Dr Douglas Ong from Bukit Panjang Plaza

terrier,

Me going next week! hehehe... so excited!! Ok, will keep u girls updated!! Urs is just one week after mine.. very fast one.. *grin*

went for my scan on wed n Dr Ong say mine is a gal gal. yah littleger, let us know how's ur detailed scan. I'm only going for mine in mid Jan.

littleger,
yap think so cos baby's legs are spread out and Dr Ong say by now if boy then the dick will be xx millimetres (dun know how long, i forgot)

went to see dr ong yest and he confirmed my pregnancy.

i'm 6weeks already. Will see him in 2 weeks time.

May i know what will the next check up be like and what will i expect to see? Will i get more pixs?
Coz quite surprised that had to do a vaginal scope yest and get to keep a pix of the baby.

ningyo,

Congrats!! Ya... normally he will carry out vaginal scope at the very early stage. He will only give you one pic every visit.

Hi ladies, may i know how is dr ong? he is the patient type? i am using any gynae and thinking of whether to change to him since he is nearer to my place.

tinklebell,

You can be assured that Dr ong is very patient. So far i feel very comfortable with him and he is always very cheerful!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Cindy & terrier,
I've went for my detailed scanning already! Can't really see very clear of my girl's features cos her hands were blocking part of her face - SLEEPING!! Hmm.. Dr Ong tried to wake her up though.. but well, still can't see her full face!
My next appt will be a tough one.. got to do some blood tests and glucose test i think.. will take ardz 2 hrs plus! Before that no food for me.. only can have plain water!! The clinic asst told me need to draw my blood twice on that day!!*faint*

littleger,
ur gal is a sleeping beauty hehe...
so did u get the cd from Dr Ong?
are they extra tests? wah 2 hrs, my god!

Cindy,

yah.. i'm getting the cd! haha.. Dr Ong said my little one looks more like mummy!! My hubby said even sleeping pattern oso like mine!

I'm not sure if the tests are extra... was wondering if anyone here has gone thru this test and can tell mi wat's is this all about!!?? The min i heard must draw blood and the test is going to take 2hrs already made me feel giddy! haha...

Hi littleger!

So u finally gone thr ur detailed scan! So u have seen her features very clearly? and in color mode?

When is your next long appt scheduled to be? Still at Mount E?

Terrier,

yaya.. went for the detailed scan.. hmm.. not say very clear.. roughly roughly lor! It's in orange colour instead of black n white.

Next appt will be a mth later - next jan!! Yup.. still in Mt E.. was quite surprised when told to go back there again. But i guess it's becos of the 2hrs test..

Terrier,

yaya.. went for the detailed scan.. hmm.. not say very clear.. roughly roughly lor! It's in orange colour instead of black n white.

Next appt will be a mth later - next jan!! Yup.. still in Mt E.. was quite surprised when told to go back there again. But i guess it's becos of the 2hrs test..

littleger, aiya...like tat I have to take NPL again.... :|

I'm getting anxious over my detailed scan next friday!

Did you manage to get the CD on the spot or only getting it during the next appt?

hi littleger

if i dun remember wrongly, the test is to see if you developed gestational diabetic during your pregnancy. when you reach the clinic, they will draw the blood. thereafter, you will be given a bottle of "soft drink" to finish. 2 hrs later, they will draw your blood again. this process is to take the reading via the blood test before and after you took the "soft drink". not so scary la, dun worry.

terrier,
oh.. next fri! Hee.. must be feeling excited cos u can see ur boy again!! The cd can't collect on the spot... but u got to pay first if u want the cd. But next yr u shld have entitled leave to take right?

red.rose,
ahhh... i see.. i thought diabetic can test by urine... didn't know must draw blood! Ok.. now i got it!

terrier,

I just rem that Dr Ong can give u a day mc when u go for ur scanning during the day so u no need to apply for NPL!!

littleger
Oh really?! That's great! :D But did he only give u the MC on that appt day? Then u already apply half day leave first?

terrier,

yah.. he will give the MC on that day. I usually don't apply leave... i will tell my boss i got gynae appt so she let mi go lor.. then after that i will give her the MC.

Hi Littleger
Yup, finally I got my detailed scan done, everything is fine. BB is now 700g @ 25 wks. Initially he was asleep, but later saw him yawning and putting his fist into his mouth...so cute...So nice to be able to see bb's face...heehee...somehow already can feel he looks like my hubby...

I've been having vagina/pelvic pain recently...he said my uterus is abit low lying, which stress on the pelvic floor...and 3rd trimester symptom kicks in earlier...I can't imagine I got to tahan this pain for another few months

How are you feeling recently? Everything ok?

terrier,

so niceeeeeeee!!! u can see ur bb yawning and oso can tell tat he looks like ur hubby! I can't tell mine looks like who!! haha.. but Dr Ong said looks more like me! Maybe she is only 23rd week at that time so can't see her features clearly or maybe i "dunno" how to see! haha.. So did u ask for MC from Dr Ong?

I can feel some uncomfy at my vagina too.. not to the extend of pain but very uncomfortable. It's like having menses that kind of feeling. My report says i have low lying placenta but i read from website that as the baby grows, our expanding uterus naturally pulls the placenta away from our cervix. Even if the placenta is still low-lying at our 20-week scan, it may well not present a problem once we are full-term. So i really hope this problem will disappear when i reach the 30th week!!

U got the pic Dr Ong print for u right? Clear? U going back to Mt E on ur next visit also? Was wondering if the next visit can request for 3D scanning again not.. haha.. den maybe i can see my bb more clearly tis time!

i'm back and now healthier, no more vomitting and a lot less morning sickness
thank God!
Have anybody taken antenatal class at mt.A? When is the good time to register as i heard that the class usually fully booked? I'm at 15 weeks now, is it too early to book now?

hi Mum2B,

glad to hear that you are feeling better!!!

I didn't take up the antenatal class, too lazy - i got to admit! But it's good if u can take up the class!! I think you can call up Mt A and enqire from them when is the ideal time for u to sign up the class.

Hi littleger/terrier,
i went for my detailed scan last fri. Baby weighs 426g at 21 weeks & 2 days. Saw my gal's features quite clearly except the eyes. My hubby say looks like me cos high forehead n small nose...
She was sleeping n sucking her thumb. Later, she did some stretching as well. Dr Ong wanted to scan her spine and asked her to turn to her back. And she did.. Dr Ong then say, see u ask her to turn she will do for u.
Btw, i got my cd on the same day cos forgotten to take mc. Went back a few hrs later and the cd'
s ready. Have been viewing it the whole weekend hehe

Hi Mum2b,
me also didn't go for the antenatal class cos hubby not free to go wif me. I think the earliest weekend class available at Mt A now is in Mar. So u should book now.

Cindy,

So good... u can see her features so clearly oso! Why only i can't see??!! issit i dunno how to see!!!*pouts* But i think my girl's nose look like mine and her lip like her daddy! U went MT E last fri... terrier oso!!

She's so cute!!! Ask her to turn and she really turned!!! And u got ur cd too!!!!!! So good! So how many pics u've got? Got still and realtime pics right?? Issit clear like on the screen? Ohhh... hope i can have mine when i go for my next visit!!! i wanna see my bb again!!! Hey, den next appt will be at Mt E again?

Oh Cindy, you were there oso last friday? I was there from 3pm, u?

Littleger, yup, I got the MC. next appt will still be at Mount E on 1st week of feb. Yesterday, happen to go thr Dr Ong's package, the normal $1500 package only includes 1 3D scan leh.... so got to pay if go for more....else maybe can upgrade to $1800 package that gives unlimited 3D scans?

Re: Antenatal package
I already sign up for feb package liao. Cindy, you should call up Mount A now to book your place 1st. Else, the waiting list maybe long.

me also seeing Dr Ong at the end of the month for detail scan. Mine is baby gal. I also sign up for the $1500 package. so does that mean only one pic. ..

Hi bookworm
We are 1 month apart... Me @ 25 wks now, littleger should be @ 26 wks now...

Re the $1500 pkg, it means only 1 3D scan, then he gave me 1 3D scan pic. Got to pay another $30 if you want all the scans to be burn into a CD. I requested for the CD to be collected from Bukit Panjang.

Hi littleger,
yup, the cd has both still and realtime pics.
Nope, it's not as clear as the machine. The pics are basically wat Dr Ong has showed u on the machine but he will modify a bit to rotate to left and right angles. Yup, my next appt at Mt E but not told to do blood test leh.

terrier,
i was there at 11.15am but i went back to collect MC at ard 3pm. My next appt will be 2nd Feb 11.45am. Dun think i will go for antenatal class already cos dun really wan to go alone if hubby cannot go wif me.

Hi Cindy
Hee, guess I can't recall seeing anybody come and left shortly that day.

My next appt oso on same day as u, but is very early @ 8.30am though

hi littleger/cindy,
thanks. I've booked for april class w/ mt.a for antenatal.

have you all taken your triple test w/ dr ong? i was wondering if this is necessary for us.

Mum2B,

Yup.. i took mine!

Terrier,

Think u are doing the blood test also right? Cos can't eat beforehand so our appt must be early. Mine oso schedule at 830am.

Hi Mum2B,

yup i took the triple test as well..
according to Dr Ong, it's optional. He say either pple do both the Oscar n triple test or not do at all. For me, think it's sort of ease of mind to do it.

Cindy,
oh i c.. ermm what is Oscar?

Btw I'm in the 16 week now but my tummy is not showing yet. kinda worried.. everybody commented "wah, cannot see (that i'm pregnant)?"
anybody with this experience?

helo everyone, may i know what is the full name of Dr Ong? and how old is he? Am asking coz we are shopping around for an experienced gynae who is good at detecting problems. thanks so much!

Full name of Dr ong is Douglas Ong Kheng Ho.
Refer to the below link for his pix.
http://www.herworld.com/sex.html

Not too good with telling age, mayb late 30's to early 40's? Must say he looks different in person from the pix. hehee

I've only seen him twice, so not sure if he's good at detecting problem. But so far, find him quite patient. Not sure if other gynae r like that.
However, find his rates abit steep or shd say it's really mkt rate for specialist.

Can anyone share with me dr ong's packages?

N also, he's shifting his bt panjang clinic to ten mile junction.
Anyway, does his clinic have those ultrasound machines or must i go thru the vaginal scope?
Quite uncomfortable with it.....

Thks!

Mum2Be,

Don't worry about the "size" of ur tummy! When i'm at my 16 weeks, i don't really have a huge tummy too. Heard from friends/relatives that tummy usually will grow very fast/bigger just one or two mths before your due date.

ningyo,

Dr Ong does have an ultrasound machine at his clinic. He only carries out vaginal scope (can "see" clearer than ultrasound scanning) during the very early stage of pregnancy. Basically, Dr Ong got 2 packages (one is 1.5k w 1 3D scanning and the other one is 1.8k w unlimited 3D scanning). If u want to have a more detailed breakdown, you can always ask the clinic asst for more informations.

Oh, when are they shifting the bp clinic to ten mile junction?

hi littleger,

Not sure of the exact date of their shifting but i'll be seeing Dr ong on 25th and he said by then they'll be located at ten mile junction.

btw, Dr ong's package included delivery charge,rite? N will the price be further reduced meaning to deduct off our previous consultations charges? heheee...Also can we use medisave to bear part of the charges?

My gf was telling me some other gynae packages is like $550 inclusive of those 2D scans and consultation and pills and previous visits b4 packages can also be deducted from package price.So wonder y the price difference....

I'm quite comfortable with dr ong but when i think of the $ part....hmmm........

littleger,
thanks. I also read from other thread that many 16-weekers don't have big tummy

ningyo,
agree w/ u, dh and i also feel dr ong's fee is quite steep, esp now we only have one source of income. but at the end we still stick w/ him coz feel secure and confident of his ability.
his package incl. delivery charge (specialist's fee) for normal delivery. If need assistance (forceps/c-section) then need to pay additional fee. it's also incl 3D scan (not 2D), which they say worth $250. but excl. any blood test and medication/vits.