Bulk Purchase

Enable The Topic starter to edit their posted Topic header.

Eg: Allowing the topic starter (organiser)to edit their header by adding the bulk purchase status [BP CLosed][BP still ON] this will save us times from reading the whole threads b4 knowing they dun take in more orders.

Good suggestion.this will allow Spree Organizers
to update their spree thread periodically so that all spree-ers are well-informed.

I think this is a very good idea cos I always have to scroll down to check if the spree is still on or not. And in the office, this can be very time consuming.

Need time, need time...

Also limit the thread starter to the person who paid for the BP! I see alot of impatient mummies who keep asking for pic/price b4 e organiser can post any info...and end up must scroll down quite abit b4 can see any real info!!

Recently, there are many BP where the organisers are newly joined, which means that when they posted the info for the BP, it is only their number 1 posting.

Is there a guide line to control BP organiser? i.e. the organiser must have certain amount of posting, said 150 post before they can organise a BP?

Understand that under the Want To Sell corner, mummies need to fulfill some restriction before they can sell their item in "WTS" corner.

Pls consider.

Totally agree with SPP so that cases like Belinda or Kay will not happen again. This black sheep is taking advantage of this loop hole to cheat pple again.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/825136.html?1182447463

apparently this Belinda and Kay is the same person. She took the loop hole by creating a new member, trying to cheat our money again. Till now nobody have received anything from her and not everybody have their refund back as she mention, same old tricks as Kay. Why must make us take the trouble to make police report for just buying things? I may consider to make all these up in media to see who this person is, no shame of cheating pple money again and again.

I understand that there is no 100% safe for trading in internet but at least some protection is needed.

After the BP starts to intro with the new rule, we seems to be seeing BP price getting more and more expensive and a lot of problems were highlighted.

Because the supplier/organiser needs to pay $25 for a week, this money is indirectly transfer to mummies who join the BP. For example, 25 mummies share the BP, each will pay $1 for it. I believe the supplier/organiser usually takes into consideration to include the $1 charge to their products before starting the BP rolling, assuming 25 mummies will join, hence the product price will include $1 charge. If the BP is huge, say 50 mummies join, the supplier/organiser will earn an extra of $25 or even more. This is only for example, no offence to any supplier/organiser.

I've been joining BP quite frequently before the rules are implemented. That time, not so much problems with supplier/organiser disappeared after collecting the payment, or defected goods. I came to much fear, especially with the MIA cases. Quite a number of BPs are affected by this MIA case and police reports are made. That explains I only join selected BP now. I rather pay a higher price to go to dept stores to get the stuff I want, rather than waiting and scaring myself if BP organisers will disappear.

I understand the $25 charge was implemented to stop people from organising BP to earn money. But if the BP order is huge, I think the supplier/organiser will earn even more before the charge was implemented. Frankly speaking, organising a BP is very tedious and time consuming. So, if the supplier/organiser charges a small sum for it, I feel it is ok. I ever tried being an organiser for a few friends to buy small quantity of stuff, and it's already very tedious and time consuming. I really saluate to the BP organisers for the help they provide.

Perhaps, strict screening is required for BP organisers. I'm not sure what are the details that BP organisers need to provide to SMH now. Perhaps, administrator really needs to get the full details from the BP organiser to prevent more frauds. I believe making police report etc is much more time consuming.

Last but not least, the administrators are really busy. Maintaining a forum is not easy as every sec, there's posting. Let's give them more time to plan what's to do for the next step.

Adminstrators (so far I only know Chin Leng and Bee Ling, sorry if I miss out anyone), thanks so much for your hard work!

Hi Jenny,

I don't think it was fair to conclude that BP had more problems because we've started charging listing fee. The reason is likely due to the increased popularity of SingaporeMotherhood.com. From our stats, we know there are more and more visitors each day. It is also evident from the increased number of postings as shown in the last 24 hours result search. The problem is, the forum is now becoming known for its marketplace too instead of just the parenthood community in the forum. This will eventually attract more people and potentially more fraud.

However, I would like to remind everyone that we did not start the forum to make it a marketplace. It was for the community here that we kept the marketplace section. If this continues and the SingaporeMotherhood forum's focus and original objective (to build an informative and conducive portal for parents and parents-to-be, not just a marketplace) is changed, we may just close the marketplace altogether.

We have discussed many ways internally and none of it is perfect. Even if we collect more information from BP organisers, like faxing of IC to us, the next time they can fax over their accomplice's IC to us instead. Ultimately, when a fraud is suspected, the participants of the BP would still need to make a police report as we (you and I) don't have enforcing right to nab anyone.

We did not implement SPP's suggestion because some of you may remember, when we implemented it previously, we ended up having new members posting frivolously just to make the numbers! We had few hundreds of one-liner postings by multiple new users in that day! At the end, within days, we've to quickly restrict the posting in restricted threads to membership with at least 1 year of presence in the forum.

I'm as angry and hurt as any of you when I learnt of potential fraud happening in the forum. This is not why we've created SingaporeMotherhood.com. To see our original good intention abused, it is really painful.

Please note that of the many ways we've discussed internally, with more security, there will be more inconvenience. This is a balance we are trying to make while trying to keep the marketplace.

Chin Leng.

Hi Chin Leng,

Thanks for your reply. If my initial suggestion cannot be implemented, then how about only those who has been a member for more than 3 months are allowed to organise BP?

Thanks & regards.

Hi Spp,

Haha! Great minds think alike. In fact, we are considering a membership of more than 1 year before a BP can be organised by the user.

We've been testing some new adjustments to BP rules. For example, if a new user has an ongoing BP, we won't allow the same user to organise another BP. This is to ensure that all goods are delivered and the BP has a satisfactory closure before we allow the new member to organise another BP. We hope that this will help to ensure that new BP organisers would not have more BPs then they can cope. However, for this to work, we would rely on honour system. Sadly, not long after we tested this scheme, we already have a case whereby the user registered and used another nick to organise another BP. Of course, when we discovered it, the BP was terminated by us immediately.

As some of you may know, we've implemented a BP fee to help defray the bandwidth costs incurred by the server when a BP is organised. We've tried to help organisers by offering full refund of BP organising fee when the BP is not successful. Again, this works on honour system too. Sadly, we recently found out that even though we've refunded the fee to some organisers who claim that the BP was not successful, we found out later that in fact, it was concluded successfully.

Honestly, we've been really disappointed by the recent issues and incidents that plauged and affected the genuine members here.

There will be new measures being introduced, hopefully, within this month.

Chin Leng.

what abt this:
BP organisers MUST do a walk-in registration (to SMH office), produce original IC & pay thread fee on the spot. Is that secure enuf?

inconvenience la, but maybe can protect the reputation of SMH Mktplace? Wun b nice if BP cheating cases happen so often until it attracts attn of media. Like what CL said, SMH is getting more hits all the time.

Hi Wendyg,

Please note that ultimately, we'll need to have sufficient revenue from the portal itself to continue running SingaporeMotherhood.com. As it is, we are currently already running short of staff. We are currently using the revenue generated from SingaporeBrides.com to run SingaporeMotherhood.com By requesting BP organisers to do a walk-in registration at our office, this would adversely impact our ability to do our work. There would be too much disruption.

If we need to employ a staff for the administration of BP, our operating cost will increase and the continuation of BP will be at the expanse of our resources which we can't sustain in the long-run. If that's the case, it'll actually make more sense to close BP totally. However, we are trying our best to avoid this decision.

Chin Leng.

a wild thought..

Or maybe can get the mummy to pay a certain amount / percentage of deposit to SMH for any BP to be organised
(The deposit shall ultimately be return to the organiser once the BP closed peacefully.

This will somehow help to reduce losses incurred by those poor mummy who is always chasing after the MIA organisers

Hi Fryegg,

It is not a bad idea if the organisers are willing to put a deposit with us. However, the difficulty lies in the amount of deposit to be collected. The BP amount varies with each unit price and total number of participants which is almost impossible to predict. If a BP item has a unit price of $20 but the total BP amount would be entirely different if there are 10 participants or 50 participants. For 10 participant, the total amount would be $200; for 50 participants, the total amount would be $1000. So how much deposit to collect prior to the start of the BP? It would be difficult to guess.

Chin Leng.

CL
i dunno how your team works la.. are u home based? anyone goes into the offc daily? Maybe the offc is open for certain number of hrs daily?
Increased number of walk-ins for BP registration = happy problm, coz more genuine BPs, more revenue. Heck la, increase the BP fee? heehee

no need to employ 1 headcount to do BP admin.. whichever staff there to open the door shld be able to get the potential organiser to fill in a form, photocopy the ic, collect payment. Max 15min of work?

Anyways, this is your company, if i'm qualified to offer advice on how to conduct your biz, i'd be a biz consultant liao, which i'm not! If my suggestion doesn't fit into your biz model and workflow etc, it's ok! Just trying to be helpful from my limited knowledge.

Hi Wendyg,

Don't get me wrong, we appreciate everyone's suggestions. It is through brain-storming that hopefully we'll arrive at a solution that will work for all parties.

About increasing the BP fee... now that's a thought!

Chin Leng.

Just my thoughts about the issue on what wendyg mentioned, organisers MUST do a walk-in registration (to SMH office), produce original IC & pay thread fee on the spot.

To reduce the workload, the BP organisers just need to go to the office just once to register, produce original IC. From the second BP onwards, she can just mail the cheque or transfer the money to SMH account, don't have to appear in person since information on her already captured. How is that?

Lollie's suggestion is good

but does it applies to those BP Orangiser/member who had been registered for more than a year ?

Doing a walk-in registration is not always feasible for everyone. One has to think of the location, the time needed etc especially for FTWM, it's totally impossible.

Hi Chin Leng,

In your example you mentioned that BP organiser can only organise one BP at a time. I felt it is not a good idea to restrict BP organiser only organise 1 BP at a time.(No offence)

As i can see some BP organiser having many BPs at the same time and their products are really unique which we are unable to find it in local market. If you were to restrict one BP for 1 organiser at 1 time, then the BP session will be boring and we will not be having new stuff constantly
and this is what i believe that it is the main reason as to why the BP Session is so active.

As for restriction, i felt that there shouldn't be any restriction for buyer to participate in any Spree or BP. Buyers should be able to take part in any Spree or BP regardless whether they are new or old members.

For your considerations.

I felt that by restricting BP organiser to 1 BP is not a good idea...

Two reasons:

1) why restrict revenue?
2) If the BP organiser is lousy then she will have lesser participants each time...

As BP becoming more and more commercialise and BP organiser are not registered entity, it is better to do walk in-registeration thingy to safeguard participants...

lollie
agree with u. at least can hope to reduce those kind of BP cheaterbugs if they hv to show their face to the forum owners.

Hi chin leng
Just out of curiousity, can one organise a BP while getting moms to buy items off you without having to pay BP fees? So long as it is informal? there is a July 2007 thread mom ID : NOR that is selling LittlePod baby slings and is not selling via BP page but is getting a fair bit of orders. if this is okay, so long as we dont solicit clients off BP organisers then that is fine?

ladies, i just wana complain.. i wonder y some members of the forums are so IMPATIENT?? when a new BP thread is started, u see all these Kiasus all asking the same thing "details??" even b4 the seller can post! n itz just so so irritating. itz quite obvious the seller might not be aware her BP is up or havent got the chance to post b4 these Kiasus did?? i m not a seller but i have bought quite a number of times from BP/ Sprees and itz just irritating to see 10 over posts asking e same stupid qns like "no details/ no pics / still no details?" OMG.. just wait la...

woah! ok, finally let it out! paiseh ladies.. just tot if we could do something abt it like restricting the 1st post on the thread to the seller only etc..

hippo
me too super irritated with that. Everytime have to scroll down & down to actually get to read the organizer's 1st posting.

Hope the moderators can do something about that.

patsy & pisces, so we are not alone huh? keke..

tink e moderators should either make an "announcement" informing these 'funny' pple dat BP organisers actually dun pay $25 for a BP thread not to sell anything SO they should not ask stupid qns b4 e BP can even start! haha.. OR can seriously consider restricting e 1st posting on the thread to the seller only lo... =D

I agree too!!!!

I also shd think thread owner shd hv the 1st post... and wait until the owner finish posting the details and pics then release it out. (sometimes i post without knowing there are more to come)

If not, it's v messy to see the "goods offered" all over the place.

sometimes you have to scroll down all the way to the bottom of the page to even see what the itmes being sold are!

hmmm...i just noticed it's always the same few people that post those 'details pls'...
i guess they are just too free and keep refreshing the BP section to check of any new threads

hippo,
u r right. they think the BP organiser is so rich to pay $25 to set up a blank thread. OMG, of coz the organiser will post the details n pics. Just give her/him some time lah.

gals.. haiz... wonder if the moderators will do anything abt it? =D

i dun wana waste my time trying to check out new BP threads i m interested in cos just when u tink there will be details of e BP, u get these funny-nothing-better-to-do pple posting their stupid qns!

Did you all notice that those "Kiasus" that posted those questions did not order anything at all!!! They just posted it for fun...

spp, u r right! those pple end up never purchasing anything.. i dun see their names on e order list at all.. crazy leh!

I guess they want to increase their "Post Number" so that they can upgrade themselves to
member.

hahaha....

Just my thought :-

In order to start a BP

1) Meet the min Posting
2) For first BP starter, the fee should be $50 and deposit of $100
3) Fee will lower to a acceptable fee for sub BP after successful of 1st BP
4) Information of the following to be submit. a) Real Name, b) IC, c) Address, d) contact, e) Bank details.

I agreed that we can't deny from ppl from increase their post number, however, we also can't deny ppl who wish to share benefit for all.

Just my thinking, dun bomb me hor :p

CL/BL
Could you please update my application for the BP? haven't heard from you after the application since last week.

hi hippo and spp,
i do agree with what u all hv mentioned..some ppl just post and then disappear out of nowhere..

Hi CL/BL

I also agree that thread owners should be allowed to have the first post! Can look into it?

Hi CL/ BL ,

I can see those regular BP organiser, the have their own website , those should be go under business instead of BP right. Cos it seem that they can get those from suppiler. Is is true that those suppilers are so easily found in singapore. I have a friend who is doing clothing business, she went thru the BPs especially those selling branded clothing, most of them are made in china and the cost price is much more cheaper than what they had posted on the site. She even can show me the same picture the suppiler form china send to her m and the one in the BP.
Since you say that the revenue is coming from the Singapore brides , why not consider those so call regular BP organsier ( for many products) , to register under business section .

Hi CL/BL,

I think it's too easy to apply/submit for BP. These are my suggestions.

To Bulk Purchase:
- Minimum 1 year of "membership" before one can organize a BP.
- BP organizers can still continue to pay the fee first (subject to approval/refund) if it's easier at your end to refund than to assess the BP's eligibility.
- BP organizers to submit their cost prices and selling prices (an estimate/range), to list ALL products to sell, to show the product pictures for your approval (avoid the rampant increase of counterfeits selling on SMH and irresponsible sellers), additional items cannot be added after BP has begun, to state the origin of goods, and MOQ if any.
- Increase the posting fee for BP. I would think that $50 is reasonable for a 7-day BP. A flea market stall for 1 day costs that amount anyway, and the sales is definitely less than a BP.
- As it's difficult/impossible to gauge if a BP has indeed been successful, I would recommend that the $50 is non-refundable. Or perhaps only part of it eg $20 is refundable. (I've read some people commented before than if the BP is not successful this week, the organizer can still get the refund and post again next week. That makes it $25 for 2 weeks. If it goes on continuously, it could be as long as 1 month... Worse still, the BP might have been on-going from the 1st week because buyers/sellers have been contacting via emails which you will not have control over.)
- Although I do not support counterfeits, I believe that many parents do not mind buying imitation clothes for their children because children outgrow their clothes so quickly. Hence, I would suggest that children clothings (eg Gap, Carters, Polo Ralph etc) are approved to your discretion. All other counterfeits items for adults such as clothings, accessories, bags etc (eg. Tiffany, Gucci, Lacoste, Polo Ralph...etc etc) are not allowed. TOO MANY imitation "Polo Ralph Lauren" & "Lacoste" selling rampantly on SMH is reflecting badly on the community here.
- If the BP (repeat) sellers wanted to, they could still contact their previous customers via email/cellphones for such products. After all, SMH had already given them a source for their huge clientele list.

Others:
- Registration at SMH to request for NRIC and address so as to avoid members having multiple accounts. Repeated NRICs used are not allowed. (Of course, they could still used their families' NRICs if they really want to)
- Registration at SMH to request for a credit card number (it only serves as a form of security) as in Yahoo Auctions. However, no amounts will be charged. (Of course, many people also hold multiple credit cards now)
- Registration strictly to mothers, fathers, mothers-to-be, fathers-to-be ONLY (if this is feasible at all)
- Existing members to re-register and input the info, so it does not affect those who already have their "priority status".

Hi Jo,

Sorry for my late reply and thanks for your feedback.

We are requesting IC for new BP organisers so as to add a layer of security thus I don't think is necessary for the requirement of a year of membership.

Submitting cost and pics have been suggested before but in actual fact it is difficult to implement. There are pre-orders and Ready Stock in BP section. They will not be able to produce cost (in the form of invoice) and pictures for pre-orders as they do not have them. For pictures, there are organisers who just plucked images from the internet (not from their suppliers) and forward to me and post in their thread. Even the pictures sent by suppliers may not be pictures of the actual items the participants will be getting. And I must admit I'm not expert in differentiating authentic and fakes. So forwarding the pictures is not a guaranteer too.

Thanks for suggesting to increase the BP listing fee
But already, there are so many claiming to mark up the price because of our $25 listing fee, I doubt we will be able to raise any further, not for now at least

The counterfeits is a headache. We have rejected some that we know. But we are still working on the details on setting the guidelines and avoid "sneaking in".

In regards to registration, is there a reason why do you want to restrict to parents and parents-to-be?

Bee Lee

You might want to give feedback on the new sorting manner of the BP section here.

Bee Lee

Hi Bee Lee,

Isnt this called Singapore 'MOTHER'hood?

At least for my case, I first joined when I was pregnant coz I needed to find out more info and learn from other more experienced parents. I think some concerned fathers have also joined the website...but why would anyone else want to come here for 'information' unless they're parents themselves?

I just thought that many some non-parents/businessmen are using this as a money-making platform or for their non-registered business, and with more flexibility too. If a BP goes on for 1 week after another (25x4), 1 month will cost only $100...and 1 month "rental" at SMH is less than 1 DAY rental anywhere else. If it's 1 BP throughout, it'll be even cheaper at a mere $80/month (selling unlimited number of goods). You should really try implementing a higher BP fee. I'm sure that they will still continue doing their business through BPs coz it's really not expensive at all. Even flea market stalls are $50/day.

Besides, if anyone is selling anything illegal, no one will know his/her real identity. Maybe this is the "loophole" here.

But these are just my suggestions/feedback lah. I'm sure you're doing everything you can to make your brainchild better.

All the best to you and your team!