Cup cakes for birthday

Pink...learn another new thing today MMF :D...me also see those wilton fondant feel very artificial, can share what the actual proportion to make the MMF?

Pink & Ling,
Me also a hakka.

Saw all the fruit posting very tempting to bake.. but now in my 34 wks preggy, feel very tired too bake. so more now my gal every night b4 she sleep, cry & cry.. ask her y but dont want to talk, just keep crying.. fed up, scold her then she stop. Dont know is it be'cos she know the bb is coming out soon.

PENG,
sure! we all here to share our experience and knowledge mah

http://www.cakecentral.com/article47
pls note I'm using 300 gr mashmellow, 250 gr icing sugar.
I follow the method to T.

SHERS,
for my rainbow chiffon, you can use my orange chiffon recipe, then subtitute the orange juice with milk.
method is the same, then you devide the batter into three portions, put any paste/food color you want...

btw, your pandan cake is chiffon cake rite? i believe so... did u use coconut milk?

dearie,
oh no! dun scold her... so pitty leh... i believe she got the feeling baby coming out? then must share "mommy" liao lor....
u gotta rest well ya?
eat anything before you give birth....
if not, u gotta eat confinment food very soon! ha ha!

pink... kindly advice... hmm... how much cornstarch and shortening as stated in recipe... hmm...

then how to store made fondant? ...

after that, can store for how many days? ... if want, take some out to knead? ... when to add coloring? must thaw before kneading?

I'm really an idiot when it come to fondant... too ang moh... hahahahah... never touch before!

thanks arh...

oops.. one more thing... i've got NO microwave at home (yeah... i'm a dinosaur liow)... how to melt marshmallow??? *scratch head* ...

Peng,
My gal is 3 this year. Never bake now. that y always see the fruit here and drool lor.

Pink,
In the beginning, I never scold her, knowing she feel sad to share mommy with bb, that y hug her and coax her to stop crying... but she still cry & cry cont. for half an hour, so get angry and scold her lor.. then immediately she stop crying. "faint"

pink...i also got qn..can use spatula to mix the melted marshmallow with the icing sugar instead using the mixer? After mixing can put in airtight container to cool down instead of wrapping it?

pink: didn't know that "ant" can cook with that. My mum cook it with chicken... i used to find it yucky... weird touch but learn to appreicate it now... really nice.

Pink,
this is the SODA KUE tat i mention to u yesterday. In Bahasa they write "Pengembang Kue" . It's same as Baking powder or baking soda ?
I hv 50bottles , expire on dec 2009 & mar 2010, i will keep 10bottles.
Then 40bottles to gv away to this thread baker mummies. Let me noe how many bottle u wan.
1357632.jpg
1357633.jpg

dearie: what happened to ur gal? maybe she feel insecure coz baby is coming? I remember last time when i know my bro is coming out soon, i behave like that too...

pink: hehehe now i told him, u dump my stuffs aways.. i will dump all ur fishing stuffs away.. see whose heart more aching.... hehe

cat,
fondant is super "pantang" with wet and water, i mean after the dough ready.
for me, i dun store it at fridge.....
the MMF is softer than wilton or other brand ready use one....... cos we dun use artificial.
will alittle bit diff to handle, but juz a little bit lah......
i juz made one, 3days ago!
now resting at room temperature.
wrap it with cling film, then put inside the ziplog, then put inside the tupperware.. the airtight container...
how long can store? for mine, i've try up to 1mth store at room temperature....
but u gotta check it every day leh... and dun "kena" sun light hor...

corn starch and shortening,
it's really depend on your hand!
btw, i'm using my hand to knead instead of mixer. less messy.
if your hand are those easily sweat and warm hand, then you need more corn starch and shortening & icing sugar.

for me, i always shieved 250gr icing sugar, but hor, cos i have a cold hand, i managed to knead the mashmellow only using 150gr or the most is 190gr...... never more than 200gr .....

Thanks for accepting me in this thread...Happy to find this thread and happy to know you ladies here..

Pink,
Saw those nice cupcakes that you make, you are really creative. Btw, may I know where you buy those cupcake box which has a transparent plastic cover?? You buy it or made it??

Can those MMF that you mention be able to buy outside or must made ourselves??

cat,
ling is rite, can use double boil method.

ling,
so u ate "ant" before? hahaha!
try tis one:
beat 2 eggs till frothy, juz use the folk will do, like u wanna make scramble eggs.
cut the "ant" leaves till very fine, dump it into the beated eggs.
then fry it with 2 tbsp of oil, dun fry too long, juz till the egg golden color, then pour one cup of rice wine, if u dun like strong wine, then can mix it with water, for me, i juz mixed with 100 ml of water, cos i like the strong wine taste.
tis is very good to stabilized your mensus period.

last time my downstair wet market got sell "ant" leaves, now they change the vege supplier, then they dun have liao...
can u advise me where to get it?

LIM,
i want i want, 2 bottles for me?

PENG,
yes, can use spatulla, i use wooden spoon instead.
muz wrap it leh, can not juz put inside container wor.

Dior,
thanks for visiting us

for cuppies box, i bot the box from phoon huat or SKP, then i make the window my self, make it more attractive

use those plastic which i use to wrap my girl's text book... hahaha!

for MMF, i dun think they sell it outside....
give it a try? it's easy and taste yummy!

pink: i not sure where to get it. Coz my dad is the one who know those market uncle. So usually he will ask them to keep it if he want it...

Yahoo.... my fruits is finally all out from the mould...

1357759.jpg
1357760.jpg

ep,
500gm of tau suan is alot. You see how many people you are cooking for. And I think it's better that you steam the tau suan instead of cooking it. Traditionally it has been done this way.

Sorry ah, i didn't keep track of how long i boiled the tau suan the other time that it became soft. Some people like it soft while some like it hard. For me, i prefer it slightly hard. You try 1-2 seed after steaming.

For the sweet potatoe flour, you can also use it as a corn flour. In fact, it makes the starch better looking. Like the sharkfins, they don't use corn flour. They use this kind of flour or better flour. My mother use the s/p flour to make 'or luat' and she said it's nice.

I also dont have microwave at home, abt to ask the same qtn as cat. then saw ling & pink reply.

Ling, I also dont know wat happened to her, just cry every night lor. wow, ling, so long ago thing, you still can rememeber you behave like my gal when your bro coming soon.. that mean you must be very young lor.

pink, me now eat and drink watever lor.. esp. cold drink.. the moment i think of bf cannot drink cold water for half a year, very sian.

Pink,
I love to do fondant and don't care if no one eats it hahaha...but i fear whatever i am moulding may turn from white to grey (over handling hehehe).

If u please share home-made recipe i will be grateful. hmmmm, perhaps u cld start a new class Part 1 - cupcakes, Part 2 - piping, Part 3 - moulding?

dearie, coz my mum will keep telling me how norty i am when i was young.. -_-" my bro n me 6yrs apart so can roughly remember abit.. hehe me young? i hope i am but my heart still like a kid... hehe

when my cousin had her 2nd kid, my nephew who is 3yrs old is also like tat... guess they got the fear in them. mummy n daddy got new baby then what abt me? let her be invovled more... i am sure she will love the baby as much as u all do..

nw my nephew and the young one like siamy twin... cannot seperate them de...

Ling,
Agar2 stuck arh! hahaha...but colour and all very nice leh!

White elephants...i think we sort of are attracted by interested moulds and utensils mah...tats part of the fun.

Maybe...we shd photo our "white elephants" and share and have good laugh abt why we bought it and do we ever use it actually.

keng: hahaha maybe tat will be idea so that we can save $$$ and lend each other whatever we have or need instead of buying....

Ya lo the agar agar struck eh.... i took a knife to slide in at the side and it comes out.. hehe

Ling,
your agar agar very pretty and colourful. must be a lot of work. me also have a lot of white elephant at home, buy n buy and never use it.

Pink, Thanks for sharing..
Sorry one more question...The shortening for MMF is to coat in the mixing bowl only right not to add in the mixing of cornstarch right??

dearie,
must be quite hard & confusing for yr little girl....maybe just hug her tight and say u feel like crying also when she behaves this way (drama a bit lah...cry with her lor)....words not so effective....she already so stressed so don't thinks words work...action.

CatiKa,
like the way you 'bomb' yr questions, very spot on leh! Any cooking teacher kena you as a student hor....boey chuan que... but u like that we learn more lah!

Ling,
i must hv missed the agar2 recipe. i want to make it later....do u mind to post it for me? i hv 2 pkts of coconut milk suppose to make kaya...but too lazy neh...takes 3 hrs to complete...too time consuming.

lim
can i hv 1 bottle?

ling
yr agar agar looks very good!! my son saw yr agar agar and ask me to buy that for him!!

pink
did not rec yr pm.. hv emailed new model of scales details to u pls chk

Pink,
thanks for the info.
never tried MMF before.
will try it one day.

do you put the fondant topping on the buttercream and place it in the fridge before?
get your cupcakes (with fondant) done in the night then store it in fridge?
I have tried it before and the ready made fondant seems to be OK.

Keng,
Thank you..

I ever attended Shermay's Baking Class before under chef Joycelyn.
Saw how she handle fondant.
I self taught from then.

Now, I am looking for the tiny weeny cutter like butterflies and flowers shaped..
I ever asked before and they said they uses craft cutter wor.. can't imagine..
Anyone know where to get it?

Dearie_e,
your dd just need more attention thats all.
she worried once bb is out, she will get less attention.
I encountered the same too with my dd, when I am preganant with the second one, esp towards the last trimester.
Do bear with her ya, don't scold her..

Also I was told that when bb is out in the hospital, prepare a small gift (toy) for your dd upon her first visit and say that it is from the little brother/sister to her..

She will then be happy and love will grow even further from there..

I did that, and my girl was ok with the attention given to baby after that esp towards the breastfeeding period..

Hope this help..

keng: hehe i need to find where elieen posted her..
mine is from the recipe behind the agar agar packet. Instead of using 1000g of water, i used 800 + 200ml coconut.

EP: too bad u stay so far, if not, i can give some to ur son... hehe i only make for fun... HB won't eat that much oso... i predict it will land up in rubbish bin soon.

For those who want to try agar agar, tis is the recipe that elieen share with us...

Yam agar agar.

Ingredients:
a) 100g cubed yam (steam till cooked)
b) 150g cubed yam (steam till cooked & mashed)
c) 1 packet of agar agar powder
100g sugar
200ml coconut milk
500ml water
1/4 tsp salt
a bit of purple coloring

Method:
1. Boil ingredient (b) & (c) together, then mix in (a).
2. Pour into a mould. Wait till it set then put into the fridge.

This is my agar agar recipe that i did

1 packet of agar agar powder
a few strip of pandan leaves
800ml water
200ml coconut milk
sugar 140g ( mine is not so swt version) if u can take swtness can add up to 250g as stated on the packet.

Bring to boil the agar agar powder with water n pandan leaves.

When its boiled... add in coconut milk and bring to boil on low heat..

Always keep the heat on if you intend to do layer by layer while the pot is placed on the stove, if not it will harden up very fast.

Just add in any colouring you like as you mix.

Once done, leave it to cool then put in fridge.

Ling: ok.

my agar2 turns watery once it is taken out from the mould, even if i leave it in the fridge. anyone can advise why huh?

hi keng,

didnt get any reply for mixer.. i think i go for easy way out. i will get the same as my mama's.. at least she can teach me how to use it for different baking.

hi pink,

thanks alot! will try out that. yr milk is referring to coconut milk or UHT milk?

yup. i use coconut milk for my pandan cake. i also add pandan leaves juice. makes it more fragant. anybody interested? i dont mind sharing the receipe. cheesecake also..

sher: really? you can share your mum's recipe? hehe wanted to ask u ytd if you can share but paiseh since its ur mum's recipe. We be so glad if you can do so.

i remember there is someone who make durian puff..

for the puff, i have the receipe from one of the archive.

just want to check on the durian fillings.. i just peel the meat of the durian.. do i need to blend to make it more smooth or watery? need to add anything more like sugar?

ling,

no problem la.. can share de.. my mama doesnt open bakery shop so its not commercial secret.. hehee..

i'm also surprised that the method is very simple..

because i write down, so need to go home and type out.. i will post tomorrow ok?

u want receipe for both?