Mummies in Australia?

Hi Mommies.

need abit of help!
can i know is there anywhere I can get a list of the kind of food/dry food (i.e bb milk powder, herbs, rice) that i can bring in or cant bring into aus.

would greatly appreciate if you could share the list if you have it or perhaps your knowledge in this!

tks a lot in advance. ;)

hey mates
everyone seems to be busy...at last i'm over my 1st trimester.. feeling much better..
will b doing detailed scan next month....but tentively thru my monthly unltrasound..my DOC had detected it 2 B 90% BOY....yipeee..

ozziemum
had u know ur baby gender???

hen
wanted to give birth in OZ but with no helper...it's quite difficult n expensive to hire a confinement nany as it will cost abt aud$700 a week..furthurmore hubby cannot take long leave..unless he wanna quit work...so no choice he must serve NS lor.......

ryatie,

congrats!!! mine's a girl.a bit disappointed lah but still thank God for her
i'm due 16th sept by ultrasound.

San,
it's best to check out aqis.gov.au for the latest list of items u can or cannot bring into australia. dun be too stressed out by wanting to bring so many food stuff to oz.u can get most of your basic foods there albeit more costly. but saves u lots of trouble lugging them and in the end cannot pass thru customs for some strange reasons.
if u do choose to bring our own, make sure u print out the list from aqis to cover yourself just in case.

Ozziemum
congrats 2 u ...1 boy 1 girl mah...if ur girl is born on 17 sept it'll be the same as my eldest dd

San
i agree with wat ozziemum say...juz drop the basic.. then u c them throw wat if have lug n spend..so wasted...

mngo,

Trip postpone, I still here in Sg. So busy these days wz the kids plus hubby super busy at work. Think may wait til Nov n go over for good.

<font face="tahoma"> hi ryatie,
congrats to you too

this thread has been very very quiet. when are you planning to return for delivery? is your mum or mil able to go over to help out for 1 mth?

my frd was telling me that the govt are looking at more subsidies for childcare centers... aging population problem everywhere now. </font>

mspiggy
10Q ;-) nobody can help cos my mum going haj for a month during my delivery..so confirm No CHANCE...r u planning to give birth there??

<font face="tahoma"> ryatie,
am still in singapore...the big headache is when is the big move day!

we are planning to make the big move 2 yrs later before my elder boy starts school. hope this happens else it's mostly likely we gotta give up the PR status. dont think they will extend for us coz this is our 2nd "term". </font>

i got a job offer and i will start work end of this month. It's the same as what i did in singapore - IT line.

mngo,

Congrats! Its quite fast lor. Good for u. Sigh... think I better quickly start packing up n move over to join u.

how's everyone?
i'll be submitting my application within next week

waiting time begins....

anyone can share with me your IELTS test experience? thanks in advance!

tatty,
You got back your ACS assessment already? I think you need your assessment before you submit? If you are under MODL, should be quite fast, I got mine around 6 months.

IELTS. Generally ok, I thought I did not do well, but still got a good score.

<font face="tahoma"> mngo,
WOW... that's really fast!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!

So your boy will go to after sch care once you started working?</font>

thanks hen/mspiggy.

my boy will either go childcare, if not then will be looked after by my hb.

mm.... yea indeed i got the job within 1 week. its the only job i applied since i arrived. the only interview i attended.

all God's grace.

mngo
congrats..so heppi 4 u..must tell us how's werking life there....is it as hectic as here...n wat is ur werking hrs n days like????

ryatie

i will work full time because it's an IT JOB.
I'll do software support.
Working hours 830-5pm.
Half hour lunch.

another good news. my hb also got job offer last week. 2 days after me. he is starting work tmr.

i've got to look for childcare alternatives now

hi australia mummies

may i just seek some advices from the mummies here?

is it feasible for us to open a fixed deposit foreign currency account with a Singapore Bank (high interest rate for Australian Dollar now) and later transfer over to Australian Bank when we relocate to Australia? any mummies forsee any problem with this arrangement?

Thanks in advance for any replies!!

<font face="tahoma"> mngo,
so happy to see that you all are settling in so fast!!!! really motivating for me!

mngo,

So good leh, now u no need to worry abt jobs, just concentrate on settling your boy. Btw, both of your work places in the city?

mspiggy
mmm... i am glad that there are friends who helped me. of cos not forgetting God who helped me a great deal. We lived everyday by his Grace.
For each day, we dunno if we wil hv a job? hv money? have place to stay? bla.....

Hen
i'll work in Techno Park @ Bentley.
My hb works in industrial estate @ belmont.

both of us got free parking.

so maybe we will buy a 2nd car if we need to.

but i doubt so . cos i hate to drive :p

mngo, in Aus, its difficult not to drive, so u got to get used to driving over there. Its easier n more enjoyable to drive over there for sure.

andrea/hidora
if u r reading this.

pennytel has this 8cents per call line when we call anywhere.
quite cheap right?

Hen
ya i know lor. i drove a few times, drivers here are better. they let me go when i signal, unlike singapore drivers. but then i am still trying to familar myself. so far i only know few main roads like
north lake rd, south street, canning hwy, leach hwy and kwinana highway. then mitchell fwy - to go ikea. haha. tats all!

hidora
yea i know. i will be staying at Manning.
One straight manning road down and will reach my work place. 5 mins bus journey.

sarah
i am in perth

Its been a while since the last update. I am living in Perth now. So far so good, now SAHM coz of my girl. but will start looking to work next year.

life is is not bad..slow paced. Have settled in and made friends. Meet up with Mngo quite often @ church and see Hidora n Ozzie once in a while.

anyone else joining us in Perth?

hi sunnygirl
so glad 2 hear tat u'd settle well..

earliest possible time i'll go perth will be end of next year...as my plan had changed due to 3rd coming one...90% will be perth; 10% melbourne.

in sg as usual, werk home sleep alomost every day..can't wait 4 my maternity leave...

Any mummies live in Melbourne and giving birth there b4? My hubby will be posted there and I'm expecting. We're not PR. Also, any idea what're the good private primary schools there? Thanks.

Hi hi
Sorry for MIA - i have started working, and rarely had time to login.

Take care everyone. See u guys in perth - if u guys decided Perth is the place.

CJ Mum
If you want good private primary schools, there are a lot of Grammar Schools out there.
Check them out.

<font face="tahoma"> Hi CJ mum,
my nephew goes to Melb Grammar School. heard it's one of the better. you can check it out.

CJ Mum
is the schooling for your unborn?
if so, then you shld q for it when he/she is born. long waiting queue

Long time neber log in here. Just came back from Perth.

Anyone ship their stuff to Perth before? Can pass me the contacts of the companies? TIA.