Perth Holiday - Any Suggestions/Advice/Tips?

hi there..
any idea when's the best time to visit perth? would prefer those cooling weather (not too hot or cold) as I will be bringing my 1 year old (currently this age) daughter along. Is Feb a very hot month?

Seems like MR is a very popular spot after browsing through the achives. Is it a town? what can we do there? how long is the drive from city to MR?

I am thinking of bringing my duaghter to some farm/orchard. any suggestions?

mngo,

it fluctuates around 1.29.. close to US dollar which is 1.30.. sigh.. so whenever we see 1.28 we will go and change a bit le...

kk
i got the rate at 1.28, really so close to US dollar leh. should plan for a US trip

happymrskoh
personally i prefer to visit during winter. but since u prefer not too hot or cold, i guess would either be autumn or spring.
there are many places to visit & explore in perth but it depends on the length of your stay. would suggest u decide how long would be your trip before u can start to plan anything.

moonbaa,

Ya! haha.. my friend exchanged US dollar to go cambodia in december. Another friend go US honeymoon. Wah time is ripe

kk,
I haven change money yet leh. My hubby says doesn't matter much to us since we are not changing a lot. Though I feel like flying off immediately, I've not prepared for my luggage at all. Need to plan how much barang barang to bring there

Actually dec is a good time to go US rite? Weather is quite cooling there. Not too hot, not too cold

shelyn,

This year we try to use more cash down there, rather than sign cards. Used to sign card and then come home settle bills, which was really frightening haha!

I have my on laws with me, so expected to have around 4 luggages. I try to maximise the space in the luggage, see can reduce somemore or not, since there is laundry in every house and apartment. This year father-in-law coming along, so squeezing all into the car is a challenge in itself LOL!

Will it snow in US in dec? My girlfriend going there for honeymoon on 5 dec after her wedding on 4 dec.

shelyn, kk
i love the states! can shop till u drop!
of coz that was before i hv kids lah. actually hope to migrate there someday ....
now saving $$ & exchange some US$ since the rate is low, intend to bring my kids to disneyland before they start P1.

kk
i think it depends on which part of US, may not snow yet since its early dec.

hey mngo,
are you familiar with butcher around mont clare apartment? Is there any butcher that you can recommend near that place? Also, compared to buying from supermarket, which is better? In terms of freshness, quality, price etc. I will most likely go to a butcher to buy sausages and if the meat there is fresher too then I might as well buy from there too. Is there any 'good' timing to go to a butcher? haha.. like sg, it's better to go mkt in the early mornings =P

Hi kk,

I'm planning my trip to Perth next year and read that you'll be staying at The Dolphin House. Can u pls feedback after your hols? Would like to know if u can indeed see the dolphins daily? Price is rather steep coz gotta add A$200 for linen and for them to cleanup after depart...not sure if its worth that kinda money coz I'll be traveling with only my hubs and girl of 3+yrs.

shelyn,

i laughed when i see ur word "butcher". Sounds very violent LOL!

Tinsel,

Haha i am also keeping my fingers crossed when come to dolphins. No luck for that everytime when we went aussie. The most unforgettable moment was when we were at adelaide seal bay when we actually saw 3-4 dolphins swimming together and even so, that was at a distance away

The longer we stay, the cheaper it seems to be, as we average out the AUD200 :p I wanted to stay in it throughout my 5 days in MR but too bad, its very heavily booked and i needed to book a different accommodation for 2 nights before checking in dolphin house.

The owner is very friendly and she gives lots of advice on MR region.

Ok, will definitely update when i am back from my trip

shelyn
alamak! perth is small, but not very small lah.
i dont stay at mont clare. i dont even know where tat is.

Asking me is like asking someone who lives in Woodlands about a butcher in jurong.

Butcher wise, go at 7am , go at 11am or 5pm , meat all the same . Slaughter weeks before hand. Then defroze to sell. In singapore, is there any butcher that slaughter pigs, chix, ducks right in front of you?

Hi Kk,

Do u think there's anyway we can opt out or pay half of the AUD200 juz for them to prepare the linen & cleanup after we leave? Izzit the norm practice for I've not seen any b&b or hotel imposing such a charge? Can share how much she quoted u for the 3 nights? She quoted me AUD750 for 2 nites(including the AUD200 thingy)....very ex.

Hi Tinsel,

If i am not wrong, she charged me AUD1150 for three nights. I think u can always ask her whether u can pay less for the linen washing.

B&B and hotels dun do that. I realise houses do that. Or some will say they want a "bond" which can be as much as AUD500 per stay!

mngo,
Oh the meat there is also frozen one? My friend lent me a book about eating places in Perth and the butchers they recommended all say they choose their meat from the farm leh. They'll go all the way there to choose the live ones, then after slaugther then bring to the shop... hmmm... so butcher and supermarket no difference? In sg, my mum alwiz say the meat at supermarkets are not fresh, those at the market are fresher... dunno how true lah haha...

shelyn
That farm thingy.. mmmm firstly, distance from shop to farm is very far away. Also what if the meat was not sold finished on the same day?
I would think the butchers recommended by the book do exist but rare. Which butchers and where about are they?

shelyn,

I also wanna know which butchers are those! :D

But yes, butchers can be much cheaper than supermarket as they always have promos.

The cheaper meats in the supermkt are those that are placed on the shelf for a very long time and reduced to clear ones...

moonbaa,

thanks for your reply! I'm contemplating to go during next year's CNY period which is in Feb 2011. Would the weather be hotter than Singapore's? Thinking to stay about 6 days there. would love to minimise road travel if possible as I am not sure if my daughter can take the travelling well.

any places to recommend for shopping, sightseeing, farms, wineries, orchards etc..

seems like mont clare is a very popular accomodation. Any places of interest nearby?

hi mngo and hidora,
that book is at home... and there is quite a number recommended leh. How to tell u? haha....
unless I can sort of list out those near some places but u shd know I also not very sure of the location in Perth. I was hoping to find one listed there that is close to Mont Clare

Maybe I'll list out some of the butchers listed in the book but can only do it over the weekend as I'm staying at my mum's place these few days. they also say that their sausages are gluten-free. Though I don't know what that means but it should be something good la if not they will not state out right haha...

shelyn
A gluten-free diet is a diet completely free of ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, Malts and triticale, as well as the use of gluten as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent. It is the only medically accepted treatment for coeliac disease,[1] the related condition dermatitis herpetiformis,[2] and wheat allergy.[1]

So , its good for people with wheat allergy.

happymrsgoh,

Best time to come is spring time (Sep to Nov) unless you are sensitive to pollen..

Basically, summer is the worst time to come. Temp can go as high as 45 deg.... a good time to come and get baked..

And summer starts from Dec to Feb....

p/s: when I mean it starts from Dec, it doesn't mean the temp will slowly creep up. It simply means the temp of 40+ will start from Dec onwards.

pp/s: If you want to experience how summer feels like over here, don't have to come over.. On your oven, when it heats up, open the door and stand in front of it. That's roughly how it is.. :D

ppp/s: your daughter may be able to stand the traveling, but I do not think she can stand the heat..

mngo & Hidora,

wow, so it's 40 degree throughout Summer. I got the misconception that the temperature will slowly creep up from Dec and reach its high tide in Feb. You're right, my daughter already perspires alot in Spore! Think she will dripping sweats over there.. keke.

Hmm, so when does the weather turn cooler then? I am gonna miss the best times (sep to nov) cos it's already Oct now and don't think I have time to plan the trip now to go in Nov..

How about mar or apr next year?

happymrsgoh,

Autumn in March is still pretty hot.. and it's a bit unpredictable. It can be hot in the afternoon, and cold at night.

April is quite ok. Beginning of April bah.. But do have some rainy days here and there.

And you won't really sweat in summer here... cos it's too dry. Which makes it worse since sweating can help to bring down your body temp. High chances of getting heat stroke.

happymrsgoh
i would also think its better to travel in autumn than summer.

since u prefer to minimise road travel, u can explore swan valley. its abt 30mins drive fr perth city. its a smaller wine region compare to margaret river. u can visit the caversham wildlife park, farm stay & wine tasting.
for shopping, i prefer the suburban malls than perth city area.

mont clare is popular among the mummies here as its a decent clean apartment & value for money. its near to perth city too. nearby attraction (walking distance) would be the perth mint.

hidora,
thanks for the weather updates.. looks like the trip got to be postponed.
but don't want to get sunburn or heat stroke.

moonnbaa,
If i were to explore swan valley, would it be possible to just stay at one hotel in perth city (is mont clare in perth city ) and drive to places of interest such as those you mentioned? Cos I am trying to avoid changing of accomodation for this trip. i am looking at a relaxed getaway trip.. don't mind waiting for my duaghter to wake up then go sightseeing kind..don't need a full itinerary where I need to visit all the attractions in Perth.

any recommendation for farms, orchard and winery in swan valley?

ok, i admit i am a shopaholic. so suburban malls are better choices for shopping? any recommendation for malls to shop at? where can I buy children's clothings at reasonable prices?

thanks in advance

happymrskoh
its ok if u dont wish to stay over at swan. since its only 30mins drive fr perth, u can probably cover in 2 days, depending on where u like to explore.
when i 1st visited swan last time, i didnt do the farmstay as well, coz my 2 kids are still very young so i rather stay in service apt where i can cook for their meals.
u can check out www.swanvalley.com.au for more info & attractions.
some of the popular places are:
* whiteman park
* caversham wildlife park
* oggies ice creamery
* the maze
* MR choc factory
* mondo nougat factory
* swan valley cuddly animal farm
* edgecome bros

actually all the malls are the same but if u are visiting swan valley, there's one nearby. u can check out their website at http://www.midlandgateshopping.com.au/home/
things are not cheap in Oz, but sometimes u can still find some bargains lah.

Some of the butchers that bring in whole carcass or go down to the farm to choose the live stock are:
Angelo Street Gourmet Butcher - South Perth
Carl Torre and Sons - Lake Street, Northbridge
Crimea Quality Meats - Moley Drive
Frank Torre Quality Butchers - Bulwer St
M & M Princi Butchers - Fitzgerals St, North Perth
Princi Butchers - 115 Lefroy Rd
Tony's House of Tender Meats - Old Great Northern Hwy, Midland

kk,
ya flying off in 1.5 weeks time
so exciting... I hope everything goes well
I booked qantas and recently their flights have a lot of problem. Even birds and lightning also find trouble with them. Just pray that nothing goes wrong for my trip

shelyn,

Just dun think too much about it lor.

Recently if pple ask u where u going, and u tell them australia, the next question they will ask is not which part of australia, it's "u taking qantas?" LOL!

haha yah people ask whether we taking qantas
don't know why they are so unlucky to have so many bad news all at the same time.

By the way, can anyone recommend a good sun block suitable for a whole family? For me, my hubby and 2.5yr old daughter? And doesn't leave a sticky feeling type. I only use sun block for my face so don't know of sunblock for body..... I check the weather forecast, temp is quite high and UV index quite high also... sigh... but it's expected also lah

Hi Shelyn,

I am not really into sunblocks so not really sure. But bought a coppertone for my girl. SPF35+.

For me and hubby, i bought sunplay and its SPF130. Claimed to be non-sticky formula. So see how lor.

For myself, i have been using olay lotion. Recently trying another olay series SPF24+ for this trip

kk,
I tried sunplay SPF130 years ago... it's non sticky and feels a little powdery. Was thinking of getting that too. But I think there might be some alcoholic content in it as it dries up very fast on our skin. And if I remember correctly, it is also rather drying. So maybe have to use body lotion too.

dont be fooled by SPF high numbers.

Check this out http://www.skinhealth.com.au/info/faq#18

Secondly, there is concern among Cancer Councils and other health promotion bodies in Australia/NZ that the raising of claimable SPF greater than the current 30+ numeral designation may give people a false sense of security and encourage much longer exposure to the sun, with the likelihood of further burning incidents and increased skin cancer risk.

<font color="ff0000">It is considered that an SPF factor of 30+ is more than enough protection against sunburn under normal conditions of exposure and time and that to increase the SPF numeral above 30 may do more harm than good.</font>

Therefore, TGA regulations do not permit SPF factor numerals greater than 30 to be claimed on sunscreen labels. Notwithstanding this, all broad spectrum SPF 30+ rated sunscreen formulations in Australia/NZ will have an SPF rating greater than 30 but the exact rating numeral cannot be claimed, hence the use of the designation 30+ which means that the sunscreen has an SPF factor greater than 30.

mngo,
thanks so much for the info... so it's bluff one ah. Is there any good and non-sticky sunscreen in OZ that you can recommend? Maybe I'll get it from woolsworth on my 1st day there.

So happy... 3 more days to my perth trip!!!

moonbaa,
thanks for your blessing. But my girl is having a bad cough for the past 2-3 weeks and now seems to get worse. Was thinking whether to cancel the trip.

Went to see PD again few days ago and she changed the medicine. When i chk the net about the medicine, I realise both are for asthma and bronchitis leh. And even after taking that, though improved a little, but still not very good. Still coughing quite badly. Will even cough until vomit kind. The doc say could be cos she have sensitive nose and the bad weather these days caused the cough and running nose.

I stopped the medicine and changed to chinese nedicine. I think showing better effect. Jus hope she can recover these 2 days then can enjoy the trip. Sigh... after waiting for soooo long, when finally can go liao then this happen. Bad timing.

shelyn
my younger boy also like that leh! has been coughing on &amp; off due to sensitive nose. i even have to change to soy milk. he was using nebruliser &amp; then evonhaler for months, recently just stop.
i usually will bring my kids medicine on all my trips, just in case they fell sick half way thru, at least there's medicine readily available.
dont worry, i'm sure your gal will recover by then. anyway since its F &amp; E, it wont be too tiring for your gal. just relax &amp; enjoy yourself

Just back from WA tonite.

Perth is warming up now, so do remember to bring your sun block and body lotion.

One more thing to pack - LIP BALM.

They are actually readily available there too, if u 4got to pack.