Jurong West Mums

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies,
Where do normally have your hair cut? Any recommendations for good and "not-too-expensive" hair salon around our area?</font>

Hi YT,

There is a new MMI at Jurong West sports complex.
The full day charges is $600. quite reasonable.
They will start operation on 13/Aug. You might want to take a look at the centre.
I dont know about Gracefields, but I went to Carpe Diem. Dont like the evironment.

Hi ET,

I know abt the new MMI at Jurong West, last sat they have a open house but I need to work so can't go. I am trying to find childcare arou taman jurong area as next year high chances I might be moving over there.

Other than environment at carpe diem, any other things that are not good?

Hi Gilbert,

I think it depends whether the gynae ur wife seeing is in the list anot, cos i heard only some gynaes are in the list n can get discount for consultations... those popular ones in TMC mainly not in list n dun have discount for consulations...

thanks jurong gal,

is dr kee in the list?

besides discount on consultation, any discount on delivery pkg? wat other discount will a FBI get?

<font color="0000ff">Liyun,
Welcome to the thread!

<u>MMI at Jurong Sports & Recreation Centre</u>
Any feedback? What is the fee and program structure?</font>

I m looking for mummies who got empty rooms to house 2 taiwan girls & 1 taiwan boy studying in Secondary school/informatics in Singapore.

here below is the criteria:-
Area: Jln Bahar / Jurong west ave 5 / Jurong Pt area
Meals: 3 meals (breakfast, lunch & dinner)
Laundry: alternate day washing & ironing
Internet: Wireless internet (kids have their own laptop)
Rooms: Air-con (usage 10pm-8am or 10 hours daily) / twin sharing or single with wardrobe

Interested parties, email me at [email protected], i will provide more details over the email

hi bbloh,

I have yet to have the chance to try out MMI cos baby only due next year, didnt know anyone who sends their kids there...

Which preschool 3-4 hours type did you put your kids in to? Care to recommend

Hi! Anyone knows of any nanny who lives around JW St 50s or 40s? I'm searching for one desperately. Preferably an experienced one as my baby is nearing 1 yr old and he has separation anxiety.

<font color="0000ff">My friend and I are looking for playgroups for our tots (currently about 18 - 19 mo). I heard that Talent Plus or Apple Tree playgroups are not bad. Do you have any feedback? Or, do you have any other recommendations? My colleague said Ichiban located near Nantah is not bad - he sent his 2 kids there.</font>

Hi, i am staying at JW too. Im new at this thread. Think will come to this thread to chat often... Im currently looking for enrichment lesson for my 10mth old boy to attend,hope to find around west side, heard that Baby Jumper Gym @ bukit batok not bad, train brain development. Anyone join b4, care to give feedback? Or anyone interested, wana join The little crawler2 together? 1 adult can accompany in. Can log on http://www.bjg.com.sg/ to check it out

Hi bbloh,

Is there talentplus in Jurong West ? My gal is turning 18 months, im keen to let her join playgroup too. Is MMI at JW extension swimming pool good ?

Hi Joanne,

Welcome! I hv brought my gal to BJG for a trial once last year. I find their resources very limited. They just do flashcards n play ard at the small playground gym..esp when ur boy start walking soon, might not have sufficient space to roam abt as its quite cramped there...

<font color="0000ff">stressie,
Yes, there's a Talent Plus branch at JW.

No idea on MMI @ JSRC but my colleague visited once on a Friday afternoon and said that the students to teacher ratio is too big.

Joanne,
I went for a trial at BJG too. IMO, it's value for money if you want to combine both mental and physical activities in one session. Go for the trial before you decide. It cost only $20 when I went for a trial last year.

Someone told me Apple Tree playgroup is good too. Any comments?

Has anyone been to Zoo-phonics located above OCBC at Hong Kar? They also have weekday playgroups.

What about Whispering Hearts (opposite Jurong Point) and Little Tree playgroup?</font>

Hi bbloh,
I have sign up for the BJG @ bukit batok liao. I keen on the flash card things, heard lot of gd comment on this flash card, but must train till ard 1-2yrs like that, hope that can train my son brain, hehehe... Maybe aft a term with them, i may stop, n teach my son flash card at home myself. Go there tou1 shi1 abit... Lots of mummies did at home after learning it. =D I do afew research on school at west area, there are afew i think not bad in the forum, but have not try b4 as my boy still not 18mth. They are Tumble Tots, Kinderland, Kindermusik, Just kids. They are located at jurong east n jurong west. So far cant find any good school at JW leh... If there is once, pls reccomand mi as well. I think ur research are more, cos just view the school website u given, find them all not bad wor... Will consider them too when my boy turn 18mth.

Hi stressie,
MMI @ jw ext. quite expensive... Lot of people in forum reccommend them. Neva try it b4 too, but jurong west n jurong east have oso, but charges n duration not same as JW EXT leh, n JW EXT dun allow mummies to accompany BB in class. I find that 18mth still small, it best can attend with 1 adult, n JW n JE branch allow. If u got more information regarding this or u got go trial, do update mi too, may like to let my BB attend MMI when he reach 18mth.

<font color="0000ff">Joanne,
May I know how much you've paid for BJG (term charges, registration, T-shirt, etc.)?

There's a Kindermusik branch at Frontier CC. You can contact May at 94525200 for a trial. She's a nice lady with a young daughter. They have program for younger tots.

Recently, I found that there's a Little Learners centre near my place who takes in tots from 18 mo. Not sure if it's good though.</font>

BBloh,

Course fee:$395 (10 lesson)
Deposit:$100 (refundable upon withdrawal at end of term))
reg fee: $40
t-shirt:$10

Time being, just try out the BJG for the flashcard... For kindermusik, i think will let him take up the kindermusik Our Time which is meant for 18mth n above, i think that programme is better, can dance too with bb knowing hw to walk. I have contact May, think she is not teaching anymore, she is going to indonesia

Thanks for your reply.

May is not teaching anymore? It's surprising as she'd just set up the centre at Frontier CC only few months ago. I attended a trial in Nov 2007 but didn't really like the program.

If you don't mind travelling to Orchard area, you can go for a trial at Magic Fiddler (http://www.magicfiddler.com/frames.html) - I personally feel it's much better than Kindermusik, and both parents can join the class together with the kid and play with *real* digital piano at the end of the class!</font>

bbloh,

Orchard is too far for me... i prefer west side, cos if travel here n there, i scare by the time i reach there, bb tired liao. hee...

I also stay in jurong west and have a baby boy who is turning 8mths old soon.

Can I join you all. I am also looking for enrichment classes for my super active boy. I am thinking to go trial at both kindermusik and BJG. Any other good ones around West area? I am thinking to let my boy join enrichment class when he at abt 10-12mths old.

My boy is currently attanding BJG now, thinking of finding a school for him when he reach 18mth. Heard that zoophonics is not bad n is just located at JW. Anyone attend zoophonic with their kids during 18mth? Hw was their reaction? Im afraid he cant sit still for 2hr class n zoophonics group 18mth-2yrs old kids together, im afraid that my child cant catch up with the teaching, eg. when he cant even talk properly, can he really learn during this age, 18mth? Or Shall i let him attend when he is much older? Do give me advice pls, mummies out there?

i'm giving birth soon too! haha. In march.

I heard about glenn domans so went to buy some flashcards yesterday! haha... I will start flashing those cards to my baby girl once she's born~

Now i'm trying to know what shichida is about. anyway, i'm so KS!

Kiasu jurong west mama. hahaha...

I would like to know if Jurong West mums goes to this Gynae for your maternity check? John TL Lim Clinic Blk 492 or you all go to Gynae in Hospital? Think it's cheaper and convenient compared to going Hospital for check up. I wonder which hospital most Jurong mums go to.

<font color="0000ff">Veronica,
I went to Women's Specialist near Bukit Batok Central for my pre-natal checkup and deliver at Mt Elizabeth Hospital. I heard that quite a no. of mum-to-be visit the clinics (can't remember which one) at Jurong Point.

Costs are not much different whether the clinic is located in hospital or not, if you're seeing as a private patient. Convenience is subjective based on your time availability &amp; the clinic's operating hours, your home &amp; work location (if you're working). If you want cheaper pre-natal checkups, go to polyclincs (only selected ones offer the service - call to check) and ask them to refer you to KKH nearer to your EDD.</font>

Hi all Jurong West's mummies,

Ur bb turnning 1yr old soon, planning to let him attend zoophonic school at JW when he/she reach 18th with mi? My bb still @ 11mth old, need to wait till he 18mth then reg for him in zoophonic, those BB born in feb/march 2007 wana join me together when bb reach 18mth? Heard that the school is not bad...

You can go for a trial at Zoo-phonics when your baby reaches 18 months. It costs $25 (IIRC).</font>

Hi bbloh,

That what i think of too, i will go 4 a trial when bb reach 18mth n c he it turn out... Just wana find some JW kakis go together, esp those same age with my bb.

hey i new here and i living in jurong cos i from amk marry to jurong and i had a 6 mth plus baby but i give birth at about 32 week and now is consider 4 mth can anyone suggest me som3 baby food i can give to my baby thanks...cos i am also a very new mummy and i been taking care of my baby since she was born but how many month must give her wat food i dun know and i hope anyone can give me some wedsite or recommend

Anyone been to Jurong Fishery Port before ?

Do they have whole cod or salmon fish there ? How much cheaper than outside ?

Also, when is the best time to visit ?

hello!to all JW mummies! is this thread still active? I am a SAHM with a 4 months plus DS

Tamarind, you are here too?

Hi Jas...

Welcome to the JW mummies club...
Does anyone need a P/T Maid to clean your house??
I had one to intro..

I had a full time maid now thus not using her and i felt bad about it as i used her for the past 12 months and shes really good with housework.. she even offers to buy cleaning detergents for me.

hi sherlin,

i may need a p/t maid in near future. But not now. will consult you in future. u dun need a maid ald?

Hi Jas

I had a full time maid now cos hiring a day time nanny cost more than a maid and a maid can help me clean the house, so i got a full time one..

Hi May

She charges the usual $10 per hour, she's an indonesian and she studies part time in Singapore and her auntie is working in Singapore. Thus she is trustworthy and honest
Not to mention, she is very hardworking as she travels all over Singapore cleaning houses.. she is a referral from my colleague. Can speak english so no problem communicating. I can PM you her contact if you want.