Dr L C Foong from Gleneagles

aiyo, very hard not to think about it leh. Have been counting down EVERYDAY. Today is 11 DPO... Very paranoid nowadays, everytime there is a cramp at the tummy, or an urge to pass motion, will tend to think that menses will come...

i come across this website on the 2ww, find it quite interesting. u may wanna read about wat other pple encounter during the 2ww. The URL is http://bellybelly.com.au/articles/two-week-wait-diaries/

hi chensing

Thanks, AF has not shown face yet, 13DPO today. AF normally visits on 15DPO, and that is CNY!!!

u spending ur new year in singapore?

Wishing everyone a happy and prosperous new year! Hope we will all have puppies soon!!!

Jus got back from HK, very cold there.
How was everyone's holidays?

Chloe, dun give up ok? I will be praying for u.
We will all have a puppy very soon

My sis had her period during the CNY and has decided to go for adoption. She's very excited about it and I feel very happy for her.

My hubby oso onli wants to go for IVF only another 2 times this year. So if i dont strike, we r going for adoption as well.

chensing, have u started ur ivf yet? im still having the light bleeding since 30 nov. so im alittle worried if it will affect my chances, very scared that my womb is spoilt or something. will be seeing dr foong soon, so will ask him then.

Take care now!

Dear chloe,

really hope u r feeling better now, try not to be disappointed, u can still try again. Did Dr Foong say wat is the next step to take?

Dear chensing,

HK was so so only leh..I didnt buy much for myself coz too trendy for me
ended up buying mostly gifts for relatives, haha! The weather was too cold for us, my hubby caught a slight cold, we had to force ourselves out of bed

heehee, so u started ur jabs oredi! tats gd, at least u dun the jabs painful! tomolo is my last pill so waiting for my menses now. not really sure wats going to happen cause i keep on bleeding, hope my womb is not affected in any way. will keep u informed!

come to terms with it liao. Anyway, quite used to the disappointment... Dr Foong is increasing clomid to 2 tabs a day, and puregon to 100 ml. He is hoping that there will be at least 2 mature follicles this cycle.

Hi Chloe,

there is always a spark of hope in every try so dun give up ok? I used to be very depressed and even suicidal when i lost my three babies but i told myself never to give up..even now im very paranoid abt whether i have recovered fully enough for IVF or whether i will ever get pregnant again..even if i do get pregnant, i will also be very scared that my cervix will open up again and that i will have to lose another baby but its all in our mind...we will never know the future.

so try and try again if u must, we will all be there to support one another

hi puipui80

Thanks for the encouragement. So sorry that u have to go through all these. Must be very hard on u and family. Well, i will not give up, will try harder this cycle. i guess i am disappointed this time cos it is the first IUI after surgery. And not forgetting my scar tissues will come back one day... Also becos it is CNY when pple's tongues start wagging, and u know lar, some may not be sensitive in the way they ask, so got a bit disgusted.

hi chloe,

i understand how u feel, i always get the same feeling as u when im ard my relatives. tats why i purposely went overseas to hide, heehee
but i didnt manage to hide from all

dun worry abt the scars, doc say it will take some time to come back rite? dun let it bother u too much. have u tried tcm in between treatment? im going to see dr xia rong at eu yan sang (paragon). saw her on tv, she seems very good in treating infertility as well. I am asking to see if can do acupunture to 'bu' my womb..i read some where on the internet that acupuncture can help to warm and relax the womb to help implantation.

here is the website on her profile if u are interested.

http://www.ihealth.com.sg/practitioners/xiar.php

hi puipui80

i was on TCM for 1 year, and i was quite amazed with the effects of acupuncture. i was able to ovulate without clomid!!!

Unfortunately, as i had scar tissues, which was discovered only much later, i was still unable to conceive with TCM. My husband was able to benefit more from TCM, which increased his sperm count and morphology to a very great extent (gynae was rather surprised with the results).

Btw, there is this website which i come across quite a number of fertility specialists in TCM. Try this URL http://www.tcm-esearch.com/

hi chloe,

thanks for ur website, heehee, but i cant read chinese...my chinese in school every year fail, always f9
i will get my hubby to read to me when he free later..

will u be trying tcm again? since it has helped u alot, maybe u can continue with it as complementary medication..i never tried acupuncture before so my first time, was it very painful? yeah lor, im oso forcing my hubby to join me to improve his sperm count, he very good boy now, always take his vitamins regularly but i wana torture him with acupunture too

hi puipui80

The website has a english version, try this link http://www.tcm-esearch.com/en/index.asp

i dun recall that it is painful, just a bit uncomfortable, especially when approaching ovulation. Overall, still quite tolerable lor.

Dun think i will be trying TCM now, cos it will usually take some time to see results. If not for my scar tissues, i think i will try TCM again.

Hi Chloe,

Take heart and take care. I know it's tough cos i fail many many times too. But keep those fingers crossed!!!

Sorry to trouble, but can you give me the name and contact of your TCM? I am interested to try acpuncture all this while but dont know where to try. Thanks!

hi chloe,

thanks for the link! oh, yes..i agree with strawberry, keep ur fingers crossed. never know, u may get lucky soon. just keep an open mind and keep urself occupied.

im looking at adoption at the same time..the home study report is not easy, so im pending till the outcome of this ivf to decide whether to proceed with the application or not.

everything sooo stressful, ivf so stress, adoption oso so stress. i wana burst, haha!

i called the clinic to ask the nurse abt my bleeding and was very surprised to have dr foong to personally call me back on my enquiry..and very promptly as well..it is definitely so much better than kkh coz they will only ask u to come down to 24 hr clinic and yet again, u dun get to see ur very own gyne.

turns out that its most likely to be my hormonal imbalance trying to sort itself out cause of the birth control pill, but he ask me to limit myself to wed, if my period doesnt really flow by then, so make an appt to see him...quite glad that he doesnt leave us dangling in the air

hi puipui80

Nice to hear that Dr Foong attended to u so promptly.

My first fertility consultation was at KKH, that was a number of years back. They did a blood test on me to diagnose that i was not ovulating for that cycle. Straight away gave me clomid without further tests. i could not recall that there was even a followup to determine whether the clomid indeed induces ovulation, just asked us to get together. After a few cycles of clomid and to no avail, i abandoned the ship and turned to a private gynae. Guess wat, they did a scan and discovered that the cause of me not ovulating was due to PCOS!!! Just find the KKH is not very thorough lor.

hi chloe,

yeah lor, i oso tink so..my last check up at kkh, my ex-gyne told me that my cervix was ok and didnt need any cerclage as long i carried 1 baby..just so happen that wat i experienced was an unfortunate tradegy. But dr foong say beta not, its safer to put a cerclage in or else the same problem happen again.

And i recalled her telling me before whilst i was staying in hospital, that 1 of her paitients lost 4 babies that had same problem as me. So when she got pregnant the 5th time, they decided to put a cerclage in early and she managed to carry all the way to full term..her story made me wonder, why didnt they do anything earlier, must she lose so many babies befoe they decide to do the right thing? after that, i so scared to go back liao..

hi puipui80

Wat a bad experience! Feel so relieved for u that u have dropped out from KKH to see other gynae.

Wish u all the best for ur next attempt. Take care and update us of ur progress.

hi chensing

So, do u prefer us to call u chensing or moonfairy?? heehee... yalor, those nurses in school were soooo fierce. Even the dental nurses were of no exception!!!

My hubby is the one who administer the injection for me. i really got no guts to do it on my own, so have to rely on him lor. Quite easy to do, not really painful, less than an ant bite. u doing it urself?

allo gals,

wah chensing, change to moonfairy ah..nice name

i dunno if my gyne was just trying to boost my confidence so told me tat story. but i have to admit that despite her bz bz schedule, she did try to make an effort to see me a few times..

i find it very weird but but at my follow up in jan with her, she said my cervix was closed and didnt need a cerclage. however yest, i went to see dr foong, he said my cervix was sligtly open so definitely need to consider the cerclage at 14 weeks in my next pregnancy..very weird hor?

im starting my lucrin on 27th feb provided my spotting stops lor..he will have to postpone if i keep on spotting cause it may make me fail in this cycle if i contiuned..so im praying that my body 'zen qi'.

oh no, my hubby will be away in reservice from this 27th feb, the very day that i will be seeing dr foong to give me the go ahead for my lucrin..so looks like i have to do them myself, i oso super chicken leh, had relied on my hubby to do all my past injections..looks like i have to force myself

moonfairy
drink lots of water okie? dunno if true, but they say water will help make the follicles grow..so excited for u..very fast hor..

all the very very very best to u. Btw, can enlighten me what is this lucrin all about? Is it administered like a puregon pen?

hi chloe,

the lucrin i used to take was not in a pen..u know those with diabetes- they take those insulin shots..the medication in a bottle and u use a syringe..not sure if im explaining it properly..maybe moonfairy can confirm. actually i find the puregon pen easier to use but personally i find it slightly more painful than the lucrin shots.. i dunno if moonfairy feels the same way.

hi moonfairy, u r using lucrin now rite? is it the syringe method? once a day in the morning?

have u all ever wondered how old is Dr Foong? i saw their website and his profile said tat he worked in london for 10 years before coming to singapore and he turned to private pratice in 1996...so its like he's been in O & G for so many years..but he look quite young! i tot he was in his mid-thirties only..

hi moonfairy, i did feel as though the puregon pen as more stinging so hope tat u dun feel it so much..tolerable lor..i read abt the water part somewhere in the thread..so hopefully can help with ur follicle stimulation..my spotting has stopped so looks like i can proceed with mine in 2 weeks time..getting worried and excited too..u may get quite bloated esp when u have alot of eggs, tat time the nurse told me to avoid beans and cabbage cause it may make u more bloated..u can also drink ribena or water with some lemon as ur tastebuds can have a metallic taste when u drink plain water..i will be praying for u tat u will have alot of good quality eggs..leave out the egg yolks so u dun have to worry abt the cholestral..

chloe..dun give up, im praying for u as well, hope u have ur mature follicles soon and tat ur next iui will be a success..good luck!!

i heard he is in his forties... O&G is around for about 2-3 years, all the doctors and majority of the crew were from NUH. Prof Ng owns the lab where our hubbies' sperms are processed. Dr Foong has a strong english accent, so i am not surprised he worked in UK for many years. Next time u are there, chit chat with the nurses, they will tell u more!!

Background of Dr Foong:

Dr Foong is around 42 yrs old (I think !) He is married with two kids.. :p He has a girl and a boy (the son was born in June last year). He is originally from Ipoh and has worked many years in UK (he was educated there too).. which explains the British Accent.. :p O & G Partners was set up in march 2004 after they left NUH.

im quite surprised that he's in his mid forties liao.. maybe i cant read pple face very well but i always tot he looked kinda young..heehee

hi moonfairy

i went to his clinic too to do IUI. His schedule is very packed today (well, same goes for every day), so only got to do IUI at about 1:30PM, after which, doctor had to rush to do a procedure for another patient.

This cycle, 3 follicles. Will be on 2 days of MC, feeling quite uncomfortable with the bloatedness... tummy is like a coconut, hard on the outside and full of water in the inside! Feel like passing motion most of the time!!

really glad to see that u all are having alot of progress..very very best to u all..i still have 2 more weeks before i begin my cycle!

hi moonfairy,

tat is really a super super high dosage leh...i used to take 200iu for 8 days and i oredi had 23 eggs..i cant imagine how many u will have lata, 30, 40?
i used to pay 900+ for the 8 days dosage of puregon at kkh, is it ard the same amt tat u paid or much more costly? ...heehee same as u, im hoping for a lower dosage to save money

watch tv and listen music to relax urself..u taking many days off work?

maybe chloe will come back to us in 2ww to tell us she has triplets

wow, forum was sooo quiet yesterday. i thought both of u must be enjoying urselves during Valentine's Day.

Well, back to work today and trying not to stress myself too much with work. My puregon also cost about $400 plus, but since mine is IUI, i only need a dosage of 100 IU on CD6, CD8 and CD9.

Wow, cannot image 20-30 eggs. Me 3 follicles already cannot tahan (a lot of bloatedness and extreme fatigue, no mood to enjoy any good food...) Hope all goes well for the two of u. Let's pray for one another.

hi moonfairy,

dun worry, the higher dosage doesnt mean tat u r not stimulating well. a few factors play a part in how much meds to give like, age, hormone levels, polycystic ovaries, etc.

For me, my scan showed quite abit of polycystic ovaries so there are a large number of small follicles now. so i cant take too much meds as i tend to have a very strong reaction which is not very good as i have a higher chance of getting ohss.

Dr foong was surprised tat i only took 8 days, considered quite short duration..so he said tat there mus be something wrong with me somewhere..so i hope u dun worry too much as they will monitor u very closely to see when is the best time to stop meds..very soon u will be ready for ur extraction..

very expensive leh, at least double the price..i cant remember how many boxes i bought previously. i know tat i paid 900+ for tat 8 days of 200iu per day. i guess pte clinic will tend to be more expensive as hospital got govt subsidy.

dun tink so much abt ur stimulation...im sure u will have many many eggs

hi puipui, moonfairy

Are both of u working? i am thinking whether i should apply half a year of no-pay leave should i decide to go for IVF... My in-laws do not know that i am undergoing fertility treatment, so if i go on no-pay leave, i guess i may not be able to hide from them anymore. i scarred i will be more stressed if they come to know about this.

How i wish i dun have to go through this. sian!!

hi chloe,

I understand wat u going thru..i used to work but decided to quit to concentrate on my ivf.

My mum-in-law is not easy person to get along. both my husband and I respect her but we avoid her as much as we can

when i quit my job, we didnt tell her the truth behind it. we just gave an excuse tat i didnt like the place. but she and his sisters kept saying bad things abt me, like how i am enjoying my husband's money without lifting a finger, etc.alot of it was behind my back, my sis-in-law had to call me and tell me abt all the things that were being said..1 of his sister even invited me to her house, not to visit but to clean her house since im so free..it hurt me very bad but my husband supported me throughout so it help to relieve some of the pain..

when i had my miscarriage, she blamed both of us for going thru IVF. she said IVF caused me to end up like this and told us not to try again. she kept saying irregular periods is normal, etc. she didnt attend the babies funeral, coz she wanted to clean the house and had no time. i guess, she really belongs to those oldern generation, very conservative.

im still not working and dun have any intention to do so since its been almost a year since i stopped. my husband doesnt want me work anymore as we are going to adopt if i dun get pregnant with this round of ivf. he wants me to be a 'sahm'.

the road may be tough and u may face some criticism but as long u know that u r happy and ur hubby supports u, tats the most important..my husband keeps tellin me to ignore wat pple say and enjoy my life, coz it is our life, just btwn 2 of us only..hope tat u have faith and strength in watever u decide to do

hi puipui

So sorry to cause u to think of those unhappy moments...

i dun think i know my in-laws well enough to know how they will react if they get to know about my problem. My intuition tells me it would not be too positive... My mil often complains about my sil spending unnecessary money, so i would not be surprised if she feels the pinch of us spending so much money on fertility treatment. Secondly, as my husband is the only source of income to his family (his sibling is not doing very well), i really dun wanna burden him further...

hi chloe,

dun worri, i dun feel sad anymore cause i am very used to their behaviour..it used to bother me alot but not anymore..there will always be alot of insensitive pple ard us esp when they do not understand wat we have to go thru to have a child..it comes so naturally to them to get pregnant and have kids.. so i just 1 ear in 1 ear out lor..i wun let them get the benefit of letting their words get to me and i hope that u feel the same..

u mus e feeling very confused rite now..i know it wun be ez but just let nature take its course first and decide lata..anyway, u may have strike this time and not need to go for ivf..anyway, i have heard of many women who manage to conceive thru ivf without taking leave off work. so dun think so much now and remain positive

if u r uncomfortable to tell ur in-laws then beta let them be in the dark first..u still have alot of time to make ur plans. cheer up okie, we will be there for one another!

hi moonfairy,

have u stopped work very long...wat do u usually do at home? sometimes i get really bored and disturb my hubby at work, heehee..when my realtives ask wat i do at home, i say watch tv lor..which is true..heehee

my mum is very supportive of my ivf..but she tends to be too supoortive..always asking so many questions so i tend to get irritated..but my this ivf is a secret..we dun wan to let anyone know coz everyone thinks i should stop ivf..but i really wan to try so i will just avoid everyone in case i get too bloated and obvious lata in the mth.

yeah, i remembered tat there will always be some liquid at the tip of the needle and at times on withdrawal there will be some liquid on the skin as well.. i oso used to worry that not all the liquid would go in so i tend to just leave the needle in a few seconds longer and not pull out immediately..but i tink it should be ok..

Thanks for ur encouragement. i think i will let nature takes its own course, will think about it only when decided to do ivf. Dun think i can do much with a confused mind.

moonfairy, does that mean u have to travel quite often from jkt to spore to see dr foong? yes, there will be a small drop of liquid at the tip of the needle. This is normal. In fact, if u dun see the drop of liquid, i think u need to tap gently on the puregon pen so that the drop of liquid can come out. maybe this is to dispel any air from the syringe?? i will normally leave the needle for about 3 seconds before withdrawing. u can find more info on the puregon pen via this website http://www.puregon.com

hi moonfairy,

ur case is very unique..not easy to travel back and forth..but at least u wun get bored with the same environment all the time..

haha i oso put on alot of weight when i got married..same same..tat why my nickname puipui coz tat is wat my hubby always call me. the 80 is my birth year

hi puipui

So that's what ur nick name means! heehee, that's a cute one.

moonfairy, do u mind sharing wat business u doing at jkt that only requires 2-3 days per week of committment? How nice if i just need to work for 3 days a week!

yeah lor, i find sg very hard to earn money..rental always so high, most of the time, profit all go to rental..sg so small everywhere so competitive.

we tot of doing boarding for foreign students. my aunt has a sister tat does tat and she started with 1 or 2 in the beginning but now she has 30 over students with her in 2 houses. we may wan to do tat in abt 2 to 3 years time, see how oso..sigh, very hard to make money wan.

hi moonfairy,

i know wat u mean..my main worry is wat happens if they get hurt or dun listen and get into trouble..i oso dunno where to start in terms of finding students and finding schools for them, etc..mainly the logistics of it all..i agree its good business, i think my aunt sis earns more than 10k a mth just by doing this and her husband quit his job to help out now..so this is actually my main motive..

i just worry abt my hubby career..he work in the same office for 8 yrs now and is in the management level..but i just tink tat he should plan in the long term, i mean how long more or how much higher can he go? furthermore sg always like to retrench pple when times are bad, esp white collar workers now..now things are good but if we go into recession again, anything can happen.

so i guess i jus wana plan an alternative business as a back up. my hubby say he can be taxi driver but i say he always take wrong direction and drive so slow, customer wun wan to pay him..hahah

moonfairy,

jus asking..did u go dwn to the clinic many times while on lucrin? wat abt now on puregon? coz i will be alone during this whole injection process and gleneagles is out the way for me, have to take cab.

the lucrin is the syringe type? did u have problems with air bubbles? my husband had alot of difficulty drawing the meds from the bottle so always took a long time tapping the syringe till air bubbles are eliminated..so im afraid i will encounter the same ting as i have to do myself tis time.

hi moonfairy,

dun stress dun stress..my sis oso had a poor showing when she did her ivf..had 9 follicles coz she onli had 1 ovary..the other was removed as she had etopic pregnancy..they said so few eggs but but in the end she managed to get 5 very good ones.

compared to mine, i had so many more but all very poor quality and ended up for the disposal bin. only 3 made it.

so dun tink too much now, u still have 1 more week..maybe things will change. stay positive okie?

moonfairy
dont think of the negative now. i will remember you in my prayers. more importantly at this time, you got to eat well, rest and sleep well. the last time i had ivf, i had 26 eggs but only 5 make it. like what puipui said, the quantity is not so critical, the quantity is more important.

hi moonfairy,

thanks for the clear instructions..1 blueblack very good leh..i had a few until 1 time i cried

as strawberry said, u mus take care of ur health. drink plenty water, eat and sleep well. i will oso keep u in my prayers and if u need a listening ear, we will be there for u..lets ride it out till monday and cross the bridge when the time comes..there are always alternatives that u can consider but lets not think abt that for now..most important is to rest well now and take care of urself.