PCOS patient and trying to conceive, pls share experience here.

Er.. I actually hv a phobia of govt hospitals, esp KK! Heard so many horror stories. I guess if you can see fr ultrasound that the ovaries are polycystic, you might not need the blood test unless you want to confirm the seriousness of your PCOS.

Hi Catz,

wow...u wake up very early hor ?

Yep, the doctor drawn 2 tubes of blood... tis friday going to visit the doctor again for the blood test results...

Hope that i really dun have PCOS... *keeping my fingers crossed*

hi love.. me oso help u *cross fingers :p

catz.. me too leh.. lol dun really like KK

Hey loveluis, I hope u don't hv PCOS!! Yah I wake up early, usually 'cos of the extreme urge to pee but today was diff, my Dad called when he was in transit so I couldn't go back to zzzz.

Meimei, yah, maybe 2nd kid I'll go to KK 'cos husband can claim 60% of expenses 'cos he's civil service.. but first kid, I'd rather have a more positive experience, esp since TMC is so good about breastfeeding.

Ha? Next year? NO WAY.. anyway, they say must give yourself at least a year to recover... me not in a rush to go through first trimester again man... at least, not yet
Any news on your side or not?

Meimei, When are you due to test? Hehe.. see how my little monkey rascal turns out first lah.. sekali so shack until miss the pig year also.

me will test this fri or sunday lor.. keke but scare to see
229190.gif

btw me always go toilet to pee these 2 days leh.. snd tired..
gettin hungry very fast too.. still no sign of AF coz when AF approachin my breasts will be painful one...

keke little monkey.. heard that this monkey yr is good for kid who born this yr

Meimei, wah keeping my fingers and eyes crossed for ya. Oh, trust me you will be rewarded with a BFP soon lah, then you can pee on every single remaining test..hehe..

Aiyoh, hope monkey boy won't be naughty rascal man...

Hi Catz

If my scans reveal i dont have PCOS, will the doc ask me to do blood test for FSH/LH to confirm the scan results??

She wanted to originally, but i was told to go for scans and HSG so she said too many tests to put me through,so say blood test KIV
think thats nice of her.

Me seeing her on 14 dec to review the results. hope everything is fine. just duno if she will ask me to go for the blood test if the scans pixs reveal that i dont have PCOS.

Hey SSL, how long have you been TTC? If you've been TTCing for a long time with no results, no harm to do the blood test to rule out PCOS.. but I guess it's at the discretion of your doctor.. Best to get to the root of the problem. For me, we were very kancheong already. If the scan hadn't shown up with the string of pearls, I would have asked for the blood test.

catz,

it's me val, hope you remember me

hope u hv a early christmas gift,hee...

it's indeed a miracle 8 months of journey for you
a few more weeks to go,jia you

Hi Catz

Me TTC since April this year. diagnosed with PCOS from Glen E doc. went for second opinion at KK. went for scans and waiting to review with doc.

she say looking from the Glen E pixs, doesnt look like got PCOS. I also asked the radiologist who did for me the scans and she say looks ok. But i will prefer to hear it from the doc's mouth

probably check with KK doc next tues. if scan result show no PCOS, does she feel if it is necessary to go for blood test as she had mentioned when I first went to her.

SSL, it's good that you're getting a second opinion. By any chance, would the GlenE doctor be Christopher Chan? I also don't like unnecessary blood tests 'cos I passed out cold for 10 minutes before when I was having blood drawn. :p

Helena, PCOS is a hormonal condition linked to insulin resistance.. lots of info if you scroll up on the archives in this thread. Sorry lah, v lazy to type out all 'cos pregnant brain all rotten :p

Hi Catz

Yes, was seen by Prof Christopher Chen. So far, i had blood test twice, both ok. was telling myself its nothing and dont faint infront of strangers and mah lu myself

Hmm... dunno leh, I find Prof Chen's diagnoses seem to usually be PCOS. Find it a bit fishy lor... anyway, good luck for your visit at KKH next week. Hope you don't hv PCOS!!!

Catz,
Thanks for the info. Actually, my boy is now almost 9 months old now and my brain still rotten. My memory is not as good as before. Sometimes, I can't rememeber things that just happened. Also, my math is deteriorating.

No probs, Helena. Yah my friend said that after having 2 kids, she's totally brainless already... and she's a Stanford PhD! No hope for me liao...

Hi SSL, The important thing is not to get too stressed up and upset.. for us, it happened when we weren't really thinking about it.. had kind of given up hope already so quite bochap bochap then kena

Hey meimei, YOu think u have good news?
My first symptom was very very bad menstrual cramps that lasted for 2 days.. me bodoh, didn't even suspect pregnancy so I took panadol menstrual.. oh, and I had diarrhoea too. Only one week later (when I tested) then I realised that it was implantation pain. Oh plus sore boobs..

hi catz :p

my AF havent come leh.. sianz... today CD38 liao leh.. goin to test tomolo liao :p so worried.. and no symptoms leh.. no sore breasts.. usually when AF goin to come rite.. i will get sore breasts

Don't worry Mei mei.. let me know how your test goes yah? Keeping fingers, toes and eyes crossed for ya

catz..
-ve
do u think i should take med to force it come then take clomid or juz wait for it to come??

Meimei, oh dear... chin up, next month try again yah? No lah, don't take medicine unless necessary.... let your cycle regulate by itself. You're taking metformin also right?

thanks catz

me waiting patienly for ya "prince" photo.. keke :p due date drawin near ya..
do take care of urself ok..

thanks catz

me waiting patiently for ya "prince" photo.. keke :p due date drawin near ya..
do take care of urself ok..

No probs, Mei mei, hope I'm not going to be waiting for too much longer... aiyoh, feel so heavy lor. You take care and take it easy during this busy work period so that your period will come soon!

Hi Catz

Went to see Dr Sheila Loh on Tuesday for review. She told me to go for the blood test (FSH/LH) even before i ask her

Previous u/s and HSG results showed that i'm fine but she would want me to go for the blood test to confirm if i can ovulate on my own.

In the mean time, she prescribed me 1 cycle of clomid.

Hi SSL, sorry I missed your posting. So when will you find out your FSH/LH ratio? Dr Loh sounds like she knows what she's dealing with lor.

Mei mei, hehe.. no stress is definitely good. Now must make sure that your husband also not stressed yah?

HI Catz

Its ok

I need to wait for my next menses to come, then go for blood test on the 2nd day and 21st day. 2nd day test is to check FSH/LH ratio and 21st day test is to see my reaction to the clomid which Dr Sheila Loh prescribed to me.

Yes, I am very comfortable with Dr Sheila Loh and she's nice to talk to as well.

Hey SSL, wah 2 blood tests? Eeks.. I am one person who is very stingy with blood.. hehe.. I fainted during blood test once - wiped out for 10 minutes cold!! I'm glad you have a good doctor. Is she an infertility specialist?

catz.. think hubby stress at work but back home playin games to destress himself.. kekeke
btw always wanted to ask u.. is the ration FSH/LH = 4:6 its mild rite??

u in week 39 already??

Hey Meimei, I never went for the FSH/LH 'cos mine was very clearly PCOS from my ultrasound.. my books are all being shipped back from US so cannot help you check.. sorry... I'm now in week 38 but acc to gynae at yesterday's checkup, my son is in no hurry to come out this week. Hope to pop next week

Yah men are very stressed lah... poor things, gotta bring home the bacon!

Glad to have found smone to talk abt PCOS. Have been diagnosed since Sep 94, but now happily married with one kid. TTC no. 2 but with no success. Presently on metformin for 4 mths, u think i'm being too anxious? Problem is no menses since I delivered baby in Mar 2003. Any advise, anyone? TIA.

HI Catz

So far, i'm ok when it comes to blood test

so hope i will can survive tomorrow too.

Dr Loh is the Head & Senior Consultant, Obstetrician & Gynaecologist, Reproductive Medicine Unit.

Does that make her infertility specialist??
heehee.

u take care too. must be very excited for you now

Hi Chatz, wow, no menses? Your gynae didn't say anything except to give you metformin? Usually it's easier to conceive after having the first baby... it was the case with my Mom. She took fertility drugs to conceive me then she had no problems conceiving my sister when she wanted to.

SSL, wah, your Dr Loh very big hor?
Yah me very excited and somewhat impatient.. very uncomfortable already so can't wait to pop.

Hi, Catz, Yah, my gynae din say anything juz gave me metformin. I think 'cos I got pregnant with juz metformin (3 cycles of clomid was unsuccessful) the 1st time round. Now I thinking of getting a second opinion... Is ur gynae good and well informed abt PCOS?