Dr Lawrence Ang @ Sembawang

Taslyn,
yeah.. when bb cum out tat feeling so shiok.. like doc pull out a lot of thing from tummy, then feel veri relieve.. keke..

bf is really tired, somemore my boy is very "kan cheong" one.. while d milk cum out slowly he will scream. but when i saw his expression really cute..

ahnestan,
actually contraction heavy doesn't means gg to delivery soon.. for my case, maybe i dunno to relax, so my cervix nvr open.. actually i forgot wat was d exact time of dr ang cuming in, as i was really in pain.. but i knew he came twice in d morning..
actually i also dunno y my waterbag burst in d morning then deliver at noon...
my bb is 3.6kg when he cum out.. no epi as i tot the toughest is when d bb cum out.. but actually is d contraction.. d bb cum out tat moment is nothing..
i wonder Dr Ang feel proud or not.. when d bb cum out tat moment, i just heard him said tat "luckily u can have normal delivery, otherwise go to c-sec u will spend more $$"
n b4 d bb cum out he already asked d nurse get ready d vacuum, but last min he told my hb, u can save up $200 for vacuum, bb cuming out..
wakaka.. he's really good doc, every moment thinking to save $$ for his patient..

MLai,
did the nurse teach u how to breathe or how to relax?
wah, dr ang really every moment thinking of saving $ for his patients.

u r so brave! i hope i can haf ur courage and braveness when it's my turn.

Mlai
hahaha.. tat is Dr Ang lor... he will always think of saving $$ for his patients while taking into consideration of his patient's condition..
my ger in distress tat time so no choice have to vacuum... u really lucky to have normal delivery coz bb so big.. think he can reach 5kg in a mths time liao lor! hehehe...

dun think the cervix dilation rate has anything to do with relaxing woh... mi also kan jiong spider when having #1, but luckily i dilated quite fast... n it is really the contraction which is the toughest to get through... taking bb out is so fast.. just a "WOOOOSH" and bb is out..

for me.. i also lost track of time coz not wearing my glasses n not wearing any watch..

nonetheless very happy for you coz finally u can hold bb in ur hands liao.. haha.. n the terrible labour is behind u.. hehehe..
but if the stitches area still pain n u unable to sit up, then better check with dr ang.. but it will get better so dun worry...shld heal very fast de!

wah seems like it's the contractions that is the toughest part to endure and get through!!!

can we wear specs while in the delivery or labour ward? sorry for this stupid question

Do anyone know what time does Dr.Ang clinic open on weekday evening?
Is he only at Sun Plaza? When will he be at TMC?

ahnetsan
i think can wear lar.. but i was in too much pain to think of wearing my specs... cannot remember liao.. kakaka.. mb u ask LA when u see him next tiem

yuki
his clinic is open on mon, wed n fri evenings...til 8.30pm
not sure when he goes to TMC,
u can try to call his clinic to ask when he goes TMC
his clinic no is 6753 5228

Hi taslyn,

thanks for the information ......
is dr.ang a nice doc? as i had heard of good and bad comments of him ......

got bad comments of him meh? haha
so far i only heard of the good side of dr ang, esp the saving $$ and the good stitching skills

yuki
Dr ang may sometime appear to be blur and scatterbrain.. for those who really like Dr to be super attentive and talk slowly, then LA is not the one to see liao...

for myself, experiences with him has been very good. There has been times when i brought wrong wallet and was unable to pay him, but he was okay to let me pay on my next visit, no questions asked. Also he will talk to my daughter (now 8mths) and tell her that mummy go thru alot to give birth to her n tell her guai guai and often beam that he was the 1st man she saw...

now i am seeing him for my #2 which will be arriving in Aug... He even chided my hb for not letting me rest then he remarked that his kids gaps are as close as mine.. so ensured that i will be able to get thru.

As i stay near his clinic, he often run into my hb, asking my hb how i was doing, raised concerns to him abt my well being and stuff...

So far, ev time when my hb rings him to ask him abt any discomfort, he readily answers hb. some mummies in my thread come as far as boon keng to see him.. n he also answer their queries when they mention the ventolin or watever other med they are taking seems not to go well, then he give his advice and says will find another suitable med for them to take...

so to me, he is a good gynae so far and i dun regret seeing him...

it depends on ur age range and needs at the end of the day - coz he does not really specialise on certain areas. and relationship and rapport with the gynae takes time to build up...

yesh n to add to what ahnetsan has said, Dr ang really helps patients to save $$ and has good stitching skills - my epitosomy wound heal within 2 weeks. even with my #2, the wound does not give me any prob (some say having kiddos so close will result in very sore V area esp ard the stitches but for me, so far so good.)

lol... i was telling my hb that i m like an endorsement for Dr Ang.. lol

taslyn, thanks for the information.
I had just seen Dr Ang and he was really fast. He speak really fast and pass me the scan after the consultation. he did not tell me how big is the size and the heartbeat rate....

I prefer to go to him as I am staying nearby so it will be more convienence.

This is my first one so was expecting more attentive and information from gynae but he was ok except din really have the chance to ask a lot and he was speaking really fast and next I am out of the room..........

I am only give folic acid at 6weeks...is it ok?

Just to check, any ideas if we can take ba kut teh at 6 weeks? I had juz took it and realise not sure if it is safe

yuki
ur bb is 6wks.. so hard for him to tell u the size or heartbeat rate.. coz foetus will only be more stable after 8 wks...

it also depends on the timing when u go to see him.. coz if there are alot of patients waiting, he tends to hurry... that is y i pref to see him in the morning or when he just come back for afternoon clinic...

normally only folic acid will be given in the 1st trimester. if u wan, u can purchase fish oil to give.. but this is not really necessary til 3rd trimester as 3rd tri is when bb brain develope the fastest, thus many advise to take it during 3rd tri.. multi vitamins are given after 1st tri.. but if u hv balanced and nutritious diet, u dun even need to take them..

bak kut teh is fine lar.. but 1st tri must avoid sex, raw food (sashimi) and cooling stuff eg green bean soup, liang teh...

yeah i also prefer to see dr ang during mornings or afternoons. i find the evenings are the worst. super chop chop and he talks super fast fast. haha

Taslyn, thanks

yes i went during the evening and seem like a lot ppl in the queue. Sat will be worse? I cant see him in morning or afternoon unless i take leave.........ok then i shall take my folic acid regularly .....my next visit will be 3 weeks later seem quite long and worrying as I do not have any MS......

yuki
u can try to report sick in the morning.. take half day off kinda stuff.. then ask LA to write u an MC for half day or sth...

sat queue is also very long coz weekend mah..

as for MS, for #1, i puke from 1st til the day i give birth... now for #2, i never puke once at all.. only had craving for sour n hot stuff.. hehehe

Taslyn,

but if LA write me an MC then my boss will know i am pregnant? how is his MC like? he did told me to let him know if i need any MC ......but now still early stage so dun wan to let company know ......

sometime i wish i have MS too ......at least i know how is the bb doing ....

yuki
hmmm his mc just says thomson woman clinic... never say much... just like normal mc from any clinic looo.. but perhaps if ur employer see that it is from TWC, they may suspect?

some people will wait til 1st tri is over then they announce..

re: MS
u sure u wan MS... v xin ku de woh... i can puke at any time any hour any where!

Taslyn,

oic but i guess when ppl c TWC they will roughly know .......yes i wan to wait until 1st tri over then announce. Dr Ang also ask me dun tell too many ppl .....

seem like a lot of MTB will experience MS leh and i feel werid without it ..

ya lor, yuki, MS very xin ku leh!! i puked till i was 16wks! eat wat puke wat, even puke until the acid also come out....

you are lucky you din experience MS at all... some dun experience MS one... some will haf MS until they give birth... dats more cham lor.

Taslyn, yes fatigue, turn off by certain smell or food .....and i been having lower adomain pain recently.

ahnetsan,wow u puked for 4 months ...must be terrible feeling but bb not affected right?

ya DR.Ang also so i am lucky that din experience MS but i heard MS will be peak at 9 weeks, is that true?

Taslyn,
i got some prob..
now my menses turn into brown color is tat normal? as i heard from many frds said tat they cum menses abt 1mth+ after gave birth, some more d 1st week is cum those "jelly jelly" blood, but mine onli a little bit.. is Dr Ang clean up for me already?? u have tis experien? or bcos i having bf now (someone said bf will less menses cum..)
wat's ur experien?

yuki,
yeah i puked for 16wks leh. terrible right? bb not affected. now im alrdy in my 35wks le.

MLai,
how's everything so far?
breastfeeding ur bb?

wah maybe ur lochia finishing alrdy? i heard it's for abt 3wks? hopefully Taslyn reply soon.

btw, MLai, u din take epidural right?
at the moment when dr ang burst ur waterbag is the feeling very painful? i heard from a fren dat her doc checked on her, and found out it's 5cm dilated and den burst her waterbag, she says it hurts terribly!!

sorry girls...
i went on a trip from tues til today thus MIA... lol.. shld have posted on that... paiseh paiseh
went to bkk to grab some bb and my clothes, get my authentic thai food fix.. gotten a tattoo done at the same time..*vain mama* hehe

Mlai:
yeah lochia is liddat de.. from fresh reddish jelly to brown brown... shld go off after 2-3wks...

for BF, most pple will not have menses til they stop BF... but for me, menses came 1 mth after lochia ended even when i BF...

BF is good, can slim down fast.. hehehe... bb will be stronger as well as have alot of calcium.. remmeber if u still BF bb, dun drink DOM or those wine directly... else the alcohol will go to BM... recently got a case of a mama who drank alcohol b4 BF and bb die from alcohol poisoning due to the alcohol presence in BM...

yuki
erm... Ms ar.. i dunno recall when the pukey feeling start woh...
for #1, i think it was ard 10wks? n #2 so far no puke ( i kena heartburn niah.. which i felt so terrible, i made myself puke... hehe.. puked so much for #1 that it just come nautrally now)

ahnetsan..
lol u miss me ar??
wow 35wks... ur turn to give birth v v soon... mi coming to 28wks.. seeing LA on wed.. hehehe.. cannot wait to see my Eaxonn

Dear Mums and MTBs,
I'm also with Dr Lawrence Ang. EDD 13 June.
Wondering if will be early?
Anyway it's nice reading all nice things abt the Doc

hi ah ching,
welcome to Dr LA thread.. lol
Dr Ang shld be able to give u an indication if bb will be arriving earlier or later when u visit him during ur 35-37 wks.. coz he will be doing VE on you to check for dilation as well as checking ur liquor (waterbag level)...
He may also strap u on the CTG machine to check for possible contractions and bb's condition in ur tummy...

anyway by 36wks, u can pack your hospital bag, shld also have washed and stored bb clothing and get ready to go delivery liao...

hope this helps!

Hi Taslyn,

Yeah, will be seeing him tomorrow.
Bag is 80% packed and everything washed.
Just waiting for the DAY... aiyoh, now everynight cant sleep.
Insomia, thinking how the DAY will be like.
Even more worried about the days after baby comes

Actually, I have been silent reader of the forum for the past few months.
But it really helps now that I have a voice here, ha ha.

ah ching
lol.. sleep as much as u can.. coz 1st few days will be quite jialat esp after u discharge frm hospital... then it will be the start of latching and pumping... dun have to worry abt days after bb come coz it will be a learning curve and mother instincts will take over... every baby is diff n unique... u can try to borrow gina ford's books from the library, she has some good tips there.. but just remember that every baby is different and unique in their own way, we just have to learn/adapt and grow together with them...

my #1 is 8mths old, everyday i am learning new things from/with her...

u prep nipple cream? it can get painful when bb is trying to latch on and finding their feeding pattern... must make sure nipples are moisturised coz sore/cracked nipples are painful and then bb still wanna latch! *ouch!!!!*

aiya.. u can chat in ur own EDD thread or chat here de... just start off n surely there will be pple who will reply to u...

just feel free to post questions here, i believe most of the folks will offer advise n help de..

hi Taslyn,
Welcome back, miz u so much.. seem like d forum was diactive w/o u lol...keke..

tats means if i keep having bf for the next few mths, my menses won't cum until i stop bf??

well after read ur msg really scared me off.. as i did drink DOM b4 bf. (i drank abt 20ml mixed in water to abt 200ml) then after 2-3 hrs i pump out d milk n kept in fridge.. my bb will drink d next day..

well, ur #2 is called Eaxonn? so fast u get him a name.. gd tat u hv a gal & a boy..

Ah Ching,
Congrat! u step to d final stage.. remember last mth.. from my 35-38 wks everyday was lack of sleep.. if u can sleep must grab d time n sleep more.. as for me now.. even tho have a confiment lady to help me, but every single sound from my bb i will wake up n look wat happen to him.. really have sleepless days now..

Mlai
lol...

for most of the folks i know who bf, their menses either dun come or very irregular... even those who stop bf, their menses also dun really come immediately.. so it depends from people to people
for me, mine just come as per normal, zun zun after 28days..

oh as for DOM hor... if u wan, u jsut add to ur confinement food then cook lor.. let the alcohol evaporate off... or throw the EBM u express after drinking the DOM. for myself, i drink it neat after pumping then go sleep, wake up in morning n pump/latch.. ard 5-6hr break.
i cannot remember what alcohol that lady took lar.. but it is ang moh country.. so dun think she took stuff like DOM or yomeishu kind of tonic wine

yeap #2 is called Eaxonn... wanted to call him Ethan.. but frens as well as Hb make fun of the name n always ask if i have eaten... so decided to change looo..
decided on the name fast coz i wan the bb to recognise his name mah... worked on #1 coz she knew we were calling her when she was ard 3-4wk.. have not thought abt his chinese name yet, but our master say his name must end with "tian"

lol... anyway try to be hands on with ur boy even when CL is ard, else u will gabra n become v helpless when CL goes off... must let boy boy get used to u

hehe.. yeah now i hv 1 boy n 1 ger... alot of pple tell mi can close shop liao but mi still wan another ger ger(maybe wait til #1 is 3yo).. hahahah siao right?

wah.. sound tat u have much experience..

btw wat is EMB? u know suez drank 7 glass a days during her #1..

b4 i name my Cavan also thought Ethan b4, keke.. but my hb like Cavan more..

ya.. sometimes feel very frus.. as ppl said must rest more during confiment.. i didn.. maybe me too "gan chiong" him..

wah u so brave.. me 1 is enough, thinking to go thru tat pregnancy n deliver time.. really a nightmare.. keke.. but maybe few mths later i will forgot n thinking to have more.. anyway.. jia you..

Mlai
EBM = expressed breast milk...
wahhh 7 glasses... i dare not drink lar... coz of the alcohol poisioning thingy.. so i put into my food lor..

for me also the same lar, once i think bb is crying i will rush to her. mother instinct i guess...

your boy still small, thus v tiring. for me, it is fun to play with my ger, to see her smile at me every morning, that is sth $$$ can never buy

Hi taslyn,
you are back!! yeah lor, miss u leh!!

oh, u went for a bkk trip, dat's nice. no wonder u were mia for days. haha and wow, thai food, yum yum!!

wow and you even had tattoo done! wat design did u do?

Re: lochia
oh u mean as long as we bf, we wont haf menses?

omg, but if DOM or those wine thing is being cooked, we can eat them right? as long as the wine has been cooked and has evaporated, its safe for us to consume right?

now me going to be 37wks le, seeing dr ang this wed... scare scare leh... heard may do VE leh...
very scared. BTW, is the VE painful???

wow, hw u pronounce ur boy's name? eaxonn.. sounds unique.

hey, i've also heard gina ford's books, and there's also this book called secrets of baby whisperer... taslyn, u bot the gina ford's book is it? does it help to cope with bb better?

wow you still wan another ger ger? thot u can close shop alrdy since nw alrdy one ger and one boy le.

hi Ah Ching,
wah ur EDD is 13 June..earlier than me... haha..is this ur #1?
haha well, i still havent packed finished my hosp bag. gosh...yeah try to sleep more, everyone has been telling me to take afternoon naps and to sleep more, if not when bb is out, no more such luxury man!!

MLai,
yo yo! hehee.

ahnetsan
yeah mi go bkk v often.. but think when #2 is out, v hard to travel liao looo...

my tattoo is on shoulder.. names o hb,me,ger n boy plus an elephant.. hehehe...

normally if bf, menses dun come de... that is wat most women encounter...

as for DOM, add to cooking to get rid of the alcohol content loo...then shld be safe liao..

mi oso seeing LA on wed.. morning appt...coming to 28 wks le... cannot wait to see boy boy.. miss him.. hehe

my boy name is will pronounced as IX-SON.. adapted from Eason Chen looo... my ger chinese name is Yi Xuan.. tot it sounded like Eason in Canto.. and since hb die die wan all kiddos name to start with "E" so chose this name.. lol.. changed the "s" to "x" and added another "n" behind for the "hiao" factor.. this mummy vain hor?

re: gina ford
i never buy the books lar.. can borrow from library.. can read for reference lor.. one thing i learn is from 4th wk, can start to train bb to sleep thru the night, add some rice cereal to bb milk and let him zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.... lol...
but for Eviana, i only did that at 6 mths coz she was a ez bb to take care since she was small...she can sleep thru when she was ard 6wks.

i wan another ger coz i grew up with a didi.. always hope there was another sister ard.. rather i envied pple who had sister.. got someone to talk to, share stuff and go shopping together.. hehehe

haha urs is wed morning... mine is at 4.45pm appt. so guess we wont be able to bump into each other.

hey i like girls with the name "xuan" leh. very sweet and very ger lor. very nice!!!

ahnetsan
i think my appt is in morning lar... also dunno where i put the appt booklet liao.. hahaha
hb ran into Dr ang just now and he asked abt me, hb told him bb super active kicking at all hours of the day and also sometimes feel pain... Dr Ang say he will check on wed when i see him, says it is normal coz bb shld be turning down liao...

oh 37 wks will do VE de.. coz he will check for dilation lor.. Dr Ang is very gentle when he does the VE... will even apologise for doing it...
for me, it was not pain but the nurse was saying i v brave... i was like "huh brave simi??" lol

oh my ger's xuan is zhou xuan de xuan.. super many strokes.. and yesh she is very ger ger...

re: hospital bag
guess wat.. i check into hospital without hospital bag for #1... hahahaha... LI HAI HOR??? but the hospital has evthing.. and since we will change into the gown for delivery, i was okay ley.. hahahaha.. terrible me

ahnetsan,
yoyo..wahaha..

yeah.. LA really veri gentle to do VE..

me so happy to c so many mummies gg to give birth soon.. gd luck all!!

tAslyn
wah Dr ang knows ur hb very well sia!!

eh, i've also been experiencing dat leh, bb active moving at all hours of the day and sometimes his movements i very pain one... since dr ang says it's normal, den im relieved.

wah so confirm tmr will do VE on me ar? i very scared leh.. i read from forum dat some say very painful wor.

think i should wear a dress tmr, easier and more convenient right?

wah u also say nt pain... btw, did u do swab test? is it the same feeling as swab test?

talking abt hosp bag, i also haven packed finish sia.

MLai,
wow, you also say dr ang very gentle in VE, so dat means tmr i shouldnt be feeling painful if he does VE on me.

if got pain, i come and smack both Mlai and taslyn buttocks. haha

me nw staying wif inlaws wor, at sembawang... waiting for punggol flat to be ready in another 2-3yrs... sob sob...

yeah yeah, can come out and meet for gatherings! hahaha...

u all got facebook account mah? can add one another.

ahnetsan
i did not do any swab test...
anyway for VE, Dr ang way way gentler than those stupid nurses...
the nurses really beh keh ki one de lor

mi also stay sembawang... lol... but new house oso in sembawang lar (near sembawang park)

mi no facebook woh... only got my ger ger blog : http://myeviana.multiply.com

jsut created a FB account... lol... my email:[email protected]

ahnetsan & taslyn,
wat a great ideal.. me staying at yishun.. seem like our distance not dat far yo..
add me in facebook at [email protected]
taslyn must go n sign up facebook yo..

urs can read chinese character?
i also have a blog but in chinese..
www.mybb-babe.blogspot.com

Taslyn,
did u type wrongly for ur ger ger blog? can't access..

haha we stay so near to one another... wow, taslyn, ur new house shiok sia, big house wor, not like me, stay in flat.