Pediatrician in the West

Hi CN, try KidsLink at JE central.
Usually I bring my kids there as a last choice, and it really works. Coz going to a PD will be strain on the wallet, so sometimes I will bring to poly. But the medicines they give never seem to help both my kids. Finally go to the PD and wallah!! it works. Since than I dont pay dbl. I go there straight. He is a very patient doctor who explains in detail and give both me and my hubby the security to trust. Since newborn my son was prone to developing rashes. I brought him to poly and even pte GP and they only gave creams. Once I brought him to the PD, I was amazed when he had a name for my son's problem when all the other doctors did not even bother to give any possibities. Only then did I realise my son was having Eczema and on his advise used a different lotion that really helped. But he is yet to outgrow from it.

hi CN,
If you are staying further west, there's one at Jurong Point (6th level) called Alpha Baby. Doctor's name is Agnes Chua. Very patient and good with babies. She has a really big clinic, and usually there is no queue... think it's because it's rather obscure -- right in the corner... but she's good with our baby, and very patient...

Maya, which part of Jurong East Central and what is the name of the pedi? How much just for the consultation?

Andrea, I stay very near to Jurong Point and know there is this clinic you mentioned but dunno if got any good pedic. Good to hear from you that Agnes Chua is good, how much is the consultation fee? Is she the only pedi there?

Hi CN its at Blk 130 JE st 13, if you where is 7-11 it is right bside it. His name is Dr Heng Joo Teck. I never ask for breakdown, I presume the consultation to be ard $18-$28, case by case. Like longer or shorter timing, things like that. The last time I brought my son for a fever and flu, it cost me $73 with medicines. It really works so I dun mind. When it comes to kids health I dun be fussy.

Hi CN,
Dr Chua is the only paed there. Her consultation fee is $35. Compared to my last paed, she is slightly cheaper, but definitely much better! We like her as she is really good with children, and takes the time to explain things to parents.

HTH

Andrea,

Do you bring your children to Dr Agnes Chua for injections as well? Does it mean we will need to pay the consultation fee on top of the injections?

hi i just called and checked, Dr Heng consulation charges are 1st visit 45++ and subsequent 30++ or 35++. is he really good? me shopping for one good and reasonable price PD

sorry i can't agreed that agnes chua is good, we argued a few times before and i stop visiting her already.

i told her that there is something wrong with my child, he kept screaming in pain when he is drinking milk. i asked her twice about this, and without giving me a reason why, she kept saying my child is normal and healthy. kept repeating normal... normal... but why normal?? screaming in pain is normal??

end up i stop visiting her. maybe due to me being always the last second patient of her day, she always seem rush and even told me she got other patient to look at and just walk away from her desk. she even ask me to go back TMC PD, the one who sees my baby when he was borned.

sorry , just a personal opinion.. as for me i would not recommend her.

Hi Giggler,

Thanks for your recommendation.
Do you know the operating hours? I hope is not the same as those shops at JP...

Hi Joyce, her name is Agnes Tay not Chua. Her fees is reasonable lah.

Hi Sunny, the operating hours:
Mon, thu & sat: 8.30am - 2pm
Tue, Wed & Fri: 8.30am - 12.30pm
Mon-Fri: 6.30pm-8.30pm

The name of the clinic is Alpha Baby and Child Specialists.

What I like is that Dr Tay is very friendly and anytime when I have doubts, I'll just call her clinic and she'll entertain me. At least, I don't need to go to her clinic if it's not serious.

giggler
you using dr agnes tay? i agree with joanna, i dun like her too. she treats different patients differently? she does not seem friendly or helpful to me as well.

joanna
i encountered the same problem as you, she keeps saying its ok despite my girl eye still red after 1 week of using her medication. then i brot her to see another pd in bt timah plaza, she bothered to explain to me in details, what the cause & stuff and answered all my doubts and the redness is gone after 2nd day of medication. i have sticked to her till this day.

Hi chris & joanna, she seems friendly to me leh. She even ask if I got any qns when I visit her for Van's jabs leh. My friend finds her helpful and friendly too. She always call her whenever she has qns abt her gal too.

Hi chris, you stay around Jurong area too?

chris38
you mentioned a PD at bt timah plaza. Is she Dr Dorothy Ong? I'm due next Feb. I'm looking for a PD near my place.

from your posting, she seems to be a very patient doctor. You will definitely recommend her?

hi giggler
i am living in bt panjang. you staying jurong area?

she was recommended by my mum's colleague. she did not give me a good impression on the 1st meeting. she asked me a lot of questions which i think is not relevant to the illness. seems impatient when i say i cant remember to some of her questions. then my parents brot my girl on a 2nd time to consult her on her red eye. i called her on the phone to ask how come it has not recover after 1 week. she sounded impatient on the phone. thats the last time i told my mum i am visiting her. mayb she really treat different pple in different ways loh.

hi pax
yes, i am seeing dr dorothy one at bt timah plaza. i will definitely recommend her. charges reasonable too.

I dun stay West but I bring my baby to Dr Ann at Jurong East. I find her quite nice. Her 5-1-jab is $105 including developmental check and consultation so not too ex. It's called Anne's Baby and Child Clinic.

I do agree with Joanna abt Dr. Agnes Tay... She doesn't treat everyone the same and she's choose people to be friendly with.

Whenever I bring my girl to see her, she always say "very common...these 2 weeks lots of such cases"...
my mum can also "foretell" what she's gonna say!

Hi chris, I stay quite near to M2B.

It seems like most of you got the same problem from Dr Tay hor? Shd I consider myself lucky that I didn't get such things from her?

Hi Masshiro, thanks for your recommendation. Maybe I shd consider your doc at Jurong East instead.

giggler
oic... then you going to the gathering at her place next mth?
ya you are lucky you are one of the lucky ones she chose to be friendly with... i wonder how she choose them, maybe she prefer the swee ones.. haha...

Hi chris, ya I'll be going to her place next mth. It has been changed to 6Nov rite? Wow, you complimenting or what? Sweet?

I agree with Joanne.

I've brought my little girl to Alpha Baby at Jurong Point once and only once. I did not follow her in to see the doctor as I had a bad toothache so I visited the dentist next door ( probably due to all the heaty food I ate during confinement? keke. ) My hubby and my mom was with her in the clinic.

What I heard from my hubby was that he is not very satisfied with the doctor as she uses a high-brow approach and brushes off comments as "very common.." For a new father with a sick child, I guess more assurances is needed than this.

My girl had some eye infection and cannot open her eye totally. The doctor tried to open but encountered difficulties and did not try again to check. She prescribed saline drops. This visit cost us 50 bucks?

This doctor writes and sells her own books as well.

After using the saline drops for a night, my poor girl did not seem to get better. So we made a longer trip to Jurong East Anne and Baby clinic. Sometimes Dr Anne is not in, but there will be a second doctor with specs and long hair tied up to see patients. We saw her and she checked the baby thoroughly and prescribed a gel like ointment to applpy to the eyes. After 2 applications, the baby can open her eyes and after some more, very soon her eyes are no longer red. The doctor also took the time to explain to new parents like us that because the nasal tract is very near to the eyes and ear canals, some virus could affect the eyes(my baby is also having flu bugs then ).

So besides Dr Terence Tan of Kinder Clinic, MAH, Anne and Baby Clinic is also good, minus the high price tag.

I too agree with joanna about her encounter with Dr. Agnes Tay. She prescribed the medicine that doesnt work on my baby and she kept saying my baby is alright, despite the fact that the baby is having high temperature. So I went to consult s second opinion. Found that my baby got an infection which result in high fever. Dr Agnes Tay is unfriendly and the fee she charges is high. That is my first and last visit.

<font color="aa00aa">alice,</font>
i got this off yellowpages

Address : Blk 214 Jurong East St 21 #01-433 Singapore 600214
Telephone : 6566 7216

Hello i am staying at bukit batok. i wonder if there is any recommendations of paediatrian near this area as well?

hi carole

thanks for your message. i wonder if you have the clinic's name in the one at jurong east?

hi carole

thanks for your message. i wonder if you have the clinic's name in the one at jurong east? is it kidslink?

i have a family doctor to recommend. he's a GP but he's really good with kids (not the old typs
). you can also go to him for all the essential jabs. my girl has been seeing him.

Dr Low
1st Care Family Clinic
Blk 253 Jurong East St 24, #01-247
Tel: 64252350
near the HDB Branch Office &amp; Town Council

best thing is, the clinic is open until 12mn every day! incl sunday

anyone using Dr. Dorothy Ong at Bukit Timah as your PD? can give more comments? If i have the first born incentive, i can enjoy discount if i choose her.

Another issue is what is 1st 3 mths, my bb wil be at my house (west area) during maternity leave n i might choose Dorothy as bukit timah is at e west area.

But after 3mths maternity leave, my bb wil be taken care by my mum in the north-east but i wil bring my bb back on friday. Do u think issit wise to switch PD near to the north after 3mths? 1 of my frens suggests me to switch but i see no point switching here n there, prefer to stick to 1 PD.

I'm using Dr Dorothy Ong, she is pretty good. I'm also seeing Dr Ng at Kidslink CCK and between the two, I prefer Dr Ng. But Dr Ng has a queue n is further for me.

Both charges are reasonable.

kite,
We have two PDs for vern as I am a super Kiasu mommy. As Dorothy is nearer to our place, i visit her for urgent matters such as when my girl choked on mangosteen seed - ya.. i was a terrible mommy.
Dr Dorothy comes across as someone willing to share and help out if we have any queries. i've been pretty happy with her.
i did some "PD-shopping/interviewing" before delivery and I thought she seems ok.

hi ginger/amz:

thanks for your reply. i wil be delivering at TMC. how abt u all, delivered at which hospital?

btw my gynac asked me to confirm n gave me a list of PDs to choose from. I m wondering if i choose a PD outside TMC (fr gynac's list) for eg, Dr Winston Ng at CCK or Dr. Dorothy Ong, during my hospital stay after delivery, will the outside PD come n visit n check on my baby? or TMC will assign any PD at tat point of time?

another qs. For initial stage, shld i choose a PD located at TMC so that that PD can come n check on my bb during hospital stay?

for PD checking on bb, is there any additional charges? pls. advise. thanks.

hi kite
we are seeing Dr Dorothy Ong at Bt Timah Plaza. She's quite good and won't hesitate to give more info. she is friendly and doesn't mind spending more time on each patient. she gives me lots of tips and always entertain my calls. Her assistant Janice is good too. she also helps me when i call up with queries abt my son.
each session with her is abt 10-15min. her charges are reasonable. so far, rarely our visit would cost more than $30. her consultation cost $35. if u have TMC FBI card, it's $5 less, i.e. $30. her medicine are not expensive too. she's "anti" antibiotics.

my friend also recommended a lady PD at Rail Mall, but dun think she's under FBI scheme.

one more thing, Dr Ong doesn't do hospital birth visits. we visited her b4 i gave birth. she said to use any PD recommended by gynae and see her after discharge if there's anything, if not it would be at 1 month for jabs and check-up.

not all PDs do hospital birth visits. choose one from ur gynae's list. these PDs in her list would have probably work with ur gynae and he would be familiar with them if any emergency arises. *touch wood*

you can also try Dr Desmond Koey (fr Bishan, i think) for the hospital care, recommended by another friend. he does birth visits at TMC.

generally once u have assigned a particular PD to take care of ur bb, it's his or her responsibility to visit ur bb during the stay. if not, why pay so much $$$ for private care?? There's separate charges for PD visits, like all specialists.

i hope i've ans most of ur queries. Good Luck.

kite,

I delivered at Raffles Hospital and I choose a inhouse PD. During my stay at the hospital, the PD will check on my baby. I think its more convenient and probably cheaper if you choose a inhouse PD.

My baby's first jab was done at the hospital. My husband prefer the PDs are the hospital but not me. Cuz I think they are just out to make money lah! And consultation is so expensive! $60 without GST and medi is also expensive, not to mention its FAR!

YEsterday I visited Dr Lieu at Railway Mall cuz Dorothy doesn't open at night and Dr Ng doesn't open on Wed night. Personally I prefer Dr Dorothy and Dr Winston Ng over Dr Lieu. Dr Lieu's assistant is the worst! She sound so rude on the phone and also in person! Dr Lieu is patient, but somehow I don't really like her that much.

As pax mention, Dorothy is very patient in answering queires, and so is Winston Ng, what amazes me is Dr Ng is so patient and not rushing, despite a long queue outside. I like Dorothy cuz there is always no queue when i go and she does entertain phone queries! Her charges are very reasonable.

A visit to Dr Lieu cost me $78 for one colic drop and consultation! So expensive leh!

here's a great doc to share...
dr ravin selvadurai at kinder clinic
mornings he's at
34 Holland Grove Rd
Singapore 278808

afternoons:
290 Orchard Road #07-02/03 Paragon
Singapore 238859
General Enquiries: 67324718 (for both clinics)

he's also on night duty at holland grove clinic 6~9pm on certain days.

I've seen her before. Won't go back again. I find her terribly expensive and not very patient (cuz long queue outside). The receptionist/nurse has the "blackest" face n a very rude attitude!

firstbaby,
yes Dr Lieu, went to see her sometime back. The recept/nurse was rude, unsmiling and unfriendly. Initially I find Dr Lieu ok, but she became abit impatient when my mil asked questions (cuz long queue outside). She was also pretty sacastic when she saw that I had my mil n sil with me to see her.

In the end, I got a colic drop from her and it cost me $78 just for consultation and that colic drop which cost only $5 in phamacy.

The other two Drs that I go to, are much more patient, friendly and def cost much cheaper than her!

i've been taking my 14 mth old girl to Dorothy Ong too since birth...yes, she's nice n frenly n plays w the kids...quite funny lady too...yes, janice, her clinic asst is v good too...when my girl had diarhoerra recently, Janice gave me lots of tips first n helped me ask Dorothy the questions she had no answers to.

My girl hates taking liquid medicine, but when she had false measles over the weekend (Dorothy not opened on Sun), we went to a GP and had to force med on her, she vomitted every time n struggled w us as if we were gonna murder her..lol

Dorothy after hearing my struggles, immed told me i can give pills n mix into milk...none of my frens' who have kids even know that...their pds always tell them to just persist...now my girl takes the med without even knowing it...n we r so stress free now ...hahah

her number is 64689803

any comments on pd from Anne's baby and child in jurong east?

how about the pd at bt batko central near the DBS bank? any good?