Cup cakes for birthday

Jandew, I cant take close up pics always blur blur the pictures... Sian lah.. Cannot afford a good camera..

My aunt says its great, and smells great too. very crispy and buttery..

Jac try to unmould on the actual day then wont leak so much bah.. or try to cook the agar agar with the strip and powder together(my mum always did this and it taste great- with no leaking)

Hi Maggie I just bought a camera from Esso station selling cheap abt 150 sunsumg 12.1 , ok for me .... I alway try the strip jelly but alway soo hard .... Haha
Love your cookies.... Crispy

Chk wit you all , anyone know where to buy nice baking stuff in Bangkok? Maybe going.....

amy must cut into abt 5cm length. buy swallow brand. and MUST mix with the powder pkt and use small fire boil-got to boil till dissolve and stir frequently then can add sugar.. if not wont taste good... Hard means water not enough...

Even till date my mum's agar agar always the fastest gone.. during gathering or non gathering....

Amy hummmmm....

I am going to malaysia again... in 2 weeks time... Buy stuff...
baking stuff great(Giant super offer). got a box of pineapple ready mix at rm4.99.

Sabby no lobangs I buy fr supermkts. When got sale I buy more and keep. I alw believe in quality and dun mind paying more coz I bake for own consumption. Yi fen jia qian yi fen huo.

Thanks Jandew

Last year friend's hubby commented that my tarts not very buttery, hmph! So this year will invest in better butter and see got improvement or not...

Have been a silent reader cos seldom have the time n energy to bake. Thinking of baking my fav cny goodies like pineapple tart n kueh bangkit. Previous yr bakes was a failure, kb was hard n pineapple open tarts too melt in the mouth. Can share with me a tested recipe?

I want to do chestnut cake... anyone know how to make the puree out of fresh chestnut???

Was told add sugar and mash the chestnut(after remove shell) together and then sieve??? true?????

Anyone interested in Wilton Merigue Powder. Its unopened. Dun bake so often so thinking of letting go @$20. PH sells at $26.

Yesterday went PH @ Clementi, and they are OOS on caster sugar???!!

muffin
I went PH Clementi yesterday afternoon, no butter, no almond nibs and no chocolate. The staff told the goods will come in at night, faint!

Need advise. I have a problem making sponge cake using whole egg method. I always deflate my batter after i add in the flour. Any advise if i don't want to use egg separation method? Thank you.

1-0
So fast?? last Fri went there in evening, saw the new stock in for butter, lots of sugar n almond nibs , chocolate. but saw an anuty bot the butter like no need $$$, at least got 20pcs.

Btw, how long can the kueh bangkit store uh? Dunno when shld i start to make? last week?

muffin
no, I looking for Compound chocolate, the Tulip brand all oos.

icelim
ya lor, the almond powder only left 250g and the 1kg one only left 1 pkt so I grab lor, hehe!

Wow so fast use cookie cutters! Maybe I do the rabbit cookies for CNY
since its the year of the rabbit, that is if i find the time do to so.

I see at NTUC the SCS butter selling for 9.40 for a pack of 3. What's
the pricing for the SCS butter you ladies are buying since I see s
omewhere in the thread got order for SCS butter.

Jandew: Nice Choc and Milk agar agar. Reminds me of my childhood years
when I ate Choc agar agar back then. Flour for baking, I anyhow buy any type
but I notice KCT flour (HK Kao Fen) is better for mooncake skin compared to other
brand ones.

It's time to order my favourite cocoa powder. Used up 2 packets, 3rd packet
probably expired by now.

Jandew: It's called Casino Dēlices. I got them in france 2-3 years ago. 100% COCOA powder and
I have to say it is better than varlhona. Price wise, I don't know because my mum bought for
me on my behalf cos she was in another part of france.

Going to see if I can get them or not

Hi Mummies, I am looking for a dome shaped baking cake tin to bake a doll cake for my girl bday. Anybody noe where to find and roughly how much is it?

Katherine,
I usually use whole egg method too. I beat egg and sugar til the mixture when drip imprint is very visible and the mixture on the beater when held up form a long line before dripping back into the mixture. Then I pour flour and beat at low speed for 5 second and then use spoon to fold in. Tink once your egg and sugar mixture stabllise or have the correct stiffness, it shld not deflate too easily. Hope it helps.

Jandew I know how to make raw, stir fried with coffee beans and done liao.. Not sure how to make puree though...

Mone Lee bee Sell SCS butter at $3... went home to mum place yesterday.. HURRY GO BUY..

Eeyore, hi long time no see... Remember me!!! I buy at $5 at Cash Converter.. normal tin, not those coated type.

I want to buy the red color tin chocolate powder, but cant find it ....Cadbury brand.. Anyone saw it in shopping NTUC/Shop & save.. It taste is nicer a bit to Varl, smell is GREAT though..

maggieheng,
long time no see! Busy with xmas parties and my eldest Primary 1 and youngest playgroup... finally got some time now...and my gal say she wan a doll cake lor... ohhh.. dunno now cash converter still go sell... dun feel like buying so ex one for 1 time use lor... hahaha.... :p

eliz,
Thanks a lot! will check out and consider... hehehe... looking for a cheaper one coz dun tink will use much for the tin... hehehehe....

Eliz,
Thanks for the offer! Actually my gal bday in April lah... Just oni a bit kiasu now looking for the tin... scared cant find... hahaha.... if I really cant find til then then I lend from you?

I gave my aunt the thing many mths ago, Wait afternoon, I go ask her still there a not...kiasu u..hahaha.. me also busy both son in K2 and nursery... time fly super fast.

maggie,
ya lor....let me noe if you still have the tin or i also go cash converter and check it out... hahahaa

upload my santa cake though a bit overdue liao... hahahaha

4999759.jpg

Maggie I think chestnut puree not easy to make raw...maybe u can go google for a recipe, perhaps have to simmer and stir for few hours over slow fire.

Mone nice to see u in forum again, less busy these days?

Jandew found 2 that look ok bah

Sweet Chestnut Purée Recipe

Ingredients:

* 12 oz (2 cups) chestnuts, roasted and peeled
* 1 cup granulated sugar
* 2 cups water
* 1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1. In a saucepan, combine chestnuts,sugar and water, bringing the liquid to a boil.
2. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 25-35 minutes, until the majority of the liquid has evaporated.
3. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.
4. Strain chestnuts, reserving sugar syrup, and transfer to a food processor and blend until smooth. Add in syrup slowly until desired consistency is obtained. Allow to cool before refrigerating.

This recipe makes approximately two cups. Sweet chestnut purée can be refrigerated for up to two weeks and can be frozen for up to a year. Chestnut purée can be used to create delicious desserts such as a chestnut chocolate mousse, layered between layers of sponge cake or swirled into ice-cream.

And this too..

How to Make Chestnut Puree - Ang Moh 1 no sugar one.

Ingredients:
12 chestnuts (boiled and peeled)
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup water

Directions:
1. Place every thing in a small sauce pan. (The liquid should just cover the chestnuts.)
2. Simmer the chestnuts until soft, about 10-20 minutes. (Watch them as milk can quickly boil over the side of a pan.)
3. Scoop the chestnuts out of the liquid, reserving the liquid.
4. Puree the chestnuts using as much of the reserved liquid as required.

Hi Maggie
Are you using fresh chestnuts? It takes quite some time to be soft unless got pressure cooker. Sometimes when my mum cook 'tao you bak' and the chestnuts still hard, yucks!

I roasted the chestnuts with coffee beans using frying in the wok first... peel of skin awaiting the searching of recipe for purreee first.. if I still cant find will just anyhow chop up then mix with whipped cream bah.. the deco the cake just like that lor..

Maggie: 22/23rd jan huh? I have a friend coming in from overseas on these days - so cannot make it.

Jandew: Ya for a while. Going to get busy again in a few days time