Mummies in Australia?

tub,

Most happy to share, but a bit too long to do it here leh. Will send separate email to u.

Anyway, they keep changing the process. Mine was quite straight forward (maybe partly cos I'm graduated frm uni there), but these days, their requirements more stringent, got to take tests, etc. Go to www.immi.gov.au for more up to date info.

hopeac,
My hb will be teaching Math to secondary sch students on a perm basis. Yes we'll all be moving over together as a family.

RE: relocating
Any of you moved over to Australia with all your furniture? We can't decide whether to ship everything, or to just ship our personal belongings like clothes etc. *headache*

Re:education
I agree that sg method is very academic and i feel that not all child r the same some can take the system but some can't...tat is wat i worry a lot....just imagine at 3 yr old..u must know n write alphabets....remembering my time, i was still playing hop scotch or enjoying my childhood days where i'd enjoyed very much....
I dun think Australian standard is not as good as sg ...it;s just tat it has its own method like balancing with sch n lifestyle...and most of the frens i know in australia who were born in singapore r mostly u-grade n they r werking in sg n also china...n most of them r in public sch...so from my pt of view...i still prefer aus education system.

Wow, education seems like the hot topic now ..

Personally, i prefer the Aus system. IMHO, afterall an Aus cert and SG cert is the same, when we come out to work, it is the person's character that matters and this is where i find the greatest disparity. We are taught to conform to certain standards in SG, whereas in Aus, they allow u the be who you are. That contributes greatly to character development.
Anyway, success is life comes about not from the academic knowledge that we have, but social skills and street smarts. So far, I have been very impressed with the Aus educated teenagers i have met (These are migrants who studied there for a long time or Aussie born). They are articulate, polite and very confident, but of course, they have good home teaching too . Contrast this with the many teenagers here who play computer games all day and tend to be more inward looking and withdrawn in front of strangers. You can straight away see the difference between the Aus and SG educated teens when you talk to them.

ozziemum
wanna ask whether u did a postnatal massage when in gave birth in Perth tat time?? wandering how much it cost there?

mspiggy
your RRV seems to be only 4 years

may 07 renew PR
by right, it should be
Year 1 : may07-08
Year 2 : may 08-09
Year 3 : May 09-10
Year 4 : May 10-11
Year 5 : May 11-12

ryatie,

no didn't do massage leh. i went back to Sgp 9 days after delivering my son. dun intend to do any massage anyway. no idea leh....maybe u can check out some aussie forums...

i just strained my back muscle while carrying my son this morning....in so much pain now

Ozziemummie
thanks for the info...wah u so strong 2 come back so fast..how did u manage to do the aussie citizenship so fast...u did online or in the hospital??
Be careful when carrying him ..try to lift him in correct posture.....rest well ok....

ryatie,

i haven't gotten my citizenship yet lah. u confused. long way to go man....i've only completed abt 20% of my 2yr plan here to get oz citizenship leh. sigh.... missing Sgp food. but good thing Hidora cooks well! mmmmmmm!!!!!!!

after giving birth in aust and baby get aust citizenship, can baby apply for s'pore PR instead of citizen?
this way doesn't have to give up one when they're 21.

anyone can advise? TIA!

hi Angel,
If the kid is a boy. He will still be asked to do NS at 16 years old. If he does not do NS, he will need to give up his PR. Not much difference as singaporean. After 21 years old, he is subjected to the PR laws. Which means, he needs to be a professional or earning above a certain income, before being continued to be granted PR. I think the above applies the same for girls with exception of NS.

http://app.ica.gov.sg/serv_pr/per_res/app_for_pr.asp

One more thing, you may want to check. I read somewhere that child borne anywhere in the world to singaporean parents will automatically be citizen.

hi hopeac,
Thanks for your insight.

Actually, there's a diff. We're ok with doing NS. If "dual" citizenship, he'd HAVE to choose one when he's no longer a minor, s'pore embassy wants to see some renouncification documentation. How's he gonna stay in s'pore if he wants to next time.
But if PR, he can just do NS and everything else remains.

Ya, a child born outside s'pore qualifies to be s'porean, but must apply to ICA or s'pore embassy. So i'm just wondering instead of applying for citizen, can we apply for PR. I also read that citizenship will not be conferred if the child already takes up citizenship of the country where he's born.
Anyone actually went through this? What would be the preferred way? Not to apply at all now and let the child apply for PR on his own merit when he's grown up?

anngel,
then why dun stick to PR - aust, sg- citizenship???

sg citizenship will need u to declare that u wan sg citizenship and only have sg citizenship at age 18.

anngel,

Not sure how true, but was told that even if both parents r Singaporeans, if child applies for PR, may not necessary can get.

Another consideration is that PR means u got to pay higher fees in sch n doesn't get to enjoy certain benefits.

sarahbb,
baby born in aust will get aust citizen not aust PR, among other things, aust citizen is attractive 'cos they allow dual citizenship, unlike sg allow only minor to hold dual citizenship. sg citizenship is very restrictive in that sense.
that's why our pref is for aust citizen and sg PR. just wondering if anyone's gone thru similar situation and came to a decision, pls share your thoughts behind the decision.
Many thanks.

anngel,
oohh..ok. sorry

coz my son is born in aust, but he holding PR status (not citizenship), like me & daddy... but he holding sg citizenship

hen,
very good point about paying higher school fees. if next time cannot make it to sg uni, have to come to aust uni, fees will be very ex too. by the way, mummy not singaporean but sg PR, daddy is singaporean.
sigh! the things we do for our kids future.

sarahbb,
no worries. i thought baby born in aust will get aust citizenship if one parent is aust citizen or PR? how come your son holding aust PR ?

anngel,
yep, able to be aust citizenship.. but muz stay in aust 10 year straight (if i dun rem wrongly if want aust citizenship).. but able to apply for aust passport as long as one parent PR/citizen.

but at that pt of time, we didnt apply for aust passport but instead apply for sg citizenship for baby & sg passport.. so son travelled out of aust using sg passport (when he was 4 mth), so now, we used our PR status to get him PR instead..cos PR & citizen in aust not much difference.. (to my understanding)

but option of getting aust citizenship is still there...for my son

his daddy & me too singaporean liaoz la.. hahaha.. dun want son to give up sg citizenship.. wahaha..

ryatie,

yeah my son got aussie citizenship instantaneously. cos born in Oz plus either one parent is PR.

i still dunno my 2nd one is boy or girl but if boy definitely not registering with the singapore side. just get aussie passport and travel on it.

sarahbb is rite, in AU, PR n citizen not much diff, thatz according to few of my frens who migrated there wz their parents since teens n til today, they r still PR only.

thanks ozziemum...so far any craving tis pregnancy...4 mine, it seems a got a lot of cravin...n only can eat food tat i crave...if i eat anything, i'll she'll vomit out...

hen,
i agree it's true not much diff btwn PR and citizen -- if u'r here to stay for good.
but for my hubby and me, we still have parents back in Sgp who r reluctant to relocate. esp my in-laws r in their 70s. we didn't want the trouble of having to apply for RRV, then don't stay in Oz long enuough, then have to explain to the case officer and hope and pray they'll grant us RRV. just to stressful for us lah. that's why we go straight for citizenship....

ryatie,
cravings? of cos got lah. wanna eat so many kinds of chinese food!!! but here in Perth not easy to get leh. i miss my roti prata,Chwee Kway and my nonya meat dumpling!

guess we all know u just have to hang in there and wait for the symptoms from the 1st trimester to be totally over. then u'll feel much better.

ozziemum
roti prata..u can get it in perth cos my cousin bought instant roti prata when we were there..n it taste as good...especially with fish curry..yummmy

ozzie,
Does it mean you will come back to singapore on social visit pass which allows you only 3 months the most? I think you will need to give up your sg citizenship if you take up aus citizenship. And they can be quite resistant in giving PRs to those who gave up citizenship?

<font face="tahoma">ozziemummy,
you can get nonya dumplings in perth too. not sure if still ard.

i remember we used to travel all the way to Southland mall, there's 1 chinese stall in the food court that sells dumplings! *YUM*</font>

hopeac,

i also agree with sarahbb on dual citizenship. in fact, there was a recent Sgp news article saying they may allow pple who hold dual citizenships to vote. well, u can make your own inferences on that

ms piggy &amp; ryatie,
nothing tastes and feels like home when u eat from hawker centers or prata shops in Sgp lor.i wanna wat freshly made prata. mmmmmmmmmmm....

OZZIEMUMMY,
if only u in melb, in melb there is a prata place run by indian!! heez.. along sydney rd if u wanna know. kekee =)

Headlice
it is quite serious thing in au.
I am quite afraid my son will kena it and i dunno wat to do leh.

sorry to intrude.
Spore and aust allow dual citizenship ?

if it's inconvenient to discuss here, can PM me?

hi sarah,
hmmm....how to go abt doing that ah?
Spore will know if a person has dual citizenship right? won't they be asked to annul one citizenship?

Kemmy,

Just a friendly reminder.. If you have anything to ask in the forum, it's more polite for you to PM the person you are interested to post the question to instead of asking them to PM you. This is how things work in other forums too.

p/s: to put it more bluntly, mummies here are not obliged to help you with anything unless you pm them with "sorry to bother you", "please" and "thanks".

Cheers.

No worries. Just to let you know how things work here in case you do not get a PM from any mummies here from your posting.

Generally, the mummies in this thread are super nice. So if you PM them nicely, I'm pretty sure you can get an answer for your question.

Cheers.

mngo,

So many things to be scared of there eh? Aiyah, relax lah, don't give yourself too much worry, ok? Take things when it comes.

Btw, your boy still got the option to shave botak if suey suey kenna. I shd be worrying cos both mine r girls, got long hair somemore.