Clothes required for charity

Alamak! Project over liao. :eek:

I have clothings wanted to donate.

I like clothings to be given to the poor.

I hate organiser sell it to garung-guni and collect money . Garung-guni actually sell the old cloths to the industries and do harm to the environment!
:mad:

Toberlone, there should be another one coming up in September by another organization donating to poor countries. I hv donated old clothings for 2 years. If u are keen, I can email you when I receive an email from them.

好的!太好了。谢谢!谢谢!:)

I can't stand those garung-guni sell it to the heavy industries.

How do you know garang guni sell it to heavy industries? Which are the heavy industries?
不懂基本常识就不用当‘老师’了。呵呵... :)

I hate to give it to Boys Scout/Boys' Brigade (BB)/JC-Secondary students/Salvation Army and etc.

The reasons (money do not really go to the poor.):
1. When these helpers collected old items, they sold/gave it to garung-guni. Few hundreds dollars collected not enough for old folks home.
2. For the salvation army, money goes to monthly operation fees (big-portion for staffs' monthly salary, electiric bills, rental and etc.). Basically, recycling and etc.
3. Garung-guni selecitvely choose the items and resell it at flea-market to earn profit for themselves. Rochor Canal once famous for 二手买卖。

Garung-guni earns living for themselves is good and there is nothing wrong. However, 如果心态是要救济贫困人的话,就不该卖给garung-guni,或者,给Boys Scout/Boys' Brigade (BB)/JC-Secondary students/Salvation Army.

I am aware that many local garung-guni sell old clothings to the shipping companies. Those shipping companies use old clothings to clean dirty mess (especially oil) onboard ships. After that, they dumped them into the sea, polluting the environment. Some ships are quipped with incinerator but they hardly use.

卖报纸/破旧的电器给gurung-guni还可以。要真正做慈善积德,给要看清楚目标。;)

Thanks toblerone. I didn't know some old clothes sold to garang guni are used as rags. Luckily, I hv been donating clothes to the association for 2 years and I also gave some to my neighbour, but I did donate 1 bag to secondary students once. I'll not do that anymore. Thanks for the great info.

Hi, i'm keen too. Had been sourcing around recently but mostly link me to Salvation Army. Pls keep me update. Thanks.

i'm keen also to donate old clothes. please also keep me posted too.

I'll update in this thread as well. The donation drive should start in September if there is no change. Do check out this thread in September.

according to a garung guni lady near my place, those old clothing collected are sold in big bundles to poor people overseas for them to wear.

n if you call Veolia, the recycling company that comes by our HDB neighbouring estates fortnightly with a large yellow plastic bag, they will tell you the clothes we put in those bags are sorted and sent to clothe the 3rd world countries.

Hi, i'm keen too. Had been sourcing around recently but mostly link me to Salvation Army. Pls keep me update. Thanks.
Salvation Army earns money and goes into operation staffs monthly salary. Look at their beautiful buildings! Reminds me NKF TT Durai.

要做善事,不是捐给Salvation Army就一了白了。要人清楚对象和方针。

Boys' Brigade also another one. 表面上帮忙收集旧衣裤,实际上不是给Salvation Army就是卖给garang-guni。

To be honest, people working for Bone Marrow Donor Programme, 经理职员个个拿薪水的!Well-paid leh. Donation from public is for their salary and yearly bonus.

I usually donate the recycling company. The one tt gives a plastic bag & cones to collect forthnightly.
你不要高兴先。Your intention is donate but they collect and resell to earn profit for themselves.

n if you call Veolia, the recycling company that comes by our HDB neighbouring estates fortnightly with a large yellow plastic bag, they will tell you the clothes we put in those bags are sorted and sent to clothe the 3rd world countries.
You so sure? See my news in my next post.

Most garang-guni, don't do for charity. They are earning living for themselves.

讲好听一点,garang-guni是作回收买卖。回收买卖 = Same as recycling business.

Recycling businesses are making money.

1594019611522eb52808fdb.jpg