Dr Douglas Ong from Bukit Panjang Plaza

YSL - sorries.. just another qn.. wat are dr ong's charges like? does he have any package where he can do ovulation monitoring?

Hi caitlyn,
I too have PCOS and have managed to conceive aft going to Dr Ong and have delivered my long awaited baby Gal in May06. He is great!

My PCOS is a result of the high LH:FSH level. I was given metformin and clomid. Just 1 cycle of these med and I conceived.

Yes, there is an ovulation monitoring package where scanning is done from day 10 (not very sure cos did not take it). It was something like $290 for 4 visits. Think price is alright considering that each visit has scanning and consultation charges.

Dont wait, go see him!

All the best! Cheers.

yasmin - thx for e info.. does dr ong specialize in sub-fertility cases? for me, i cannot take metformin coz i'm severely underwt.. doc says it will not work for me.. =(

caitlyn, Dr Ong specializes in fetal medicine. Underweight cannot take metformin izit. I'm not too sure of that. You can always seek 2nd opinion from Dr Ong on this. But if Dr Ong is going to say the same thing than its like wasted but am sure that there are substitute medicines available and there cld be other methods to help you conceive. You can try iui, so-iui and ivf. I know a few of them who have done so-iui and have succeeded, 1 of them even had twins (1boy+1gal).

Be positive, and try your luck.

I wld like to share with you my story. Hopefully you get some inspiration...

I had my 1st kid, son, immediately aft I got married. In fact the very next mth missed my period and tested +ve. Put on 20kg for whole pregnancy but was not able to shed of the weight. I tried for 2nd baby. Tried for almost 3 yrs. Was informed by a gynae frm NUH that I had probs due to weight. I tried and managed to shed off 50% of the remaining wt. Then gynae said cld be a male factor. My husband did the tests and was confirmed. Then we gave up. The very next mth clear blue turned a faint +ve. But 3-4 days later menses came. 4 mths later another +ve. But foetus did not grow. All this with NUH gynae. Me and husband wanted to seek 2nd opinion, came upon Dr Ong by chance. He confirmed that foetus had no heartbeat and next day scheduled for D&C.

Had menses only 2 mths aft D&C. Dr Ong had advised me on the last visit that I shld do a blood test once I had my period. So did the test and found the imbalance hormone level. Was given med and 4 wks later was pregnant and Dr Ong helped me to deliver a beautiful and healthy baby gal.

So, stay +ve and soon you'll see +ve sign too! All the best!

hi littleger, YSL and everyone here... =) thanks for the info on the stitching..

I have been diagnoised with PCOS with another gynae through a pelvic ultrasound and ever since knowing that i might have problems conceiving, i felt super stressed. Since then, my usual 6 weekly menses become extended to 8 weeks( and its still not coming) I feel so frustrated coz i keep feeling PMS but my menses never arrives. My galfriend recommended a sinseh to help 'tune' my health... once my menses come, will wanna try visit Dr douglas ong to help with my condition i think.

anyone ever had such symptoms before?

yasmin - thanx so much for e encouragement! me was super despressed when i found out i have PCOS.. coz i wld really lurve to have kids fast.. anyway, i cfm cannot take metformin coz it helps i weight management n i can't afford to lose any.. my gynae actually rec me to take diane-35 a contraceptive which i really dun want to! =( may be seeking a second opinion..

Is Dr ong clinic at ten mile junction at Bukit Panjang? I suppose he do check up for lazy overies and SA?

Hi Whiterose

Yup, his clinic is both at ten mile junction and at Mt E.

You may like to call up to check out. Tel at 10 mile junction clinic: 67628066

hi terrier

do u know his operating days n hours and do i have to made an apptn w him b4 i go?

I stay at Bukit Panjang. Just got to know that i am pregnant again. For my first baby, i went to a gynae at Camden Medical Centre. This time round, i was thinking of going to a gynae near my house as i do not have car and with my boy now hyperactive, not very convenient to travel far. Heard about Dr. Douglas Ong but not sure if he is good and the charges. Can anyone of you share with me your experience with Dr. Ong and how much he charge per visit and package?

hi slee,

dr ong has 2 package i think, $1.5k and $1.8k. the $1.8k has to go to mt.e (not too sure about it cos i took the $1.5k package). all these excluding medicine, blood tests etc. without package per consultation should be $80 and scan $50. can't remember for certain, the best is to call and ask
so far i find dr ong v friendly, always smiling and also encouraging.
i'm the kind who will feel dizzy or even faint after taking blood test, but dr ong was v patient and encouraging when i had my blood tests

hope this helps

really disappointing......sometimes thinking of changing gyane.

but doc ong is good & the nurses @ ten mile junction are all very friendly and nice.
confused!

Anyone know whether dr ong is good with females problems like cysts, fibriods or endotrimesis?

i live in bt panjang and dun wish to travel far to see a gynae. thanks

can share on Dr Ong's package? My sil is 5weeks pregnant and intend to see him. Any negative comments about him so far? Wat about his clinic operating hours?

kalyn
Dr Ong has $1500 and $1800 packages. It includes delivery and ultrasound scan. Excludes medicines/tests. The $1500 has a 3D scan. $1800 hv more 3D scans.
He's pretty good. Nothing negative.
Clinic opening is different for Mt E and 10Mile Juction clinics. best to call and check

kalyn & bobianah
Dr Ong has increased his charges, no longer 1.5k & 1.8k. If i'm not wrong, shld be 1.8k and 2.2k or 2.3k... better call n chk.

littleger
wow, increased??? lucky i oredi delivered! :p
But i think his service is very good and worth every dollar.
Even his staff are friendly and patient and prompt. Never had any problems with them. My fren oso went to him and she had anemia, GD, etc etc and he took great care of her.

bobianah,
i tot u r talking abt me, i also went to dr ong, had anemia, GD etc etc

wow increased so much ah.. must think twice if planning for 2nd one now.

bobianah,
i tot u r talking abt me, i also went to dr ong, had anemia, GD etc etc

wow increased so much ah.. must think twice if planning for 2nd one now.

mum2b
heehee! no la...not toking abt you.
it was another fren... Glad everything is well for you.
I oso had a DS scare becos of triple test result, but didnt go for amnio. Thanks to God, bb is born well and normal.
I'll still go for his cheaper package cos think no need so many 3D scan la...one enuf. haiz, my MIL and hb tell me 1 bb enuf...but i scared next time bb lonely.

bobianah,

i knew abt the change of his charges cos my frd went to see him few mths back and told mi he increased his charges! His charges are pretty steep now but then again, he is really good n take good care of us so if i'm planning to have a 2nd baby i think i'll still go back to him. Yaya, his staffs are very friendly!
Hey, what makes u decide not to go for the amnio test? What's your ratio of the DS detected thru the triple blood test? My frd took the NT scan and detected DS and my frd went for amnio.. Lucky amnio's result showed that her bb is normal! Wahhh... i seldom hear hubby n mil will say 1 bb is enuff ley... how old is ur bb now? 1 bb sure will feel lonely.. tat's the reason why i plan to have 2nd one even though i got phobia of going thru everything again. I oso agreed that 3D scan 1 is enuff.. actually no need to take the more ex package.

littleger
i decided not to go for amnio test cos whether bb normal or not, i'll still keep the baby. I oso heard stories that amnio test was not accurate and bb came out normal! Oso, no amount of tests can accurately tell u if ur baby will hv other types of medical condition eg, hole in heart, cleft lip, autism etc etc. Hence, no matter wat, we'll keep the baby. Looking back, i think shd hv just saved money and not do triple test! Haha!

Can't remember my ratio, but it just fell below the cut-off by a few points. So we just prayed very hard and trusted God. Now we are blessed with a healthy ger who's just 3 mths old now.

abit scared of another bb cos bb a lot of work...and we are not young parents...MIL oso old liao...so really not sure abt #2, tho sometimes i am very keen... but it takes 2 hands to clap... :p

Hi guys!

I'm new here! Just came here in Singapore last December from the Philippines. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby. We've been married 3 years now. He's been travelling alot so we think that that's the reason, but we would like to confirm. I have heard so many good things about Dr. Douglas Ong and i'm interested. But would you recommend I see him instead of a fertility specialist? Can he help me conceive?

how are his charges like, eg, how much for consultation? On the average, how much per visit? Is he only interested in sub-fertility cases or does he see normal gynae cases as well? I know some gynaes who do IVF are only interested in patients who are doing IVF with them and tend to neglect their normal gynae cases. I'm interested in seeing him because he's near my home, no need to travel to town to see him. Not seeing him for sub-fertility issues.

hi serene, congrats to u. I've jus delivered my gal in feb. I go to his clinc at 10mile junction. Dr Ong is a great gyne!

i've made my first visit to Dr Douglas Ong yesterday evening, through recommendation by my Aunt. i was sad after i heard about my pregnancy. it was my first pregnancy after a 6 mths marriage. The baby is only abt 4weeks old, waterbag only 4mm.

the story was like this...
my last menses was on 3rd May.
On 4th Jun, without knowing i'm pregnant (cos normally I have late menses), i went for an x-ray as i was suspected to have either urinary tract infection or having stone. And thereafter, taken some potassium citrate and a rather strong antibotic.
On 10 Jun, my menses still has not arrived, i decided to do a pregnancy test and surprisingly it was a positive. I was very very worried then cos during pregnancy, heard that medication and X-ray radiation will hurt the foetus.

After visit to Dr Douglas Ong on 12 Jun, the radiology scan through my vagina showed that there is a big piece of ~{!0~}meat~{!1~} call ~{!0~}fybriod~{!1~} (dunno how to spell) behind my uterus, this may affect my baby growth. But Dr Ong said that should not be a problem although there are still risk. I even ask can I choose to take away the baby and remove the fybriod. Dr Ong immediately ask me why~{!-~} why did I choose to take away a life just for a piece of meat? He asked me not to have this thought, our lives started like the little foetus too. He will monitor the progress as time goes by. I almost cried on the spot.

What I~{!/~}m afraid now is the x-ray, the medication and the fybriod will risk my baby growth and eventually an abnormal one. Really hate myself for not going check up earlier on. I rather take away the foetus now rather than hurting it for life~{!-~} I~{!/~}m afraid that taking away at a later stage will cause more problem. Should I go for second opinion at kk hospital? Its not that I dun trust Dr Ong, its myself that I dun trust. I~{!/~}m afraid I could not take good care of the baby. pls pls pls anyone can advise me~{!-~}. weep...

tyx
dr ong is catholic...think they hv very strong views abt termination of pregnancy.
I know u r in very difficult position and it's not easy decision to make. Why dun you ask Dr Ong what are the past experiences with other mummies in same condition? I think u not the first one. Maybe u hear his experiences u will be more encouraged. I think x-ray early in pregnancy may not be overly big problem. U shd trust the doctor...
actually, i did the triple test and was supposed to be at risk for a DS baby. But we decided not to go for amnio test and decided to keep the baby cos no matter bb hv DS or normal, we will still love bb.
we have no regret with the decision as i know have a healthy bb ger born Dec 06.

hang in there and ask for 2nd opinion if you hv to. But I think if u hear more success stories of ppl with same experience as you, you will be more comforted.

hi bobianah,
thanks for the comfort. dr ong say not only me have this kind of x-ray experience. others also got even worse case, but turn out fine. i really felt encourage but still worried...
you are a strong mummy, i hope i can be strong too.

Hi ladies!!

I deliver my first ger with Dr Ong too.. Overall, he is good. I am trying for my 2nd one and will want to go to him as well...

noscon
clinic at 10mile usu open evenings from 7.30 to abt 9p...or so. wed afternoon dr ong is oso in.
i suggest u give them a call, since it's better to make appt anyway...it's usually very full.
Tel: 67628066

hi noscon,

saw your previous post:
"hi ladies
Anyone know whether dr ong is good with females problems like cysts, fibriods or endotrimesis?
i live in bt panjang and dun wish to travel far to see a gynae. thanks"

you in how many weeks now?

thanks bobianah for the info

tyx
i wish i was pregnant.. im seeing dr ong for some fertility issue...

Hi noscon,

I see. Do you mean you were diagnose with problems like cysts, fibriods or endotrimesis? I~{!/~}m preg and was diagnose with a huge fibroid.

tyx

yes but diagnosed by other gynae. i just want to visit dr ong cos he is close to my home and heard that he is good too..

congratulations on your pregnancy.... what did the gynae said abt the fibroid?

hi noscon,

thanks... the fibroid was first diagnosed by dr ong when i went to him to confirm my pregnancy. i was so surprised then. i'm in my 13 weeks now and it has grown to 13cm. now hoping that it will stop growing...
dr ong advise me to continue with the pregnancy and shall monitor as time goes by.

ya... he is quite a nice, gentle, patient gynae.

tyx

i have heard of ladies who had successful pregnancies with fibroid and it seems that pregnancies encourage the growth. but take heart that there are many mummies who have had smooth deliveries too...

yes. u r right, pregnancies do encourage the growth rate. mine was first diagnosed at 8-9cm in my 4weeks. In my 10th week, it grown to 13.5cm at a rate of abt 1cm per week. so scary.

tyx
Hi I'm new - jus kaypo your forum by accident.
Dr Douglas Ong was my gyne since last 12 years. Jus to tell u i also had big fibroid with my 1st preg. Bigger than yours-about 15cm but he ask me 2 trust him tt would be ok. In the end he was right. Normal birth n healthy baby. He was v reassuring n make us feel v comforted.
After normal delivery few months later Dr Ong operated to remove th fibroid. Everything went smoothly. Even my scar recoverd so well and so small, my spa lady commented never seen so nice stitches.
You wont go wrong w him. I know him for so long. Good luck k?

hi dajie~{!-~}
thanks so much for sharing your experience, I really felt comforted. I will put all my trust on him~{!-~} : )
by the way, where is ur fibroid located?