Cup cakes for birthday

sher, the durian filling, no need to add sugar. Sometime i add abit of topping cream to combine it with the puree as well to make it more creamy.

sher: i didn't blend it. I just peel it out and kind of smashed it with a fork. Hehe i prefer it this way. Can feel the fruit. but if you wan to blend it, go ahead and blend.

Ling,
so u know why turn watery or not? Hope one of sifus can advise leh!

Shers,
ever consider to buy over mixer from mummy? she sure can give u good price hahaha..plus cake-making lessons,

keng: hehe i not sure. But if i use those strip ones it will get watery when its taken out but if use powder one, its ok. is it the same as you??? maybe someone can advise us.

Keng,
cry with her... think I need to use feng yu to create the drama effect.. LOL..

jj, have been doing that since christmas. Have bought an extra gift for her and mention it is from her didi and bought one for her to give didi as well. she even self wrap the gift. I hope I can ren n try not to scold her lor. I also feel guilty after scolding her knowing it not her fault.

ling, i always use powder type leh! in fact, i stop making agar2 for a long time because of this also. wonder whether eileen has this problem?

keng: hehe wait for elieen to see if she know the ans anot... tink they went to vivo for lunch or so. Catika is asking eileen to teach her.

kathy & maruolin,
heart shape & oval shape mould dun have at daiso wor.....

eileen & cat,
having fun at giant?
me rushing back after daiso and now found an e-mail said conference call postpone to 3:30Pm. HAIZ.. if i know, then continue shopping with you all.... hahaha! then comeback kana sack!!

SHERS,
fatmum is our puff expert....

for me, i dun mixed with icing sugar.... i like the XO durian, bitter sweet lor.
like wat ling advice, you can mixed with whipped cream, like toppin pride...
not too much, juz to make it become smooth, if too much, will cover the durian taste liao.
smash it with fork will do, unless u like the very fine texture, then u gotta blen it.

Hi, regard the SODA KUE powder, after i check the ingredients is "Sodium bicarbonate" & can use is for baking & cooking.
I put a list below, if u r want just write ur name in, thanks.

1.Pink - 2btls
2.Peng - 2btls
3.Ep - 1btl
4.Sher - 1btl

Pink,
Can shown me picture of blueberry tat u bought from PH ?
After saw Catika blueberry cheese cake, feel like wan to make oso, my kids like to eat cheese la.

jj,
your OK means? the fondant not hard? or not sweat? or? can elaborate more?
what is Joycelyn advise abt fridge? care to share with us?

keng,
at tis thread, shifus for agar agar: eileen, Ling, and Js'mum for jelly !

SHERS,
my milk? dried liao... hahaha!
i mean, i use 110ml water + 2tbsp of milk powder. dun use baby milk powder ya? must use full cream, nicer.
UHT milk is fine.

Pink
still waiting for oneh oneh recipe hor

after talked to u, i made chiffon.. as usual failed again, not fluffy enough,
desperately need help for folding technique

Lim
if still have, can i have 2 btls pls?
thx

Ling
can teach me how to make so colorful agar2?
do u divide the agar2 mix into few portion and put different color?
how long does it need before pouring another layer?

starlight74 (starlight74),
oops.... me hvn't translate the ondeh ondeh recipe, perhaps u help me to translate?

so sorry last thursday nite no time to make chiffon, so didn't take the video and send to u via mms for the folding method.
'cos tat nite i busy with my girl b'day cupcakes which crash with customer order

if u want LIM to pass the baking soda to me, also can, then i meet u at old place?

pink and ling,

thanks for your advice.. will try out these few days!!

my house now smell like 'leak gas'.. because i bought 3 packets of durian yesterday... want to try out durian puff.. hehehe

Pink
ok, can, i ll do translation..
oh if u meeting Lim, yes pls help me to collect from her..
we ll meet at lao di fang, and i ll pass gula merah to you

Lim
if still available, and u meeting Pink, can help me to pass to her.

i also dont know how to do the folding.. the pandan cake that i did, no need to fold le.. just throw everything in the mixer.. and try out fluffy also.. is it because of different ingredient used?

SHERS
then, i desperately want your recipe liao hehe
coz i always failed in folding..
hubby always laugh at me when i say wanna make chiffon cake.. he said: are u sure? i thought u r making huat kueh..
aaarrrgghh

i hope my pandan cake is chiffon cake.. i havent really taste a chiffon cake before. i heard that liang court basement shop sells 1 very nice cheese chiffon cake which melt in the mouth.. i will buy that and try..

give me sometime, i will go home and type out the receipe and we study together tomorrow..

keng,

i cannot buy from mama because she bakes more than i do.

Pink,
OK, thank you.

Starlight,
ok, noted, will pass to pink.

Soda Kue (baking soda)
1.Pink - 2btls
2.Peng - 2btls
3.Ep - 1btl
4.Sher - 1btl
5.Starlight - 2btls

starlight,
Your experience with the chiffon cake reminded me of mine on last sunday nite, hahaha ..... My gal saw the chiffon cake in the oven and commented: 'mummy, how come your cake doesn't grow tall tall like the muffins?'. I went : Ehhhh....I don't know ...'

Shers,
We need your chiffon cake recipe to save us.

Pink.. think this qn discuss in this thread b4..baking powder cannot be subsitute by baking soda if the recipe calls for baking powder right?

Lim...since is baking soda i need only 1 btl can liao..

Soda Kue (baking soda)
1.Pink - 2btls
2.Peng - 1btl
3.Ep - 1btl
4.Sher - 1btl
5.Starlight - 2btls

Sher, pls post ur non-fold method... wanna try out...

starlight, i found out that if i 'claw' deep into batter and lift up and claw in again... i can fold successfully... but if i use big spoon or use hand to scoop or whatever (I've tried everything)... FAIL... so far... 2 / 3 times i claw my way thru... and succeed!

<font color="ff0000">pink</font> aiyo... still need an estimated or starting amount for shortening and cornflour right? scarly I use 1/3 pkt/bottle again!!! hahahahah... I've got no talent in baking... remember? ... hahahahhaa

<font color="ff0000">surabaya lapis... surabaya lapis... surabaya lapis... white-blueberry-choco-blueberry-white... nice nice...</font> Translate lah!!! :p

pink, but the storage of the mmf like very scary... must wrap and zip and airtight container! then away from sunlight... eeewwww... 'ghost' ... hahahahha...

so whenever u need/want, you will just take out with your bare hand and start playing arh? ... Can then add some color drop and knead into it? ... then put as decoration? ... if after that, say on top of buttercream, need to put into fridge right? ... can or not... the MMF can tahan cold???

thanks...

lim.. can i have 1 oso?? :p pink.. can help mi collect??

Soda Kue (baking soda)
1.Pink - 2btls
2.Peng - 1btl
3.Ep - 1btl
4.Sher - 1btl
5.Starlight - 2btls
6.Kendy - 1btl

juz submitted resignation.. haha.. hope i got time to bake before start new job...

Soda Kue (baking soda)
1.Pink - 2btls
2.Peng - 2btls
3.Ep - 1btl
4.Sher - 1btl
5.Starlight - 2btls
6. CatiKa - 2btls (tankew)
7. Kendy - 1btl

starlight74,

not sure if you believe, but my mom says make chiffon cake very pantang one, cannot say make kueh, bake already surely like kueh.

Catika,
For your claw method, do u lift the whole claw out of the batter, then add in flour and claw again? When i do that, my wrist get stuck with flour.

Yam Paste

Ingredients

150g peeled pumpkin
600g yam, peeled
300 ml water
20 gingko nuts, shelled
1 tablespoon sugar
500 ml water
100g lard/oil/shortening
2 shallots, sliced thinly
120g sugar
1/8 tsp salt

Method
Steam pumpkin until soft, then mash, cube or puree it.

Cut yam into thick slices and steam over high heat for approxi­mately 20 minutes, or cooked through.

In an electric blender, liquidise steamed yam with water. Sieve.

Split gingkoes and remove the bitter-tasting plumule. Place gingkoes, sugar and water to cover in a small pot and boil over low heat until water dries up and gingkoes turn a shiny yellow.

In a pan, heat oil and fry shallots to make shallot oil. Remove shallot crisps for other use.

Add sugar and salt to the shal­lot oil in the pan. Stir slowly over very low fire and at the same time add the yam puree. You may add a little oil from the edge of the pan so that the yam paste will not stick to the pan.

Continue stirring until thor­oughly mixed, about 20 minutes.

Dish out onto a shallow dish or individual moulds.

Top with the pumpkin and gingkoes. Serve warm.

oh.. so tell yr granny to close her main door until she finishes baking.. hehehe

when i do baking, i hide inside the kitchen.. so neighbours wldnt see me and ask me..

Catika
the rice mould bought at Daiso cannot work la! The bear shape still can see a bit, the other 2 don't know look like what. Rush home end up go downstair coffeeshop buy tofu &amp; chicken for dinner, only boil veg soup. My hubby's flight delay now still in rome airport waiting to transit. So poor thing!

Shers,
me too keen on the nonfold recipe. ME totally failure in folding. heehee

Ling,
I love yr agar agar so nice.

JJ
Wow u realli good.

Pink,
When yr class????? Still waiting. heehee

My first attempt in egg mould
1358913.jpg

Need to practise to make sure egg yolk in centre.

Using cookie cutters/vege cutters for pancakes:
1358914.jpg

sally
pink, catika &amp; me also bought the egg mould at Daiso. The pancake is nice, how to do it? Fry the pancake then use cutter to cut?

Eileen,
Actually got instructions to get the yolk in the centre, me lazy to do, so turn out yolk one side, heehee below is wat my fren found from web:

How to boil and prepare the eggs

Boil the eggs by putting them in cold water and bringing slowly up to a boil. Once the water is boiling, take off the heat, put on a lid and leave for 8 to 10 minutes.

It is pretty important to ensure that the egg yolk ends up in the middle of the egg, rather than leaning to one side. In order to achieve this you should roll the eggs around while the water is coming to a boil. (Note that this hands-on requirement is one reason why I rarely do this in practice for everyday bentos!)

To peel the eggs cleanly, dunk them in cold water, crack the shell over, and peel carefully. Very fresh eggs are hard to peel cleanly, but you rarely get very fresh eggs at regular supermarkets.

The egg mold instrutions call for a hot egg, which is more elastic than a cold egg, but by the time you’ve peeled the egg or several eggs, your egg is probably cold. To get around this problem, I dunk the peeled eggs in a pot of hot water to warm up, before proceeding with the molding. This method also works well if you start out with storebought hardboiled ‘picnic eggs’.

Eileen,
ya pancake fry then use cutter to cut. heehee
Sunday went to daiso to get the silicone bake cups n found this train shape silicone for pancake which u can put direct in the pan n create the shape. Not yet try out.

Soda Kue (baking soda)
1.Pink - 2btls
2.Peng - 2btls
3.Ep - 1btl
4.Sher - 1btl
5.Starlight - 2btls
6. CatiKa - 2btls (tankew)
7. Kendy - 1btl
8. Tulip - 1 btl

baby bread pudding
150ml formula milk
2 pcs bread without edge
2 slices of cheese

cut bread into half (2 rectangles)
alternate 1 pc bread, 1 slice cheese etc
i use a small loaf baking tin.
top layer i put cheese..
pour in milk n let bread absorb
put into oven to bake for 20mins or till brown..

abv recipe generated via memory. use to baked tis for my boys at abt 10mths.. if 150ml milk too little u can use 200ml..