Cup cakes for birthday

Ling
ya, it is quite simple only need to cut yam which I don't like. The hand will be very itchy then. I use those small agar agar mould which got flower n leave design to do it. Look very nice & taste nice too.

Eileen: Hehehe i will ask HB to cut the yam for me... *grin*
Dunno where my agar agar mould gone to... muz go n find it out le... if not, put it in big baking tin.

mummies who has done the mee sua kueh hor
My hb needs the right chilli sauce to go with it one. So which chilli sauce is good ?

CL: I used the sin sin brand... garlic flavour to go long with it. Hehe i was suggestin to hb that if got xo sauce it be better.

augustmum: I saw PH got sell but dunno what kind of grade they are selling.

CL: Ya lo... hehe will try that next time... yummy
like raddish cake like dat

Anyone got good recipe to cook stingray? HB bought back some stingray from his fishing trip.

Ling, slab on belachan chilli (glory brand i think... ntuc... suiitable for bbq) ... then wrap in aluminium foil and put into oven to bake!!! when done, open up that time, immed put in some cut 'wan shui' and squeeze lime!!! hehehe

otherwise, for chinese wok style, u must get those black bean paste (can be either only salty or spicy kind), then sliced thinly some bitter guord, then cut the sting ray into 'cubes' ... fry lotsa garlics and then put in the black bean paste... fry liow then put in bittor guord, few seconds later, put in sting ray and stir fry!
want a bit of sauce/wet, put in boiled hot water as desired...
want sticky sauce, put some cornflour in saucer, put water, dissolve then pour into wok!

hope this helps!!!

eileen... hmm... sounds good... better still... hahahha... if you doing fanciful agar agar... i go see can? I can bring along ingredients... :p :p ... *poke poke*... i can keep u company since ur ah lau not in Singapore!!! :p hahahahah ...

CL,
i use lingham chilli ( sweet) or in jar tiger brand (more asian taste)
has hb to try to use those dark sweet sauce? like for soon kueh?

mee swa kueh
is the final pdt suppose to taste like carrot cake?? i think i put too much water or never press down enuff.. was very soft on the inside even after frying.. my egg cant really stick to the kueh.. shld i use batter? will try again next week.

catika
yr cheesecake make me drool.. i cutting down sugar as diet plan.. maybe i try yr stingray recipe..

the cheesecake is not as sweet as those sold outside leh... hmm... also, i subst. sour cream as youghurt lor... more 'guilt free' ... hahahaha...

mee sua kueh... mine is pretty firm when sliced... a teeny weeny bit q-q even... but same prob... i am no good in dipping into egg before frying... how to dip beautifully huh? anyone?
(I just crack the eggs and whipped them till bubbly... need to add anything else for eggs to be 'glued' to the kueys?)

Been busy lately and haven't join in..
Sorry!

Xiau Ling,
I am so sorry to hear about the incident that happened to your leg.
How are you doing now? Is your leg getting better? Rest well ya and take good care..

Catika,
What a lovely bakes there..
You have improved tremendously, Good job!

jjsan: WOW seh very nice cupcakes you got.. now i am craving for cupcakes... hehe maybe i should be a norty gal and go knock @ my shifu's door.

catika: i like the bbq version. yummy... tink i will put the stingray in the freezer and see when got the mood to bbq lo...

mmm my mee sua kueh hor... outside like kueh but insde still can see mee sua one eh... or is it supposed to be like whole.. cannot see any trace of mee sua???

If you got difficulties in dipping the egg when frying, you can coat with a bit of corn flour than dip the egg to fry.

Other than chilli you can also dip with sweet sauce those we put on soon kueh one.

I'm glad that so many of you like the mee suah kueh.

pooh... hmm... so thatz the trick... hahahaha... u guess what... i will sound silly... this is what i've done and it's like 'egg wrap'... i dip and fry, then i quickly pour some egg into wok, then i turn over kuey and 'wrapped' it up! hahahaha... anyway, Josh loves very eggy stuffs... I'll try ur cornflour method the next time...

Mummies... who has got recipe for Char Siew? ... I would like to DIY... not those ready Char Siew Sauce kind... Thanks!

Also, who can 'teach' me how to 'fry' tempura prawns... those got 'bread crumb' outside kind... how to stick bread crumb? and must leave prawns' tail ON is it? ... I've got bread crumbs... but dunno how to 'dip' prawn... thanks.

Catika,

Good tempura very hard to achieve one. Ha ha my fren Japanese husband always tell us why bother. Such things must go restaurant and eat.

After you clean the prawn, slice half to open it, then dry on paper towel. Mix egg and ice water and add in the flour into the mixture. Note must use ice water. My friend hb says ice water is the key. Then you coat the prawn with flour , dip in batter then coat with bread crumb. Bring to fry should do the trick

This is the tips he gave me last time

Tip 1: Ice
Use ice water for the batter. This is really important to prevent the batter from absorbing too much oil.

Tip 2: Batter (Tempura Batter Recipe)
Do not make the batter ahead of time. Try not to over mix the batter and not to coat ingredients with the batter too much.

catika: u very onz eh... roasted pork to char siew now... roasted chicken next??? hehe

i love tempura prawns... yummy but like CL said its lots of effort so i rather pay and eat... hehe

pooh: Oh so mine is right... *chew* HB was asking how come kueh but got mee sua inside... hehe now i can throw the egg back at him... he said i sure did something wrong... hmpf...

Catika
I've not try using those local mee suah, my mee suah is my grandmother bring back from china one and is super fine one. Will try using the local one than I can advise you, could it be your mee sua have not absorb all the soup before you put it into the fridge.

Char Siew

Ingredients:
1 kg Twee Bah(Fatty pork)

Marinating sauce:
juice from 1 lemon
3 tbsp 5-spiced powder
50 ml oyster sauce
4 tbsp sugar
5 tbsp sesame oil
3 tbsp Chinese wine(Hua Tiao Jiu)
50 ml water

Method:
1. Marinate pork with sauce for at least 4 hours.
2. Line baking tray with aluminium foil.
3. Put pork on the foil and pour sauce on it.
4. Grilled in preheated oven 220C for 30 mins.
5. Lower the temperature to 190C and grilled for another 25 mins.
6. Turn pork over every 15 mins to prevent burning on one side.
7. Remove and slice.
8. Pour sauce over it.
9. Serve hot..!

Catika,
thank you...
for the grass, I am using Wilton tip no 233.
I recently bought this tip too (from Phoon Huat, cost $2.80).
just press it 90 degress then pull the tip off.
it will work just fine, try it ya..

Ling,
thanks for your kind word..
I am quite new in fondant, just exploring further.
lots of time I spent making as my fingers not used dealing with tiny stuff,still new I guess.. hehehe

pooh
for the char siew, will the char siew turn out red or like bbq pork?
must add those red colouring? i also wan to try.. later go n mkt to buy twee bah

jj
yr cupcakes very pretty

hope everyone getting better now?

CL,
your son oke liao?

xiau ling,
u pok the leg after me & maruolin go home?
ai yooohhh...... now how? better not?
remember to "protect" the "pok" area leh... if not, easily to get germ hor...

jj,
nice work!!..

it's wilton fondant or MMF?

cat,
your cheesecake looks delish! can i have one slice?

mommies, you can go to:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/shamsd/page7/
this lady is really an artist for cuppies!!

angel_baby,
how is Dana? when you settle down with her, let me know? i wanna go your pl to hug hug her leh...

Ling,
tempura is my favourite leh.... i loves seafood!
yes yes, i rather pay and eat...

keng,
sent u email liao!

ep,
got rcv my PM regarding delivery addy?

Thanks Pink
He is better. After getting the right antibiotics. But now he see medication and puff, he shouted no no no and run away. Ha ha you ask pooh, I very sim tia he lost weight. Those clothes I want to give away because small now i keeping because he can still fit now

Pooh
You got very good recipe. Ha ha every sat you come my place and teach me how to cook lah

CL
Yah,Aden now look taller after he slim down.

Can no problem, I go your place to teach you how to cook, than you teach me scrapbook. Now I'm hook to scrapbook have been staying late for the past two night to complete the album.

Catika...wow ur roast pork looks tasty...i find it difficult to slice also then i use chopper to chop chop chop...me same as u after roast pork 'gian' char siew so i bought bottled sauce to marinate...now can try out Pooh's recipe again! kekeke

EP...i think can add one more ingredient to make it looks 'red'...u know this 'red rice ' call Hong Zhao, supermarket got sell in bottled one..

CL...how old his ur boy? using puff now cos of bronchitis?...my boy after 5 days antibiotics also getting better...we hope that he will not proceed to using puff

Pink...Hua Tiao Jiu can be find at any supermarket...different brand got different pricing...just search for those indicate Cooking Hua Tiao Jiu can liao

Pooh
onz, ok every sat i shall cook for dinner then with you as my shifu, then while food cooking, we do scrapbook. good idea then you can bring joshua to my house earlier.

Peng
My boy 2 years plus. His is mycloplasma worse then bronchi. ya first day of anti biotics can see vast diff liao. I find puff easier than using neb. Puff my husband adminster when he sleeps

Pink
You can get from ntuc or provision shop. It can be use to marinate chicken wing or for cooking.
I dun have the picture, I replace with the wine made by mum.

pooh: hehe my dad ask me a qnz that made me ! for 1 min... hehe where is the orgin of this mee sua kueh? It belong to which dialect group?

Pooh: oh ok.. hehe its ok. He is asking me to make some for him to bring to work as well. lol.. tis going to be a popular kueh soon. Yummy.

this is my 'fruits' over the weekend.

mommy yummy oreo cheesecake

1355685.jpg

mommy yummy pandan cake

1355686.jpg

I have tried the roast meat.. i used coarse salt.. i think i marinate too much.. too salty.. but my husband said very nice.. hehe.. he asked me to do 1 more time but bigger roast meat

WOW sher, ur oero cheesecake looks very good! Its baked one right? The top is so well managed... i try once and its all crack lines.... The pandan cake look so fluffy as well.

i want to try the roasted meat too but i dun wan to dirty my oven... will the oily from the pork mess up the oven with you grill it?

the cheesecake and pandan cake receipts are from my mommy... they taste very very nice.. very simple to do also.. the top wouldnt crack as well. but baking took me 2.5hrs.. maybe low heat thats y wldnt crack..

pandan cake is very fluffy.. like eating air.. not sure whether the taste is the same as chiffon cake..

oh ya.. i had hell time cleaning my oven lor..

sher: wow ur mum bake as well? so envy.. can share expeience with them. Sigh my mum? She only know how to eat and nag when it doesn't suit her taste.

Ling... exactly!! i thought recipe says lotsa salt!!! i used 1/3 pkt of sea salt... now the skin... wah lau... DAMN SALTY lor... hahahaha... my son say..> NKF arh?? *peng*

hua tiau jiu... i often used it to cook 'meat' stuffs... even can kill fishiness in fish dishees ... if done appropriately.
sesame oil and hua tiao jiu are a must in my kitchne!

1355754.jpg
1355755.jpg

Catika
I also use the same hua tiao chew as u. I like the smell when frying.

pink
when are u collecting yr baking tin?

CL... thanks... me looking more for Chinese kind of fried prawn with bread crumbs... not those jap BIG KING prawns... hahaha... can I use same method for chinese prawns huh?

Yeah... love to cook and bake...
now SAHM position... simply love my days... hahahahaha... shiok sia!!! can cook and bake as and when feel like it!!!
last time working... can only 'tou tou muo muo' do at night... scare kling klong klang wake kids up!!!
now i can see sunlight liow!!!
my bakewares too!!! hahahahaha...

Pooh, Ling
Mee sua stuff usually hokkein. My father always do mee sua ko so stop at before freezing and fried. So I think it is usually hokkein. Ha ha i realli should have ask my mum to bring back Xiamen mee sua since she just went there last week

pooh...so so my kind 'kueh inside, mee suah seen outside one layer' is wrong arh? ... or is there no right or wrong in kueh? ... *confused*