Poor OSCAR Results - Very Worried

bacookie

My OSCAR result is bad - 1:110. I'm 40 yrs old. Really want this baby dearly. I managed to conceive after trying for 3 years since my D&C in 2006. Very worried but i'm thinking of skipping the amnio. Any mummies with poor OSCAR result but did not go for amnio?

i think this really depends on what you really want. You need to ask yourself would you keep the child if it is DS? if you are very positive that you are keeping this child even if he/she is DS, then no need to go for amnio.

However, if you have reservation and whether the baby is DS will affect your decision to keep the child, mayb it's good to do the amnio. For the peace of mind. Else, when you give birth and really suay suay, is a DS, you may face a lifelong regret.

I think I read somewhere that there is another type of detailed scan which can also determine whether the child is DS. is done in Camden Medical Center. Let me go and find and see if I can find the thread and post here for you to see

Hi Bacookie,

i have similar result as you but decided not to do amnino test. The risk of miscarriage in amino test is also 1:100. To me, this a even greater risk. I have also tried for a few years before getting pregnant so will not want to take this risk.

Will wait for the detailed scan in wk 20, where they can look at other organs' (like heart and liver) growth which can also provide some indicators of DS. Also read somewhere in this forum that a lot of mummies have feedback that OSCAR test are not that accurate.

Hi Rachelle

Thanks for the info and the link. Very useful ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The detailed scan can kind of indicate to a certain extend whether the child has DS. The sonographer who did the detailed scan for me told me that baby has both upper and lower lips as well as nose bridge...If the fetus has these characteristics, less likely to be DS...

Hi Peppersalt

Good luck to your amnio next week. Hope to hear good news from u soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Snowger

Thanks for sharing. Will only be doing the detailed scan at 20 weeks...so still gotta wait anxiously for another 6 weeks :p

hi Bacookie

if you hv the intention to keep the baby no matter what outcome than dont do the amnio test.

I just gave birth to my ger this mar and my oscar is 1:43, i am also 40yrs but i did go for my amnio test and it is done by Dr TC Chang. He is the high risk pregnancy doc in TMC and he is very good and skillful. Anyway this is my second time doing amnio.

Hi Ivy

Congrats to you for having a healthy baby ger. I hope my baby is healthy and normal.

I'm not keen to go for the amnio. I hope my detailed scan during my 20th week will turn out to be good.

Thanks for sharing your experience. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Peppersalt

U're able to get the results tomorrow? That's very fast.

Good luck. Hope to hear good news from you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Peppersalt

Congrats! Really happy for you...

I hope mine will be a healthy baby as well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi barcookie,

I'm getting bad results too. Cried but manage to get over.

Still duno if I shld take the amino test. Mayb shld learn fr u.

In my 13 wks now

Hi scatterbrain,

What kinda of test did you do? OSCAR?

I did the Maternal Serum & UltraScan offerred by KKH.

I also have bad results. Now in my 15-week.

Supposed to go back to do another ultra scan next week.

Did anyone did their Amnio test at Thomson Medical? Did the gynae who did the test gave u MC or Hospitalization leave?

Hi scatterbrain,

I guess it's the same blood test that you had done in OSCAR.

You may find more info in the below link.

http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/WomensHealth/Pregnancy/serum.htm

So what did your gynea suggest?

Mine told me to still go for my ultrascan next week but according to him, it'll not really lower the risk much.

So I guess amnio for me is unavoidable.

But I'm worried because I'm carrying twins and my risk is double compared to those carrying singleton.

Hi july77,

He suggest amino test or detailed scan(ultrascan).

I will not go for any more screening test or amino.

I will just pray hard for my baby. Btw, this is my second

baby. I guess you must be having double stress than

me. Keep me inform on yr ultra scan. I will pray for u too

Me just came back from the NTS results. Can u believe that all other statistics are well except for the NT measurement - which caused the ratio to turn out to 1:40!!

Cant believe - but will go for amnio. My TMC doc says perhaps bb is taller, still developing n should monitor further.

She also say keep the mood up! Think positive!!

Same to all u babes!! Jia You!!

Hi July77,

I'm also carrying twins and just did my oscar scanning yesterday.

Scan ratio is 1:975 while my blood test ratio is 1:6!!!!

My end result ratio becomes 1:30 becos it's being pulled down by my blood test result.

I'm in a dilemma of what I should do next.

Hi Scatterbrain

I'm just trying to be as positive as possible and hope for the best for my baby.

From what I've read from the forum, those mummies with poor OSCAR results (like us) end up having healthy and normal babies. Hope all of us will have healthy normal babies.

I'll be going for my 20th week detailed scan next week. Hopefully there'll be additional indicators that my baby is healthy and normal.

Let's stay positive and pray hard that our babies would be healthy and normal. Let's give each other moral support. Jia You!

Hi scatterbrain,

I'll be doing cardiac scan next week.

Will be praying for you too!

Hi Fresh,

I think I remember seeing you posting in IVF thread before. I've had my IVF 2 weeks earlier than you and if I remember correctly, did you have OHSS and had to be hospitalised? I had OHSS & had to stay in KKH for 11 days.

My blood test result is 1:11 and for scan, 1:600 for Twin1 & 1:950 for Twin2.

Combined result is 1:14 for Twin1 and 1:19 Twin2.

This is weird, how come our ratio is so different.

Think no one here has worst result here than me.

I think I'll most prob be going for amnio.

Sometimes I wonder if IVF, OHSS did affect the blood test result. I've asked Dr SF Loh but he said no effect.

Who's ur gynea?

Hi July77,

Yeah. I was in IVF thread b4 and I did admitted to hospital for abt 10 days for ohss.

My gynea is Dr Sadhana. I've already emailed to my gynea seeking advise and now waiting for her reply. I really dun know abt the cause of the high risk blood test that we had.

One ivf sister actually told me that she had similar results (she is having twins too and her overall risk factor is 1:20) and she demanded to have her blood re-tested again. (According to her, KK protocol is to have blood test done only once. Thus, she demanded all the way to the upper mmgt for re-test). In the end, the overall result risk factor came back to be 1:2000!!!!!. Weird, right? How come can deviate so much????

FYI, someone in the IVF MTB forum did said that blood test is not so accurate for twins but KK thinks otherwise. In Gleneagles, BT will not be performed for twins wor...

Anyway, I'm seeking 2nd opinion from a specialist. If result came back high risk, then I might do amnio like u do. When is your amnio test?

Hi Fresh,

I havent't gotton the test date for amnio yet. Will most prob get 1 after my cardiac scan with Dr June next week.

Think Dr Loh did mention to me about this case where 1 of the patient demanded a re-test of the blood and get 2 varying results which resulted in a dilemma.

If I were to do a 2nd blood test and it shows low risk, I'll still choose to do amnio so that I'll be able to put my mind at ease to know my twin's condition.

But if your 2nd BT result turns out low risk, what'll you do next?

Why the deviation, i guess it's due to which week the blood is drawn. Mine was drawn on my 10th week. What about yours?

Oh really? Gleneagles does not perform BT for twins?

Seems like those with twins tend to have high risk result due to BT.

So do you have to go back for another scan like me or gynea asked you to go for amnio?

Anyway, don't worry too much at the moment. Bad for your twin. Try to remain cheerful and happy. That's what I'm doing right now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi July77,

Same leh. My blood test drawn on 10th week too.

I really dun know. Still waiting for my gynea's advice to make a decision. The doc who did my oscar scan suggested amnio straight away.

That's what a mother from Glen told me. She has given birth to 2 healthy bbs liao.

I really hope I can be as strong as you but I'm still hesitating abt amnio. If you remember, this is my 5th time try b4 I finally succeeded.

Hi Fresh,

Actually I'm quite worried about amnio too. But Dr SF Loh said that most probably Prof John Tee will be doing the amnio and he's very experience in this, thus the risk for miscarriage has been much lowered.

BTW, who's the doc who did the scan for you? Mine, Dr June, did not suggest amnio straight away, but told me to go back for another scan before deciding on amnio. She mentioned that the possibility of both twin having DS is very very low.

Anyway, wait for Dr Sadhana's advice first. If you're looking for 2nd opinion, better go as soon as possible.

So how's your pregnancy so far? I've been vomiting since ET till now. We must take good care of ourselves.

Hi July77,

Just an update...

My hubby just called me that he had made an appointment to see this specialist. They seems quite experience on oscar testing for multiples pregnancy.

When he told the nurse abt my good scan result but poor blood result, the nurse immediately asked if we are having twins or triplets. She said for multiple pregnancy, blood test is not accurate.

I've made my appointment to see this doc for a detailed scanning on my Week 14.

For your information and for the benefit of others who is not keen in doing amnio, I would like to share his contact here:

SSR International Ltd

Tel: 63338621

Dr C Anandakumar

It's the white medical centre behind Tanglin Mall Shopping Centre. I heard the scan is abt $500 plus.

Hi July77

Mine is Dr Kevin Tan. So far only vomitted twice. Touchwood...... Still having nauseas feeling but I'm able to walk straighter liao. Tummy also beginning to be more obvious.

Yes, we must take care of ourselves.

Hi Fresh,

Wow! The fee for the scan is so ex! What are they supposed to do? Blood test & ultrascan sound?

Thanks for the number. I'll give them a call to find out more from them.

That's good! only twice so far. My 1st trimester was quite bad, average about 3-4 a day. Now once a day. Hopefully it'll go away soon.

Hi Fresh,

I called up Dr C Anandakumar clinic.

The lady also said the same thing. BT for multiple pregnacy not that accurate.

I was quoted $380 for 1 fetel. If twin, will be $760.

Tot you mentioned urs is around $500+?

She told me to still go for my scan in KKH next week, see what Dr June says.

If result not that good, it's still not too late to go for the scan in her clinic.

If u ve decide to keep the baby even thou

baby is abnormal(touch wood) then dun go

for the amino test.

Jia you!!! U r not alone.....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi July77,

The price of $500 plus is given by my friend who did abt 2 years ago. My hubby didn't asked abt current price.

I think she is right. Just go for the scan first and see what Dr June says then decide what to do next.

All the best to you. We should be fine!!!

Hi Fresh,

After seeing Dr June yesterday, I still can't escape the fate of having to do amnio. At least both my babies' nasal bone are well seen yesterday.

Previous scan, 1 of my twin's nasal bone wasn't well scan.

My heart was pounding very hard & I was praying

for my twin to be co-operative. They were actually lying downwards and needed some coaxing.

I'll be having my amnio next Tuesday, to be done by Prof George Yeo. According to Dr June, he's experienced in amnio for multiple pregnancy.

Anybody here heard about Prof George Yeo?

The charges for amnio (KKH) for me will be $1200.

$800 for amnio and $200 each baby for express result, which means I can get the result next Friday. It will be a long waiting week for me.

Fresh, all to the best to you for your scan in Dr C Anandakumar's clinic. Hopefully, you don't have to do amnio like me.

Hi Fresh,

I would like to ask you about your experience with Dr C Anandakumar. I have added you to my msn address list. I really hope u can share with me. Thanks so much in advance.

hi ruru,

I received 2 invitation on msn but I deleted it away as I do not know who is it. so sorry. maybe u give me ur email and I'll add u in. very sorry again.

really hoping this thread is still active!

advice needed! I am 34 and just had results for my Oscar test. was told it's a high risk showing 1 : 241 chances of DS. Don't think i want to go for amnio cos of risk of m/c. Plus dun think it will help anything since i am anti-abortion. But now the axiety and worrying everyday is killing me. any one with similar situation out there? any advice out there?

hi Bowie,

in my opinion, if u are anti abortion, don't do the test.. just have a peace of mind that ANYTHING can happen to the baby, and u are willing to accept that.

but, in case anything happen to ur baby, loving him/her would be enough to get u going.

All the best, hope ur baby to be healthy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I did the triple test and i was actually "high risk" for my age group...

I did amnio thereafter and the results are fine.... the 20 week scan turned out well too...

so dont worry too much..

I did the test to buy back a peace of mind..

good luck ladies...

Hi Bowie,

My Oscar result is 1:200 n I didn't go for amino test as there's risk as well.(in fact higher than 0.5% of the Oscar test)

I prayed hard for that 6 months abd even till the time my baby girl was born I keep looking at her if she is DS. God bless!!! She is a healthy little baby girl. I was 33 this yr

Hi Scatterbrain & all mummies

Like Scatterbrain, I've given birth to a healthy babygal. It was a great relief the moment I saw her when she was born (thankful that she's doesnt hv DS). I too hv been praying hard everyday that she'll be a healthy baby for 6 mths before she's born.

Jia you, mummies! Stay positive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am 35yo and 12wks+ with my 2nd preg after trying 4 yrs. My bb neck thickness 3.7mm but blood test show ok. combined result is shocking at 1:63. I did CVS immediately after NT scan, and now waiting for result is like hell to me. gynae even asked if i m prepared to keep or abort bb if d/s as neck thickness is no gd. could someone advise me???

I just got my adjuested risk result. The blood test was not good and it came out to be 1:10. The ultrasound is good. therfore the whole result came out to be 1:28. I am going for the amino acid on next week. Please advice if anyone is about the same case as me that is the blood test came out to be bad and at the end the amino acid turns out baby is healthy.

Thank you so much