Pregnancy at 39...going 40 (anyone??)

G

Hello... I am 39 going 40 and have the intentions to conceive, infact already trying now. Would like to hear more from any ladies out there going through such late pregnancy as I am. Visited my gynae, now on folc acid, she claimed that I should be fit enough to go through the pregnancy. No other tests were taken as she explained that further tests (for down-syndrome, etc) to be taken after conceiving.

Happy to hear any advices from ladies out there who have had experienced such late pregnancy or those whom are actually going through it.

hi ml,

i juz give birth to my 2nd healthy boy last year on national day which i give birth at 38. It was not a planned pregnancy and nvr expect myself to conceive as well. i choose to do amnio for down syndrome. and everything is normal.

tink postively wish u success in your pregnancy. Eat healthy food and not processed food. I change my diet since early 08 no processed food, and find myself pregnant on 08 xmas day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi April, thanks for the positive post, it is really re-assuring. This is my first pregnancy which is why I am a little worried but yes, a positive mind-frame indeed is important.

I just wanted to hear from ladies within my age group going through this so we can exchange ideas and go through it together.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ML, I am 37 going 38 this year. Am currently pregnant and EDD is in July. My advise is not to over stress yourself. I have been married for 10 years and managed to conceive successfully last year. Most important thing is learn to relax esp from work stress.

Hi ML,

I am 36 going to 37 this year and I gave birth to a healthy bb boy last year. Though I am not at the late thirties when I am pregnant but any age above 35, it will be considered higher risk pregnancy. Don't worry too much now, just enjoy this period of trying and yes, amnio test will come later at around week 20. I opt for amnio test just to be sure, it is a fast & swift test, not much discomfort, despite of those myth which we have heard so much about it.

I too, took folic acid when I am planning for pregnancy and conceive within 3 months. Folic acid is important so it is good that you are already taking it.

In the meantime, keep yourself healthy physically & mentally and don't stess too much like what bbbliss has mentioned.

Good luck and bb dust to you! ^^

Hi ml,

It's nice of you to start this thread, cos I can totally understand how you feel. Me too belong to the "over 35" group, who is currently TTC....

Am 37, going to be 38 soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I do have my "fears" of being into the high risk group, & I know we need to keep our mind positive, but at times, my mind will somehow "wonder" out of the positive zone. So I am happy to see this thread, and hope this thread allows the "same group MTBs" to support each other thru the TTC journey & the 9 mths preggy journey. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We must both jia you together! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Ladies for sharing your experiences here. Let's keep this thread alive so we will have support amongst each other. Hmmm... it looks like I am the oldest here yet so far [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bblis - congrats, I am sure you are so looking forward.

Pastries - thanks so much for your advises, I will take it in and keep everything in mind.

KK - yes yes, let's jia you together. I am on on ovulation this week so, trying to work alittle harder [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ml

I'm 38 going on 39 this year. Just had my 2nd child almost 2 weeks ago. I conceived and had my first child at 36. For both pregnancies I didn't do any amnio tests. In fact for this second pregnancy we chose not to do any screening tests for Down's. Anyway it didn''t make much difference whether we did so as both my children were born normal and healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think if you are fit and healthy your age shouldn't be an issue. I have a friend who conceived at 39 and gave birth to a healthy child at 40.

Good luck with the ttcing and like everyone else says be relaxed about the whole process. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ML,

Don't take too much cold food, eg, tea, cold drinks etc.. is not good for our womb. If you want to have stronger body consititution, esp our womb, can buy 'Bai Feng Wan'. It is to 'bu' our womb.

Mrs N,

Wow, Congrats! And your 2 kids are 2 years apart!! Are u working now? If I am planning for #2, I should be around 38 or 39 when giving birth.. But the thought of handling 2 kids..

KK, don't worry too much. Our medical is very advance now, The only significant difference from younger mtb is when testing for down syndrome, the mere fact that we are over 35 years old put us at high risk category.

The big difference is actually when bb are born, then you will know, the energy level of older mum, haha!

ML> wah! jia you.... BD BD BD all the way! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pastries> Thanks for the encouraging words.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ya, I do agreed w you, about the energy level for older mums.... keke...

Mrs N> Congrats! & the gap of your 2 kids are nicely 2 years apart! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbbliss> You must be excited waiting for your BB arrival now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I hope I will have good news soon... but I guess, lots of things cannot "gan cheong" de.... must stay relax and b positive.

April> mind to share your healthy diet? You mean you cook everyday? I find sometimes a bit difficult to follow, esp we work & no time to cook, and the fact we are faced with too much processed food daily, everywhere....

I really hope to see more pp around our age group joined & make this thread active & give support to each other here.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hv not come in to forum for a few days, this thread hv move

ML,

Jia YOU!

KK,

you r TTCing too? u too Jia you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am a FTWM and at SAHM. me no time to cook oso. when I do not hv 2nd one, I will cook during wkend, now with 2nd one, i cook soup n rice, the vege etc buy back.

I learnt how to eat healthier fm a nutritionist who own organic cafe, whom she is a nutrionist lah, so she share tat is good to have vegetable juice in our diet, so fm then on i drink vegetable juice n not fruit juice, vegetable juice that i drink is beetroot, carrot & cucumber for now. when fruits become juice the sugar level will go the blood stream, which is no good. I started off to reduce amt of sugar in drinks like coffee, tea, soya bean, etc. so now all my drinks no sugar, n i proud of myself tat i get rid of sugar. there is still plenty of food even if we eat out. all of us hv tendency to eat the carbo food first, either rice, bee hoon, mee lah hor, to start off eat those not carbo like vegetables, meat etc then u eat the carbo, so it digest better. so I eat 3 different types of vegetables n fruits portion according to my open hand size.

i limit processed food such as fish ball, sausages, ham and can food etc lah. me oso indulge to unhealthy food at times oso lah, juz hv to balance out lor..

KK, ml>> Yes!!! I am looking forward to the big day -- my baby's arrival. Now mixture of feelings > worried, excited, anxious. LOL

Pastries, KK thanks! My kids are not quite 2 years apart, just 21 mths difference. We started trying for #2 after #1 turned a year old. Didn't expect it to happen so quickly as we took about 2 years to conceived #1. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But pregnancy very tiring the second time round not only are you older but also have to entertain an active toddler.

I work flexi times. In the last few months tend to work more from home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/biggrin.gif]

bbbliss just noticed that your edd is next month. Not long more for you to go. Enjoy the last few weeks of your pregnancy before you join the panda-eyes club. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/lol.gif]

ml

not to worry i gave birth to my second one when i am 40. just have to be careful of what you eat, not too salty or sweet. and always listen to your body and rest well

Many thanks Ivy for the comforting response. Will take everyone's advise on this thread.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I had my first child at 33 and my second one will be born before my 35 birthday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Even at 33 my doctor did all the test I thought was only required when you're over 35.

My only advice would be to keep active, I jogged till I was 8mths pregnant, I swan, I did my weights(none flat on my belly), yoga is good too. Just keep fit BUT listen to your body, if anything hurts stop.

Hi ML,

I am going on 37 and having my 4th child due in Sept.I had Ovarian Cancer Stage 2 after my 1st child but went on to have my 2nd, 3rd child healthy as a cow. Don't worry too much about the age etc...just go with the flow and most importantly stay positive and happy. I am a SAHM who never had a domestic worker to help me. I also don't send my kids to childcare. They are with me 24/7. It really helps to have a happy mindset and of course having a supportive hubby helps too! Congrats on your pregnancy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello everyone, I am so glad that this thread is available.

I am 38 going 39 and I just tested positive for no.2 . this Sat will be going to gynae for confirmation.

I had c-section for no.1 , anyone had C-Sect?

I am told that older mum after 1st c-sect , cant have natural birth for no.2 ? Any comments ?

I am 38 gg 39 this year. Just did a lapro for fibroid removal 2 weeks ago. Hope this is a fresh new start for my TTC journey again.

Hi KK!

nice to see you here!

I'm 37 and just had my first baby last year at 36. Hope to have No 2 soon.

CoolcatHam, I had a c-sect for my baby. My gynae did talk to me about having No 2 and said that while I could try natural birth it would most likely end up as another c-sect.

i am 38, still trying for a second child. had my first at 36. every time i see a chubby baby, i have a strong desire to have another one. so far, TTC has been disappointing. baby dust to all and some for myself!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I don't usually come to these threads so by chance I am here today. I am glad to read all mums sharing here, it reminds me of my pregnancy days[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am 45 and have a 7yo boy who was conceived at aged 38, after trying for 4 years with much fear and worry.

But a new day begun for me and hb when I got the news, not from the gynae but from my doctor who treats me for gastro-intestinal problems.

I should say I had quite a comfortable 9months eventho' there was a constant sharp pain at the right side of groin, that eventually stopped me from getting out of home on my own.

But I sure had a smooth and quick delivery...in and out of delivery room in 5hours[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes, I was given the option of an amnio, but hb and I believed this boy was God-sent and so, we did not get the test done.

Well, I am not in my late 30s anymore, nor shall I be expecting to have another bb but I do hope my sharing is relevant to your concerns somehow or other.

Eat good, eat well! Keep stress away and relax!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hihi. I am also 38 going 39 this year and trying for my #1. Now at 2WW after my IUI. Actually its exactly 2 weeks today, but I decided to give it another week before testing, especially since I have to be overseas next week.

hi elisawang

Hope to hear good news from you. Please share with us more if +ve yah like who's yr gynae. why IUI and not straight to IVF as I understand most gynae will ask to do IVF due to our age.

I am excited for u!

Hi Angel. No good news. Cried buckets when I saw red, especially when I am alone overseas now. But my DH said its ok, and we will just try again and wait for God's timing. Although he is the only son, he has never given me pressure. But sub-consciously, I think I am giving myself pressure.

My gynae is not a fertility specialist and he has never suggested IVF. The IUI was requested by me as I had already been trying for almost 2 years. As for IVF, I will probably not do that as my religion does not allow that. Now waiting for next cycle to try IUI again.

hello

i am going to be 40 next yr n trying for #2. failed ivf n still thinking shd i go natural...

jia you to all!!

My pleasure, AnnissaKoh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tzac,

I would like to relate 2 incidences regarding women who conceived at 40 or over with or w/o artificial help, and I hope it would challenge you or at least help you ponder over your concerns.

My 2nd sister has 4 kids ranging from 9 to 17yo.

She conceived her youngest son at 40 and all her pregnancies were via natural birth.

My hb and I used to have a friend who tried IVF for several years and finally conceived a boy after 10years of trying. By then, she was already in her late 30s.

Not long after, she conceived a girl with natural means.

Unfortunately, this mother is no longer with us today..She was taken home to be with the Lord about 10years ago in which then, her kids were only about 4-5yo.

Guessed what I am saying is, it is still possible to go natural since many women in the world have done it. I think it would depend on our bodies, if we are healthy and strong enough.

Do not give up, if that is your and hb's desire.

Blessings!

OOps, I forget to introduce myself.

I'm 38 this year, I've a 4½years old girl. I've an early stage natural miscarriage in end May, now getting myself back to health to TTC for no.2 again.

For no.1, in view of my age and baby's size, gynae has proposed to induce at wk38. I delivered via cesearean at 37½ week as I suddenly developed hypertension during my checkup at 37 week.

Great to see this thread...

I am 36 and had been trying to conceive for abt 1-2 year, seen gynae, did most tests, both hubby and me are healthy, but after few mths still no news, so now switch to chinese doctor for abt 3 mths, still no news. Wish to conceive naturally but.... Infact,right now i am quite disappointed and feel like giving up on having a bb.

Would any of you share with me who is your gynae or fertility specialist?

Thanks alot..

poogle,

My gynae is Dr Yvonne Chan who is located in Thomson Medical Centre. She was formerly from KKH, until she ventured out to have her own pratice today.

She is very gentle and caring, has a good listening ear.

Her clinic's telephone contact is 6256 4664.

Blessings!

poogle

My gynae is Dr LC Foong from Glen. He is a very gentle doc, not pushy, always give advice and let u decide wat u intend to do.

miracle bebe,

i have a natural miscarriage in mid may2010 which foetus at 6.5 weeks old. I do not have to go thru D&C procedure which confirm by my gynae, so i guess if it discharge out juz like menses means is natural miscarriage.

poogle,

My gynae is Dr Han How Chuan senior consultantat KKH, he had sub speciality, Head Department of Urogynaecology. I will describe him as a gentle & caring, crack jokes so that i m not tense.

Thanks April for explaining and sorry about yours.

Yes, after my m/c episode, now I totally understand what is in the movie or TV, the accute cramp and pain just before it flew out, I broke into cold sweat for the 10-20min.

Currently, I'm seeing a TCM, Dr Tan Kian Sing at Clementi Ave.3.

My gynae is Dr Lee Keen Whye from Gleneagles.

Dear mummy, those who have done the Ammio test before, can you share your experience.

just had my oscar result and its 1:254 for DS. Very scare about going for the ammio test because of the 1:200 chance of miscarriage.

How did you over come this fear?

HI Ladies,

I am ML who started this thread, somehow could not log in as my old name therefore re-created a new account. Just wanted to share with all that I tested positive today; have not seen the doctor yet but tested twice which showed positive. Do keep your posts coming in.

Take care to all out there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats ML. Hope you have a smooth sailing pregnancy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Mrs N.... how are your little ones? You must be busy taking care of them but I can imagine the satisfaction.

I hope all will go well for me.... will share more news soon !!

Thanks Mrs N.... how are your little ones? You must be busy taking care of them but I can imagine the satisfaction.

I hope all will go well for me.... will share more news soon !!

i suspect i am preggy,as my "good fren" already late for abt 1 mth but scare to do a self test as afraid of the disappointment.. how??

ML My little ones are fine. My older boy just turned 2 earlier this month. He's at the 'terrible twos' stage and is quite a handful. My younger son is now 3 mths plus. Time has certainly flown by. My mum is helping me out at the moment so it isn't too bad.

I bet you're very excited. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

poogle do you chart your BBT? Just asking cos for both my pregnancies I kind of guessed that I was expecting b'cos the BBT remained high until CD 42. I only tested with a HPT then 'cos I had run out of columns on my chart. I didn't want to test too early as afraid of disappointment too. There have been occasions when AF was late and just as I was deciding whether or not to test it came.

If your cycles are very regular and you're a month late there might be a pretty good chance you are. The only way to find out is to test otherwise wait a few more days and see. I know the disappointment is hard to swallow if you're not. But on the other hand also good to find out early if you are so you know what you can or cannot eat! As there is some foods which are definite 'nonos' for pregnant women! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Mrs N,

nope i dun do my chart.. and cos my cycles is irregular, so it v hard for me too..

Just that after taking chinese medicine for abt 3 mths, and few days ago, the chinese doctor take my pulse that i might be preggy but he said the pulse not too obvious, so he cant 100% cfm..

so right now, i try to be gentle on everythings.. and wait till i mentally ready, then i take a self test again.. :p

Oh ya.. share with all ladies here trying to get preggy or already preggy, there are 3 things NOT TO EAT, Barley, Papaya and Pineapple..

Jia You!!!

I'm 37 now, just did ivf and tested +ve. Have been ttc-ing for 5 yrs, had 2 lapo in the past. I am very grateful I'm pregnant finally, almost want to give up. Luckily dh keep encouraging me, even go tcm with me every week.

Ganbatte all mummies wannabe!

Mrs N: you are so lucky to have your mum help you, it really makes a difference. I will likely have to rely on nannies or probably a maid when the time comes. Hmmm, I can imagine with two in your hands, you would hardly have much spare time...thumbs up to you !! Btw, doctor confirmed me at 4 over weeks, by today should be 5 weeks. Will go back in 2 weeks time to see the heartbeat, as of now, all looking ok.

Jenn: Congrats, happy for you !! Do share with us as you move on this journey.

Poogle: do keep us updated [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]