Mom with thyroidism before pregnancy

shirlenzo

I have hyperthyroidism and gave birth to a baby boy. My endocrinologist said the chance of a boy to inherit the thyroidism is lower than a girl. So I'm happy and relieved.
Right now, I'm contemplating to have a second child. But the tot of them inheriting the sickness make me feel guiity.. Doctor says I'm lucky to be able to conceive. Some female patient tried very hard to conceive after contracting thyroidism.
How did the mommies with similar situation came through family planning?

Caviar,

I had hyperthyroid for 14 years now. It started since teenage and its hereditary. My father is a carrier as my grandma has hypothyroid. I understand your concern about inheriting to your kids. It is a dilemma. When I am into my 20s, doc are concerned to get it treated so that family planning will not be an issue for me. Luckily, it was under control just before I got married, and its been 5 years now. Yes, its true that conceiving may be difficult for people coming down with thyroidism. I had been ttc for 2 years before conceiving but end up in miscarriage. A year later, another miscarriage. But the miscarriages had nothing to do with the thyroid since its under control.

I loved kids a lot, I really want my own baby to complete the family. I will not let thyroid get in the way of family planning as it may not get to your baby.

Hi princess leopard,

Thanks for sharing. Which that is also my fear, my children diagnosed with thyroidism at teens and have to take medicine. Is it true that inherited thyroidism is incurable?
I doubt my condition is due to family history but from external stress. And I might take the radioactive iodine after my family planning.

Hi Caviar,

No, its not true. As thyroid runs in my family, my grandma, some aunties have thyroid. For 3rd generations, I am the one who got it. But we all have it under control. "Touchwood", so far no relapse. We only took medication, none of us went for iodine treatment or surgery.

I was asked to consider iodine treatment before, but I do not want to consider it, so I drag on and only took medication. Luckily, the blood test came back normal one day and I stopped medication since. But I still went back every 6 months for blood test to ensure no relapse.

Hi princess leopard,

Thanks for enlightening me. So inherited thyroidism has a chance to be cured completely too. I hope your thyroidism will be gone foreverrrrr.

My endocrinologist said my roller coaster readings make it hard to control. She has seen cases like mine and suggested iodine treatment is ultimately the solution.

These two days my heart tells me I should go for a second child. After your post has brought me good news, I feel I can seriously consider again.

May your next pregnancy be successful and give birth to a lovely and healthy baby
gambate!

Hi Caviar,

I got pregnant in the midst of treatment for my super high hyperthyroid condition. I gave birth to 2 very healthy girls (18 mths apart). So far both my girls are spared from contacting thyroid. But, I cannot rule out the possibility that they can get it when they are older.

Currently, my hyperthyroid is under control for almost 4 yrs now and still on medication tho'.

I think my thyroid is inherited....my mum and 2 of my sisters do not have thyroid, but my auntie, cousin and one of my sisters does and so do me.

Go with your heart.....trust your instint. Wish you luck and enjoy your parenthood once more or twice

Hi Snowball,

So women with thyroidism do not give up on family planning. I understand your point. Now I feel better after knowing women with similar condition can start their families too.
Yes, wish the best for our children that they will be free from thyroidism. Most importantly, we just want our children to be healthy.
D you ever blame your parents for passing the genes?

Hi Caviar,

Thanks!! I really hope my rainbow baby will come soon too! I will not give up trying and definitely not let thyroid get in my way. :D

Hope things goes smooth for you too!

Hi Carviar,

In fact, I was advised by my Company's GP who was treating my thyroid (roller coaster readings) to put away family plng till my condition is under control.

However, in the midst of treatment, I found out that I was pregnant....I went to see a gynae and was recommended to concurrently see an endrocrinologist to help monitor my condition.

After I had my first baby. My endrocrinologist told me that my thyroid condition is going to persist. But, I am given a clear go-ahead for #2 if I am plng for 1. I have had 2 very smooth and fuss-free, healthy pregnancies and is now a happy mum

I do not blame my parents for passing on the genes to us as they also do not know. My mum din have thyroid, but my aunt, cousin and sister do....so, its not really our own parents in per-se.

Hi everyone, I just found out I am pregnant after a miscarriage 10 months ago. I have hypothyroid and I am seeing my endo at kkh all along. During my last apt with my kkh endo, she told me I can go back to see her a year later. However since I m pregnant now, I wanted to see her ASAP so as to get my thyroid levels checked n monitored closely but kkh told me earliest I can see my endo will b mid of July!!! Too late right. Any sisters here got any recommendation for endocrinologist that I can go and see ASAP kind? Or any other suggestions. I m at such a loss now.... Am paranoid cos I kept feeling I lost my last bb cos of my thyroidism. TIA dearies

You may like to contact my endo at 67331636.
Endocrine clinic at Mt. E. She is Dr Ho Su Chin.
And she has another clinic at Novena. You may check which clinic has a nearer slot for you.
Not all endo sees pregnant women but she does.
Stay calm. I changed to Dr Ho at my last trimester.
Don't worry, you'll be fine. Everything just leave it to the doctor.

You're most welcome. I'm glad to be of some help.
Dr Ho's consultation is $100. Her medicine definitely charge higher than kkh. So whole thing may be $150-$200.

I heard hypo during pregnancy is more critical than hyper. You need correct dosage to supply enough thyroid to your child. Please get attention immediately. All the best.

I hv hypo thyroid and deliver 2kids at sgh..high risk clinic. .do fsr my pregancy was quite smooth. .just need take higher dosen blood test regularly. .

Hi twinklelittlestar, thx for your comforting words. Nice to hear u have 2 kids now. Such a blessing.

Hi caviar, I've seen dr Ho on wed. N boy, what big diff between pte and kkh!! So r the fees too! Haha. Dr Ho v good! So professional! She spent alot of time explaining to me in details. She also did ultrasound of my neck for me. But currently at this pt of time, she says nothing much to b done except continue my 50mcg thyroxine n c her back in 3 weeks time. She says she can't give me selenium to treat antibodies since I'm preg now.

Hi GBOB,

Oh, it's nice to know you have seen dr ho. Yea, sure expensive cos the ultrasound is already $100. But you will only need to do once. And the medicine prices a big diff compared to govt hospital. Nvm la, u pay for a peace of mind.

She's friendly and patient in replying our queries. Feel free to jot down your qns every time.
Happy preggie!

Caviar deary, seems like her fees went higher. Her ultrasound cost 150. I might need to re scan in the future down the road cos she says there's 2 nodules n 1 patch. Actually I m not too sure simi Lai eh.... Lolx... I lost my pregnancy symptoms totally Liao so I am v scared n worried that I might b having a missed miscarriage. I know I shdnt think n worry too much but cnt help it leh. Phobia cos of last year's mc. But then again, I psychoed myself into relaxing my mind abit by telling myself there's nothing much I can do and I've done my best. If bb is meant to stay with me, it will. If its not then it just mean that we not fated... Sorry for ranting girl

Hi GBOB,

I may remember the price of the scan wrongly. Hehe don't think she will increase so much.

I'm worried when u said u feel you have lost the pregnancy symptoms. I hope for the best for you...
Have you got a gynae to check?

Caviar, nope. I went kkh yst to c my usual endo who is also a Gynae n she says too early to do scanning as I was only 5w2d. She says do scan next week. I've gotten an apt with Prof Mahesh of NUH on 13 June which I will b ard 7weeks + by then so I guess I'll just stick to 13 June. Yesterday evening frequent urination seems to visit me back again as I went to the loo almost every hour. Woke up twice in the middle of the night to pee too. Had one big bowl of porridge for dinner last night and by midnight i was really hungry so DH gotta go get supper for me. Not sure if these r considered symptoms or not. Fingers, toes and everything else crossed for me. Guess there's nothing much I can do except to pray and wait....

Understand. Seems like you are experiencing the symptoms again. I'm sure you are looking forward to see the gynae.

Have plenty of rest and take great care!

When I'm preg..dr increase to 100mg..there was 2 weeks where I taken wrongly a lower dosage of 25mg and end up keep getting cold sweat and black out..I also have the antibodies which dr can't do anything..to it

Hi GBOB,

U take care & wish u all the very BEST

I was prescibed with PTU 100mg (2 tabs) 4 my hyoerthyroid throughout pregnancy until 6.5mths when my thyroid readings stabilises.

I need to take my med again 3 mths after birth as thyroid up again.

After another 2yrs, my readings finally back to normal n TSH readings also back to normal.

Work closely with your gynae n endro & u shd be fine

Work very closely

I have 2 boys, and they were conceived pretty easily. My thyroid issue stabilised in the last trimester due to pregnancy hormones. Continued with PTU throughout pregnancy cos my hormones were quite stubborn. Haha. My 2nd boy is 5 months old now. Only concern is how long I can bf him as I am on low dose PTU now. Not sure how long before my hormones act up again...... Then I'll have to stop bfing...

Hi Evelyn,

I actually stopped my PTU totally when I was bfing. I tot to myself that I dun wan to pass anything unnecessary to my baby. Hehe. My endo was unaware.

After 1 month, I got the infection at milk duct and I stopped bfing. My endo said I'm in the group where hormones go on roller coasting, difficult to stabilize. So she suggested I take the iodine after my family planning.

The only way to assure yourself is through blood test. I hope your hormones are behaving good

Hi Caviar,

Naughty naughty you! But glad you're ok! I can't afford not taking the medicine cos the hormones levels are not behaving! I try my best to pump and throw 2 hours after medication as suggested by Dr Ho. Though she said it is ok for the baby as very low amount of PTU goes into the milk, I thought better be kiasu a little :p

All the best to you! Hope all our condition go into remission for a long long time!!

My daughter is 2mths old & was diagnosed with congenital hypothyroidism during her new born tests. We have administered thyroxin since day 5 of her arrival & was informed by the doc that she needs to be on medication for the rest of her life.

Was crestfallen & could not believe we have striked the 1 in 6000 babies ratio. None of our family members have this condition & it was harsh truth to us because my HB has low sperm count & we managed to conceive her naturally & miraculously.

Now I feed her with 25mg thyroxin every day into her morning feed. Blood tests results show normal hormonal levels after 1 mth. Seeing her grow healthily is my biggest wish.

Any mummies here who are congenital hypothyroidism? Shld I bring my baby to see a paediatric endo instead coz I'm seeing my PD in Gleneagles who is a normal PD

hi, my wife is 10 weeks pregnant now and she has hypo thyroidtism. She is taking 25mg tablet pre pregancy. We have her tsh, ft3 and ft4 checked on week4 by our GP. The levels were normal with tsh below 2.5.

We did show the results to our gynae at nuh but he is not concerned about is at all. We requested him to check tsh levels when we visited on week6, week8 but he said we will test it on week13. He recommended to continue 25 mg only and did not increase dosage at all. After reading material on internet, I am really worried about our baby. Can you recommend any gyane and endocrinologist who can help us on this urgently. Appreciate your help ! thanks !

Hi Vishal, I have hyper thyroidism and seeing a specialist at TTSH. Has been seeing him since two months before I get pregnant. I suppose that Gynae should be very concern as one way or another might affect bb is conditionis too high or too low. Why not you seek another gynae's opinion?

Hi cel_ thanks for your kind reply and kind suggestion. We went to GP and took thyroid function test on week10 ourselves. The TSH was 2.37, Free T3 3.9 and Free T4 15.8. GP said nothing to worry about and everything looks normal. He said our gynae could be well experienced hence he did not suggest to test it in earlier weeks. I kind of believe it now...

When I looked through internet, free T3 & free T4 are the actual hormones essential for the baby and TSH is just a stimulating hormone to produce fT3 & fT4. Does any one here understand these 3 hormones better?

Need to seek advise from mummies having thyroid issue ..Is the blood tests for newborn done immediately after birth?

I m due in oct and I do not know who will be The assigned Pd . So would appreciate experienced mummy to share what's the procedure in cases like this

Lala, my baby blood test was tested straight after birth. The blood was used from the umbilical cord, I think. When I first visited my Gynae, I already let her know of my thyroid condition. Thereafter, she wrote on my admission letter that I have hyperthyroid and blood test is needed for my baby. Few days later then the blood test result will be out. My baby had a slight hyperthyroid initially and it was all passed out in the first two weeks of her life. Her specialist pd was recommended by TMC pd. My baby was on a very very small dose of medicine.. (I forgot the name).. Now I have to monitor her growth in terms of height, weight and head circumference.. Every year needs to have her blood test done at the specialist pd till she is 5 yrs old.. Cos d pd informed us if the thyroid is too low.. It will affect her IQ.. Hope this info helps.

Thanks I will highlight the need for thyroid test to my Gynae on the next visit. He is aware of my hyperthyroid condition but i din see any additional information on my admission letter .

I'm new here, I have thyroid problem ( simple goiter for many years), my baby is 5 months old, when my baby was born her blood test result out with thyroid problem, i bring my baby to KKH for blood test one more time after birth 12 days, lucky me the result out with normal, i ask Dr for more imformation, the Dr said for thyroid problem do blood test just after birth 1 day was not exactly, need to wait after birth 12 days and above. Hope my baby grown up without thyroid problem