PCOS patient and trying to conceive, pls share experience here.

Hi cat_tail, yes my baby is a very guai baby. Everything we prayed for and much much more!!! As for the sashimi, cannot eat until after you pop lah. Today is the first time in 10 months that I touched sashimi and smoked salmon! Wah lau... *slurp* Also it would be good to avoid soft serve ice cream and caffeine yah? Hmm.. most miscarriages do occur in the first trimester although of course they can happen later on in pregnancy which is terrible, terrible!! Just be very careful lor... buy non-slip shoes too! That's one of the first things I did - to buy sensible shoes! Hey same as you, I am engineer trained but don't like to work in engineering!!!

Faridah, yah your workplace so terok hor? Better be careful! Don't worry, your pregnancy clothes will definitely be used!!

hi to the 2 cats!
anyway, gotta to lose weight, i think the extra fat contributes to pcos, thing is cat tail, if u are underweight it is ok, better than overweight. i am also 1.6m tall. so i have to be at 53kg, 65 now!!!did lose weight actually, but since it is a sat and sun, eating a lot, arghhh, gotta cut down on monday, oh no, going out with my hubby tomorrow, nah, just eat a light breakfast and heavy lunch and no dinner, hehhehhe. ok take care of yr babies

Hihi faridah
Actually overweight and underweight also got problem.. I've always envied ppl who don't gain weight easily lor... oh btw, if you are on low carb, you have to maintain low intake of carb 'cos once you take a large amt of carb, you will bloat up very fast.

Wow catz,

After so many things happening, it must be a blessing that your bb is so "guai", give you no trouble.
Dun tempt me leh, u noe wat? I have a very strong craving for caffein drinks & last nite, I really cannot tahan anymore, took a cup of tea.

Hi Faridah,
I think what catz saying is true, think fat or skinny both have their own problems. For me, I am scared that I do not have enough nutrients for the fetus & somemore not eating much nowadays.

Hi! Cat_tail,

Congrats on your pregnancy!

Its encouraging to hear this news in PCOS thread.
Dun be over paranoid.. too much stress on yourself wld affect BB. Take things naturally day by day.. just remember that u've got to hv sufficient rest. If possible dun work o.t.
Yes, 1st 3 mths is most critical. I recall that time when i know i'm preg, i'm also very scared.. everything dunno.. wat can eat wat cannot eat also not sure..But most important must guai guai eat your multi vitamin and folic acid.
If your HCG level is rising by double shows that you preg is progressing well.. if not your gyne wld probably suggest hormones jab. If you really worried abt miscarriage you cld ask your gyne to prescribe duphaston pills to support your pregnancy. That time gyne gave me duphaston pills to support the lining.. just in case.. so i kiasu..eat till abt 3mths then stop.

U r really lucky to have strike even though u 'do it' only once a month.. Its fated.. must treasure and enjoy this whole pregnancy period okie.

All the best!

Hi Faridah,

Try not to think that PCOS only happens to o'weight ladies.. in fact many slim ladies also have PCOS. When i'm 1st diagnose with having PCOS, my gyne also puzzled how come i'm not hairy, o'weight nor am i having bad complexion but then blood test confirm that i'm having PCOS.
According to him, its even easier to cure those o'weight ladies with PCOS bcos he used to have many o'weight PCOS patient manage to conceive naturally after following a healthy diet and eventually slim down.

Oh you working in SPH?.. my fren's husband also working inside. HOw come u need to climb stairs to your office?.. The office is so new and trendy i thought shld have life leh?
Since now u r trying to conceive better take note, dun over strain yourself cos' u'll never know when u wld strike..

I wish you all the best and luck!..

Stay cheerful ya!

Hi cat_tail, yah, my pregnancy itself was OK but we had a scare in the 2nd trimester 'cos the OB in the US thought that he had abnormal heart.. wah biang, the bills are still flowing from the US.. altogether around US$5k. Luckily he is hale and hearty and a good baby. *phew* Oh and if you take tau gei, please make sure your tau gei is thoroughly cooked as sprouts can harbour a lot of bacteria.

Elle you are so lucky lor.. I am hairy, and having bad zits :p Now have to go for laser therapy for acne as cannot take other medications due to breastfeeding constraints. So sad

Thanks Elle,
I hope my example can bring more hope for other PCOS gals. Well, I try to relax myself & stay calm all the way. Initially, I sort of scare this scare that lah, but now I sort of let it go naturally or else too gan cheong oso no good.

Just wondering is checking HCG level part of the standard test the gynae will perform? If not, then I will have to ask her to do it during my next visit.

Oh ya btw, I am a little hairy on both my hands but not too bad on the rest. All times, I got some acne breakout at my back. Lucky not on my face... heehee.. still can hide. Catz, yours how bad?

Hi Catz,
I heard US medical charges are crazy! What have they done that cost u so much?

Hey cat_tail, checking hCG is not usually a standard thingie lor.. it's best to just ask your gynae. Wah, it really must have been such a surprise to find out you were pregnant hor?
I think that's an extremely nice way to find out about bb! I'm a little hairy on my legs.. and my face has broken out very very badly from the pregnancy.. no choice but to use either Roaccutane or do laser. As I'm TBF, so bopian need to pay for laser. Oh, the US$5k is 'cos we had a fetal ecg and level 2 ultrasound done, plus meeting with genetic counselling... wah liau, pok kai.. it wouldn't even have cost S$1k for the same procedure here!!!

Hi! Catz,

Dun worry since your break out is due to pregnancy, i'm sure very soon you wld recover

How are you coping with breast feeding?.. Your BB on total BF milk? wow.. your BB comes right timing leh.. can bring him go 'bai-nian' liao..i'm sure many wld "fight over" to carry him.. heehee

hello everbody

tks for yr kind msgs, yah, i used to have bad acne when i was young, but after getting married last year in march, i realised that i dont break out anymore, only sometimes, small pimples. so yes, i have lost 2 kg, so will keep up with the low carb and high protein diet.

office trendy yah, elle, but thing is it has staircases that leads to the mezzanine floor, sigh,

oh i didnt know that slim people can have pcos, always thot it was more for the overweight people, ok people, take care of ya babies, will post again.

Hi, Faridah and everyone!
So sorri for being MIA for so long. It's good to read all the postings to catch up. Catz, good to hear from you again. Hope little Tim is a good boy.

Chin up, Faridah... I had two miscarriages b4. I had three cycles of Clomid & Metforim. 2nd cycle resulted in pregnancy but miscarried at 7 weeks.

I finally conceived my daughter but only on Metformin, Clomid didnt seem to work for me. Even then, it was a v difficult pregnancy for me. I started contractions early at 26 weeks and finally DD was born premature at 32 weeks. She stayed in NICU for 1 month before she came home. & I couldn't hold her till she was 2 weeks old.

Then few days after my delivery, I had a mini-stroke. I couldn't move the left side of my face. Was hopitalised for 3 days. I tell you, during that period, I felt that everything that could go wrong was going wrong lor. It was really a difficult period.

But I survived 2 miscarriages, 1 premmie and a stroke that threatened to disfigure me... Today, my DD is a pesky tot and I'm fine too.

If you ask me if I'd go through it all again, I would. 'Cos things always work out if you have the strength to perserve... I'm sharing so that you won't give up hope. If there's one thing I learnt from my experience, there's nothing one can't do once you put your mind to it.

Now TTC no. 2. Hope it'll be easier for me tis time round. But hey, after experience with No.1, nothing could be worst, right? (I can hope lah!lolz)

Erm... in case, u're wondering am 1.63m and abt 65kgs, wat pple will call 'big sized' lah. My main symtomp of PCOS is no menses. Nothing at all for looong time, unless I'm on medication.

Wah Chatz, you have gone through mountains and seas to get your little girl!!
I'm 1.68kg and 61kg, also considered dua chiak :p Aiyah, my zits are really horrible.. the dermatologist is very concerned about the scarring. I thought the zits would clear up after giving birth but turns out it's even worse now.. somehow the hormones just don't settle as I'm breastfeeding :p Still, I think I will persevere with TBF.. not easy 'cos I feel so disfigured but I guess we'll do anything for our babies lor.

Faridah, must take it easy yah?

Elle, getting excited about the impending delivery?? Hmm.. as for CNY, we're trying to keep it low key as my hub's family notoriously unhygienic.. in this age of SARS.. eeks! But this Sat we'll be having a party for his full month.. I guess ppl will be asking to carry him.. must make sure they clean their hands properly!

Catz, good to know tt you intend to persevere with TBF... I TBF my gal for 14mos and it was a wonderful experience. The connectedness I feel with her when BF is not easily expressed. Of coz, I also enjoy feeding her as and when, no need for bottles, water, powder etc. So convenient!

Anyway, have fun at ur son's full month party. I had all my guests wash their hands b4 allowing them to carry my DD. Said it was 'cos she's premmie, but in fact, I just didn't want dirty hands to hold my little gal. :D So protective, right?

Hey Chatz, wah you are really an amazing gal.. I'm sure your husband really appreciates you 100x more whatwith the really difficult pregnancy, childbirth and 14 months of TBF!!! Hmm.. can I ask you something? Does your baby squirm and turn from side to side when breastfeeding? My boy has just starting doing this. His latch is good but don't know why he squirms and squiggles everywhere. So hard to bf discreetly with him grunting and yanking my boob from side to side :p

Hope my PIL will wash their hands lor.. As mothers, who would want to see ppl with filthy hands handling their kids? Esp after going through so much to deliver a healthy baby!!!

Actually, I also no choice one lah. 'cos my DD refuses the bottle leh. So had to TBF her lor! LOL.

Squirms and squiggles? at first a bit then once she's learnt how to latch on properly she didn't do it anymore. But she would suddenly stop feeding & stare or smile at me, then latch on again.

Since ur son's latch is good, maybe he's starting to be curious about his surroundings. & BF does give him a whole new perspective! ;p maybe u can try shifting your BF position. I like the feeding on the side (lying down) position best.

Talking about feedin discreetly... sigh. needs a lot of practice. I used to feed only in the backseat of the car till I was v confident of DD not exposing boobs. The trick is to practice a lot.

My galfren has mastered BFg in the sarong carrier so well, she can feed and shop at the same time! Totally discreet!!! But I neber acquired this skill lor. Neber practice hard enuff! :D

Hey Chatz, I've been breastfeeding all over S'pore actually and Tim's just past 4 weeks.. hehe.. hv done it at Grand Copthorne buffet, Novena Sq bench, TMC lobby area..
I find it easier to bf with a bandeau bra that I bought from MIM.. plus with a nursing top of course! Haiyah, dunno why he's so naughty.. he usually starts off his feed with his eyes open then after about 7 mins he's got his eyes closed and then he'll start his shifting and squirming *sigh* He never used to do that!!! I use side-lying when I've got backache.. don't really like it as I cannot really see his latch.. plus I'm scared I fall asleep and roll over the poor fella.

Still haven't mastered sarong carrier leh...can't seem to position him for breastfeeding! ANyway, so far so good, haven't flashed anyone anything X-rated so far
So when you're out and about, do you express or just latch directly? NOw I'm starting to panic about storing EBM for when I go back to work..

Angelia, I'm not sure.. wonder why your gynae uses the term bubbles leh.. better check with him/her.

Hi Catz,
I came across an interesting article, it say that once you are off the birth control pills, u will be very fertile for the first few months. I wondered if it works that way for me.

Gosh, that was the price you paid for such a few simple routine test! I would b fainted when the bill come to me.

Hi Chatz,
I am so touched when I read your story. It must be hard for you during that times.. but anyway, good things always come after tat. Hope you can get your no. 2 soon.

Hi Angelia,
Did the Dr do more tests to confirm your condition? I just find his remarks on "balloons" is not clear.

PS: Guess I am the only exceptional skinny PCOS example here.

Hi, Catz, when out and about, I feed direct. I have no experience expressing at work 'cos I was in between jobs then. What are u concerned about? I've got a few colleagues who're expressing at work and they seem to have gotten into a routine fairly quickly leh. Altho' sometimes, I hear the common refrain of 'My boobs R bursting!' LOL

Haha! u're v funny leh, Catz. U won't roll on your Tim lah. My logic - Mommies have special abilities to sense their darling kids... But, I can't say the same for daddies lor. My DH almost rolled on my DD once! Lucky thing, I woke up just in time.

Hi, Cat_Tail, thanks for your nice wishes. I looking fwd to being pregnant again...

Hi, Angelia, I also think the term 'balloons' is kindda vague. My gynae used to tell me in jest, 'I see a nice necklace of eggs! If only it was pearls...' *roll eyes* Anyway, suggest you clarify with your doctor.

Hi Cat_Tail and Chatz

The doctor on say try for one yr first before taking any pills.

He did a scope for me and he say that the ovaries are big and there are some white spots in the ovaries like bubbles.

Hi Chatz, did you take any pills before you get pregnant??

Hi everybody,
I'm also another PCOS patient

Hi Cat tail,
Congrats to u.... take good care yeah...

Hi Faridah,
Sorry to hear about ur loss... I hope that u cld get over it soon and start afresh again.... Dun give up...

Hi pooh25,
Are u actively tring to conceive?

Hi Catz,
Wow..... u popped liao.... so fast bb 1 mth liao hor
Enjoying ur time now yah

Btw I went back to see my gyna at Gleneagles with my US blood test (jus to recap: US gyna says nothing to worry about as it shows no PCOS)...my sg gyna did a scan & told me that there are still tiny folicles... I told him that I have jus stop taking the pills from tis mth... He gave me 10 mths of Serophene (helps to conceive)
Hmm....my mense should come on 25 Jan but till today still no signs

Before I came back to US... I went to see a 3rd gyna...she did another blood test for me...results shows that i have mild PCOS... she did a scan for me but it shows that my lining is still very thin.... she gave me med to induce but was advise to take only if my menses doesnt come within these 2 weeks

I told her, i was given serophene by my 2nd gyna.... she told me its actually another name for Clomid... *confused*
She advise me to take 1 tablet for the 1st 2 cycles if nothing happens then i should consult the US gyna to see if its okie to increase the dose..

Hmm.... so now i'm hoping that my menses will come without needing to induce...

hello everybody

so many people, the more the merrier!!
Wah, chatz u went thru a lot huh, oh men! ya i am just so worried, i had the d & c on 19 Jan, so after that i had bleeding on 19 and stop on 20th jan, then after the malay lady massaged me on the 22nd, 24th jan i am bleeding until now? is it it like this after a D & C?

one of my frd is so insensitive, she said cannot conceive so fast after a miscarriage but most people said i am very fertile after that, geez,
i still feel depressed, when will this bleeding stop ahhhhhhh

Hi loveluis

which gynae are u seeing at Gleneagles? i am seeing someone that specialises in pcos.

Hi, Pooh25, yes, I was on Metformin when I conceived my DD. I was on 3 cycles of clomid, got pregnant in the 2nd cycle but miscarried.

Hi, Faridah, I stopped bleeding within 2 days of my D&C. Did you check with your gynae on ur bleeding? Sounds q worrying leh.

Yah, I also heard that our body is q fertile and that sm pple conceive within 3 mths of a miscarriage. Didn't happen for me tho' so I guess it depends on the individual. My MIL actually said tt after 2 miscarriages, that I was barren!

Try and ignore what others have to say. I remember I cried so hard after my 1st miscarriage no one dared to talk to me (not that I was in the mood anyway). But I found closure by writing down my feelings. Even then it took months for me to feel comfortable talking about the loss. Even now (4 years already) I still mentally remember the loss on the day the baby is supposed to be born.

Cliche but time heals. Things will get better.

Do i need to take any blood test before i confirm that i have PCOS?

Any recommendation of the gynae to do a check up??

Hi Faridah,
My gynae is Dr Hendry Cheng from gleneagles, he's not a specialist in PCOS

Hi Pooh25,
My first gynae didnt do a blood test for me, i had blood test done by my 2nd & 3rd gynae.
As for reccommendations? My 1st gynae was reccommended by my colls.... personally i dun really tink he's good lor...
3rd gynae...heard she's not bad lor...
Btw where are u staying? N, S, E or W ?

Hi, Pooh25, I was diagnosed by blood test as well as u/scan. My gynae bedside manner not v good & don't like you to ask too much questions type, so wouldn't recommend him.

Hi Loveluis,
Thank you & I hope everything goes smoothly.

Hi pooh25,
Would you like to seek 2nd opinion? Normally they will confirm whether you are a PCOS by checking your hormone level thru blood test & any cysts thru ultrasound. You may even need to go for an op if the cysts are quite big, other than that they will ask you to take some pills to control it. Majority are birth control pills if you have no intention to get preg soon.

Just called my gynae, he say that i have PCOS and ask me not to worry and try for one year. That all.

Hi Loveluis,
I stay in the north side. How much is the gynae charging??

Hi Cat_tail
I and my hushand is prepared to have a child in any time now.

hi chatz

tks for yr encouragement, i really appreciate it
thing abt my bleeding, think it is finishing, just have brown black stains, i think the malay lady massaged me lah, and asked me eat jamu, it actually has stopped 1 day after the D & C, but right after she massaged me and i ate the jamu, my period came a few days later, gosh
Thing is there is this particular gynae that specialises in pcos in Gleneagles, and he seems to know a lot abt it, i dont want to reveal his name here, gotta to ask him 1st lah, permission granted then i say, he is a professor actually, so charges are a bit high.

U know ladies, think abt 4 years ago, i did the ovarian drilling and wedge resection, it didnt restore my periods u know, so my gynae said actually that didnt have to be done, i am so angry with that gynae i went to. sigh, i reeally hope to be preggy by april, i love babies so much, really a joy to have them, they are v cute, and even if they dont bathe, they dont smell!!!! unlike us, heheheheh. I wanna have 3!!!!

Hi Pooh25,
I'm staying in the east, my SIL & friend whose staying in Sembawang (north, i think) says Dr Lawrence Ang is not bad. I'm not sure exactly where is his clinic...but if u need more information... I can help u ask

Hi Cat tail,
U forget to spread some baby dust to me

Okie tat's all from me now...
Enjoy ur weekends

Have a great break & happy chinese new year to all!

May the new year usher in more babies for all of us!

Hi loveluis,
Something I owned you.. here you are...throw some baby dust all over you. Good luck, good luck!

To all,
Happy Chinese New Year! May all your baby dreams come true.

Hey everyone, Happy Valentine's
GOod luck to all in your TTC.. don't stress and make sure you get yourselves in a romantic mood ;) tonight.. hehe

*luff...

Yaya.. make luv tonite.

So how u all going to celebrate? Hubby ask me wat I want, I say let's eat chilli crabs! *slurps... Anyway, we are not the lomantic ones so food is the best way to celebrate.

kaka..
Try doing that from end of 2nd trimester.. you'll feel like a big fat hippo
We also never celebrate lor.. old married couple with kid, how to??? MMm..... now you got me drooling about crabs!! *slurP*

Catz... I think I eat too much crabs until diarr..ea.. in the midnite! Wah liew...must be the bad combination with milk.

hello ladies ;)

it have been so long that i log in.. been bz with work

congrat cat_tail.. so whose next.. :p

Hi Yoko,

Nope it is not Prof Ng, but he is from the same office as Prof Ng.

Hello all

Happy CNY and Valentine's day! I have been very bz ahhh
Ok, any of u take GLAs, also know as evening primrose oil, does it make u gain weight?

I have tried the evening primrose oil pills for 3 mths last time. If I am not wrong, it supposed to help the menses cramp & improve skin. So far not much effect on me leh, menses still go haywire.