Choa chu kang mummy club

Last time I used to go to Beyond Beauty.

Since the pregnancy of my second boy, didn't do facial anymore.

Think there are a few in Lot 1 and Yew Tee Square. You can just walk around and check with them to see whether there is any good package. Give us feedback after that ok?

I just visited Mulberry. I don't like the centre coz the classrooms are quite small and the toilet is also small. And the school fee is extremely high , have not included the outing fees yet.

As for Ichiban, all teachers are from China, I guess coz all of them speak in China chinese slang. The principal said the centre is currently full. If I am keen, I need to paid deposit first in order to be put into waiting list.

Anybody has any comment for Greenfield Montessori which is just a few houses away from Ichiban ? I have not visited it yet.

Thanks !

Hi Ashley

Now the maids transfer thingy gives me headache....

my granny's maid has been in singapore for about 7 years.... at least 4 years with my relative (not close to them) + 2 years with outside family (she did not continue cos they don wan her to take leave twice a month after 2 years) + 10 months with my granny.

my relative (her ex-employer) wants to take her back but she takes my offer cos i offer higher.

her work seems quite consistent, very 'auto' to do housework (having said that, the family always have someone at home) so I am also not sure her standard can maintain at my family cos she will be home alone.

we wanted to take her cos she can cook very well and need no training. My relative (not very close) hubby is in chi zhar industry, so she learnt her cooking from the family.

one value added, she can speak mandarin! but that also mean I cannot gossip about her when she is around hahahaha....

Hi Jo,

Yes your requirements and my requirements are different lol hehe, so can't compare. For me now I will go for someone with good character and obidient as her main job is to look after the baby. Housework and cooking we need to "endure" a little hehe. Having said that, my current maid cooks quite well.

Actually for you, housework and cooking are important, both boys are at school, so I think it's a good decision to take this maid.

Good luck!!

Hi Ashley

Take care of children is our first priority! My granny's maid can play my kids. She told me she is ok with any family as long as they respect her. If she made mistake just tell her nicely cannot scold her :p

Hello CCK Mummies,

Happy Dragon to all of you and family

Hi Joan,

For my kids' CC, the Principal / Teacher will call us immediately on the same day if my kids got bruises or scratches to explain the situation without us having to confront them.

Actually, this is not the first time I heard such feedback from Kinderland CCK. That was about 2 yrs ago and the mummy has since withdrawn her child from that CC.

Hi Jo - When I pick my maid, I made sure she is not born in the year of Tiger as all of us in the family are of small zodiac. Cannot let the tiger "eat" us up....superstitious hor :p

Its not easy to find a good maid. My current maid has been with us for 2.5yrs now and so far so good, tho' she is not very clean in her cleaning. But, she learnt how to cook and can get along with my kids very well. She is actually applying to go Canada to work. If she is short-listed, then we will have to let her go.

Hi Jo,

Although I do not scold my maids, I feel a little uneasy if the maid tells me that I must talk nicely to her and not to scold her.

Guess it's just me who do not like to be told to do, or not to do something hehe.

By the way, I used to think there were not many good schools around CCK, now I must say there are plenty of preschools and schools in CCK/YT. Cos there aren't many schools around my new place lol. Branded schools, yes, but too ex. So suddenly found myself in a tiring preschool search again, haiz.

snowball
looking for maid is so tiring and really heng suay.

ashley
where is your new place?

as for the maid long story, agent/MOM said i must pick up the maid and can only transfer after she receive her work permit card!!! so i got to live with the maid for one week plus... then transfer her out again... if she can click with me, i might just keep her... ;-p but there are a few interested families waiting to see her. Now i can't let them interview her cos she is going to be home alone at my place... i will not want her to know that she will be transferred.

Huh? How come?

Ask your agency to keep her. My agency told me I could bring the new maid back home. I did not want because it would be awkward for both maids, and us. So the agency keeps her. We pay $10 per day for her lodging.

My new place is in central.

Is any kids here studying at nanhua primary school? I intend to send my gal to the school, wanted to find out if there's bus operator (other than the school appointed one) sending kids from CCK to nanhua

Hi Jo,

How is ZL doing in ACSJ? Been thinking about how to send D there cos its balloting history is getting more intense every year lol.

Might need to settle for River Valley Pri. But heard RVP is only good in languages.

Hi Ashley

ZL is very happy in ACJS.... no study stress... so very happy....

Guess to get in without any risk now, you got to be church member and stay within 1km.

I am not sure about RVP... only know River Valley High School is very good....

Hi Jo,

Being a church member is out as I am Catholic, so are my 2 boys. So no use moving near

How is WZ doing? Did u send him to any enrichment class? Thinking of sending D to Berries but don't have time to go to register yet.

I wanted to send WZ to berries too but no vacancy for him, still on wait list.

Have you heard of Tien Hsia? Is it equivalent to Berries?

Heard of Tien Hsia, my friends also sent kids there. I am not into researching or comparing. Just follow my gut lol, always feel Berries is more like learn through play :D

To CCK mummy, if you want to enroll your kids at Learning Vision CCK, do take note of the coming fee increase to around $1.2K before MCYS subsidy.
More expensive than Mulberry and I think it's the most expensive in CCK area.

i also wow.... 1.2k! might as well top up a couple of hundreds to go Pat's schoolhouse which includes external enrichment classes!

now i really think columbia learning is really cheap and good.... $900 plus (before subsidy) with very good principal and academic curriculum... just that it is too far from cck:-(

LV is in the same group of Pat's right? I think that group has become more money oriented.
Last time I liked Pat's a lot. Now if I can afford, I will send my children to Mychamps instead.

Is LV CCK still at Sunshine place? Or is it a new compound?

oh yeah... LV bought over Pat's school and engage Pat as their consultant or adviser... not sure the title.

Mindchamps... my gf sent her daughter there leh... and not happy with it.... i think still got to depend on the branch manager?

LV CCK is at Sunshine Place.
$1.2K in HDB estate, really money oriented.

Any mummy have comment on Sheffield Kidsworld (Choa Chu Kang)or My First Skool(NTUC)?

Hi Jo, which Mindchamps is that?

Haha no wonder yesterday after I wrote Mychamps I felt something was wrong but did not realise I used "My" instead of "Mind" =))

I'm looking for a childcare near Bugis, or Novena which is below 1k. Do you have any recommendation?

Hi Ashley

Should be at the east side cos my gf lives around there...

Not sure about which childcare... cos childcare standard fluctuate alot... last time can be good then now no good hahahaha... Last time heard Cherie Hearts at Bugis is good... not sure now... as for Novena, i only know kiddiewikkie childcare at Newton cos my elder son goes to its student care (area cramp but supervisor and the teachers are good). I heard its childcare is not bad and quite cheap... just that i don't have the heart to change wz's childcare again... don't wan him to adapt to new environment again.... the next change will be when he goes P1 :)

Hi Jo,

You are right, should not change his childcare now if there is nothing wrong with the school.
I also hope this time D can stay with the new school until he enters P1.

As for the KW, you mean students will use the same premise as the preschoolers?
I'm actually thinking of the other branch of KW at Environment Building.

Hi Sunny

My hubby happened to see my neighbour sending her kid to nan hua by school bus about 6:10am, according to the mummy, the journey took about 40mins in the morning but longer when returning home....

Hi jo
thanks for the info. is it NTUC bus? if 610am the bus arrives... meaning, the kid needs to wake up the latest at 530am!!! gosh... then, what time I need to wake up to prepare breakfast for the kid? :S

really pray hard that i can get the clementi BTO flat successfully this March.

ashley
i heard that yuquan childcare centre near bugis is not bad.

childcare centre
my kids are at amazing star cck branch. so far, not much complaints from me. :p

Hi Sunny,
My son is currently in AS CCK too! Which class are your kids in? Mine is in Nursery.

I heard about Yuyuan too but read some not so good comments on the forum. A center can be immersed in Chinese without being too "China". I feel this one is a bit too Chinese.

Hi Jo,

Yesterday I went to visit the KW at Env Building and the teacher asked me to visit the one at Newton. I may go there to visit another day
Thanks for the info! By the way, you mentioned Cherie Heart at Bugis was good, may I know which one? Cos there are 2 around Bugis, one at Purvis Street and one at Beach Road (Keypoint). Thanks!

ashley
my gal is in K2, boy is in Nursery. so, our kids are in the same class!:D
you want to change centre? why?

Hi Sunny,

We are moving out of YT.

When did your boy join Amazing Star? Did he attend the concert last year? My son kept telling me about his friends, maybe your son is one of his gang lol.

hi, any mummies or daddies with children from sparket tot (blk 353 cck), just kids (cck avenue 1) or Ichiban montenssori (hongsan walk)?
mind to share some thought?

ashley
my boy is at amazing star for about 1.5 yrs already. didn't let him join concert last year, maybe this year bah. haha...
did your boy go for the excursion today?

Hi Sunny,

Any chance your boy is N? Cos my son said N did not attend concert and I did not see him there either

And yes he went for the musical yesterday and was laughing telling me it was funny.

ashley
my boy don't have english name, short form is YZ. :D
last week got an email from the in-charge that there's a confirmed HFMD case in his class. hopefully our kids are strong enough not to get it.

Hi Sunny,

Forgot to tell you, that kid is my kid haha

Actually he didn't have any symptom, just a red dot on his finger, so the teacher called us, my hb immediately brought him to see the ped and immediately the ped said he's got HFMD
He has been resting at home since last Friday, hopefully nothing else develops.

And I pray hard he won't pass it to his baby brother.

By the way, I think I know your son's name. Heard my son mentioned a few times

Also, it's really frustrating that we cannot do anything to prevent HFMD. I mean, after seeing the ped, he did not give us any med, because my son has no fever or anything, just asked him to rest at home. Like waiting for the symptom to come and then go back for medicine? Made us feel helpless

ashley
oh... if there's no other symptom, just let him rest at home. who's taking care of him now?
now, another case in K1 class...
hope my boy doesn't bully your boy so far. haha...

Hi Sunny,

Yes we just let him rest at home. Thursday will see the doctor again to see whether next week he can go back to school. We are staying at my mil place at the moment so my maid and mil help to take care of him and my younger boy.

My son commented that YZ is bigger than him haha.

Hi Ashley and Sunny, I am new in this discussion and my boy will be going into AS Montessori this coming April. He will be in play group. Anything for me to look out for?

Hi Rebekah,

Personally I think AS has improved a lot from the time when my son just joined (1 year ago). Communication between the school and parents are better (via email).
Teachers are still the most important. If your kid takes school bus, be aware cos some kids have the tendency to beat others in the bus lol.

ashley
another case reported in our boys' class. when i fetched my boy yesterday, i saw that there were just a few of kids attending the class.
haha... your boy said that? my boy is small size leh. hahaha...
kids beat others in the bus? wow... thought they have bus auntie to jaga them.

rebekah
teachers in playgroup are nice and caring, IMO. Only a teacher who's quite stern when talking to the kids. But, she's ok lah. my 2 kids were in her class before, quite scare of her in fact.

I am new to this forum, I am staying at choa chu kang. I intend to enroll my boy to Childcare when he reach 18 months but most of the so-call good 1 are fully book and waiting list very long. Any review of Mulberry at CCK's sport complex? I have been there last week, overall is ok but the space a bit small. I am surprising about their ratio, almost 2:20! Mummies here, any other CC to recommend? How about Amazing Star @ St 51 and L Kids @ CCK Crescent?