MOMMY CLUB - Yr 2007 P1's (Yr2000 Millennium & Dragon Babies)

Hi Jess/Rains,
My son's teacher has started with situational writing - diary and memo (I think). Brought home compo for hw yesterday...continuous writing.

Rain/ Jess,

all along, onlyshe sms me to change here n there. i always laise directly with the tutor. the problem is the tutor both the girls to be tutored together as they r of the same level.

we r not friends. i hate to hv friend like that. always so kiasu.. whatever that girl hv, she keeps on boasting infront o my girl. but if my girl hv, when she dont, her face will black black for the whole lesson. n dont talk to my girl.... like mother like daughter.

i will hack care her nw. if she change again. i will switch tutor!!

Thanks, Jess,

I didn't know about her daughter's response.

Sigh! Some people just have it all - good looks, intelligence, riches, even high-achiever daughters who are even better good lookers.

VQ,
Aiyo, it's so xin ku to be in such a company. You shouldn't have recommended her daughter to have tuition together with your daughter. Separate is fine though.

Rains,

i only recommend her my tutor n not recommend to hv tuition together. the tutor recommend them to be tutored cos they r of the same level n pace.

like today, my girl brought a new digital dict. to the class... the tutor said my girl's dict. is better as more function. that girl face black. before that, she brought hers to the class n keep on boasting to my girl. that time, i hv not buy one for her cos tutor recommend me to buy in china. better n cheaper. so last wk, i was in china n bought one back for her. then that girl sour grape liao.....

hey! sometime, i think crazy! i will continue to think of something to provoke both of mother n daughter!!! WaHahahaha.......... i wont lah! Heehee.... think only lah!

VQ,
Join us on facebook lah. You got one or not? *provoke*

I am curious about how you look. You're such a 'naughty' mother, and always so animated. Come lah. Add me: [email protected] and message me to know you are VQ.

<font size="+0"><font color="#FF0000">Wishing All Mummies</font></font>
5079607.jpg

5079608.gif

5079609.jpg

Hi! Happy CNY.
Now it is back to studies for the kids. My boy is having CA1 from 24th onwards... barely 2 weeks away. With 3 compulsory supplementary classes in a week, he has not much time to do his own revision, not sure how will his results fare this time....

hi Jess,
Same here, my girl has supplementary class 4 days a week. Everyday has homework to do.. no time to do revision.. I am still planning how to prepare her for the CA1..

Happy New Year, mummies!

Jess,
Wow, 3 supplementary classes a week. If your kid's school is not 'on', my kid's super switched 'off', man! There isn't any supplementary classes at all.

Rains,
Yr school is branded lah, maybe most of the children have external tuition, no time to attend supp classes.... Having supp classes doesn't mean "on", sometimes they just blindly follow other schools' practices, haha. Anyway, I think they are short of time to complete the syllabus becos the core subject teachers just teach the specific subject and none of the SS or music or art etc... so cannot steal time at all. With the often overrun weekly assembly and other celebrations or sick leave, they really need extra hours some times.

Jess,
You sound like you are in the school yourself - 'overrun weekly assembly, other celebrations, sick leave'. How you know assemblies are always overrun? Are you a parent volunteer? I hate overruns bcos it eats into my free time.

Mummies, gong xi fa cai!!! Sian! It's time of the yr again for prepare for CA!!!

Any mummy having issue w problem sums!!! I do n I dun know how to do...
Can anyone recommend me any website or books so that I can brush up my math?

Time management
My gal is seriously have issue w this... W supp class/tuition n so many homework, she is like doing work til 9.... How is ur kid with their time management? My gal tends to wander off

Past yr paper 2010
Anyone planning to buy or bot?
Me thinking but they r so ex...

Rains,
I am a full time mentor to my own kids and full time homemaker - where got energy to do parent voluntering? As a full time mentor, I often chit chat with my children about what happens in school to keep myself in the loop, that's how I know lor...

Dorothy,
Nowadays, many assessment books provide worked examples. Maybe you can try studying the worked examples given. But these days, the Maths and Science can be quite difficult to understand at times... have to seek help from various sources.

With regards to time management, luckily my boy doesn't have much homework, or rather he tries to complete homework in school. He also doesn't have any external tuition except for Chinese compo writing on Sundays. At home, I set aside work for him to complete within a week and he has to learn to manage his time. He knows that if he can afford to do faster, he will have more time to do his own things. Frankly speaking, I am glad that he has become quite sensible lately, much more self-motivated to do well which makes my coaching easier.

Dor, u can look at onsponge.com they conduct parent workshops for primary maths. 9pm still ok la. my boy tries to finish his homework in school whenever he can. only thing he needs my nagging is learning his ting xie.

he has outside classes so hardly has time to do the assessment books i bought. once in a while i try to get him to do few pages. think next year no need to buy liao.

Dor,
Y u look for maths class for yourself? Y not tuition class for ur darling?

u all still coach r children on their studies? I hv to speak fm the bottom of my heart, i really Pei Fu Pei Fu, Pei Fu De Wu Ti Tou Di!!!

fm P3 onwards, i already gave up liao.. pass it all to the tutors!!! I can only coach her on Chinese but i dont do that. I need to spend some time with my younger DD.

Rains,
Anyway, i wanna announce i put my girl into a tuition centre nw, for English, Maths &amp; Science Whereas Chinese to another tuition ctr which specialise in Chinese. My girl is very happy!!

Oh Jess,
In other word, you are a tai-tai.

Your son sounds like the most sensible among the kids here. *envy* I was chatting with a retired colleague who works on a contract basis and she said her son was very independent since a young age. She never spent a cent on her first two kids on tuition at all, and both went to RI and RGS. The only way she 'supervised' them was to open her mouth and say 'go and study'. The son only played computer games during the holidays and would shut the computer up when school opened. Now he's a high flyer earning big bucks! How envious!

Dorothy,
Actually, I find that many teachers also don't know how to solve the more challenging questions. I think it's crazy to invent all these stupid questions just to see who is the genius of them all.

I rarely coach my kid on Maths and Science bcos I want to get her to do Chinese and she does her work very slowly. She has never finished her work at 9pm. I thought yours was already very good to finish at 9. And I leave her English much to the tuition centre liao.

I think my husband bought last year's papers but I remember he was complaining about the papers not out yet a couple of weeks ago. I am not very sure if he got them becos we haven't got round to even starting using them!

VQ,
Can share which tuition centre you put your kid in? How do you decide which one to put in?

Just to share with you something funny:
I felt very tired after the continuous long hours at work for days and was wondering if I should take MC on Wednesday. Then I decided to go to work since I wasn't sick. When I reached my workplace, I saw a long list of names of colleagues taking MC. Even the huge whiteboard that's supposed to record the names of people taking MC was running out of space! And I thought to myself: so, many people were also thinking along the same line as I!

Vq, haha... Cos I do not want to depend on tutor... At least, I know n I can teach her straightaway...
Maybe to prepare my no2?
Haha

Rains,
You must be kidding. How to qualify as a tai tai if I hv to do everything myself? I do not even hv a decent Coach bag like yours leh....

Rains,

how i choose my ctr? we pass by one fine day n my girl told me, some classmates fm elite class go to this ctr. So there she goes too!!! they only hv a ctr in woodlands. not a branded one.

that girl who goes home tuition with my girl is very lonely nw. she can hv tuition anytime, any day her mother or she likes, hv tuition alone n pay more $$$. Serve u right!!!

my tutor asked me which tuition ctr do i send my girl to? i nvr reply cos i scare later that mother so "kiasu" to think that i send my girl there bcos the ctr is better. then she send her girl there too!!! frankly speaking, i dont wanna c her again!!!

nw that i spend less $$$ on tuition! i do hope my girl will do better after going to this new ctr. if not, i need to start searching again.

RE: ur old colleague
some ppl will only say good things abt their family, and wont complain abt them!

I had a ex-colleague who used to boast how her hubby loves her, etc... blar blar blar... and then we realise her hubby treat her like a maid. eg: every morning, after he brush teeth, wash face.. he expect my colleague to hv his breakfast ready on the dining table!!!

Dor,
wow! u r great leh! i know some mommies here also do coaching themselves. Pei Fu Pei Fu!!!

Jess,
Rains hv a GUCCI bag, not COACH! Coach is cheaper!! Wahahaha.....

Vq, aiyo... no lah... i just wan to try too...
cos no face ma if she ask n i dun know...last time.. our time also no so difficult...or maybe its me?

hahhahaha
yes yes!!! its GUCCI!

Jess,
You live in a condo, and supervise your kids in everything yourself. To me, that's a tai-tai's life. Bag or no bag - that's a personal choice. I want to be like you also cannot, so can only buy bags to make myself a little happier. I work until like horse - eyes only half-opened also need to go work. I don't have the luxury of choice to stay home even.

VQ,
Your colleague might actually enjoy preparing breakfast for her husband. Saying that she's treated like a maid is too harsh lah. Maybe the husband provides everything in the house and working is optional for your colleague. If that's the case, then I would expect the wife to run the house properly also, which includes preparation of breakfast.
Are you a working mother? I thought you're like Jess - a tai-tai.

dorothy,
haha ... my face long time ago throw until no more to throw. When she was in P4, she had too many Maths questions I could not answer. Wanted to pretend also cannot.
I still remember the first time she saw thro me:

She came to me and asked me how to do a problem sum.
I read the problem sum.
I realised I didn't know how to solve. But I didn't want to give up. I read it aloud. Still don't know. Then I read it one more time, aloud.
My kid asked me,"You don't know how to solve, is it?"
I looked at her, sheepish,"... er ya ... how you know?"
She answered,"Everytime you don't know how to solve, you'll read it again and again."
And she walked away.

Now she doesn't even bother to ask me.

Aiya, sorry, sorry remembered wrongly. But tai tai or not, we all make our own choices, life is different for everyone. You win some and lose some - it's a trade-off lor...

For me, I always tell my kids, mummy is not an encyclopedia, there are many things which they know and I don't. But I can help them to find out the answer if I do not know the answer myself. I am sure that even the teachers do not know all answers. Everyone must continue to learn and I lead by example.

Hey! Hey! Hey! Me no tai-tai ok!! I dont stay in condo, i dont own a branded bag!!!

oh! that ex-colleague! she dont enjoys to serve her husband cos she complains to some colleagues that she hv to wake up early to prepare n put on the dining table, if not, her husband will scold her until like dog!! But for the other group of colleague, she will boast on how her husband loves her. Anyway, i think this person is weird! she is a public enemy to most ppl in our co.... everybody dont like her!!

Jess,

The friend I mentioned who didn't like people buying branded bags once pointed at an LV bag and told me that's Coach also. I didn't correct her anyway bcos she might be offended if I did - she might think that I wanted to show her I was more 'knowledgeable'. Maybe Coach is more widely recognised than LV or Gucci. That's why many people use 'Coach' to represent branded bags. Let me go look at Coach bags now ... ... haha ...

VQ,

Oh oh, I also know this kind of people. At my previous workplace, there's this aunty who worked as a cleaner. For some reason, when I talked to her, she would tell me actually she didn't need to work since her daughter had graduated and started working. She chose to work. But one day, I overheard her grousing to another colleague,"How can don't work? Don't work where got money?!!"

I always thought you don't work. You sound very involved in your daughter's school work. If you're working, where got time to monitor or supervise her? There's always HDB tai-tai!

Rains,
Honestly, I do not know much about bags though I do know the brands that u hv mentioned. I think Coach came to my mind becos my SIL just came back fr US with some Coach bags and gave me a Coach handphone pouch. I don't think there is anything wrong in buying bags if u like and can afford them. 不偷不抢, ok what....

Wah, Jess,
"Some Coach bags" - you make it sound like there was a 大平卖 in the US. I've heard that prices are cheap there. Is it really?

Ya la, I also don't think there's anything wrong with buying bags. I did feel that she was crossing her line abit on how I want to spend my own money but I guess after working in different fields for more than ten years, we do think differently about many things now.

I don't particularly love bags as much as some people I know. I just want to treat myself abit better after working so hard for my kids. I spent alot more on my elder kid than myself every month and I felt that it was starting to take a toll on me psychologically. I started to say unpleasant things like 'I spend so much money on you and what have you done to me?!!'

I think that's a sure indication that I'd reached a point of saturation in terms of sacrifices. By buying something practical and at the same time comfy to me psychologically, I find that I feel better about myself and more balanced about my relationship with my kid.

Rains,
Coach is cheap in USA bcos u can buy them fm Coach factory outlet. Which tonnes of sporean did, when they go there? can buy cheaper things! Y NOT??

i agree with Jess! u r spending ur own hard earn $$ what!! hack care that person! BUT, i know, sometimes really, really very angry with this kind of idiot! sometimes, we jus need to reward n pamper ourselve!! Heehee....

i m a SAHM. but i dont think i tai-tai leh! i so busy with fetching 1 fm sch n then bring another to sch.... need to crack my brain to arrange her tuition timing, must make sure she is not tire out! another younger on what course should i send her to? this is a more challenging job which i ever had!

Hey! we should think what will be get fm our husband on this coming valentine's day?? Guess what i got last year? U ladies will nvr guess it right!!!! I got a Sea-horse brand foldable mattress fm my hubby!!!!! WaHahahaha....... cos i sleep on the floor with my younger DD!!! I like it so much leh! cos i like hard mattress!! Heehee...

VQ,
I never get anything from my husband. He gave me flowers during courtship days to trick me into thinking that he has a romantic side. After marriage, no more. He doesn't even remember that it's valentine's day. Or perhaps he does, but just too lazy to do anything. And so I HATE valentine's day. And I don't go out on valentine's day becos it feels horrible to be reminded of how lousy your husband is when you see other women having something with them.

Actually my ex-boyfriend never gave me anything for valentine's day and I told myself I would not marry someone like that. Guess it still comes back to square one. The more you try to run away from it, the more you'll get it.

I just got back from shanghai for my business trip today, went to duty free saw SK-II is 40% cheaper than counter price. So I decided to pamper myself, bought around $500+ worth of SKII product but dare not let my hubby know. He always think that buying branded staff is waste of money.
For many years my hubby would ask me to take leave on valentine's day and brought me out to movie, shopping , dinner etc. So i expect this year will be the same.

this is how i celebrate my V-day. jus got back fm JB. went this morning at abt 10am. we go for lunch then hubby go massage i go shoppping then meet at 2pm n come back!! Hahaha....

Rains,
so did u buy anything for ur hubby after marriage during V-day? do u think if u be patient n keep on giving him n 1 fine day he might returns? we also nvr buy things for each other often liao.. cos we prefer to spend time together... my hubby said got $$$ everyday also can celebrate V-day. WaHahaha.....

Cath,
Impart u a trick! next time, before u leave for biz trip to anywhere at airport, check in early n shop at the duty free... buy stuffs u want.. pay n tell the counter staff, u will only get ur stuffs when u r back to sin, show them ur e-tickets. they will transfer ur stuff to the nearest DFS near ur luggage belt!!

this way, u do not need to pay the GST. it will be even cheaper compare to, u buy them when u back! BUT, must remember to get fm the DFS counter when u r back!

VQ,
Didn't know is cheaper to buy at DFS before departing. Anyway, thanks for letting me know. I will do that on my next business trip.

VQ,
He bought flowers home. I told him he might as well don't buy them bcos there's no one to see. I am angry becos it's clearly a last min 'effort'. My colleagues received their flowers at the office and I know it's becos their husbands and boyfriends ordered them in advance. It just makes you feel horrible that your husband is not even up there on the scale with anybody's. Worse, he tried to 'explain' that he tried to get it sent to the office this morning but couldn't get any florist to do it. I said of course he couldn't becos everybody else did it way before today. I know you'll say it's better than nothing or flowers are expensive today. But precisely it's expensive he might as well don't buy since there's no one to see. We quarrelled instead. He hasn't got me any flowers for years and suddenly he went to buy. I can't help but feel that someone must have asked him to. He's such a lousy husband that such occasions only serve to emphasise it.

Rains,
u not good lah! he did make an effort to buy for u! i know how u feel, sometimes we women just wanted to "boast" we hv a "romantic" partner.

u should hv say thank you to him n tell him next time send them to ur office so that more ppl can c how loving n romantic he is. then the $$ he spend will be worthwhile mah!! if not, ur colleague think ur hubby no good! Men think of their "face" n $$$ in priorty! WaHahaha.....

But if he buys for u, gifts or flowers, pls pls pls.. dont "try to be smart" n say aiya so expensive next time dont buy... ur men will suddenly become so "kuai" n listen to u.. fm then on, u will nvr ever get anything fm him liao....

Cath,
no problem!

VQ,
I did say that there's no need to buy since there's no audience, but he knows I'm saying it in a fit of anger. But I'm also angry becos he gave it too late. I told a colleague that he never bothers about giving gifts immediately after marriage.

I won't ever ask him not to buy becos it's expensive. I know men will listen to you when they shouldn't.

Check with you, does your P5 kid has howmwork to do everyday. My girl has, she needs to attend 4 days suplementary class till 3pm and has lots of hoemworks to do everyday, by the time she finsh her school homework, is already past 9pm... there is no time to do revision for her CA1. I am worry that she may fail her CA1..

My son has HW almost everyday but he tries to complete as much as he can in school. So usually he is able to finish his HW before dinner.
Cath, your gal's situation is almost like my niece studying in CHIJ TP....on top of that she still does her mummy's assignments and exam papers. Very hardworking.

Jess,
The problem with my gal, she does her homework very slow..she is lazy type. She would drag till 9+ or 10pm then finish her hwomeowrk.. and tme to goto bed. I have not even started her with exam papaers yet.

Cath,
But your daughter's homework should be related to CA1, so I don't think she'll fail.
She finishes her homework at 9 or 10pm? I thought that's very good. My kid seldom finishes her homework at this kinda time. Usually she drags past 12am. And she wakes up at 5am. You'd think she would learn her lesson about not sleeping early, but she repeats this over and over again. Very exasperating!

rains,
I don't know whehter her homeworks are related to CA1 or not, what she does everyday is fraction and decimal points. She finishes her homework around 9 to 10pm is when I sit with her and force her to do, otherwise if she does it on her own, don't think 12am she can finish. Last Sunday evening when I came back from my biz trip, I found out that she has lots of school homework she did not do.. So I sat with her until 11:30pm. Till she finished her homework then let her go to bed.
Your daughter needs to wake up so early? my daughter wakes up 6:30am every morning, her father would send her to school by 7am.

Cath,
Fractions and Decimals are one of the common weak topics. I thought it good that your kid gets to do alot of it for homework.

My kid's schoolbus comes at 5.30am. I'd wish she had the luxury of being sent to school ourselves too.

rains,
My daughter used to take school bus at 6:20am, after a while, my hubby decided to drive her to school instead cause she always cannot wake up and missed the bus.

Cath,
haha ... my kid knows she has to wake up by hook or by crook bcos nobody can send her to school by car if she misses the bus, and I will usually wake her backside up first by beating it with a clothes hanger if she can't wake up.

There're times she misses it - about 3 to 4 times a year - bcos she's too tired. If it's not a very important day ie. CNY eve, I'll let her.

Rains,
aiyo.. u funny leh! beat ur DD with a clothes hanger!?!?! i nvr try before leh! later i go try!! WaHahaha.....

my DD also busy with her Supplementary for classes... plus tuition classes... i nvr buy any extra assessment books or test papers for her. cos she has no time to do n i m not interested to "mark" the papers for her!

after listening to my neighbour on how the boy whom she babysit complain abt his mom. i m relieve that i did not buy any extras for her!

that boy's mom bought a few assessment books for him n expect him to finish them... but the problem is, with the sch's busy schedule, he has no time at all. so when my neighbour reminded him to finish those papers... he goes:"Fed up lah! i hate my mom!!!"

rains,
I only smack her backside with my hands, not hanger.. my hubby always tell me don't be too hard on her when waking her up cause for kid usually difficult to wake up early in the morning. But I really don't have the patience leh.. always end up smacking her backside. So my hubby has taken over waking her up and drive her to school.

VQ,
Up till now, I have now given my daughter any past exam papers or assessment to do also.. with her supplementary classes, tuition etc.. there is no chance for me to give her extra do to.

VQ and Cath,

I know what you mean. I also can't find the time to give her exam papers to do. Used to be able to but this year, she does seem to have more work to do, altho I feel she could have done them more quickly.

I beat my kid with a clothes hanger becos the cane I bought has disappeared. I find that clothes hanger is effective becos it does inflict pain, and it's easy to find. Whether she really did hid the cane or not, she can't possibly hide all the clothes hangers.

Cath,
I'm not sure if we'd discussed this in this thread, but someone once told me that it's better to beat the child with a 'rod' (as in 'spare the rod and spoil the child') - something other than your hand, bcos hands are supposed to be for sayanging and praising, while a rod is for punishing.

She said something that I could imagine: a parent often hits the child with her hand. One day, she raised her hand wanting to sayang the child, but the child moved away from her hand instinctively becos the child thought she's going to hit him.

I thought that's kinda sad, so as much as possible, I beat my kid with something else.

I don't want to beat my kid if I can help it, but I get flustered when she just stares at the paper for long hours and not doing anything. One 1 to 3 questions in one hour - very angry lor. If she had tried, I wouldn't get so angry, but she just sat there and stared, or hid the book or play with a toy the minute I walked away. In the end, one paper takes 2 days to finish. I told her exam you fail already! I feel that like that must beat lah.

Going anywhere this March hols - whether with your kid/s or not?