress, massage and hot shower. Don't seems to help neither and I don't feel pain/engorgement/lumps.Instead,my breast is always soft only slightly firmer if i don latch on for 6-7hrs. But when I latch my baby, there's more milk coming out and when i use my hand to squeeze at the aureola, the milk spurts out but pump again, same thing happen! What actually went wrong?

Hi! Do you want to check your pump. It could also be due to the pump not functioning properly. I had the same prob and realized that its because the pump I had was old and things were ok once I changed it. Is yours an old pump?

nope. It was kinda new. I was thinking whether is it because i always nv dry the funnel then connect to the pump makes the pump spoil. ): But im not sure yet.

A breast Will respond differently when you suddenly change from latching to pumping. Because a latched breast is very adaptive and supply to demand, whereas the pump breast is mechanical and respond to strict schedule. So no worries about soft breast even after long interval, it Will adapt unlike pump breasts that Will engorged easily. Trust the body to provide.