Cup cakes for birthday

baked these no frosting cupcake sometime back.

banana cupcake with dried apricot topping
1356719.jpg

marble cupcake with mini oreo topping
1356720.jpg

lim... dunno leh... think from PH bah... that time PINK helped to buy big one.. then think split into 4 portions... it's very nice!! not too sweet... but first attempt to put between sponge cakes with whipped cream, found it a bit sourish in fact...

Kathy, okie.. got it... hmm... how neh? if have how? i text/call u arh? ... then buy? i'll pm u my number.

fast hand fast leg... hahahah... think quite true... hubby used to call me the 'spider-woman'... u know... the legs/arms cannot stop moving kind... hahahaha... weave weave weave.. etc.

jj... mkt got immed roast pork and char siew leh... but hor... sometimes, the taste/smell i dun like... like a bit 'hiip' duo... u know what i mean? ... a bit 'har har' ... hmm... wonder how many people understands... hahahahah...

Catika, wow you so fast!
The most active member here I guess.. hehehe..

I agreed, market ones not so nice as we do it ourself from scratch.
But I bit lazy leh yet only me the only one eat pork at home..
Hubby, dd and helper don't take pork..
kao_sad2.gif

But if make soup with pork, ok! lucky thing..

Will try out the recipe one day if not lazy.. hahaha..

Catika,
itz the brand of fondant I am buying from Sunlik.
on the packet it state "white icing".
itz ready made, so can used straight away..
edible of course..

My fruits for tonight:

After elieen and catika told abt agar agar... i oso itchy hands... start making tis... i cannot take those swt ones so made my own reduce sugar ones..

1356914.jpg
1356915.jpg

And the japanese prawns.. tempura etc etc... made me wanna go japanese foods... ring up hb and he said anything... so anything lo...

1356941.jpg

1356942.jpg

1356943.jpg

Ling,
Wow, lovely agar-agar..
I also miss making those..
My dd's favourite.
I also prefer not too sweet type.
What brand of agar-agar powder you using?

Your sushi so attractive and generous in filling.
Yummy!!

jj: I am using the packet one from swallow..

Hehehe i love to eat filling more then the rice.. so end up.. i ate 1/2 of the rice with the filling and leave 1/2 ard ... Opps

wah.
catika - u make cooking n baking seem like a breeze.. i get so motivated by u.. i wan to make the pork but dunno which part to buy.. when i go wet market to shop, i notice i always get con.. :S

erm... anyone made tau suan b4?? easy?? any recipe?? drooool...

Thank you, Ling..
I am using from Pearl Mermaid brand, from Thailand.
My mom used this brand only and bought it for me..
Will try Swallow brand next time.

Where is Lee Bee store located?
Cheaper leh..

JJ: how much is sun lik selling? Lee bee is located @ Jurong west near to the market.

Is pearl mermaid brand nice? can be found in sg?

ep, I just cooked tau suan some days back. It's not difficult at all.

First you must soak the tau suan before steaming it. Best to soak it for at least an hour. Reason for soaking is that steaming time can be shortened.

Next, I boil a pot of pandan water. How many leaves to put? Depends how strong u want the fragrant to be. I think 5 leaves should be ok. Amount of water - if you want more 'gravy', then about half a pot. Sorry, i didn't measure the amt of water i put. Otherwise, you can lessen the water. Bring water to boil for about 30 mins for the pandan fragrant to 'come out'. For sweetness, i use rock sugar. Add in desire amt for the level of sweetness you want. Allow pandan water to cool before making it sticky.

To make it sticky, i use sweet potatoe flour. Do not use corn flour!! It will become watery when it's left for a few hours. You may also use potatoe flour. Take the cool pandan water to do this. I think i put at least 5 soup spoon of the flour to get the stickiness i want.

After soaking the tau suan, bring it to steam on a metal plate. Steam for about 20mins and test. If tau suan still hard, steam a while longer. Again, the hardness/softness of tau suan is up to individual preference. I didn't put tau suan into boil with the pandan water cos the other which i did it, the tau suan was too soft that it almost melted into the pandan water.

After you have prepared the steamed tau suan and the sticky pandan water, add the steamed tau suan into it. Stir lightly. And there you go, your tau suan is ready to eat. Don't forget to get 'you cha kueh'!

Wow, i hope i have not confused you with all these long writing.

Sun Lik selling $7.20.
Wow, Lee Bee located far West..
I am on the other far end of East.
So, itz ok la, will get from Sun Lik since itz Central.

Don't think can find Mermaid Brand here.
I used to bought those from Bangkok and now mom bought it for me from M'sia.

maroulin
kum siah! kum siah! for yr recipe.. no confusion at all.. will try when i go buy sweet potato flour.
how much tau suan u use?? 500gm? do u think if i soak the beans, then later put in the boiled pandan water after i turn off the fire till it is cooled, then i can skip the steaming step? hee hee
how long did u boil the beans the last time n it became too soft?

May I join in to this thread...I came across few days back and was going thru all the beautiful cakes and yummy food that you all share...I am also a SAHM who loves to cook and bake...

I am interested to bake the pork belly as my DH and sons love it...Wonder if anyone can share the recipe?? Thanks.

Ling,

Thanks.. but I have been going thru 2 time still cant find...maybe my eyes tired already...So happy to receive such fast welcoming from you...Thanks again.

Ling,
true..
by the time I travel there, the fondant will cost even more than Sun Lik's. hahaha!
also save my time.
good for you and those staying in the West, can get it cheaper..

Dior, welcome to the post.

jj: Nuthing is cheaper now is its related to foods... everythings is rising... hehe so muz share where to get cheaper stuffs

Dior, i found it.... peng's recipe for roasted pork

1 large piece of 'san cheng rou', choose abt 70% meat 30% fats one, rinse n wash pork then pat dry, give a few diagonally slit on skin, season with loads of Sea Salt n Black Pepper, keep in fridge in a air tight container for 24 hrs, make sure the skin does not touch the top of the container cover, cos want the skin to be very dry or else wont be crispy after baking..after 24 hrs bake at 230 degrees for 1hr then reduce to 150 degrees for another 40mins..

Ling,
Thanks so much and sorry to trouble you at this hour..

Hi JJ,

Sorry I have to go bfeed my boy...chat again tomorrow..Blessed night and sweet dreams..

HB was kpo around and saw the roasted pork... lol i ask him if he's interested but he -_-" and said don't want cause he predict that he be the one clearing up the mess ...lol

Ling,
thanks for sharing on the info.

Dior,
I went to search the recipe for you as remembered reading it in one of the archieves but couldn't find it.
Lucky, Ling found it for you already, else me still searching up.. oops!

Good nite to you and sweet dreams!

Ling,
your hubby must be tempted by the juicy roasted pork pics..

still not sleeping yet?
me going off soon, eyes too tired to hold up any further..
good night ya..

hi dior,
Welcome to tis baking thread!
Pls do not hesitate to post your "fruits" here.

Jj,
Thks for the info, yes wilton fondant cost almost double, it's $12+
U shd try MMF, very yummy compared to ready use fondant which taste yucky, even the wilton one i dun like the taste, and u never know wat chemical they put.

Cat,
Interested in fondant? Try MMF!

ling,
Very beautiful agar agar, and your sushi makes me hungry early in the morning.

Cat,
Roasted pork wif celery? Gd lei! One bring up, one bring down the high blood pressure

Me v hungry liao! Hvnt take b'fast.

peng,
Thks for the info! Wl go ntuc to find the "ciu".
Can i subtitute it wif red glutinous rice wine? I only hv tis at home.

Pink
You can subtitute with that I'm using it too. If you have the red residue at home you might want to use this recipe which I find it easier.

HONEY CHAR SIEW
Ingredients A:
Pork : ½ kg (cut into long strips)
Red wine residue : 1 tbsp

Ingredients B: (chopped)
2 Slices Ginger
3 pcs Shallot
3 clove Garlic

Ingredient C: (seasoning sauce)
2 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tbsp Sesame oil
1 tbspHoney
1 tbspHua Tiao Jiu
3 tbsp Char Siew sauce

Ingredient D:
3 tbsp (50g) Honey

Method:

1) Washed pork, prick some holes with a fork
2) Spread pork evenly with red wine residue
3) Add Ingredients B, mix well
4) Add Ingredients C, mix well
5) Place it in fridge, marinate for 3-4 hours
6) Place pork on the rack, bake in a pre-heated over at 210°C for 15mins
7) Turn pork over, bake for another 10mins
8) Remove pork, spread evenly with honey, bake
for another 5 mins

Pooh,
I'm going to marinate it tonite.....
the ingredients are very common and i've it all at home... thanks!

u use red wine residue as well? haha!
very fragrant hor?
when i steam fish, put 2 tbsp oso, the result? yummy yummy!
if u want some, i can pass it to you!
u want red glutinous rice wine as well?
this is the one we use to cook ginger chicken for confinement.... for HAKKA...

Pink
I'm Foochow, so my mum and grandma made the red wine residue themself. I didn't know steam fish can put also, I cook it with chicken most of the time.

pink, watz mmf? the other brand of fondant with the long name earlier & this mmf, both just take desired amt, put color n knead n form shapes? 'edible' plasticine? ... how to store the before n after? thanx ...

Ling,
Saw yr agar2, love the moulds leh! esp. the heart shaped one. What type of mould u using?

jj,
i love yr cupcakes and other bakes too, always so beautiful to look at. Did u take any fondant moulding lessons huh?

Pink,
i love yr cupcakes too, designs different all the time. I like to try MMF (whatever is that) because don't like anything store bought if it can be done at home.

Pooh,
when i'm on diet, i steam japan sea bass only with ginger and 2 tbsp of red wine.....
very nice... i like it!

Ling,
u hakka too? i like to use rice wine.....
my maid oso know how to use liao.. hahaha!

cat,
u wanna try? i can pass it to u 2gather with gula malaka, i got plenty of rice wine....
but not today, didn't bring anything wor....
i saw yr posting abt vivo only tis morning.

Peng,
I chicken out from roast pork making....but the recipe is safely in my folder until....one fine day hehehehe..

Sher,
Got any answer regarding the mixer, which is better?

pink: yeap yeap i am hakka too... the wine chicken add to chicken oso nice... esp those steam one.. leftover.. the next day add some wine... yummy

keng: the heart shape is from the mould.. hehe that one i tink its suppose to be those guo dong mould but i used it to make agar agar...
Still piss off with HB for dumping my agar agar moulds away!!!

keng,
haha! yes, MMF (mashmellow Fondant) is much much better than outside ready use fondant.

i always make it my self, if u go to my blog and see those tiny hippo, giraffe, elephant, it made from MMF, i don't use outside fondant, taste yucky.
MMF made from mashmellow, icing sugar, little bit of cornstarch, spinkle of water.
the challange part is when u knead it to become fondant.
wilton fondant course never teach u how to make your own fondant, ofcourse lah, they wanna sell their product mah, but you'll definietly learn the technic there...

cookiepie, that is supposed to be easier to use then the tradtional one. wanna to get it as well but i don really fancy mooncakes... so drop that idea.. if not, later HB will dump it away again...

ling,
haha! dun angry with hubby lah... perhaps ask him to buy u again?

make sure your treasure keep at the place he dun go n dig lor.....
at home, kitchen is my teritory.... hubby dun bother wat inside the cabinet...
i restricted him only at little tiny corner for him to store his tea, kopi etc.... ha ha! so bad hor?

btw,
have u ever try to cook rice wine with "NGEH" ? it's a leaves, in chinese character is "ant"...
those malay eat it raw, to heal their diabetes.
i use to cook it with rice wine, it's very good for those who have a heavy mensus, irregular mensus.
when i started to get my period, i think 12yrs old, i can't remember, i've a very pain one, then my mama cook this "NGEH" leaves with red wine. the result? i've a very punctual "aunty" without pain at all.
tat's why i very scared to have late "aunty" if late for 5days, then confirm preggy... hahaha!

btw.... mommies, no ang ku kueh from me, my aunty come on sunday! hahaha!
we are expecting ang ku kueh from angel_baby liao

dear angel,
u coping well with dana? shout out if u need help!