How to remove stretchmark? Which product is better?

snowbelle

I just noticed that I got stretchmarks at my lower tummy... red ones... Any idea what I can apply to remove them during and after pregnancy?

Some ladies recommended the following products, anyone use before? Are they effective to get rid or fade the stretch marks?

- Elancyl Stretchmark Concentrate
- Clarins Stretch Mark Control
- Bio-oil

Thanks a lot!

try floxia restructuring cream, available at certain clinics only.. not bad, and somemore it's recommended from word of mouth.. but quite ex around SGD50. Sorry never tried the ones mentioned

Some of my gals did nothing and there is no stretch marks at all....envy them

whoa, they are VERY lucky! I have unsighty stretch marks around my stomach area.. haiz.. and the black line too.. gynae says some people's black line just refuse to disappear.. and will remain permanent for live.. cannot wear bikini liao ;( .. I guess my problem was my belly too big as compare to my size.. the bb was 3.505kg at birth, so tend to have stretch marks.. ;(

Snowbelle,

Have u started trying any of the stretchmark cream recommended? Any one that you find it good?

I used Palmer's Cocoa Butter during my pregnancy - initial stage, I did not have any stretch mark but as my belly got bigger, I began to feel itchy. My obst. recommended me to use QV lotion instead (for sensitive skin). He commented that the cocoa butter might be unsuitable for me. When I asked him to recommend a suitable product to prevent the development of stretch marks, he told me no 1 product could do so.

Now I have delivered my girl for almost a month, the black line along the centre of my tummy and red stretch marks are still obvious, I am also wondering how to get rid of them.. really no hope? I just bought a new set of bikini before I realised I was pregnant back then... no chance to use it yet =(

anyone tried the bodyshop stretchmark improver. wonder if its effective?

need a stretchmark remover as well. mine is so unsightly.

my bb is coming 13 mth. i hv very bad stretchmarks. i started applying since i was in my 2nd mth pregnant. in my 5mth the stretchmark starts to develop. and it gets more and more. i also swim during my 2nd and 3rd trimester bcos pple say can help to firm up the skin to prevent stretchmark.
i used mustella, body shop coco butter stick and lotion. seems like no use. i think it all has to do with your skin elasticity..no way to prevent. din spend too much on all these pdts.

Yvonne,

I've not tried any of the stretchmark removal cream/oil yet... gotten more and more stretchmarks for the past few weeks... I think coz my belly is expanding faster now...

I've used Palmer's Cocoa Butter before but got rashes after using it...

- Elancyl Stretchmark Concentrate
- Clarins Stretch Mark Control

i used the above, find them not bad. my girl is turning 2 in mar,

i used clarins tonic treatmeant oil during preggy, nt bad. the areas tt i apply turn out to be stretch mark free. (btw i put on 20kg during preggy.) but a bit of stretch marks appear in areas tt i neglect, like tighs and back. so i apply clarins stretchmark control cream after giving birth and it lighten after 3 mths. my tighs are clear bt still can see a faint mark on my back.

i heard stretchmark cream is oni (if possible) to reduce & prevent stretchmarks not to get rid of existing marks. some ppl r lucky enuf not getting any & this is very much bcos of their genes.

is anyone using avent indulgent body cream? any idea if it's effective & where to get it? been looking around at the pharmacies but can't seem to find it anywhere.

I got it from John Little. Look under Avent products.
Dun seem to be too effective, may be make the mark a bit lighter only. I think it is more for prevention than to remove

Dorcas and Peachy,

Thanks for sharing. I have asked my obst to recommend me and he told me the only solution to remove the stretchmarks is to go for laser treatment.. but he advises me to do so after I have 'closed shop for babies' (more cost effective). Well.. I guess it all boils down to skin elasticity.. =( If anyone has really obvious stretchmarks (at least 10 lines on both sides of the belly) and has successfully removed them, kindly share your experiences and products used. -)

Most books will say that none of the creams can remove stretchmarks as it's due to the underlying skin layers stretching beyond their limit when your belly expands too fast. The creams only moisturise the top layers.

JazzJewels,

yup i read in the books oso... most books say NO creams, no matter how expensive, can prevent stretch marks...

it really boils down to skin elasticity n the rate at which the weight is gained.. If the tummy expand very fast suddenly then stretch marks would be inevitable..

but my sis and frens all say must use stretchmark cream.. so.. in order not to regret later... i m using stretch mark cream also... keke..

Hi, I used Mayaltha Stretchmark Removal Serum from Natural Source. It's explicitly stated that it is safe for pregnant women, while others like Elancyl is not clear. It's very good cos not sticky, and most importantly, I did not have any stretchmarks
The effects will be better if you apply the anti stretchmrk serum plus body lotion

I"ve been very bothered with my recent stretch marks dat appeared couple of weeks ago..I'm into my 40weeks now!Was using Clarins Treatment Oil/Stretch mark cream.Still using but guess it has no effect anymore as de marks has already formed!de most i think it can lighten but not total removal.Wonder if anyone had tried laser removal?I guess I'll stop buying All this products as my doc said it has no used cos de skin expanded too fast n big.

I'm a mummy to 2 lovely gals. I did not have any stretch marks during or after having my 1st gal but my 2nd gal gave me stretch marks towards the end of my pregnancy. now the marks are so ugly! so any advice of good stretch marks creams will be useful. anyone knows if bf mums can use these creams?

Do not think its of any use.
But then you can just perhaps focus on moisturising it perhaps to prevent any itch later on.

Somehow my sis who used the cocoa from palmers, and a few here still have stretch marks. I think its might not help.

My wife is using Nivea Moisturing Lotion, so far, at 21weeks, seem ok. But I should say, its still early. When do you gals see the stretch marks?

From what I know, it can show up as late as even the last 2-3weeks!

i'm currently pregnant with my 3rd child and since the 1st one, my gynae has been telling me that no stretch mark creams in the market really works. the one and only one thing that she recommends (and i swear by it until now) is normal olive oil (those ginvera or eversoft ones)....you can get a bottle of it for like only $4 at any supermkts / pharmacies....it works wonders. i dont have stretch marks till babies were born. for that price, it's worth a try!!

I'm using Olive Manor Pure Virgin Olive Oil. It works well, and dun have the greasy feeling like ginvera and eversoft. but more ex, ard $40

The Elancyl one is good...I used it since my 1st trimester till I finished my confinement and the black unsightly lines also disappeared. For those months I used, I only used 3 tubes all in all, despite using it twice a day, once in the morning and one at night.

Hi Muzicgal,
Can I know where to get this olive oil. I really dislike the oily after-feel from the moisturizers or oils de. Thanks!

Hello All,

I am using the Vichy preventive and correction cream for stretch marks. Found it working but yet to know the final result as baby is due in aug :D My gynae advised me not to use the butter cocoa ones as few people may develop allergies.

Okay, sorry to break ur bubble girls...but read what
Dr Andrew Tay, Consultant Plastic Surgeon, Pacific Healthcare Specialist Centre, has to say abt stretch marks...

http://www.******************/articles3.php?reg_id=25&cat_id=2

Sometimes it is a matter of perspective. We should see stretch marks as beautiful reminders on our bodies of our motherhood and the wonderful lives we brought to the world and our families.

Surely our husbands and children would not love us lesser because of stretch marks, right? Countless ladies in pursuit of beauty that is defined in the modelling world, forgot the real beauty of life.

Treasure what is more important and let go of self-critism - you'll be happier. :)

I'm using Olive manor oso, it's a gift,non greasy at all. I have heard rave reviews abt using olive oil and those Ginvera 1 r quite cheap oso.

I've used Palmer's Cocoa Butter before too but got rashes after using it...

So now I am using "Mustela" brand. It's the Double Action Stretch cream. Suitable for sensitive skin. I have sensitive skin. It's about $65 plus..Cant rem. because now they comes in 2 pack ( 1 of the stretch cream, another is the post-natal body structuring cream) which is only $95. Good deal. You can find it at Takashimya Level 3 Baby section or Kiddy Palace too. Not sure if the promotion items still available now or while stock last.

I think there is no product that will remove the stretch marks entirely. It will only have to prevent or lighten the stretch marks..so it wont get too horrible or bad looking red marks then dont apply at all.

I've used Clarins Treatment Oil, no stretch mark at all. Most of my colleagues are also using this, they also don't have except one particular colleague who didn't apply her back and only with stretch mark on her back.

I did not use any anit-stretch mark cream from the start cos I was rather paranoid, and worried that the cream may be bad for my baby..then as my stomach expand, it gets itchy and I simply stretch it till got blister and leave alot of marks behind..plus my hip/backside/arms/legs all very itchy and got alot of red spot due to my stretching..anyone got such experience before..im rather depressed..

I used to have pretty bad stretch marks and red scars around my belly region ever since I gave birth to my three kids.I had tried Vitamin E oil and cocoa butter which a number of people had recommended but unfortunately it didn't seem to work too well. My Doctor had even suggested that I go for a Tummy Tuck. I then recently read an article about a lady who supposedly got rid of her stretch marks using a particular cream. I tried it and it worked really well. It took a number of weeks but my stretch marks soon faded away. You can read the lady's article at the link below.

http://stretchmarkszapped.wordpress.com

i will adviise u gals to apply for clarins stretch marks oil when u get preg. i use it when i am abt 3 mths and i DUn have any stretch marks at my tummy at all.. i guess oil is better than crem.. cos quite a no of my friend use stretch marks cream but still gt marks.
hope i ans all the qns

Hi Elicia, thanks for sharing.

I am puzzled indeed, I also think Oil is better than Cream, but a fren of mine says Oil can cause the skin gets dry. Anyone care to share more?

Thanks ^^

If anyone is interested, I've 1 BNIP Elancyl Stretch Mark Concentrate, for post-natal, for sale at $40 (RP$50.90).

I used clarins Oil at night & stretch mark cream during the day & i do not have any stretchmark on my tummy at all. However,I do have on some on my hips cos i din apply initially.

I have a BNIB clarins oil for pregnancy. willing to let go at $50 which is a big discount. If keen, pls PM me.

Palmer's give me rashes too, I guess it's too rich for me.

Seems like nobody gives any review on Bio-Oil. I heard that it's good and went to get a bottle, just beginning to use. So far so good...it has a nice light scent, though it feels oily but surprisely that it could rinse off easily when i washed my hand after application. As for the effect, I'll try for a period of time and see if it works. I'm applying for my scar on c-sec as well as some stretch marks on my thigh area.

hello, i'm new here. my wife applying aloe vera n propolis cream. she'll b due nex mth n so far so gud. can't find any marks 'yet'. let's c how it go until she give birth.

Yes. Palmer's not suitable for everyone. But some people have also sworn by it. I think it's trial and error thing. But if after applying it and you see the first signs of redness or itchiness... stop. try not to use soap on that area for a week until symptom subsides. side note... actually for people who have dry skin, there's no need to soap your whole body, just soap under your arms, inside of elbows, inside of knees and your privates (some docs recommend not even to soap your privates). it will help.

Actually this is all in our genes. If your mum have it, then you will too. If she do not have, then you wont have too. My cousin's hubby who is a doctor told me and i believe cos i did not apply anything and got no marks as my mum do not have too. But if you want to try clarins, PM me as i have abrand new bottle to let go.

I am due to deliver my #3 in 1-2 wks.. For my 3 pregnancies, I use Clarins Treatment Oil. Not sure if it's becos of this oil, or is it becos genetically, I have small babies hence my tummy never got very stretched.. So I do not have any stretchmarks at all.

For all 3 pregnancies, I start applying Clarins as early as 8-10 wks.. Very kiasu right. I actually like the smell alot, cos it's light and not repulsive. I cant really stand Elancyl's smell. Makes my morning sickness even worse.

Just recently, I started using Bio-Oil becos I finished my 3rd bottle of the Clarins oil and refuse to get a new bottle. I like Bio-oil too, It has a very nice, light fragrance, and if u read from their website, alot has been done in their R&D. I bought it initially for my dotter's eczema, but now I use it on my tummy.. kekekek...

Here is the link:
http://www.bio-oil.info/en

U cant get this oil from SG though.

Hi sunshine, bearybaby,

I'm also trying out bio-oil. A friend recommended it. Hopefully it'll work in lightening the stretch marks.

Hi Patle
Is this your 1st pregnancy? Just got pregnant? I am not sure if this Bio-oil is as good as Clarins, as I started with Clarins for all 3 pregnancies.

I can only say that I do not have any stretchmarks at all. Maybe my tummy is small, hence nothing to do with Clarins lah.. But better not take the risk by not applying anything right.