Dr Douglas Ong from Bukit Panjang Plaza

oh, n if i'm not mistaken, we have to pay the package in full by cash first (2 installments), then when delivering the baby, can submit the receipts to the hospital for reimbursement up to $450 for antenatal expenses. cmiiw.
the package cannot use to deduct previous consultation lah..
but i feel the earlier u sign up for the package, the more u "save" coz u don't have to pay for consultation and scan each time individually.

Hi ningyo
I understand other gynae packages like $550, I went to one gynae with tat price before Dr Ong. However, do note that such price does not include delivery charges. Whereas for Dr Ong, the package would have the normal delivery charges included.

Aiyo...I dun like to go Ten Mile Junction, so inconvienent....

Mum2B,
Oscar test is also referred to as Nuchal Scan where they measure baby's neck to check for possible down syndrome symptoms.

Terrier,

Yah! I don't like ten mile junction too!! So inconvenience! Btw, i was wondering how come the clinic asst never inform us on the change of location?

Ya...dunno how come the clinic still haven't inform us leh? The shifting supposed within this month?

U know it's so inconvienent for me to go Ten mile junction...I live nearby the Bukit batok Driving Centre, so near to the Ten mile junction, and yet, there's no direct bus to go there...Currently, I can just take 187 to Bukit Panjang. My hubby was saying the only way is to take LRT, but that's so stupid, imaging take LRT and transfer @ Chua Chu Kang MRT, then take MRT back to bukit gombak!

terrier,

I think if u take 187 n alight at the bus stop (Bt Panajang) after the T-junction of ten mile then walk back to ten mile will be easier for u. The distance not very far...

are you all taking 1-bedder or 2-bedder at Mt A? i'm still wondering if i should spend more on a 1-bedder... bcos would like hubby to stay in.

Hi Cindy
Think most probably I'll be opting for 2-bedder to save up a bit of money...

But of course, I also wish that my hubby can be by my side.... Your question suddenly make me think abt what if our labour is long overnight, does that mean hubby really cannot stay ah?

I've heard so much stories of those free upgrading of beds.

my gf opt for 4-bedder at Mt A n was upgraded to 2-bedder free coz 4-bedder is full.
Then 1 of my ex-colleague at TMC opt for 2-bedder n was upgraded to 1 bedder free.

So wonder, if maybe shd be abit cheapo to take the risk of taking the cheaper option n then keep fingers crossed that can get a free upgrading? hehee :p

Hi cindy,

r u havin ur delivery at Mt A? Is it confirm that Dr Ong does delivery there? Coz i quite like Mt A.

So if he does not do delivery there, then i'll go look for other gynae liao....

Ningyo,
yes, Dr Ong allows us to choose either Mt A or Mt E. initially i was thinking of Mt E but after much considerations, think will choose Mt A. More economical in case of emergency caesarian....

Terrier,
not too sure whether the nurses there will be very strict leh. But i believe if give birth in the middle of nite, should be able to stay for a while lah...

Hi cindy,
Phew, so Dr ong also do normal birth n c-section at Mt A,right?

Anyway, 1 of my colleague recently gave birth by C-section at Mt E and she's stayin at 2-bedder, her bill was about $5.7K! So after deducting the cpf, she'll need to fork out abt $3k cash.
She was saying if hers was a normal birth, the bill will probably be $1.3k cheaper.
So X leh!

Hi ningyo,
yap, both.
yah, Mt E c-sec very ex....My colleague opt for natural but have difficutly so got to do emergency c-sec and her bill was close to $7k.
So think i betta take Mt A.

btw, when is ur EDD?

Hi cindy,

Wah! Ur colleague's bill is even more X than my colleague's.

My EDD is still far to go...hehee
21st August based on my last check up.

Will be seeing Dr Ong this wed and the nurse will brief me on his packages. So b4 i sign on the dot, must do some last min checkings on the rates.

terrier,

yup yup.. done with it. Everything is normal!

I reached the clinic before 830am and got everything done around 11 plus!! I was so hungry!! Dr Ong asked me to start to prepare for my delivery.. must read up and have an idea what to prepare during delivery! Made me so nervous now..

Happy Lunar New Year! Hope everyone have a good year, with our bbs coming

Hi Littleger
That's great!
Hopefully I can tahan the test, nowadays hungry very fast leh...how did you pass time for that few hours of waiting?

terrier,
i accompanied my hubby to take his breakfast then went back to the clinic to wait cos all the shops not open yet! Kinda bored lor..

Hippie! Finally my glucose test is over today!

All normal...

Littleger, do you have to provide your choice next week?

terrier,
Hee.. so during the 2 hrs plus.. hungry not? Did you drink some water during the waiting? The clinic assistant saw me taking water and told me not to drink too much if not it won't be accurate. I was thinking, if no drink abit water.. i got no urine!!!

Dr Ong asked mi if i decided on the hosp package during my last visit.. he said just in case of early labour so better start deciding. So i think i better let the clinic assistant know my choice when i go for my appt next week. Did he ask u if u have decided on the hosp package? I was also wondering when are we paying the other half of our delivery package.

littleger
The glucose drink taste yucks leh....in fact, I got diarrhoea after tat leh....I accompany hubby for his breakfast, then Wendy called me to go back for usual checkup as Dr Ong was in... after the checkup, I went down to the bank to run errands, heehee...so the time to wait doesn't seem tat bad afterall....

Ya, Dr Ong also asked us if we decided on the hosp package oredi...I oso forget when we need to pay the rest of delivery package... :p

Hey girls,
Just wanna find out if you all know how's Dr Ong's stitching?? 2 more mths to go for me... very very scared!!!!

hey littleger,

then what did u do the whole morning? must be so boring sitting there for 2 hours and where did u park? is the carpark at mt e exp?

bookworm,

I went back to the clinic n wait for him... nothing much to do there also. kinda boring but no choice! Park the car at Paragon... damn ex!!! I don't think Mt E carpark is cheap also...

long time no activity here.. i'm due for my detailed scan next week, so if i want to buy the cd, do i tell the nurse/dr before he scan or after the scan is finished? scared if i tell them after the scan, then it will be too late coz he won't be recording the scanning?

btw, does anybody know where to buy maternity book and baby development books? hehe not sure what they called, but the first is supposed to be a book which we can record our feelings, development of fetus, attached scanned pictures etc during pregnancy. and the second one is to record the milestones and pictures of bb since birth, like when 1st crawling, grow tooth, etc. anybody know?

mum2b - preg & baby books can jus borrow fr library, I always do so. NLB also has preg & baby magazines!! Can read fr different authors, then maybe u buy one tat u like fr all the major bookstores

Mum2B,

U can just let the clinic asst knows u wan to purchase the cd when u are doing the payment.. no need to tell Dr Ong beforehand.

Hello Ladies
Happen to drop by this thread. I have a 15mths old son, me too went to Dr Ong. He is a v.gentle guy. I too delivered at Mt A, two bedded. Dun worry the nurses there are quite friendly and experience. Any problems, you can feedback to them.
I went to Dr Ong when I was 5 mths. Prior to that I went KK. Lousy service. Everytime I went for appt, it will takes me 1/2day.
For those mum who had yet to deliver, just relax, just get too stress up hor.

Hi Leo
So encouraging to see ur message...In fact, I'm very stressed up now. Just yesterday went for my 30th wk checkup, bb oredi 1.9kg, n Dr Ong said my bb is on the big side. This makes me worried alot, b'coz I'm hoping for a natural delivery...

Hi Leo,

Just to chk with you.. how much extra did u pay for your hosp bill? Btw, i just received a pre-admission form from Mt A.. so do i fill up the form and send back or get the clinic asst to do for me? Hey, share your experience w us when u are free!! hee... interested to know from admission to delivery!!!
How do u find Dr Ong's stitching? How many days for the pain to go away? I so tensed up!

Terrier,

wahhh.. ur bb oledi 1.9kg at 30th wk!! Mine is ardz 1.4kg. But heard that bb boy tends to weigh heavier.. dun worry though, i believe you still can go for natural delivery!! Have you ask the clinic asst to book the hosp for you?

hi Leo,
what should we bring to mt.a for the delivery? don't want to pack too many things in the hospital bag, but also don't want to miss anything important. pls share? thanks..
I'm also going for shopping f/ bb stuff, what r the things that given by the hospital? don't want to end up buying double.

hi louie,
thanks.. but err.. what i mean is a journal book, not a reading book. will check motherworks this weekend, heard that they have it.

hi littleger,
ok noted, thanks..

terrier, littleger,
i'm quite the opposite, dr ong told me my bb was only 200gr at 18 wk scan. worried that it's too small..

Mum2B,

18wk think still quite early... i suppose bb will start to gain weight from the 30wk onward... If Dr Ong never comment anything, suppose it's normal? No worry no worry...

I'm oso going shopping for my bb stuffs this weekend!! hehe.. so excited.. can buy cute cute mittens n booties!!

just happened to pop by this thread after a long period of absence. i gave birth by C-sect at Mt A single ward and had to fork out abt $2.7K in cash. Think it was ex coz i went in for natural delivery but ended up in emergency C-sect. Anyway, not to worry abt Dr Ong's stitches. I hv other frenz who went to Dr Ong n said that his stitching is good for episiotomy. Not much pain nor discomfort

Re: baby's weight gain
yes it's true that baby will put on most weight in the last trimester. My baby put on the most weight in my final 2 weeks of pregnancy! So much so that she turned out bigger and heavier than expected. Even Dr Ong was surprised!

I heard Dr Ong's clinic has a 3/4-D scan machine.

can i check with u how much Dr Ong charges for just 1 visit for 3/4-D scan?

Is he still at BPP or shifted to 10 miles already?

Re: hospital bag for Mt A
Mt A will provide Pampers Premium NB, Johnson wet wipes, Kotex maternity pads, and baby bathtub. And some other freebies like toiletries set, samples of baby bathing stuff, etc etc.

Hi durianlover
Is Dr Ong's stitches okie on ur c-section? and those diapers and pads that Mount A provide us are in terms of 1 packet right? Any leftover is for us to take home?

Littleger
I still haven't book the hospital yet leh...

tinklebell
The 3/4D scan machine is only available at his Mount E clinic. Not sure abt 1 time charge for it though.

Littlegel & Mum2B
I stay for 3 days, normal delivery total fees is $2325.97. I need to fork out abt $300+ cash, the rest fm medisave. But when you admitted, they would required you to place deposit of $450.

For my case, my water bag burst fm behind, that's means only small hole, in the middle of the nite. No pain. So I know that i got 24hrs(if i didnt remember wrongly) to play around. So continue my sleep. Wake up next day, go for b'fast then proceed to Mt.A. Admitted at abt 11am.
You need to bring your admission letter whereby Dr Ong will give them to you, your NRIC and your HB NRIC. Once you at the counter, just tell them you came for delivery, the forms, they will get ur HB to fill. You will then proceed to the delivery wards. So you will wait till you're ready to delivered,They will check on your conditions, clear your bowels. As wat durianlover had mentioned, all BB stuffs they will provide. Then go the delivery room where you will see your gynae.
I waited till 7-8pm b4 I was pushed to delivery room. So just lie down wait n watch TV. Since I take epidual, no pain. My side effect of epidual is vomit. 3 times b4 and 1 time after delivery. (the side effect of epidual varies). I wait for my dilation till 10pm then ready to push. Push for abt 3 hrs, my BB comes out at 1 am plus. Dr Ong will message ur tummy area to clear out unwanted blood and tissues then follow by switches (Dun feel any pain since i took epidual).You will only feel uncomfortable when walking at first two days., after that you will be better. Make sure you clean the wound properly. Of course when cleaning the wound for the 1st few days, you will feel slight pain.

So after you n your BB will be send to the ward. Then a while later, then they bring ur BB to BB ward. The nurse will check w you if you wanna to breastfeed that nite as some may be too tired to breastfeed. But I only breastfeed for 2 weeks since my BB got the habit of snacking.. (meaning he sucks for a while then went to sleep, less than an hr, cried for milk again... maybe i am not good at this, so i give up) So if you choose to breastfeed, the nurse will push the BB to you when it is time for feed.

So next day at Mt.A I went for the classes they offered. No additional $$. Am too bored lying on the bed. Hehe......... Then 3rd day, busy packing and getting ready to go home.

You need to bring your clothings, slippers (so that u can walk abt, go for classes at Mt.A, eg: how to breastfeed, exercise during initial mths, how to bath the child) For BB, you may want to bring 1 suit for him/her to wear when going home. When u leave, they provide BB items such as travel pack BB toiletries, BB wrap, BB clothings, bath tub, magazines,etc)- Cant remember clearly.

FYI, I signed up for classes when I was 33weeks @ Mt.A. Sorry forgot how many lessons are they. Every hospital will have lessons for First Time Mum, you can check it out. I went at 33 weeks since my friend told me if I go early, by the time i am going to deliver, I will forget everything.

Hope it help you to relax after sharing my experience. I guess most impt is to relax, dun think too much. Relax mode then can deliver easier.

durianlover,
Thanks for the info on Dr Ong's stitching!!

tinklebell,
Dr Ong has shifted to ten miles junction. Only his Mt E clinic has the 3D machine.. as for the charges not too sure so maybe u would like to call up n enquire.

Leo,

Wahhh.. if i were you, water bag burst sure will freak me up! Don't think i can continue to sleep thru-out the night! Me first time deliver.. not sure if i know when is the "right" time to call my gynae and to go hosp!! Heard that once u are admitted into the hosp, they will put u on drip? Is this true? Is it a must they will ask u to clear bowels?

Gynae will only arrive when u are going to deliver right? Or they will come n see ur condition first? Oh ya, hubby is allow to accompany u once u are admitted into the hosp right? But can they stay overnight in the delivery ward when waiting to deliver? So for the normal ward, what time can ur hubby stay until?

The classes the hosp offered, can hubby attend as well? What type of clothings do we need to bring? Pyjamas?

Geez... i don't think i will opt for epidural.. so dunno if i can "RELAX" not.. hahahaa...

Hi littleger
Yes will need to be on drip.
everyone must clear their bowels, so that in the process of pushing, will push the wrong thing out mah. As when u push, u wont be able to control. U will only push whenever the gynae ask u to.
For my case, as i do not hv contraction, Dr Ong did not come when i admitted. Is only when they send u to the delivery room, then they will inform your gynae.Once in the delivery room, Dr Ong did come over to check on me. After that he will leave till your dilate reaches near to 10cm.
HB can stay with you once you're admitted till you delivered.
I choose 2 bedded room, my HB did not stay overnite. But visitors got to leave b4 11pm. But if you're slightly late, they wont chase you out.
If I'm not wrong, only single bed room can allow HB to stay overnite.

Personally I dun think is neccessary since I will be sleeping, HB around or not dun really matter.

Of course your HB can attend the classes. Actually they encourage HB to attend. It is good to let your HB have the knowledge of what is expecting from them as we will hv mood swing after delivered.

If you intend to breastfeed, suggest you bring pyjamas that have buttons in front, will make things easier for you. Of course not forgetting the clothes for you to go back home.hehe...

I totally encourage you not to take epidural if you can endure the contraction.

When are you due? Boyboy or Gerger?