Christian Mummy Support Group

MapleBabies: You aren't disturbing us! You're a Christian mom-to-be! :D

Fairytale: have to be strong. Remember that Jesus has a special place in his heart for the children!

coping: my ex and I were in Christian schools and were therefore naturally "Christians" but our faith, as you put it, went up and down... I have to thank God for His strength, that I am where I m now. (ex along with new wife is staunch non-believer)

I just read the other day in {My Utmost to His Highest} The Inspiration of the Spiritual Initiative. God does not give us overcoming life - He gives us life as we overcome. When the inspiration of God comes, and He says "Arise from the dead ...," we have to get ourselves up; God will not lift us up. Our Lord said to the man with the withered hand, "Stretch out your hand" (Mt 12:13). As soon as the man did so, his hand was healed. But he had to take the initiative. If we take the initiative to overcome, we will find that we have the inspiration of God, because He immediately gives us the power of life.

Lift all to God in prayer!

brenda
actually my hb's a christian. just tat i wish he wakes up and be more automatic so his parents and i will not hv more conflicts

Welcome all newcomers!!

Wow, the threa dis moving so fast that it takes some time just to finish reading the posts.

brenda
No more teaching for me! I have enough of managing the kids, they really scare me enough not to have a child for some time.

Actually to 'fess up, I actually backslide after having my boy. Difficult to go to church as it conincides with his nap time. He gets real cranky during his Sunday School till I have to bring him home before his Sunday School ends. Can't bring him to service as he will get very restless and wants to roam around the grounds. So I do skip service every now and then.

Sometimes, feels like being abandoned by God though I know that He's always here. Just don't feel his presence at times ... must remind myself all the time that He is HERE. *Phew* ... feels better after saying this ...

singlemom
I can see that you are allowing God to work in your life.. that's great. How did u cope? Maybe u can share..

Me + God = majority!

Yep, nothing that happens to us is becos of coincidence. He has allowed it becos He has a reason for it. God loves us and when tough times come, He wl gv us the grace and strength to bear it.

coping
I sense you are under tremendous strain.
Have u seeked ur pastor's help re your hb's situation? What he is doing is not rite, he is causing u sadness too. Sadly, this is part of satan's scheme to lure the men and make them fall.

fairytale
God bless and protect ur little one! Care to tell us more?
Wl keep him/her in prayer tonite..

mikel
I wouldn't say I backslide but just had been too too shacked to do anything.

No matter wat, we still go to church... just that I find it difficult to serve cos hv caregiving issue, cannot always dump the kids to the maid right..

My boy has been attending Sunday School and we are in a separate room w the gals while the sermon is on.. it's ok lah, we are used to it.

maplesb
It's ok to share ur prayer request..

mikel
Gotta blv in God's Word even tho the feeling may not be there loh... "I will never leave u nor forsake u..."

brenda
Jem shud be ok in Sunday School lah...

FAIRYTALE
receive n believe ur miracle ok that God will do His mighty work on ur baby.

as for myself, i truly live by His grace everyday! its crazy dealing with 4 kids esp 3 monkeys!!! but believe that HIs grace is sufficient for us everdyay!

fairytale... please keep faith the our Lord and Saviour will protect your baby and allow you to bring him/her home soon. What is the name? We could start a prayer chain here like they did for Sabie? If you need to talk PM me, i know how it feels like to have a baby in ICU...

mngo,
wahahah... okay. ay... if ur prayer works i ask u to pray for me also can? mine, wash bottle also difficult to move.

Mikel,
ur church doesn't have a cry room?

styloBB,
hope so lor... but he still not open to the teachers so far. Thus all this while been letting him play in the cry room with the babies and tods.

singlemom / blessedmommy,
i really think u gals wow leh.. There were times i actually shouted out "You wan me to jump down from the building then u happy issit?" when my kids get overly unbearable

Fairytale,
hugz... ur baby is in our prayer

PATSY
hi there. r u ok now? grieving takes time but take comfort tha sabie is now happy n healthy in the safe arms of jesus ok? i know how it feels to lose a child. need to talk, pm me ok?

brenda
haha!!! there were times when i blew too lah!! but i always believe that if God bless us with them He will grant us the grace n wisdom to handle them too! just need to ask Him for it!

on another note, is it ok if we reveal which church each of us r attending? or its too confidential?

Mikel
my son is now 2 1/2 yrs. have been attending sunday sch from baby onwards. A bit cranky b4 1 yr, otherwise it is ok. I set a fixed sleeping time @ 12 noon after he turns 1 1/2. In other words, i manipulate his biological clock & "force" the body to adapt. It takes abt 3 weeks. So now, he is used to it already.

Fairytale
hang on to Jesus. V heartpain to see yur darling in ICU.

Coping
Dunno if the question is too private for u. Pm me if u do. Can you share how you prayed? Yes, attacks come but God is our shield. I was juz wondering if u have covered yurself well when u pray.

Cos when we pray, we have to armor ourselves & our loved ones. Dun forget, we have an evil prowling lion on loose. I used to have a mentor taught me this - somehow this is the only bit i rem!!!

thanks again for all your encouragement and prayers..

sun bloom: In the past i used God's words to pray. i have tons of books about praying.. cindy Jacobs/ dick east man/ stormie etc.. but i dun want to blame the devil for every man's actions too so it could be purly spirtual attacks or man's actions.. i really want to live life as a victorious christian always rejoicing n full of praise but i think God must have his reasons for placing me at my family of origin n present family...

stlobb: i am from a big church and the pastors are so busy. so the cell leaders are supposed to follow up but my hubby dun go cell so we cant go so now no accountability at the moment.. did sms 1 ex cell leader all the issues but she too busy also not get back.. so praying that God will lead our family to someone who can help us. Husband is very pte person n if i go about telling pastors that might stop him from attending church totally. I can share my thoughts openly here cos of the privacy i cant even tell my girlfriends cos hubby will be very upset.

Have been up early nearly everyday due to julien waking up and wanting milk... thank God I feel ok.. On half day to go out w hb later.. need a break for ourselves..

blessedmommy
One thing I wanna share with u.

"Life and death are in the power of the tongue,
and those who love it will eat its fruit."
Prov 18:21

so... don't call the kids 'monkeys' lah... always bless them and say positive things about them (I know, stimes they drive us crazy!!)

I would like to know how u cope ah...

fairytale
Any update re ur bb??

brenda
I guess it just takes time.. jesse used to bawl when he was going to SS.. but for months he has been ok, it also helps that my good gf is a v good SS teacher.. she really has a way with kids.

patsy
Nice to see u here...

coping
I also don't understand why u get attacked hah.. maybe need to gather help from ur church sisters to pray as a group.

I understand re ur situation in big church.. not easy hor. Ur hb still attends church? He still blvs in the Lord?

Talking about cell/care groups, anyone in one? We lead one but I'm concerned re the mummies in our group that hardly get to be in the BS cos we all hv tods to take care of, most of the time, it's spent chasing after them in my house... hehe... as the hbs wl be having the BS.

Strength - draw strength from the Lord, and not ourselves. He is the source of it.

patsy
How was ur break? I was praying for u and I mentioned ur name and jesse asked me who are u.. hehe

morning mommies!!

stylobb
yes mam! i repent! hehe... indeed, our mouth is a v powerful tool! thanks for reminding me! u know la at times our flesh gets the better of us. but i agree with u, we shld always speak blessings to our children, which im doing now.

talking abt cell, yes my hubby is leading a grp n praise God, our core members r v close to one another. quoting from the Bible, we shld not fosake the assembly of His people esp when the time draws near. good to fellowship n remind ourselves of the Word.

coping
i believe in the unity of prayers. any particular area u want us to pray for? understand in big church its really difficult to keep track of all the members. pray that God will put u at the right place and the right time with the right person who can lift u n ur husb up spiritually.

Brenda
i am a lousy christian. of if i wonder am i one?!
lately have not been going to church. totally no quiet time (cos too tired). and no cell gp, no reading bible.

maybe tats why my heart become so hard and evil.
therefore FIL/MIL problem started

blessedmom,
yah lor... that's y i seriously 'bo bian' in a way gotta pray everyday..hahahah, if not i'll go berserk as well.

Me keeping my sanity is worthy of thanksgiving already!

i'm from Queenstown Lutheran Church... a traditional red brick church.

styloBB,
so romantic!! now hb n my date only after midnite when the 2 Js r asleep

ay... i call my 2 Js hyenas leh...wahahah

that's my concern.. we hv traditional teachers for SS..hahahah. but will continue to pray for him lor cos surprisingly the kids likes him lots.

cell group still gotta wait... i dun wanna press Mark(hb) too much. And it's not gonna be easy for me to bring the 2 kids over now.

So far all i can do is to attend service in the cry room and ask them to forward me all prayer lists n be a silent warrior..hahahaha

mngo,
tsk tsk *ahbish* nothing born in God is lousy yah.. n dun wonder, u already one sinc the minute u invited him into ur heart.

i go thru the phase of "no activities for God" too... i'm sure all of us here would have lapsed previously as well.

if ur heart has really harden, u wun be in our thread already

No worries! singlemom will post devotions every now and then for u to skim thru! soon the Spirit will be active again!! YES GALS?!?!

brenda
Amen! thanks for the encouragement.

my heart is not harden for God. But harden and insentive to people around me.

haiz i dunno wat i am talking abt :p

Decide to split the prayer list.. in this way, we get to see God's blessings in times to come

<u>Current Prayer Requests</u>
1)Mikel : for her job search and boy to be more guai let mummy attend service
2)sunbloom : for strength and guidance
3)coping : God's intervention on hb's habit and healing/faith on her personal self worth.
4)fatmtb : wisdom in guiding her child in christian ways
5)Patsy : to sort things out soon and smoothly
6)StyloBB : Less busy so can join us more often :p
7)Brenda : for smooth integration of Jem (elder son) into Sunday
School starting on this month.
8)Mngo : God will turn the current situation around. and wake my hb :p
9)Fairytale : for her premature bb who is still in ICU. May he be
well soon.
10)Maple Babies : for God to bless her with a child!

<u>Thanksgiving</u>
1)Singlemomof3 : thanksgiving for God's faithful providence

thanks for all the concern.I was busy yesterday so can't tell you what happen.

My baby is premature.He stayed in NICU for 2 months,then discharge for about a month.Then he was admitted again to ICU becoz lack of oxygen.Later,doc suspect he have reflux that's why always so breathless.Currently,he can only be tube fed & still need the oxygen.We are told that his heart artery is also very pressured.In this admission,the doc told us that they may consider operating my son & insert the feed tube to his stomach.We refused coz we believe that God didn't wan my little one to go thru this operation.We prayed abt it n have peace not to go ahead.We trusted God more than the doctors.

Our pastor went down to pray for him on Wed.Hubby & I believed that God had healed him and he will be discharged soon.

hello, my hubby sometimes will go but sometimes willnot go due to work but he has not been doing qt nor praying..we tend to argue about financial and spirtual issues too.he more of a spendthrift n i more of saver.. he's also abit of mcp not keen to do housework..so i nag a bit n he said i m not encouraging and keep comparing him to others so he went to surf porn to satisfy his desire..

maybe cos he 2 yrs younger than me so still not very mature. cos he still like life when he's single when his mum cooks n does all the chores n he just comes home eat and watch tv.. sigh he promised he will do housework before marriage but unless i nag a lot i dun see things done..

well i cant really tell cell or pastors cos he feels that he willnot go church if i do that and i am stuck and frankly i am tired of sharing to church n i think maybe they are tired of my lifestory too..

Pls pray for patience as a wife to be more loving more caring and more grace cos i really want it out cos i cant trust him now. we also dun agree on parenting issue. He more for caning first and i more for reasoning then caned.. sigh so my husband is really bad tempered. so u see i dun even dare to leave my child with him for long cos he loves to play with child but if child throws tantrum hubby will throw a bigger tantrum.sigh!

well husband can be nice at some times but frankly for what he has done last wk, i dunno if to forgive him even though we are told to forgive. i feel cheated all these time.. if he would have told me his habits i might think many many times before marrying him.. so pls pray for forgiveness n healing..

thanks.sorry i babble/complain too much. need to ventilate it out.

Coping endure and trust God even in such valley. Althou humanly speaking we wish tt things will change for better fast. Reality, chagnes take time.

U must be strong and learn to rest in God for his hand in this situation. Who knows He may want to change you inside before He move the outside. His ways are higher than our ways

My encouragement to you is to be strong and allow God to work in your life first. Ask for strength and energy to look after your son, housework and spiritual aspects of the household.

HI mummies..

Just came across this thread..

It has been a pretty hectic week for me and my family members..
Just want to ask for prayer request..

My grandpa is currently in hospital.. Actually doctors say that the past 48hrs were pretty crucial, cos either he will make it or he will pass on.. Initially he was hanging on for my aunt to come back frm London to c him one last time.. By God's grace, my aunt made it back yesterday and all of us were crying by his bedside as we were afraid that he might go after seeing her..

Currently, he's still hanging on.. We're not sure of the reason why.. Doctors are not optimistic on his condition.. THey say that he will not live beyond today.. We've prayed and also told my grandpa to let go.. cos we know that God will take him to a better place with no sufferings and pain.. Seeing him at the hospital now really is heartbreaking... (He's currently relying on the oxygen mask to breathe and on morphine to relief him of his distress)

Pls pray for God's strength for us and His peace and comfort to comfrot us when the situation arises.. We believe that all things happen for a reason.. and we believe that God will take control of the situation..

Thanks mummies...

brenda
What is a cry room? We just bring our bb out of the hall when he cries. Is your church near the MRT station?

sunbloom
My son sleeps at 1130am everyday at home, but he is at my parents place every weekend. As such, he sleeps later on Saturday night and goes for his breakfast on Sunday morning with my parents before my hubby and I pick him up for church. He get tired and will want to sleep at 10 plus 11am.

coping
Do not know what to say but we will be here to support you and vent all you want. That is what this thread is for ... to support one and other.

Fairytale
Jia You Jia You! God will surely bless and keep your precious bb safe!

I am from St Hildas Church. Pls pardon my punctuation, it seems that I cannot use some of the punctuation keys.

saintbaby
sometimes its hard to understand why things r happening the way they are, esp when we r God's beloved. but know one thing for sure that God's love for us is eternal n His mercy endures forever. and of course, All things work for good for those who love Him. well... at times i find it hard too to fathom this but God has never failed me to show me that Yes! He has turned all things around for my good. whatever the devil throws at us, He can turn it around and make it better for us.

May the Lord grant you and your family strength and shalom peace in this challenging time. Drwa near to Him ok.

Mikel
which St Hilda's church r u attending now? ceylon road or Tampines? i was from st hilda's girls and now my boys r in st hilda's kindy.

coping,
Juz tell our Heavenly Father abt your problem.U don't hv to tell anyone in the cell gp.Our God will answer your prayer.

Share wif you....my hb is not a believer when we are married.I will attend church service while he will go to library.Then 1day,I wrote an email quoting some God's Word to tell him how much I wanted him to accept Christ.Now he is a believer.Whenever we hv some argument,both of us will ask God to forgive each other.Of course,we pray individually without each other knowing.It's always after we simmer down,then I ask him whether he have told our Abba Father.Haha....thus our relationship is better

blessedmommy
I'm attending the one in Ceylon Road. I'm from St Hilda's Sec ... Hello, xue jie! Wanted to enrol my boy into their nursery in future but it's so far from my place ...

Dear Mummies..

My grandpa was called home to be with God on Saturday evening...
I know he's in a better place now..

*hugs* to saintbaby... yes, your grandpa is indeed in a better place now!

My choice of devotional to share for today, summary follows, link to full article at end

There are dozens of reasons we dont get along with each other with the sin of pride right at the top of the list. But I think another huge reason we fail to live in authentic, consistent, committed Christian community is because its too hard.

It requires real effort to work through our differences, to remain transparent and honest, to confront and to pay close attention to each other. Frankly, its easier to keep relationships superficial, to demonize one another when we dont agree, to cut and run at the first sign of trouble rather than commit to each other.

Yet God placed within us a need for stick-with-it commitments; his commitment to us is unbreakable, and he wants to see us extend the same commitment to each other (2 Corinthians 8:5). But this kind of commitment takes time something that has become far too scarce in our lives today (and that, my friend, is a choice).

http://www.purposedrivenlife.com/devarchive.aspx?ARCHIVEID=2195

singlemomof3.

It requires real effort to work through our differences, to remain transparent and honest, to confront and to pay close attention to each other

u know.... at home i am transparent, honest, and confront..... bla bla. but my il just cant accept it. anyway i am going brush up my acting skills man!!

mngo - i know exactly what you mean!!!

unfortunately, it takes two to make a relationship work and we just have to turn the other cheek with some people :/

I keep reminding myself that I cannot control others but I sure can control what *I* do, say, act etc... and do I need to have a record of myself being mean, evil, heartless to anyone? Even if THEY are mean, evil, heartless? It's what *I* do that counts, not what they do. Then I close my eyes and imagine the person concerned is in a diaper overflowing with poop and pee and is incapable of cleaning up the mess *grin*

saintbaby
At least you know that he is in a better place ... *hugs* ...

sunbloom
Wow ... I'm sweating for the cat ...

Sometimes it's really hard to be a Christian ... think I'll find myself still trying to be a good Christian till I die.

singlemomof3
I went through that book when I was in my cell group few years ago. Really very inspirational and should really study thoroughly ... need to dig up that book and look through again.

hi moms,
me overwhelmed w kids n home at the moment... think gonna be ill soon. Keep the thread and prayer moving yah!!

brenda: can you get help from family or friends? what about a part time helper? aiya if only it wasn't against the law my maid (the one who took care of sabie) now at home shake leg... i can offer to ask her to help you, but later kena caught leh... does your hb help?

Thanks for starting this support group. Its always nice to be in the fellowship of sisters - esp. moms in the same boat. I read through the thread and many times went "ooo that's me!"

I noticed some receive daily devotions through emails. What services do you use? Care to share?

Hi Patsy,
Hope you're resting well. You very cute...can sub-con help somemore :p

Brenda, take more fluids and load up those Vit C. Hear that the weather in SG is very hot now.

furry... back to work already.. rested quite a bit last week tho. but re the maid, she has nothing to do at home, cause my house easy to clean. I'm pretty sure she sleeps a lot in the afternoon now ;) you are in shanghai right? next time i go over for work will call you ok?

Patsy,

Dun work too hard ya. Send your helper for cooking class at CC? My mom does that too and we get to sample the "trials" :p she says at least can have better food during parties.

Yes, in Shanghai. Ooo def. call on us. We have a Filipina nanny helping us out with our DD and I've told her about you. She'll love to have a good ole yakkity yak with another fellow Pinoy. Have you voted? LOL. Nanny tells us that half the senatorial list is made up of actors and actresses. So interesting.

Glad to find this thread, I tik life is stressful so we really need a support like this to uphold one another.

furry: haha, can't vote lah... got offered s'pore citizenship 2 years after my stay here... at that time there was very little people with advanced degrees in my field so i guess the gov't wanted me to stay
think now they regret kekeke

the cooking classes are in english is it??

Patsy, glad to see u here...though dun really know u... hope u r well and continue your faith with God.

mngo.. where do you work? heheh... lots of filipinos have spanish background

singmum: thanks... God has been so faithful to me during the dark days of grief. The strength and peace He has given me I really cannot describe.

I'm going to died of heat soon ... it's so warm at home, how I wish I could take off my shirt and walk around my house ... it's predicted that this year will be the hottest year ever ... sigh ... load up on fluids and herbal tea.

Juz put my son to sleep - finally some peace! V hot here - i think i going crazy. Reading a book by Stormie for praying mothers