Cup cakes for birthday

hi joanne
Mine from her recipe book which I bought, under How to be a domestic goddess.
I went to nigella.com website, din state there (she wont list out all her recipes), so I did a search on google, n i found someone typed out n posted in the blog, so i copied n pasted here for u:
Nigella Lawson's Blueberry Muffins [makes 12 little muffins]
1) Melt 6 Tbsp of butter and set aside. Preheat oven to 200 degress C.
2) Combine 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 cup sugar, pinch of salt.
3) In a separate bowl, beat 3/4 cup and 2 Tbsp buttermilk with 1 large egg and melted butter.
4) With a light hand, pour wet ingredients into dry and mix to combine. (No worries about lumps. Do not overwork the mixture.)
5) Fold in blueberries. Keep mixing to a minumum. Bake for 20 minutes and cool.
Have fun!

Pink,
Thks for the desserts. Very nice of u to prepare & share wif us on gathering always =p

E kiwi cheesecake is nice. Dun feel guilty when eating it after knowing it's made up from lots of kiwi fruits =pp the cake as base taste like hotcake to me..^^ nice oso =). Can share e whole recipe pls? kekee..

Sally,
I'm still trying to catch up with the thread speed. The lunch is today...and I miss it too.
Ur muffin looks good...yummy...how i wish i can pop by AMK on my way home...hahahahaa...teasing u onli.

Pink
Yr mini cheesecake sooo cute one...

Jen, can share ur tofu cheesecake? I'm into cheesecake recently too...just borrow 3 books
fm library and its all cheesecake recipe

i use 8inch spring form tin for the mango cheesecake.
if you don't have spring form tin or loose tin, you can juz simply put the baking paper before you pour the cheesecake batter.
but pls remember that you have to chilled the cheesecake till very firm so that you dun hv any problem to take it out.

invest in 8inch spring form is very worth

'coz 8inch is a common size. it's multi purpose, can use it for sponge cake, butter cake, etc.

hammie & sally,
yes the lunch is today, cos i can't tahan liao.. die die muz eat tomyam.... tham chiak hor?

mdl,
hahaha! yes yes, 500 gr kiwi puree leh...... tat's why the texture is abit too soft in room temperature, gotta chilled it.. coz the kiwi puree content is equal to cream cheese.

sally,
nice muffin there !

jenjen,
tofu cheesecake looks delish... can pls share the recipe? can i post it to my blog if you share the recipe? i'm trying my best to consolidate all of the recipes from this baking thread

ep,
me gotta fly you kite liao..... i dun have to sleep with u liao... i mean, i dun have to go beijing liao... huraay !! my "hantu" problem solved.... hahahaha!

augustmum,
you most welcome! enjoy your trip ya?
go and eat their vegetable & fruits as much as you can.... it's very fresh & nice!

Akohle,
wanna meet 2moro? lunch time at seah street??

KENG,
wacoal can not tumpang meh? ya lor, how to measure rite? hahahahaha!
enjoy your trip !

pink
hiya... no beijing ah.. sob sob next time chio me ah

keng
my aunt always buy KomKom knives from there.. sold at the major dept stores. cheap n very sharp. after sharpen still sharp. maybe u can buy to try.. bring back must chk in luggage ah..

wow pink, nice cakes...

the avocado is my 1st try. my sis loves it and she pestered for more after she tries it in indonesia oso. Hehe i put some in the freezer and ate it like ice cream.. i like it but hb said no more next time.. lol

hammie,
lucky u din come, finished in the morning already, cos din baked much, onli 9 pcs. N my boi last nite ate two in one shot. Hence just now I tried out nigella's coca cola cake using buttermilk too. Wow easy n good lei. Taste excellent, veri soft. Even without icing, can eat the cake on its own. Coca cola taste veri mild only. heehee
1450659.jpg

Pink,
aiya wasted, tot can meet u this week. Next time lah. My "fruits" cant compare to u lah. U r still my idol.

In case anyone wan to try:

Coca Cola Cake

1 1/3 Cups flour
3/4 Cup plus 1 Tbs sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 large egg
1/2 Cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup unsalted butter
2 Tbs cocoa powder
3/4 Cup Coca-Cola
8 or 9 inch springform pan lined with foil to prevent the batter leaking, then greased

Preheat the oven to 180 C and put in a baking sheet at the same time.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Beat the egg, buttermilk, and vanilla in a measuring cup. In a heavy bottomed saucepan, melt the butter, cocoa and Coca-Cola, heating gently. Pour into the dry ingredients, stir well with a wooden spoon, and then add the liquid ingredients, beating until everything is blended.

Pour into the prepared pan and bake on the warm sheet for 40 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.

Leave to stank for 15 minutes in the pan before unmolding. Then unclip, unwrap and turn out onto a wire rack, making sure you 've got a sheet of newspaper or something underneath the rack to catch any icing that drips through.

Icing:
1 1/2 Cups Confectioners sugar
2 tbs butter
3 tbs Coca-Cola
1 Tbs cocoa powder
1/2 tsp vanilla

Sift the confectioners sugar and set aside for the moment. In a heavy bottomed saucepan combine the butter, Coca-Cola, and cocoa and stir over a low heat until the butter has melted. Remove from he heat, add the vanilla, and spoon in the sifted sugar, beating as you do so, until you've got a good, spreadable, but still runny icing.

Pour this icing over the cake, while the cake is stillw arm and leave till cool before transferring to the plate on which your serving it. Serves 8-10

In Nigella's book, she gives idea that you can also make coca cola cupcakes by pouring the batter into a 12 bun muffin tray lined with paper cases. Pour the icing over just after you have taken them out of the oven. Stud each cupcake with a miniature bottle of coke n press on top each cupcake once the icing's cooled a little but before it has set hard. Hence I made mine in cupcakes following her idea. heehee

if anyone interested in fireworks display festival in Aug, pls pm me for details. am able to get corp price tickets.

KENG,
me no need to tom pang lar.... thks for your offer, size? A lor... AIRPORT mah... muahahahaha!

dear all, below is the recipe i promised:
<font color="0000ff">KIWI CHEESECAKE</font>
1450921.jpg

1450922.jpg

1450923.jpg

1450924.jpg

1450925.jpg

1450926.jpg

1450927.jpg

Wah.....really nice fruits out there!!!! Eyes see already cannot tahan, hand &amp; mouth itch already!!!

Keng u gg bangkok right...hubby gg there to attend seminar for 11 days. wanted to join him over the weekends but decided to cancel. Oh ya u asking for place to shop for bakewares. There's this baker who posted this addy. Not sure if its clear but mentioned by her its easy to locate. U may want to try ur luck there. I ask my lao to go look c for me 2 but i don't pin hope on him.

The shop is located in siam square area... at soi 2. She cant remenber the shop name but if u walk along soi 2 its easily located. So if u got see gd lobang and able to lug back remember to bring some back for us ha...ha....As for silicone bakeware she mentioned that can look for it in major dept store. And yap wacoal is cheap there! U can also visit the chinatown &amp; get lots of cheap stationery for kiddy!!! think they operate only weekdays and avoid gg 2 late in the evening by then mostly close shop. Lots of cute hair band &amp; clip for ger ger 2. Enjoy ur trip!!! How i wish I can go!!!!!

Pink, try see can get the cup frm u this Sat b4 he left SG. Thanks to u &amp; Cat! Can post ur recipes...like the one meant for diabetic cos can bake for mil &amp; score pointssssss ha..ha...

Sally : Thot of trying the Blueberry Muffins recipe by Nigella but I guess u miss out an ingredient wor.

3) In a separate bowl, beat 3/4 cup <font color="ff0000">????</font> and 2 Tbsp buttermilk with 1 large egg and melted butter.

sally,
thks for the recipe....
sure will try the coca cola cupcakes then, kids sure loves it hor? me still got buttermilk...

me not much diff with u all lar.... me only bakes more, tat's all

ep,
next time if got biz trip sure chiao u lar....
me got problem with sleeping alone mah.. last time go japan, sydney, hongkong, sleep like not sleeping.... like zoombie.... so malu rite?

for the tix, is tat national parade tix? sorry asking silly Q :p

Pink,
Your bakes are always so pleasing to look at. sori, i was just joking abt the cups..not directed at you leh!

fatmum,
tks. i know how to get to soi 2. ok will lug interesting stuff back to share.

FATMUM !!!!! missed u so much leh....

yes yes, score points is important !!! hahaha!
but gotta becareful ya? tho fructose helped diabetics had fewer spikes in bloodsugar levels. Three of the Type I diabetics were able to reduce their insulin intake, it's a good signed, however, fructose can impact cholesterol, so gotta check cholesterol level.

1450982.jpg

<font color="0000ff">PANDAN MUFFIN</font>
Ingredients:
250 gm. all purpose flour
2 tsp. Baking Powder
50 gm. fructose ( i get it from PH), ard S$5 / 500gr
2 eggs - lightly beaten (use folk will do)
180 gm. Coconut milk or Evaporated Milk
100 gm. butter
10 blades of Pandan leaves - blend with milk
a drop of pandan paste

Method:
(1) Cream the butter and fructose together until creamy &amp; pale - my kenwood chef mixer need ard 5 mnts, normal mixer perhaps 15 - 18mnts.
(2) Add in beaten egg gradually and then add in the pandan milk.
(3) Add in pandan paste.
(4) Sift the flour and baking powder twice and then mix into the butter mixture and stir gently. Do not overmix the batter, it should be lumpy.
5) Pour batter into muffin cups.
6) Bake at preheated oven at 200C for about 25 mins.

yield about 12 pcs.

KENG,
no worries ! i'm oso joking only

perhaps u can grab those ZEBRA brand indian pot etc... now all Zebra brand pot made in thailand liao...

hahahaha imagine the custom officer look @ keng... wondering... how come all the stainless pots &amp; knife ..stuffs stuffs in the luggage....

Been away for just few days and saw so many yummy fruits here.

Pink,

As usual, your fruits are always so appetising but m nt in the mood now...wat a holiday...haiz. V.tiring but I tried to hide my tiredness from my hb and oso tried v.hard nt to disappoint my kids' holiday mood. Hv PMed you abt sth...pls check your email.

Will see you gals back in Singapore v.soon.

Bye!

pink, okay, will subst the missing centre with my centre...

kathy, u'll get ur 6 chiffons with centres!!! (hope u dun mind i've used once .. one of the centre that i'm going to subst for u...)

I'll sms u ...

Pink... remember to pass me one centre next meetup hor!!!

grr... missed the kiwi cheesecake today

Yew Yen,
That is referring to buttermilk, which u use 3/4 cups and 2 Tbsp.
Okie, let me give u the following measurement easier:
75g unsalted butter
200g plain flour
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate soda
2 teaspoon baking powder
75g caster sugar
pinch of salt
200ml buttermilk
1 large egg
200g blueberries
Hope more clear for u. :)

Pink,
wow I also wan to try buttermilk country cake. heehee Maybe can still try a bit, cos some left for buttermilk, n coca cola cupcake left one. kekeke

Pink, wat is buttermilk huh? saw many recipe stated buttermilk but dunno wat is it..can show pic? or under which section in supermarket?
As for ur pandan muffin, if i wan to replace with normal sugar, hw much should i put? Then when add in egg to the mix butter, use mixer also or hand mix?

Cat, did u recd my email to u on the test paper?
Dunno ur son age think maybe will suit u..

Pink, I got the recipe off someone's blog. Though I modified it a little, but I have emailed her to ask for permission if I can post the recipe here since the recipe does not belong to me. But from what I can see, if you have a standard non-bake cheesecake recipe which you are comfortable with, just add the tofu instead of the usual fruits or oreo. It should work bah?

joanne, thanks for the webby regarding the test papers!

buttermilk... go NTUC... the shelves where they put fresh milk, yoghurt, butter and cheese section... u see a short fat carton... and on it, will write BUTTERMILK... those are the ones.

Peng,

mmm..mee suah kueh, delicious!!! Makes me want to cook it again.

Joanne,

thks. rec'd yr email also re test papers, but my kids all grown up already!

Rgds MEE SUAH KUEH...

Easy to make? can someone help by posting up the recipe again? can't seen to find from so many posts =p

Thks frenz...

peng
yr mee sua kueh very nice.. not like mine.. :S
mee sua kueh very easy to make. can i go over to ta bao?? hahah
i kept 2 days in fridge but when i smell it.. got tat sour smell.. so i throw away.. how many days can i keep ?

pink
the fireworks display is not NDP tickets la.. if only its so easy to buy the tickets... it the Fireworks display celebration held at marine bay.. tickets are $12 each.

EP....kekeke come come i slice small pc n keep in airtight container liao! think can keep for 3 days right?

Mdl...very easy to make..yesterday night made it this morning fry for breakfast!

Mee Sua Kueh

Ingredient:
2 tbsp Oil
2 tsp garlic, Chopped
24g shallots, Chopped
20g mushroom, soaked and chopped
120g minced pork/chicken
120g fresh prawns
1 tsp salt/fish sauce
1 tsp pepper
1 1/2tsp sugar (i did not add this)
1 tsp sesame oil
30g spring onions
700g water
500g chicken stock
240g mee sua

Method

1) In a sauce pan, fry the garlic and shallot till fraggrant.
2) Add in the mushroom and continue to fry till fragrant before adding in the minced pork, prawn and spring onions.
3) Add seasoning, water and stock. Bring to a boil.
4) Put in the mee sua and leave it till all the liquid is soaked into the mee sua.
5) Pour into oiled 8" square tray and press it firmly down. Leave it to cool. Refrigerate.
6) Remove from tray. Cut into slices, coat with egg and pan fry.

mdl...aiyoh i cannot recall the brand liao leh! the one i bought is 120g each and is less salty according to some mummies here...any one call help mdl??

Eileen Tan,

U never fail me....love u...kekekee

Oops Catika,

Thks thks....didn't know u're answering to my query ... sotong me...^^

Catika, 1-0 Muaks!! kekeke thanks so much

Mdl...later going to buy mee suah again kekeke cos finish very fast! now eating some for snacks..yum yum

hahha...1-0 = Eileen?

Now then i know....

I saw 1-0 fws times in this thread, just wondering wat's that??..'blush'...