DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

I try to put her chest to chest to burp too. Either she bochap continue to slp (usu midnite feeds) or she will make noise cos she doesnt want to be disturbed. then if i put her dwn, she will spit up..

faithnhope, my PD said if bb really cannot be burp, hold bb in upright position for at least 15 minutes then put them to sleep on the side.. this way bb won get choke when split up milk....

I had problem burping my bb too in his first few months.. I dare not to follow my PD way even he told me so.. so I BF for 1 hour, burp for another hour; and by the time i put him to bed, it is due for next feed... really tiring for me and my CL... very bad leh... and like that hor, my bb gets the habit of being carried to sleep... very difficult...

so later what I did was I followed my PD's way.. but I stay awake to monitor my bb for about an hour before going back to sleep... I pump while Im monitoring... tired too but at least change my bb's habit of being carried to sleep.... not perfect but at least better....

Yes on top of the package I paid $60 for the consultation which mean the whole jabs will cost me over a thousand. Faith, u may wan to check ard the price. I asked ard some PD charge consultation and some don. My PD Dr Lim was assigned by Dr Fong.

Match gal,

Sorry I cant send out the msg. I haven't see Dr Fong yet. My lochia lasted for abt 2 months. Just cleared not long ago. Will be seeing Dr Fong next week. I shall check with him on this and get back to u. If u r worried, can always call the clinic nurse to check. They r friendly and helpful too.

Faith,

U still latch ur bb? I hardly latched my boy now coz whenever I latch I am not sure how much he drank and he can get very cranky after awhile. Yes, I think my bb over stimulated too. Mrs Ong told me on this. Even if I stay at home he still get cranky. Ur bb got nightmares? My boy have it. Cried so pitiful. Now my boy love to play with his touge and lots of saliva.

Usually when bb teething? I was wondering my bb teething at this stage? Btw how many oz should my bb be drinking at 2 months? He is drinking abt 90ml and I realize my surrounding friend and my nephew youger than him oso take 90ml some even 120ml. Is he getting enough? I told PD he is drinking abt 90ml he say ok. Puzzled. Can someone pls enlighten me.

Mrsong, yah, I try to put her chest to chest and pat her back but she will only stay that way if she's really sleepy, usually during midnight.

Joy, yes, I still latch my girl esp if I do not have help cos latching is the fastest way to feed her. But I'm trying to cut down on latching, when I have time to pump. It's really tiring to latch. Unfortunately, I think I do not have a lot bm still.. sigh.. so supplementing with fm. Speaking of nightmares, yes, I think she does. There were a few times she slept in my arm after latching and then suddenly she just cry haha! She gets scared easily by loud noise and will cry also.. jialart loh like that..

My girl (now 6 weeks) is drinking between 60-80ml. Joy, I think every baby is different. I also concerned if she was getting enough but knowing that she slept after drinking, it means it's enough for her.. so should be fine.. so long as your bb is satisfied after feeds, he shd be ok.

I guess PD wil say as long as ur bb is putting on wt & within range, doesn't matter how muc they drink.

My gal is not a big drinker too, nv drink more than 150ml at one time even now. Sometimes, it's not the amt per x they drink.. but the total amt they drink in a day. Some hv shorter feed & drink lesser.. some longer feed & drink more. So it adds up to abt the same.

My gal starts to teeth around her 4th mth. But every bb is diff.. when u clean her mouth, u shd c if her gums r swollen, or hard & if there's whitish 'tooth' spouting out! They wil get more cranky then...

Guess bb tends to get started easily when they r younger. I rem mine wil wave her arms wildly! So i wil wrap her when she sleeps at nite.. i find she sleeps better n sounder this way. Bean sprout pillow might help.. but hv to be careful.

hazeline

Richelle has 2 grown teeth only. but her lower gums are very very swollen and she is very cranky at nites
poor me ... gotta wake up so many times.

PD

I only trust my kids with PD. went to GP years ago when Rachel had fever, and GP simply brush it off as teething. Halo ! teething dont cause high grade fever ok ... fever didnt subside and only when i go to PD then I know of her sore throat infection. and PD always do a very thorough check during every visit.

After 3 kids, I have learnt so much from my PD and he has always advised me to diagnose and medicate my kids, and dont need to see him so often
ahah

faithnhope,
yah very difficult to burp a sleeping baby.. I can understand your feeling because I was facing the same problem too.
Try it out and you will master it soon. Ohya, ivy sends regards to you. She said she tried iui at the same time as you last year.

Joy,
if baby seems satisfied after feed, then you should not be worrying about how much he takes. Else, you can try increase the milk amount abit see if he can finish. If can, then increase the amount, if not, then back to the old amount lor. Trial in error.
There is general rule of thumb for milk intake amounts is 100 - 150ml per kg of body weight. So if your baby weighs 4kg, he should consume about 400 - 600ml of formula in a 24-hour period. I got this from baby center.

RE: Bad dream
My boy get shocked easily and had bad dream at night very often when he was younger. I give him 镇惊丸every 2-3 days and find it really helps.
It helps my boy sleeps better and have better appetite. I will give my boy 镇惊丸 even now when I think he met too much people in day time or play too much.

RE: Teething
ya, every baby is different. My boy started teething at around 4 months' old. I use 余人生保婴丹 to rub baby's gum and it helps to reduce saliva and swollen gum.
My boy has 2 tooth at lower gum and 4 tooth at upper gum.. think another teeth is coming out coz he keeps biting me again these 2 days...

hi sunny, my pd is dr ngiam thye eng at international child n adolscent clinic at gleneagles. he was previously from SBCC. he is a very experienced pd who specialise in lungs n cough.

mrsong
got somethg to reduce saliva?? My gal is lik a walking waterfall leh... duno how many hankies I use daily!

some say cos I nv 'keep' her saliva when she's 100days old.. haiz

haze1ine, I use 余人生保婴丹 to rub my baby's gum. It helps to reduce saliva and relief swollen gum.. u can try if u believe in TCM...

Faith
1) Get the NUK rubber/latex teats. They are softer than silicone and feel more like the real thing. If you are using Avent bottles even better. Get the Nuk rubber teats that come in the big size. The rubber teats are opaque yellow, not clear like the silicone ones. It's also flat on one side with a hole so apparently the sucking motion is more like drinking from your Bs. It's available at Robinsons.

2)Also, get someone else to bottle feed her these few days. Cos she can probably smell your BM and if she cries, and you have automatic let-down, lagi worse.

Don't worry about it. Very natural to have difficulty adapting. B so natural and also so comfortable mah. I found that the Nuk rubber teats made a big difference for us.

But why do you not want to latch? Stopping BF entirely or have you other issues? I used to pump and let the teachers feed at childcare but at night and in the mornings still latch to keep up the supply. My hubby will feed on the few occasions that I had to stay back late at work or had other appointments. Not meant to be a criticism or anything. Just wondering.

faith
i only total bf for a few wks... then all the way express liao. Cos my gal initially stil sub w FM... so she's ok w bottles. I try to latch her again she dun want liao.

Mayb try diff teat lik sunny suggested.

actually, we hv to plan if u do total bf cos once u go back to work, if bb stil can't take bottle, very diff.

faith

i had the same problem with my 3rd gal and NUK LATEX teats solve the problem. Initially i was using Pigeon teats but my gal still refused, such that my mum has to spoon feed her !

anyway i have just stop BF when she turns 10 mths old, and she is ok with NUK silicone teats now.

Hi ladies, thks 4 d suggestn. i wil try nuk teats. i dun mind her latchg but sometimes feel v tired n want a rest. my hb n sis tried feedg but she doesnt want . m using avent bottle. can nuk teats fit?

Faith,

i am using Nuk product. Yes, the latex teat can fixed Avent bottle. Please buy the wide neck type. There is a bp selling nuk teat at cheaper price. I bought from there too. Initially my boy oso refused bf. Mrs Ong advice me to ask someone to bottlefeed him as he can smell our milk and will refuse to drink from bottle. I asked my mil and hb to feed him. U may try this method.

Sunny,
I went to see Dr Fong yesterday. Dr Fong dyed his hair. I realise that he has alots of white hair. Took bb to take photo with him. Hehee

Thks all! My gal stil nt drinkg fr nuk bot.. pek chek haha.. but better than prev. At least she drinks 30-40ml 1st.. my hb n sis did d bottlefeedg but can't fool her too long.. sigh..

Guess have to keep tryg.,

Faith
you can try either wrapping the bottle up in one of your used and not washed tshirts or have your hb/sis hold it between them and baby when feeding. So have a bit of your smell
Bit like 'smelly pillow' concept

hang in there. sorry if i was too optimistic about the nuk teat. we still had adjustment issues but like yours, at least baby was more receptive towards bottle feeding until slowly she accepted even the silicone teat.

May I know how much is Dr. Fong Yang consultation fee.

normally how much would you spent from consultancy to give birth for complicated pregnancy with Dr. Fong Yang.

Sigh.. she's nt takg bottle again.. *faintz*

Chez, for Tiong Bahru, 1st consultatn $70 then repeats $50. Can't really tell total cos it also depends on what u mean by cnmplicated. Personally I think more important that u r comfy w d gynae.

faith
ur gal is testing ur patience oredi.. hee

Thk u jus hv to try again n again.. else u go back to wrk liao how? thk when she's hungry, she wil drink..

just saw last Friday. Can't remember whether increase from 1 March or 1 April... prob 1st April.. but I blur la... anyway, I already signed package so no difference to me I guess. Eileen just smiled when I asked whether the package price already included the increase (cos in 2008 was 600, now 700)

the sat add 10 is only for the paragon clinic... which is a silly explanation for me to make come to think of it, since only paragon is open on Sats

Hello, m gd n hv learnt bb's pattern n could manage her alone. Only problem is she is stil nt takg bottle lor.. so everytime when we bring her out, d pl has to hv nursing facility n i wil go away n bf her lor.. i bought nursing poncho but cant quite grab her in positn while havg to hold n peep thru d neck hole to ensure she latchd.

So fast, ur gals cmg to 1yo.. when's my turn hhaha!

Hi Faith, not to worry. I nursed no 1 everywhere. So long as you're discrete, most pp are quite understanding. In fact I dont like to nurse at nursing rooms as (i)they are usually near toilet, so smelly, (iii) cramped - if got chairs, either too narrow or too hard, and (iii) so boooooring....no body to talk to, nothing to read...I nursed a lot at e.g. starbucks, Coffee Bean, Dome hehe... just choose a quiet corner, order a drink or makan, grab a mag, pop baby on and chill
I like using the MIM sarong. I find that easier to handle than a poncho. After a while you dont really need to see her latch, you just to just "pop" her on and off

I saw this angmo woman with her boobs hanging out at Botanics....not how I would have done it but oh well... to each his own... even her, no one really gawked.. tho as the malays would say "tak manis la".

Wah, no 2 very active, like butterfly trying her wings every 3 hours or so. Did any mums get like a very tight cramp feeling down below in your 6th month onward? I wonder if it's braxton hicks? ANyone can share?... the websites all say it feels a bit like contractions but I didn't get any when carrying no.1, then had epi and was totally numb during delivery so..

sunny
me me... i always feel my tummy very tight n pressure down there. I hv a scare at abt 32wks & was put on med n rest... luckily all ok.

u chk w dr f if u're worried... they wil hook u on the machine n c if it's real contraction. Thk ur no1 u shd hv done it b4 rite?

faith
when u going back to work? guess u're slowly getting a hang of it.. good for u!

very fast one.. mine oredi going to b 1... urs wil b super fast oso.. haha

Im new here. Went to see this chinese physician (@ Ying Chuan Chinese Medical Hall) at JE St 21 today and she said that i have PCOS since young.

Referred me to Dr Fong for my problem with PCOS. However, the Name card she gave me is Dr Fong Chuan Wee from Fong Clinic for Women located at Gleneagles Medical Centre.

Is this Dr Fong Chuan Wee aka Dr Fong Yang? Somehow I tink its 2 different pple and I just wanna cfm on this.

Anyone able to clarify?

Dr Fong yang has a clinic at paragon and tiong bahru. Like u I have pcos and I went to see dr Fong for 2 yrs and just given birth recently.

Pm me if u need any info.

Haze1ine, m takg a break fr work till year end as I want to b my gal's main caregiver.. hehe

Rachel, the 2 Dr Fongs u mentioned r diff persons..

hi hazeline

ya so fast right ! i haven't plan how to celebrate bb 1st day. and then the 2 jie jie birthdays will be in July and Aug ! so I will be busy with their celebrations as well !

5429369.jpg

woah... Rich looks lik a big gal herself oredi! I lik her hair.. so tidy! My gal's so diff to maintain...

I wun b doing anythg big... im too lazy! haha

hazeline, ya v tiring to org big parties. i also keep it to family n close frens only. richelle hair is quite thin compare to her eldest sis. but can v untidy when she perspire. is yr gal walking ? richelle only walks with support.

According to this mummy (on another forum not singpoare motherhood) "7) Thomson Plaza - big spacious cubicle for one mummy on level 3 (near swensens)"

[wah i didn't know S-motherhood so kiasi until can't even mention other sites??]

For me, so long as there is a starbucks, dome, spinellis or something equivalent, that's my nursing facility
. Hate sitting alone in a "cell" feeding babe. So long as discrete, should not be a problem.

most welcome. us nursing mummies must be more "aggressive" i feel sometimes and not meekly settle for whatever 'management' dishes out. Some of the cubicles for nursing are so small and narrow it's like a standing coffin...you can't even turn around or put your feet up but must be constantly at attention... how to be 'at attention' when baby is suckling and oxytocin (the relaxing hormone) is running through you I ask... and some of the chairs that the management so kindly put in the rooms for our "comfort"... so hard and straight-backed.. even my well padded butt cannot tahan more than a minute or two. no need to mention the nursing "facilities" right next to the stinky loos.... nope, give me a nice cushioned armchair at starbucks or dome anytime. If I'm wearing a more revealing outfit, I use the MIM sarong sling to cover up - v useful this, to carry baby while shopping or walking or attending AWARE EGMS hehe , useful emergency mat if picnicking or for any reason you just need to put baby down, emergency towel for all the water play areas, can be rolled up for extra cushioning as a pillow on the pram..or to cover milk spills or stains on your blouse.
I sometimes just leave it hanging on me like a malay's selendang/long scarf. pp dont bat an eye so long as they see a baby somewhere around, like being carried by daddy. Can't really do the same with a nursing poncho i think tho of if you feel comfortable, go right ahead.

My gal is such fussy gal n nothg can keep her still, whether sling or pram.. sigh.. she'll only want to stay in d sling or pram when she's slpy

Hi mums, you may want to check your kids CDA account. The govt should have deposited the 300-400 Grow and share portion into the accounts by now. If not, you may want to contact the mcys to ask.