Mummies in Australia?

mngo,

Hehe, I have mentioned it to ozziemummie to log on more often already... She got internet lah but rather worn out from the pregnancy and her boy so seldom check the forum.

yo mummies!!!

sorry i MIA for so long. as Hidora has defended me, by the time my boy zzz, i'm so tired also lor.....plus all the running after and shoutign at times at our kids...right, Hidora?

plus for some strange reason, my yahoo email account totally blocked off email notifications from this thread. It doesn't even go into my bulk/spam mails folder...so for a while i just thot nobody's up here.
hubby and i also been quite busy in the day the past weeks running some errands..brougth our car for LPG conversion....mentally exhausted liao.

Ryatie,

congrats!!! so planning to move over the moment u get PR? how's the application going?

mspiggy,

congrats to u too!! wah so many pple preggy!

i've been taking my own sweet time to get GP referral to go back to KEMH. now waiting for appointment letter. wasn't comfortable with the first GP i saw as he wanted me to run a blood test 1st plus the anatomy scan which i have to pay for...in the end we saw another GP and he was straightforward with the referral. think i should be abt 19 weeks now...seriously not sure cos period not regular...but can feel baby kicking since 3 weeks ago

mspiggy,
Congrats on yr #2! Take care n rest well. Need more energy after that to take care of 2 kids (speaking frm my own experience... I so tired these days...)

Hey, did you apply for your extension here or in AU? We are thinking of applying for ours but not sure if should do it here or go over there to apply. When you mentioned "extension", so is renew your PR visa or you got the 3yr or 5yr RRV? I tried to find on the Internet, they don't have renewal of PR visa, only got RRV leh.

ozmummie
haha - yea... u should be really knock out, with your boy and pregnancy.

i am so excited!!! 1 month later, will get to meet u guys!

but i'll definitely hang out at carousel , so easy for u :p

Hi Hentang,
There is only RRV.. they don't call in renewal of visa
I think when it's 'renewed', you will get 5 years -- that's what we got.

HTH

wondering if anyone here can help me, im an Aust PR and my S'pore passport is expiring soon. So do I need to get a new Visa to paste in my new passport? If so, how do i go about getting it? i tried looking at the immi website but could find any info. Thanks in advance!

athlete
yes u need to get new visa paste in yr new passport.
if u are in sg, you will need to go to au high comm to do so. it's opp botanic gardens.

ozziemummie,

Haha, all that "extra" shouting at the kids is wearing me out even thou I'm not pregnant!

mngo,

Can't wait for you to come over! :D

athlete,

You can just go straight to the Aust High Comm to get a new visa. No need for appointment. But you must reach there before 2pm as that's their operation hour. Then all you need is to go up to the counter and fill up a form, submit both passports and wait for abt 30 mins.

athlete, hidora,

The operation hrs of the Aust High Comm in Sg is 9am to 12noon only (lately been running in n out of there, so I know). They only take phone enquiries in the afternoon.

hentang,

Er, 12 pm? They changed the hours already? When I renew my visa in Jan, the guard told me it's 2pm.. I made a waste trip once at 2.30pm. Thanks for the correction, else athlete will be making a wasted trip!!

athlete,

Sorry for the wrong info! :X

hidora,

No worries, I know bcos been going there lately. For any visa or immi matters, the counters are opened 9am to 12noon tho the office is open to public from 8.30am to 2.30pm.

<font face="tahoma"> Hi ladies,
thank you

mngo,
nope... my PR supposed to expire this yr Oct08. during last May07 we tried our luck, fly back to perth and apply for RRV and we managed to get it for another 5 yrs. hence our new PR will expired in May 2011.

hen,
yeah like Andrea mentioned if you got the extension, it's only RRV for 5 yrs or nothing at all! hence we were considered very lucky. i think it all boiled down to which officer you met in the immi dept. the immi dept is right in the city, Mayer building. Go earlier coz the queue is super long!!!!! </font>

mspiggy
congrats on #02

ozziemum
thanks....can understand how tired ur....4 me i tell my hubby that i feel like resigning..my house in a mess..a nausea si terrible...almost everything i eat i throw up....dun feel like eating at all....

mngo,

Ya, it's in the city like what mspiggy and andrea said. If you alight at the train station, walk towards crazy clark. If you are in the city, walk towards Woolworths. It's in the same building.

Hi, I got a question which I hope someone can help me here. I am currently doing my graduate studies in Australia on a student visa. My wife is here with me on a spouse visa. Our baby is due in end November. We are scheduled to fly back to SG in mid Dec. When baby is born, can I get an Australian passport for him/her? Do I have to register the birth with Singapore Embassy? How long does the process take for the passport or travel documents to be processed? Thanks a lot in advance.

Chk this out

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=77&amp;ContentID=70191

Transperth flags higher fares for bad children

28th April 2008, 14:00 WST

School children who behave badly on public transport will now be forced to pay higher fares.

Primary and secondary school students who refuse to give up their seats for adults on public transport will be unable to purchase 50 cent student fares for a 30-day period.

Young people have always been expected to give up their seat for someone needs it more than them, including adults, disabled people and pregnant women.

David Hynes from the Public Transport Authority said that standing for an adult was now also a condition of the student fare.

“If you are asked by an authorised person and refuse to stand your SmartRider card will be scanned and you will be barred from obtaining the student discount” he said.

“It is not as if we have a huge problem. The vast majority of school kids do stand up for adults. However the 50 cent fair is a privilege and that privilege comes with a responsibility.”

During their suspension students will still be permitted to travel on public transport on the student concession fare, but not the discounted 50 cent fare.

ryatie,

sorry to hear abt your morning sickness! make sure u take your Vit B's...suppose to help improve your symptoms and boost energy levels... i'm much luckier than u. i did feel a little nauseous in the 1st trimester but have never puked before. same when i had my son...

so which state u intending to settle?

Anthony,

unless either u or your wife is a PR on the birth of your child in Australia, baby not Aussie citizen so can't apply for aussie passport. but he/she acquires resident status till he's 10 yrs old. then he automatically becomes a citizen

to return to Sgp, think u need to call/write in to the Sgp Embassy based in Canberra. u'll need their help to arrange for a sgp passport. better plan ahead cos it'll take between 4-6 weeks....advisable to apply via ica.gov.sg

check this out under Consular services:

http://www.mfa.gov.sg/canberra/

here's a link and excerpt from the immi website:

http://www.citizenship.gov.au/automatic-citizenship/citz-by-birth.htm#b

"People born in Australia on or after 20 August 1986 become Australian citizens by birth if at least one parent is an Australian citizen or a permanent resident at the time of the person’s birth.

A child born in Australia to parents who are not permanent residents or Australian citizens acquires Australian citizenship automatically on his or her 10th birthday provided the child is ordinarily resident in Australia."

schooling

am i wierd ah? cos i wanted my boy to study in AU, to have relax study life.
yet i am afraid he will not be able to catch up with his peers in sg

Hi Ryatie &amp; Mrspiggy..congrats on ur new bb!

Ryatie..yes ur hubby can still take up a job in aussie..but co. will have to apply as work permit for him..

our application is also in process but my hubby has started hunting for job liao.. hope to go over asap..but first of all..the co. will have to apply work permit (if they want to) and work permit dun come so fast..think its takes about 2-3 months before u get it after apply..the usual number of years co will apply is for 2-3 years if i m not wrong.

mngo..

not u alone..me too have the same thinking as urs..

alot of my pals went there with their kids but end up got so worry that they decided to come back for schools in sg n not going back to aus anymore (prob till kids are older)..wat a waste but its depend on what u really want..

but think as long as ur kids study well there and get into a good uni in aus next time..he will have no prob coming back to sg to work (if want to) n catching up with his sg peers..cos many of my hubby colleagues (in gov board)r overseas student fm aus n they r as good as him! heehee

hello mummies!

Glad to find this thread!

I'd be relocating to Syd in July 08. Would like to know if any of you have contacts for shipping our stuff to Sydney? I don't intend to ship furniture...just personal stuff. But even personal stuff adds up to quite a bit! Any advice would be much appreciated!

beibei
your pals came back?
we complain tat in singapore , schooling system is too stressful for the kids.
yet ....

contradicting

mngo..

yup..some of them came back because of their kids. they said they still prefer the schooling system in sg and they r worry about their kids not catching up with those in sg.. they want their kids to be able to learn more..

beibei
haiz. damn funny .

i spoke to one of the pre school principal. she told me tat even pple talks abt au kids losing out in sg, however all of them ends up in the same uni as well.

This is my first post in this thread.

Is it possible for the parents to be Australia PR and the kid (born in singapore) apply to be Australia citizen &amp; maintain singapore PR (change from singapore citizen to PR)?

woofwoof
they will not allow chang from singapore citizen to singapore pr. you have to re apply for the singapore PR which will be subject to approval.

woofwoof,

your kid cannot be aussie citizen unless he was born in australia- and either one parent is a PR at time of birth. he can only apply for PR since he's born in Sgp.

durianlover,

how much stuff u thinking of shipping? and dun mind me asking r they necessities? have to do your calculations. if u'r talking about container load it can cost thousands. otherwise, DHL is about 1K plus for a jumbo box (approx 100kg).

i checked online on Singpost Speedpost SURFACE mail 30kg about $123 but takes 5-7 weeks.
i suggest to u to bring essentials....like my hubby said, dun too stressed. relocating is very stressful one. anything under $200 just buy in australia....some things r just not worth lugging along....

Hi mummies, been reading the thread, but not really posting, cos i'm Aust PR but not a mummy yet.

But since the topic of Aust / SG schooling system came up, I was just thinking, that last time, I used to think that I'd want my kids to be educated in Aust cos the system not stressful and I'd want my kids to have proper childhood and not be bogged down by tuition and homework.

But lately, I've been spending alot of time with friends in Aust and I see their kids (mostly pri), everyday after school watch TV and play video games. They never get homework, no tests, and always like got alot of school holidays!

I'm also starting to worry that if my kids go to school in Aust, they might not be as "dynamic" as the kids with S'pore education...

Interesting that others also had the same thoughts...

<font face="tahoma"> Hi ladies,
i seems to have the same thoughts abt the schooling system too. anyway, if we decided to stay put in Australia, guess it's alright since everyone there is having the same edu system. and they focus more on the kids' interests and let them excel in it. </font>

ozziemummie
heee.... u know wat? we are only bringing clothes , shoes and certs.

means - the rest, all to buy in au.

athlete
the best school - is at home.
even here in singapore, i do see kids loiter around. and i also have seen students playing, watching tv.

apparently, one of my frens studied in perth since kindy. he was in public school, and he was headhunted by singapore companies while he was in australia. currently, this fren is residing in singapore.

therefore, education sometimes does not mean all.

hi Athelete,
I am not sure what you mean by dynamic. The focus of their education is different. From pre-school or grade 1, their emphasis is critical thinking and speaking skills. Sg concentrates on academic. Yes singapore is academic focus, therefore the education seems to be better. I cannot really give comments on the quality of the australian students now. But my hubby will start teaching in a melbourne independent school this month. Perhaps, then I can give you a better comparision between the secondary schools in melbourne and in singapore.

For me, yes, I am concern about the quality of the schooling in australia. But, my hub said that the standard of our kids in our local neighbourhood secondary schools are not that fantastic. You will be surprised at the standard of english. If you compare Raffles etc, the standard is different. but Aus also has similar schools like melbourne high and mac robertson girls which are of the similar standard. My hub feels that australia schooling system gives my kids a more balanced education system. Things are not taught from purely academic view point. In my hub's new school, there is a rule that teachers should not give not more than 1 hour of homework per week per subject. However, being the KS mom, I will definitely supplement. 8P.

One thing you must take note is, the kids in australian schools are more outspoken and not as guai as our sg students. So some of them can be quite rude. You will need to educate your kids on that.

Tutition in australia. You will be surprised to know that there is a thriving tutition market in australia. The demand is fueled by asian parents such as us.. hehehe

If you are already set to settle in that country, you should try to accept the good and bad.

Last point, in australia, you need not have a degree to survive. Tradesman can earn equivalent or more than a degree holder.

mngo,
My hub is leaving in less than 2 weeks, still have not pack. Don't know what to pack. He wants to bring the whole house. 8P.

hopeac,
Hey my hb is also going to start teaching in an independent sch in Sydney in July!

RE: Aussie education
Yah my parents and in-laws all say we must come back to Sg when our kids enter P1, because they feel the education here in Sg is better. I'm also in a dilemma, but shall see how it goes. Anyway still have a few yrs to go before they hit Primary school age. My older girl is 2yrs old and my younger is 4 mths.

ozziemummie,
I'm in a real dilemma as to what to ship over. I intend to ship by sea so that when i go to Australia in July, the items would have arrived. But dunno what to ship and what not to. Sigh. I don't intend to ship furniture, but even then, personal belongings add up to quite a bit. Think i might go for Singpost surface mail

durianlover
do what is the best for your kids.

that principal i spoke to, told me aussie is a good place for my boy to study. there are too many kids in IMH

hi Durianlover,
What will he be teaching there? On contract or perm basis? My kids are older. My son is 5 this year, and my daughter is 3. Are you going over with him? For me, we will still be in singapore.

Mngo,
Sometimes, it is not the school that is pressurizing. Sometimes it is us parents. And my friend, an ex teacher said that nowdays we label kids as having problems too early, when they could be perfectly fine. Don't know if it it is true.

aust education.. i am also sharing the same tot.. but i am worrying, if the kiddo go over to aust for kiddy... can they really catch up when they enter pri 1???

my tots - at the end of the day, everyone gets the same degree.. (considering that the kiddo work hards enuff to get into a reputable uni?)... but also, in aust, trademan such as baker, painter, builder etc earns as much as or even more than an accountant in sg....

my bro tots (he is a tennis coach currently in aust) - aust kids after sch life is not studying ONLY.. they tend to have sports, play together.. healthier more balanced lifestyle....

but still the dilemma is still there to bring kiddo back for primary sch.... coz once start in aust, hard to come back... but start pri in sg, still can switch to aust in future... =/

hopeac, ur husb is in melb?? melb High is located where?? thanks!

hopeac
i am not sure if school or parents is the issue / problem. the other day, someone told me tat the kids in sg are expected to know syllabus even before the teacher teaches.

so, somehow the teacher will skip watever the kids already know.

maybe parents do have a part to play in tat area, given tat so many parents are super KS.

Wow, me sick for few days n so much discussions hv happened over here.

I got 2 kids, 6yrs old n 5mths old. Me instead of staying put, bcos of the kids education, am rushing to go over by end of this year cos the elder one needs to get into pri sch liao.

Yeah, I think the kids here r too pressurized. My dad used to work in IMH, he said such a pity to see some bright students ended in there cos can't take the pressure. Many also seeking psychiatric treatment. Just the other day I read on the paper, one foreign student who is studying psychiatry said he is looking forward to come to Singapore to work as psychiatrist here cos there is where the money is cos Singapore children r too pressurized.

Like what hopeac mentioned, we Asians parents more KS. Sure load our kids wz assessments, enrichments stuff, etc.

mngo,
Its true lor. Why do u think SG parents spent so much money sending their kids to enrichment classes? All trying to be ahead of the sch n their peers. In the end, the teacher just assumed all kids know, they just went ahead like bullet trains.

My niece was in a top secondary sch. She was complaining that once, her maths teacher gave them a worksheet, expect them to complete in 10mins, saying they shd know how to do (even before they were taught the topic). My niece cried cos she doesn't know how (she didn't go to enrichment classes). Also, these days, they made u do research work to learn something, they don't teach as much.

There's always 2 side to a coin. No rights or wrongs. Don't we all want the best for our kids, so just do what you feel is good for your kids.

hen, u going over to aussie end of this year? can share how we can start to apply for PR?