oops, something to add.
Old folks saying:- if sewing/cutting as long as NOT on your bed, it is ok... (sounds logical since we deal with staples, removing them, cutting paper, shreadding machines in office anyway)
NO drilling, nailing, painting, cementing, hammering or removing anything from walls, shifting of furniture with the pregnant lady around. Belief is such tt the baby's spirit is always following the mum... if at home, it can be anyway including by the wall... so older people say when you do these, you might accidently nail/paint/cement/drill the spirit.
if you believe it but HAVE to do it, older folks suggest saying out loud "excuse me, we are going to XXXX" 3 times to make sure our baby spirit hears it.
And anyone with old folks' tales to share on AFTER birth? My mum did a funny thing to my girl. ahaha..like to share. cos in old times, confinement is really jailtime lor. both mum and bb stay ONLY in the room and do all big small business inside (cos most old people had deities in the hall, cannot see confinement women and not full mth bb). After full mth, pray to deities liao, then my mum bring my girl AROUND the house. Literally also to the toilet also hor!! hahaha... she says like this my girl "bai3 wu2 jing4 ji4" (rough translation: everything also never mind).
I asked my mum if shld put my girl on the toilet bowl. kekeke