MMI @ katong shopping centre

Hi jamie and elaine,
if there is shower time, then also bring the towel and comb. Not sure if you need to bring milk powder as full day students need to bring the milk.

patrick was the last kid to be toilet train then and even till now also sometimes wet the mattress or clothes when he nap. But i normally put 2 sets of clothes, underwear and 2 plastic bags (just in case). Elaine, you can ask the teachers to help in school as when back home, no time to train.

elaine, smallbell
yes i agree, its not easy to toilet train. sometimes when chloe is too engross during playtime or tv she forgets & still will wet lor. will get the teachers in school to help.

smallbell
no shower for chloe coz its half day. will give her milk after school.

Hi jamie,
if chloe needs a particular milk brand during breakfast or snack time, do let the teacher know. And also the school will ask if she has any allergic to food as sometimes during birthday party, field trips or some festive celebration, they will give students outside food.

i have not night toilet train yet, will start when i receive the waterproof mattress that i bought from BP. Hope can succeed.

hi ladies....
finally Zhaohui smile when he reach school TODAY

heeeheee so so happy, yesterday go bring him back from sch he already says he want to go school tomorrow.... then today he really never cry or struggle in e morning.

smallbell
do share your comments after u tried the waterproof mattress or mattress protector? i'm keen to get if it works.

elaine
thats great!! its really nice to know when our child looks forward to school.

hi elaine,
wow, what a change. Any idea what made him change overnight to like school?

Hi jamie,
ok sure. But to think about the part of waking up every few hours in the night to bring him to the toilet is tiring.

hi small bell,
i also dont know wat makes him likes to go sch now.... perhaps is e teacher who psycho him la... if not then maybe his class got PRETTY girls lor.... haahaaa

smallbell
actually i dont intend to wake chloe up at nite for pee pee. coz she will get really cranky for breaking her sleep.

elaine
probably he has make new friends liao

Hi elaine,
hahaha....maybe he is more familiar with the environment and friends already, so he liked school. what a change...

hi jamie,
ic. actually if only using one diaper at night, is not ex. Rather than to wake chloe up.

smallbell
yeah, i only use 1 diaper at night. but somehow still need to night toilet train her. wonder how, besides waking her up.

smallbell
yeah would think so, when she can understand better.
brought her to school to register yesterday, she got so excited seeing those children there. just hope she stays this way when the time comes.

hi jamie,
oh really! but you don't have to worry, just like Zhaohui, i am sure she can adapt to school. Maybe you can try talking to her about school things to let her get an idea that she will be starting soon. When is her first day?

smallbell
i already start telling her almost everyday, but she always say saturday coz thats when she attend the playgroup

her 1st day is 2nd Mar since 1st Mar is sunday.

hi jamie....

WELCOME Chloe to MMI.... heheeee
hopefully she n Zhaohui can be in e same class...
so will u be follow her to through e class on e 1st few days??

hi jamie,
tat's good then u can help me see how my boy behaving during e lesson....
Dont have to bring bibs la... just put an extra clothes if u want lor...

elaine
it would be interesting to see whats happening during class. will keep alookout for your boy
dont worry he shd be ok liao since he look forward to school

don t know leh.... maybe sat n sunday stay with us too much then monday dont want go sch lor... if not then is e teacher there got scold him before lor...
cos he is those type tat dont like ppl to say cannot...or if someone raise e volume abit then he will be very very scared.

tis wkend we going genting then monday he will sure cry again when going sch...

elaine
chloe also like tat leh.

wow genting! i hv not been there for ages!! u can try talking about school again when u on the way back, to get him prepared there's school on monday.

elaine
hows your genting trip?

smallbell
finally i get to see your patrick, he joined us in the playgroup on sat. cute boy!!

Hi elaine and jamie,
Good morning, i have been busy at work last week, didn't log on here.

how's your genting trip? as for the teacher raising voice part, it takes awhile for zhaohui to forget about the incident. Need to give him more time. Hope he will stop crying.

jamie,
oh he join playgroup...hahaha. He often claim that he is now a big boy, no longer in the PG class but he misses his teachers in the PG class. Chloe starting next week, how many days are you staying with her?

smallbell

yup chloe starting on mon. if she adapts well & fast then i wont stay with her for long. hopefully only the 1st few days.

hi smallbell and jamie,

i'm back from e trip.... enjoy e trip but tis time round we book Theme park hotel which is a wrong wrong choice cos is quite far from e indoor theme park and casino... hehe
I didnt manage to play enough of my jackpot
cos of my little girl
Then my Zhaohui also keep saying he wants to come home.... but now when he is back he says he want to go there see his 3 little bears.... :~ cant stand him...

jamie,
u must be very excited since chloe starting sch next week... so fast...
i'll be sending my little girl there end of tis yr or beginning next yr too cos my maid says she wants to go back end of tis year.... lucky my little girl will be 18months by dec.....

elaine
i hv not been to genting for donkey years, i bet things must hv changed alot with better facilities now.

yeah, i'm very excited abt next week but at the same time worrying too coz i'm not sure how chloe will react in school. but i guess we hv to start somewhere.
wow, putting your girl there this year end, thats very fast!! by then both siblings can go to school together

hi elaine,
welcome back...hahaha zhaohui so cute. I prefer first world hotel though the rooms smaller. Did you drive up or took the coach? I like both the outdoor and indoor theme park.

There is a sibling at MMI from China. Not sure if you have seen a girl called "nuo nuo" and her younger brother is called "she he". At first the sister enter school first and when the brother join her, much easier to adapt for him. And MMI is the open concept, so sibling can still see each other. Compare to other childcare that might not see the sibling at all for the whole day.

hi jamie,
who takes care of your younger child when you accompany Chloe to school next week?

hi smallbell,

we drove there.... actually tis time we wanna take coach there but lucky our new car arrive just 1 wk before we depart so we decided to drive there as it is much more convenient when we need to bring so so many kid's stuff...
Moreover coach not very cheap when there is lots of ppl travelling along....
I also prefer 1st world cos so much more convenient. U like to drive up there too??
Me n hubby loves to drive up to malaysia... especially to malacca n genting, we have drive to desaru n kukup before we have our 2 children... last time before we have a car we usually take a coach from JB.... i really miss those days that i can go for a short trip whenever i like.... have both of u been to sibu island, tioman island, redang island, taman negara, n lots more.... i really miss it...
recently a friend who i used to go to short trip with came to ask me when i can join her again but she says no kids allow... hai.... she only intend to go with me alone....
e only thing attact me to genting is e cool weather n e JACKPOT...hahahaaaa nothing else

Hi jamie,
oh, you are so lucky to have her help.

Hi elaine,
i never dared to drive up genting. I tried driving into JB twice before and really scared with the way they drove, cutting into lanes, having to lock the car doors at all time. I wouldn't take the challenge to venture further than JB. Genting's attractions and food are suitable for kids. I have not been to Sibu and Redang island yet. Are these places suitable for kids?

Jamie, you can find time to bring the kids to Genting, they can spend whole day at the indoor theme park for a cheap price, very worth it.

oh ya, those times without the kids are great, can travel freely. Sadly quite hard to travel nowadays. I wanted to go Australia for holiday but Patrick cannot accept western food. He only eats chinese food, must have rice.

elaine
wow genting sounds fun esp for the family! honestly i dont really like malaysia. but u all make it sound so fun & interesting that i may consider
my hubby always wanted to go with the kids, its ME that is reluctant. infact just last nite, he mentioned wanted to go when he's less busy but by then chloe already started school, and we didnt really want to go during wkends coz its more crowded?? furthermore we hv never drove in malaysia & dare not coz we heard so many horrid stories abt it. haiz ....

smallbell
aussie is another great place esp with kids. u can actually stay in those serviced apt so u can cook for him. thats wat i did when we brought chloe over 2 yrs ago when she's abt 10mths.

hi jamie,
MMI is quite flexible if students don't attend class for a few days. I don't think PG class have timetable so anytime you can go. Oh good suggestion to go aussie and stay in apartment. I shall consider then but probably not this year as hubby wil be quite busy at work.

smallbell
chloe will be in N1 so got timetable rite? wanted to go aussie but hubby said mkt bad so go nearby lor which is malaysia or bintan. but will definitely visit aussie again as we want to go for farm stay with our kids.

Hi jamie,
Chloe is how old now? how come go to N1?

Oh bintan will be a good choice too. Kids can play at the beach.

hi smallbell,
Sibu n redang not suitable for kids la... cos is more for snokelling n diving unless u dont mind to just stay a shore with ur kids cos for redang e water near e shore is so clear tat we can see fishes without having to go far out e sea.
N2 got homework??

hi jamie....
genting is a good place for kids can play e indoor theme park till they very tired... i nv go outdoor theme park cos most of e games kids cant play so we give it a miss....
N1 got timetable liao.... but i thk to miss a few days of lesson should be alrite la... if not forever u cant go aboard liao since MMI dont have sch holidays :p

elaine
genting sounds good, so tempting leh! did u book 2 rooms or the room big enough to accomodate 4 of u? i suppose cant cook in the room then what did your girl eat? my boy cant sit for long leh, how to tahan the whole journey. haiz ... unlike plane, can still carry him around.

Hi elaine,
N2 no homework yet, whew! only starts in K1.

MMI has a few days of closure per year for teacher training and school year end concert and sometimes after a festive holiday, such as xmas, they are also close. Do keep a look out at the memo book, i have sometimes miss out some important information if i did not open up the book to check.

Hi jamie,
if you take coach, there will be 2-3 toilet break and meal break. So your boy can walk around when the coach stops. As for Chloe, what type of food does she prefer? there are whole range of fast food (KFC, macdonald), chinese restaurants, food court and international buffet at genting. They even sell diaper at the watson. So food should not be a problem.

HI JAMIE,
usually i book 2 rooms 1 for me, hubby n 2 kids then e other one for maid n mother but this time round we book a quad room for 4 but is a theme park hotel as we thought e room bigger better n staying together can let kids got attention by everyone but we r wrong... cos 1stly e themepark hotel is too far from e indoor theme park which is at 1st world then also most imptly is very far from e CASINO heheheeeee....
then no privacy lor... can imagine we all sleep in e same room.... at 1st i thought better cos like tat maid can help me look after e kids since sharing same room cos previously when i book 2 rooms then maid will enjoy watching TV in e other room as both my NAUGHTY kids dont want to follow her only want to stay in my room then i will need to look after them without e maid...
But after e trip i came to realise 2 separate rooms are still better..... privacy n location of hotel very impt.... so if u really want to go genting can try 1st world hotel although e rooms are very small but is very accessible.

Zhaohui didnt eat much recently too... be it at home or in genting... he survive on MILK.... then my little girl also survive on MILK only...

smallbell
my boy is only 11mths so cant walk yet. thats y i'm abit concerned abt the long journey. he's one who cant sit for long. chloe is easier, she's a milk lover & as long there's bread, she's fine. unlike patrick who needs rice which i like! wish chloe is like tat too.

elaine
my recent trip to HK i also book separate rooms coz their rooms are small so cant accommodate all of us. anyway i hv not tried putting my boy & chloe to sleep together yet so i'm not sure if book a bigger room is a gd idea, coz chloe tend to wake up in the middle of the nite for assurance so might disturb/ wake my boy.
will try 1st world if my trip is confirmed. rather go for accessiblity.
actually chloe also doesnt eat much, esp rice or porridge. really headache, dont know what to cook for her meals! u didnt bring any cereal for your girl during the trip? my boy now is on 2 solids a day.

Hi elaine,
that's good, at least both kids drink lots of milk. This is much easier when travelling, you don't need to search for food. Does Zhaohui eat well in school?

Hi jamie,
maybe can carry him in baby carrier to walk around the coach. Last time i book the coach that has karaoke and massage services. On the upper deck are the seats and lower deck, there is a large area (with sofa, massage chair, tv). This area you are free to walk around. Just pay a little more for the added service.

When patrick started cc, he could not accept most of the food given in school. That is my fault to blame as when i was SAHM, i only cook porridge everyday, so he doesn't know how to eat other type of food, cereal, pizza, noodles, bread. Initially teachers are so worried as he also never drink much milk. They even use spoon feed him daily. Then few months later, after being expose to the variety of food and i think is due to hunger and peer pressure, he eats everything they serve. So kids do change after going cc, not to worry.

smallbell
i didnt know coach got such service ... interesting! isit cramp to hv those sofa & massage chair ard?? then the walking space will be very narrow? wouldnt it be dangerous to walk when the bus is cruising? sorry ... i'm one of those mountain tortise (swa ku) mum

i also hope when chloe starts school, she will eat more!

hi jamie,
nope, there are 2 level, similar to our double deck bus. The upper deck is for seats only, no sofa. Then lower deck is where we can put luggage and the sofa. I think i went to WTS travel. Most travel agency (specilize in malaysia) should have such luxury coach but take note that price might be slightly higher compare to normal coach. Usually i prefer taking morning coach, at least safer. If not risky of having a sleepy driver. But some people prefer night coach so that kids can sleep and not disturb.

As for walking around is ok as these coach are double deck, so the speed is still not as fast and along the KL expressway, the journey is quite smooth, no traffic lights where the coach will jerk stop.

Chloe will eat bfast and lunch in school? or bfast and snack only?

smallbell
tks for the info on the luxury coach. will check it out shd we decide to make the trip.

chloe will take breakfast (milk) at home. snack & lunch in school.

Hi jamie,
then no worries, she will have 2 meals in school, very soon will learn to accept all kind of food and eat more. Actually don't think you need to feed her breakfast at home, school provides breakfast.

Tomorrow is Chloe's 1st day in school, must be exciting for her, hope both of you will enjoy and give us your feedback after the day.

smallbell
i know the school provides breakfast but i dont intend to send her there so early. will reach there ard 8.45am latest to let her warm up before class starts at 9am.