Choa chu kang mummy club

sunny and mummies,
Thanks for sharing Amazing Star. Yeah, every parent and every kids have different perspective and expectation. As long as you and the child are comfortable with the cc, just go ahead with it.

So far I like Mulberry and Agape CC. I have yet seen Ado cc at Blk 542. Amazing Star cc i have seen before their renov. and not after that lor.

jf, your elder at Kindy? Which school at Yew Tee? Also, what are the playgroup you are sourcing at? My mother also'xin tong' so young have to go full day cc so ask me to find those 3 hrs playgroup for him to play play.

Hi Worrymum,

I have decide to withdraw my DD from the CCand let her jus attend the 2 hours PCF(PAP)N1 class at blk 608. She kind of adapt to it already. Now when she go to school, not crying anymore. When teacher bring her in she also ok. So i think I just let her settle there and i will let her attend some enrichment class at the Yew Tee CC later. Currently she is taking care by nanny but I am going to get a maid to help me up cos my hubby will be oversea quite frequen this year and I think i can't cope with 2 kids alone for long term and I need to work full time. Espacially when the kids are sick, really really stress for me.

Hi Snowball,

Hope that your girl will get use to the CC very soon. "JiaYou" to your girl.

Initially I also think this way, but when i told her that she needs to sleep and bath at the CC she start to cry again. And also I find that when going to full time CC she can't get enough food and enough sleep cos she have been eating adult portion of food and also she don't want to sleep at the CC thus when she come back home she is so tired and therefore keep througing tantrum. Therefore i think if i got someone to take care of her then just let her just attend 2 hrs class cos i do not want her to be so miserable at this age... just 2.5 years old...better let her have a happy childhood and try my best to teach her myself at home.

Hi Sunny,

Its good to hear that your DD is progressing well at Amazing Star. It is impt to find a CC that both our kids and parents are comfortable with.

To me, cleaniness in the CC is very impt as our kids will be there for almost 10 hrs every day.

Hi Cutebaby,

Actually, my #2 came as a "surprise" to us as we tried for more than 3 yrs before we finally had #1. I also feel that having 1 child only is too lonely, so, our #2 came timely

Let nature takes its course....perhaps when its time for Edan to have a sibling, he will have 1

Hi jf,

Wow....I guess it was a nice break for you. All the best to you in your new job

This yr, De La Salle, Yew Tee Pri and Unity all needs balloting within 1km last yr. Haizzz these 3 schools all near my house also need balloting.

hi jo, cutebaby, worrymum & snowball

i finally managed to find transport for my son & am super happy!! couldn't believe my ears when the driver said he was willing to pick up my son. Now, i just hope the driver doesn't play me out halfway, keeping my fingers crossed!

Hi dymples
seems that your girl is adapting v well at Kinderland, that's good! at least, u didn't make the wrong choice!

hi mocha
as long as your gal is happy at the 2hr PCF playgroup, i think u can let her settle there & get used to these type of environment, then slowly progress her to CCC when she's ready. I agree she's so young, no need to rush her if she's not ready, esp since u have help at hand currently.

hi jf
so u've given up your plc at Kinderland? or u're still holding on to it? U intend to go for peihwa? Are we within 2km or you're ex-schoolgirl? All the best in your new job too!

hi sunny
is the fees at amazing star much cheaper than mulberry?

hi serene
how's your son now? when will he be discharged? did the doc managed to find the cause of his illness?

Hi jf, which kindy is your child attending?

duckeroo: thanks for the recommendations, will check that soon!

I check our Amazing star, was quite ok but we went on sat so no principal around. But the toilet of course Mulberry is the best! It has the best toilets! kekek..
Add mine to the list:
year 2002
1. Dymples - Girl:Nov 02 (behind Lot 1)
2. KC - Boy: 02 (Blk 562)

Year 2004
1. Dymples - Girl:Aug 04
2. Jo - Boy: May 04 (Blk 786)

Year 2005
1. KC - 2005
2. Jf - Girl : Dec 05

Year 2006
1. Cutebaby77 - Boy: May 2006 (Regent Grove)
2. Snowball32 - Girl : Oct 2006 (Regent Grove)
3. Jappooh - Boy: Feb 2006
4. sunny - gal: Jan 2006 (blk 785)
5. Serene - Boy: June 2006 (blk 789)

Year 2007
1. straqian - Boy : 07
2. duckeroo - Girl: Sept 07

Year 2008
1. Snowball - Girl: Apr08
2. Jo - Boy: May08
3. Jeraldin - Boy: Sep08
4. KC - Boy: Oct08
5. Dymples - Girl: Nov08
6. Jf - Girl: Dec08
7. Jacelyn - Boy: Jan 08
8. Jappooh - Boy: Dec 08
9. sunny - boy: feb 08
10.storeberry - boy: Aug 08

Year 2009
1. Jacelyn - Girl: Oct09
2. duckeroo - boy: Oct

snowball
which primary school you are 'eyeing' for your kid? plan to do PV to increase the chance of getting into the school that you want? just notice that 2 of our kids are born in same year. haha...

straqian
ya, amazing star's school fee is cheaper than mulberry, even though they have increased their fee this year. i think now is $400+.

storeberry
ya, i also like mulberry's toilet. very lively colour that they use and make the toilet looks so bright and nice. :D

Hi Straqian,

Good for you, your son do not need to change CC liao

These 2 days, I left my DD2 at the CC for 1/2-day after I sent her. The CC principal and teacher told me that she cried on and off (not continuously). But, she is back to her buddly self after I brought her home. I intend to let her go for fullday after next week. See how she adapt first.

Hi Sunny,

Ya hor, both our kids are born in the same year
I am eyeing either De La Salle or Yew Tee Pri. But, my hb agst doing PV just to get our DD1 into the desired sch. I am also considering to shift hse to be near my former Pri Sch so that my DD1 can be enrolled under Phase 2A w/o need for PV. Still have more than 2 yrs to think abt.

Wa....seemed that every CC is increasing their CC fees, including, Mr First Skool....Soon, the additional CC subsidy is as good as no subsidy liao.

snowball32
me too not going to do PV. haha... me eyeing yew tee primary or my hb's old school. but his old school is at clementi which is quite far from here. my colleagues and most of my friends ask me to let her go to hb's old school, nan hua as it's a good school. flat at clementi is expensive... we are still thinking if we should shift to maybe jurong east so that my gal doesn't need to travel so far to/fro the school.
where's your old school?

hi straqian,
Dunno if kinderland still keep the place for my girl, as I didnt ask.
Ya, aiming for Peihwa, but neither within 2km (I stay near cck mrt, so definitely >2km) & not old-girl too. Hoping to go trhu' church affliation, hee..

KC/storeberry,
Berris Kids kindy. What about your child?

KC,
Yalor, too young, dunno how to talk so a bit worry if anything happens to her, she can't tell us. As for playgroup, maybe Apple tree bah.. heard it's not bad.
Any reviews on CCK branch?

Snowball,
Balloting is rather stressful lor.. but if don't try our luck in balloting, then quite wasted since staying so near.. what a dilemma..

Hi straqian,

That's great!!! So the bus driver will pick up your son on 11 Jan 10 (Mon)? So what time will the driver pick your son to & from Mulberry?

Hi Serene,

How's your son now? What did the report show & have he been discharged from hospital?

Hi jf,

If both of you also feel not comfort to send your kids to CCC then better not. As long got someone take care of them.

jf: No, havent send my kids to playgroup yet. Am looking for those 2-3hours kind cos intend to send cc only when 2yr old. Now he is 16mth. Berries kids is ont one at Blk 620? I thot its for 3yr old?

straqian: Wow, a load off your mind! That is great news!

Hi Straqian,

That is great that you have found another transport provider to send your DS to CC.

Hi Sunny,

My Pri Sch is Temasek Pri Sch located at Bedok South. I will have to shift back to East side if we decide to place our kids in my former Sch. That is why we are thinking very hard as both my hb and myself are working in Tuas area.

Hi jf,

You will have to let go if you decide to let your DD goes to CC. If you do not feel comfortable, you can wait till your DS is older then send her to CC.

straqian, Cutebaby

My boy had discharged last Thur after fever subside. Doc say viral infection. Today he's back to cc. This week he will be on half day only.

Straqian
You mean there's two group of driver to pick up the kids at mulberry? The driver I know of is uncle Teo.

Hi Mocha,

So long as you are comfortable with the arrangement and your gal is happy is most impt.

My DD2 is still on 1/2 to CC. So far so good, the teacher told me that she cry a little in the morning when my MIL send her there. She stopped crying when lessons start. I am phasing her into fullday care after next week. She shd be ok as she is still happy when she goes home.

My DD1 also eat adult portion of food. In fact, according to the CC teacher, she usually eat 2 shares of her lunch if she like the food. So far she is growing well. She also sleeps thro' the naptime in CC. So, she is getting enough rest.

Hi Serene,

Great to hear that your DS has been discharged and is back to CC already.

Hi Straqian,

How is the new transport provider?

Hi to all the mummies,

Now my DD is very happy with the 2 hrs N1 class. She can tell me what was done in the class everyday when i go and fatch her. So i will let her continue with her class and withdraw her from the CCC. Because I am getting a maid and hope that the maid can be my helping hand and I will have qaulity time with my 2 kids when I am with them. Will let my DD to attend some enrichment class only after she is 3 year old cos my HB alway say that she is too young, better let her enjoy her childhood rather then pushing her too much...

Hi Snowball32,

Great to hear that your DD adapt to the CCC quite well. Now CCC is not my option anymore. Just let her go to school for few hrs is a better option for me.

Straqian,
Ya she is happy then we also happy...

Hi Mocha,

On enrichment classes. My hb strongly objected to me sending my 3yo to any enrichment classes. He even deem that starting her for music class when she turns 3.5yo is too early. But, I am going ahead with it as music class is sth I think she will enjoy and she also has been telling me she wanted to learn to play the piano. So, I will be letting her try out she turns 3.5yrs to see if she really has the interest.

Good morning Mommies...

Mocha,
It's great to hear that your DD has adapted to 2-hrs class. Maybe this arrangement will be better for her since she prefers to eat lunch and nap at home. But when choosing a maid, must get a reliable helper. When interview that time, tell her main job responsibilities. *good luck*

Snowball,
Aiyohz... it's never too early to send the child for enrichment classes. I was once a anti-enrichment class parent too. Until my #1 entered P1 and I realised she was so so far behind her peers who all had some form of enrichment class. In end, I ahd to scramble and enrol her in all sorts of enrichment till she almost overload. Just to get her basic foundation up to speed only. Now, she's faring much better and I've let her remain in the only the necessary classes like English, Chinese and Maths Tuition.

For my #2, I'm starting her off this year cos she's in K2. Dun want to go thru the stress again... so better to prepare her early.

Serene,
Oh dear... sad to hear about your boy. Thank goodness he is discharged now. Did the Doc mention wat type of viral infection? Any preventive measures to take to prevent such thing from occurring again? So scary when our little ones are sick... not to mention warded in hospital.

Mulberry,
Haiz... after negotiating with my dad, dun tink I'll be sending #3 to mulberry. Dad feels it's too far and he dun want her to take school bus. So most likely will enrol her in KinderLand. Then dad can send both in at same time. heheheh.

Kinderland,
So far so good. Initially #2 was doing well. But after the 1st week she started screaming dun want to go school. So I start to question her. is it the teachers? Or the children bully her? The food? The school? In end, found out she is really happy at the school. Only thing is she dislikes being at the CC from 7.30am to 7.00pm everyday. She wants to go later and come home earlier so she can watch TV and play with #1. *faintz* So now the maid will send her in at 8.00am and pick her home at 5.30pm. So far she seems happier with this arrangement.

Anyone needs any baby sitter to look after the kids. Pls PM me. Because I already hire a maid to help me out and so my baby sitter will lost her income by end of Feb.My baby sitter is experience and able to look after the baby start from 1 month old. Most important she love kids. She stay in YewTee Blk 568

Hi Dymples,

Actually, my DD already attending S&D (eng & ch) class in her CC and her CC teach Phonics and reading as well. I will let her join the art class when she turns 3.5yo in Apr.

I am also for idea to build strong foundation in their languages when they are young.

I am teaching her how to read myself using the Peter & Jane series. So far, she is progressing quite well

For Chinese, I will like let her start enrichment class with Tien Sia when she goes to K1.

Ha...ha....my DD also watch TV when she comes back from CC....her current favourite is Hi-5.

On sending your #3 to CC - Since its more convenient for your dad, then Kinderland mayb a better choice.

I just started my DD2 with fullday care from yesterday. The CC principal told me that she is faring quite well so far. She took her nap almost thro' the 2-hr naptime and she was still a happy baby when she comes home. But, my MIL is the unhappy one now, she is suffering from quite serious withdrawal syndrome....haizzzzz.

Snowball,
Tat's great! S&D is good cos it teaches language using 'play'. My gals love their S&D classes too.

For Chinese Enrichment, you can also consider Berries. COs when I was doing my research, I discovered that Tien Sia is much more worksheet focused whereas Berries uses a more 'fun' approach via story telling, jokes, etc to make the language come alive. Before taking her Berries class, My #1 hated studying mandarin. She even resisted going for the first lesson. But by her 3rd lesson, she was ssoo happy with it and was ssoo happy going for her classes. No more resistance.

Glad your DD is doing well in CC. Aiyohz... hahahah... I hope my dad also dun go thru 'withdrawal' symptoms when I put #3 into CC. *lolz*

Hi Dymples,

Yes, I can also tell that my DD1 enjoys her S&D classes.

For Chinese, I will finally decide if she shd go to Berries or Tien Sia later since I still have 1 yr to think. I have heard and read in other threads that Berries is good. But, for ease of sending and fetching, Tien Sia is better lah (at CCK Ctr).

My DD's CC did quite a good job in getting my DD1 interested in Chinese. In fact, she learnt her Mandarin when she was attending their 3-hr PG class. She can converse in Mandarin now without much pblm.

My DD2 has been throwing lotsa tantrum over the weekend. She was not feeling unwell or sick. I need to talk to the CC principal/ teacher if she has been behaving naughty in the past few days at CC.

Hi Storeberry,

The Berries I am referring to is the Centre that conducts Chinese Enrichment Classes not the Berries Kindergarten in Yew Tee.

I have registered my son at Mulberry, paid deposit and first month fee as well.

If I want to withdraw now, do they allow me to take back the deposit and first month fee? Any mummy can advise?

Add mine to the list

year 2002
1. Dymples - Girl:Nov 02 (behind Lot 1)
2. KC - Boy: 02 (Blk 562)

Year 2004
1. Dymples - Girl:Aug 04
2. Jo - Boy: May 04 (Blk 786)

Year 2005
1. KC - 2005
2. Jf - Girl : Dec 05

Year 2006
1. Cutebaby77 - Boy: May 2006 (Regent Grove)
2. Snowball32 - Girl : Oct 2006 (Regent Grove)
3. Jappooh - Boy: Feb 2006
4. sunny - gal: Jan 2006 (blk 785)
5. Serene - Boy: June 2006 (blk 789)

Year 2007
1. straqian - Boy : 07
2. duckeroo - Girl: Sept 07

Year 2008
1. Snowball - Girl: Apr08
2. Jo - Boy: May08
3. Jeraldin - Boy: Sep08
4. KC - Boy: Oct08
5. Dymples - Girl: Nov08
6. Jf - Girl: Dec08
7. Jacelyn - Boy: Jan 08
8. Jappooh - Boy: Dec 08
9. sunny - boy: feb 08
10. storeberry - boy: Aug 08
11. Ashley - boy: Apr 08

Year 2009
1. Jacelyn - Girl: Oct09
2. duckeroo - boy: Oct

Hi Ashley,

Welcome to CCK club!!!

I think you need to check with Mulberry. From my understanding, usually need to give 1 month notice & get back the deposit.

Btw, why you want to withdraw your son from Mulberry?

Hi Ashley,

Welcome! Hey, your DS is the born in the same month as my DD2 leh

Think for standard CC practise, if your son has already started attending the CC, you will have to give 1 mth notice in order to take back your deposit. If your son has not started CC, mayb you can "negotiate" with the CC to get full refund of what you have paid (but, registration fee will be forfeited).

Hello All

Can anyone help to advise or recommend if there is any good / responsible babysitter available ard CCK crescent?

I am looking for one urgently to start work immediately to look after my 4mos baby girl

Thanks cutebaby77 and snowball32 for your warm welcome!!

I'm prepared to have the registration fee forfeited.

Actually now I think we have paid everything at Mulberry on impulse. We went there before our long holiday in VN (Dec 2009), the school said they might increase fee next year, and after the open house, there might be no vacancy blah blah, so we paid to keep a place for our son.

Before that, we are still thinking whether we should place him in CC, full day or send him for kindergarten 3 hours per day.

It's also because our very good maid cannot continue to sign contract with us due to her family committment back home, so we think better send him there full time. Then now we are thinking of hiring a new maid, so want to take him out.

Sorry for my long winded story.

Guess we must go to the school and ask them personally.

I'm so glad to join this club!! And admire mummies with 2 or more kids. Really love to have them.

By the way, where is your girl studying at snowball? My son is quite shy, hope we can meet and let them play together some time!

Hi Ashley,

Both my kids are with Agape CCK now. I just started my DD2 with the CC last mth. I personally feel that the kids will learn more from CC. Besides academic, they also learn how to take care of themselves, how to share/ socialise.

In fact, we are keeping our maid for a few more mths to help us do housework/ cook dinner and will see how it goes (maybe do away with maid) when my DD2 is fully settled into CC.

Having 2 kids can be fun but, at the same time, they can be quite a handful to handle when they create havoc and can turn the whole house upside down. But, we are glad that both my kids can be companion to each other and watch them grow up together

Snowball32, you mean after the contract with maid ends, you can extend for just a few months?

Our maid contract will end this month. The problem is that her family asked her to go back. We are sad because she knows how to take care and sincerely loves our son.

My son will surely make a big fuss and create havoc too when she is not around. He is quite attached to her.

Hi Ashley,

My ex-maid din want to extend her contract with us and we hired a new maid about 7mths ago. Tho' she is not as good, but, still ok. So, we decide to keep her even tho' both my kids are in CC now. Her contract will end mid next yr. By then, we may do away with the maid if we can cope with the kids growing older by then.

For me, both my kids are not close to the maid. So, separation anxiety is not an issue for us.

Snowball32, may I know what your DD2's birthday is? Just curious
My son was supposed to be a May baby. He just came out a little bit early.

Noticed that this box is quite quiet. Do you normally meet outside?

Hi Ashley,

My DD2 was born on 6 Apr 2008, she came 2.5weeks earlier.

We only chatted in this forum...so far no meetup tho' we did mention to meet up someday with the kids

Hi Snowball :D

Your DD2's birthday is just 1 day after my own bd lolz. My son was born on 22 Apr, also at 37 weeks.
Look forward to the day he starts school. Do we need to be there whole day and what will we do there?

Hi Ashley,

Actually my EDD was 22 Apr but, my DD2 chose to come out earlier on 6 Apr. So coincidental.

I accompanied my DD2 on her 1st day of school for 1/2 day & brought her home. At the CC, I talked to her teachers and tell them about the habits of my DD2 so that they will know how to handle her. After that, join them to participate in class activities.

On 2nd day, I was with her for 1st hr and left her at the CC until 12noon to bring her home after lunch.

3rd day, I left her after the morning assembly.

4th day, I send her there, kiss her goodbye and I disappear (tho' she was crying).

After 1.5 weeks, I gradually let my DD2 stay longer in CC till 3 - 3.30pm. This week onwards, she goes on fullday CC already. So far so good tho' she is still a bit teary in the morning when my MIL sent her to CC.

Just to give you some headsup on what to expect lah....not to scare you.

Hi Snowball, thanks so muc for sharing your experience!

Really appreciate it.

I'll try to apply the same to my son.

Here wishing all mummies and family a happy and prosperous new year ahead!!

Hi Ashley,

When is your DS starting his CC?

Hi Cutebaby77,

Hope your son is doing well in Mulberry.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish all Mummies in this Forum A Healthy, Bountiful and Prosperous Year of Tiger....ROARrrrrrrrrr!

Hi Snowball,

My son is doing well at Mulberry. The teacher updates us that he can focus/sit down at lesson time, nap time doesn’t need to pad & sit down to finish his lunch/tea break too. The most important is no more bruise on the leg & hand.

Oh ya, one of my son friends from Kinderland also transfer to Mulberry too. Now both of them are classmate again.

Wishing all Mummies has a year filled with Good Fortune, Prosperity and Joy!!!!

Hi Cutebaby77,

Good to hear that your son is settling in well and you can have peace of mind.

After putting both my kids into CC, I find that this is very impt.

My DD2 is also settling well into fullday CC. She only cry abit when she goes to CC in the morning. But, the principal and teachers updated me that she was all smiles and enjoyed her classes after that

Hi Snowball,

Ya, now at least we know that the teachers will updates us with correct info.

Yes agreed with you, it's important to find a good CC.

Seen your DD2 is doing well too, I think few week later your DD2 will just run into the CC without crying.